Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
Did not manage to drop by ur place on Sat , cos it was quite late when I finish checking mine. Painting is almost complete, most lightings also fitted liao.

Will be taking leave on Wed to meet Johnson for carpentry measurement. Any of u have problems getting HDB to replace hollow toilet tiles ? At first they say will replace for me, several days later call and told me that after their contractor check again, the tiles are not really 'hollow' but due to water membrane...also dunno wat he meant ... so Johnson offered to meet them for final inspection.

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
hmm..so u decided not to go for it ? true la, if the overseas trips are very ad-hoc kind can be really disruptive and inconvenient esp if the timings are bad ... Good Luck in ur job-hunt.

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
Yo! U finally appear again

I've also made additional set of sofa-cover (micro-fabric one), it is abt 40% of the sofa price. My fren also bought extra, i think is abt 50% ... so not sure whether 60% is a bit too high?
Anyway, I bought it together with my sofa purchase, at Nova Furnishings.

Yes, these 3 'horses' are chasing each other very closely! Chelsea really look good yesterday nite, awesome firepower! In terms of attacking prowess, currently the Gunners and the Blues are better than the Devils...
Hope a new striker will arrive next Jan ...

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
The autumn 'red leaves' season ? Very beautiful and romantic leh...(saw on TV only) So only visiting Tokyo , or any other cities ? When u leaving ?

<font color="ff0000">Irene,</font>
Just jump in anytime u want
We can tok abt anything under the sun and moon .
Great! another MJ kaki liao

We still trying to arrange the 1st MJ session, looks like we may have enuff to open two tables liao

hey, u like dancing too huh ? one day we should organize a nites out gathering..no need bartop, tabletop also can la....

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
flying to Osaka 1st cos hubby is there. then following wkend going to Tokyo, then next time take pkg tour go Japan, can omit Tokyo liao

flying this Thursday nite... but me hvn't go get the JR Pass!!!!

SIN dollar very weak nowadays.. exchange rate is 1.61.. hiaz... that makes 1 JR pass abt $455

Dora,
oh oh~~~ er, dun know if still got time to take back our words &amp; give Johnson a dateline??? Anyway, now our house only left the carpentry works+hack away the skirting+final painting+water feature tiles basically all r up liao. Mayb may have some minor touch up here &amp; there...i hope he wont drag???

Ahmel,
No probs, u're free to drop by anytime lah, usually wkend we'll be there..or shd say Derrick will be there most of the wkends MORNING :p
Usually noon we'll go pak-tor abit-->to search for home furnishings/rom/wedding etc stuff.

Btw,our flat also got some minor problems, some of our walls r not smooth &amp; we only notice the flaws after the paint &amp; light coz the uneveness is so obvious when u on the light.
The HDB pple came over last sat &amp; they say will get someone to plaster for us.Hope the HDB pple wont play us out or take their own sweet time..
We've asked Johnson to do FOC for us but hor, he says want to charge us $350 to do the walls...biangzz

Angelia,
Wah~~u're such a filial daughter pay for ur mum's trip.

Ai ya, travel a lot=see alot &amp; learn alot, so ur spend alot=see alot &amp; learn alot , still worth it lah...

Alex,
er..although i havent buy sofa &amp; dun know the rate for the extra covers but i find abit X to pay 50~60% cost price of the sofa lor....Me juz tot the bulk of the sofa $$ shd be the sofa structure &amp; cushions &amp; not the covers.

Dora,
Btw, i still think my flat ceiling is lower lor hehee, mayb if i got time, shd do some measurement. Anyway, those abit older flats[eg ard 5yrs old] have higher ceiling..
Btw, u around on wkends? Mayb u want to drop by &amp; see see if got any diff. as ur flat, hehee

After making much research and asking around, come to a conclusion that the sofa cover can range between average of 45% to 55%. Very Ex hor...

So this means that the more ex your sofa set is, the more ex your cover will be... better to buy additional cover together with the sofa for better bargains lor...

I also find it very ex and might as well buy a new set.. hmmmm....

Hi Angelia,
Wah going to Japan for holiday so good... Good season now hor... All my colleagues and myself are avoiding going to Jap (our HQ) now because each time we go there for long hrs of discussion or technical lesson, we had a hard time trying to understand what they are trying to say. Ended up only know hai hai ... ahnoneh... ahnoneh... ha haa haa....

Hope to go there one day just for kai kai and shop shop lor...

Hi Ahmel,
Yup these 3 Horses still racing each other... Next match onwards, Gunners will have hard time b'cos the suspension will start.... Gunners won a few matches base on luck (eg vs Spurs). Not as gilat as the Devils...

Hi Gem,
For CCK resale price of 4-5 rms are averagely around 150%++ of a new flat. For EC, base on recent information, returns is very close to this number or only slightly lower. Agree with Dora that the selling price will not be as good as in the past, but I find that it is still better than normal stock market earning or interest rate... Good investment for longer terms and shorter terms if you have higher upfront cash. Like what Dora said whether Quintet is a good buy depends on your priorities lor

morning everyone!!

my floor all taken liao!! saw the couple visited their house last sat (same unit no as chia and dora but is @ my floor).

haa... don't have time to ask them whether visit SB or not... if not got more kakis liao

Irene

hahaha... I suggested that AhMel do bartop dancing cos he has a bartop in the kitchen
Will keep you in mind when we organise a MJ session

Alex

Wah you MIA for so long eh? I also think that extra set of sofa covers is not worth it, I'll just buy a new set of sofa.

Angelia

Wah going on Thur... have fun!! Spend a bit more $$ nevermind lah... as long as you guys and your mum have fun...

AhMel

Yah lor... me dun want to always on call to fly around... so stressful... want a less stressful job
will continure looking....

ChiaHui

We're at the flat almost every sat afternoon/evening, morning not there leh... but we'll have chance lah, downstairs only mah

As for Johnson, maybe you want to tell him that you want to buy all your stuff before year end to save the GST... dunno can work or not... We told him we need to move in by a certain date cos that is the most auspiscous date
But the date was selected by my FMIL so didn't exactly bluff him also lah

Koalabear

So now your level very happening already lah? Mine very noisy.. the neighbour kids were playing soccer at the lift landing on Deepavali, our gate also kenna the soccer ball, hiaz

HI angelia, Daniel

which floor do both of you stayed at hur? our block still have some empty units hor.. not sure w/t is it open for application.. my parents thinking of shifting over to CCK too.

wow.. angelia.. so nice yah.. flying off this thurs.. must be very excited... do have a safe &amp; enjoyable trip yah...;)

Hi AhMel,

hmm.. table top hur... pai shey lah..;) me only dance on the floor lah...may be going this fri nite...

irene,
i'm @ 692A, think my level is fully occupied

but i noe that some units @ level 2, 3, 4 not taken. u can check at HDB site

think it's always open for selection cos their showflat still "showing"

ha.. ha.. sorry angelia (angph38)... just realised that theres two angelia... i actually meant to ask Angelia Wong who stayed at 685B which floor she stays.. :P

sorry.. me so songtong...

Hi everyone. I'm back. My house almost done liao except for some touch up here and there.

Now awaiting anxiously for my wedding this friday. Seems like still have a number of things not donw yet.

Meow

Congrats!! Dun be so stressed... just relax and enjoy yourself... I'm sure everything will turn out fine.
Remember to update us yah!

Hi Keann

Nice to see you in this thread. Finished exams so now free already right?
Do drop by more often.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Meow!</font>

How exciting~~~~~

Have plenty of rest &amp; dun get stressed out. Leave all the misc tasks to ur hubby or aunties..hehee
Juz enjoy urself &amp; be prepared to be a beautiful bride! Keep us update on the wedding hor.

Hi Koalabear,
saw the nice neighbour below ur unit liao...that auntie quite helpful, lend us their chair a couple of times &amp; even let us go see their flat.

meow,
congrats!!

chia,
wah, u got such nice neighbours?? for ours, like nvr talk to each other, maybe cos ours is corner unit + we hv a divider near the door.

initially thot got 1 friendly couple, cos during reno time, chit-chat quite a lot. but after she pregnant &amp; shifted in (think accident cos they told us they not rushing for wedding, &amp; i don't rem seeing them wed, but maybe it's wkday lor).

anyway, after they shifted in, b4 bb born, they're quite noisy, with their friends over almost every wkend &amp; sometimes wkday nites. talked so loudly!! now better liao, cos got bb. i'm quite happy in some sense
i very bad hor?!

so far our neighbours all very nice!! (thank god!)

my sis teased us that we need to spent @ least 5 mins b4 we reach home coz my hubby will play with the kids... haahaaa

Thanks everyone for your well wishes. When i settle down, and if any of you want to come house visiting, feel free to do so.

This thread has been so quiet... where's everyone??

Meow, how was your wedding? You must have enjoyed yourself
On Honeymoon now?

Hmm...this thread indeed has turned quiet liao ...
My carpentry work should start today onwards, shld be completed in abt 2 wks time. Told Johnson I want all to complete by Xmas...he said no problem....really hope so ah ...

<font color="ff0000">Meow,</font>
Belated congratulations for ur wedding !
How did it go ? any pics/websites for us to view ?

<font color="ff0000">keann,</font>
Hi ! and Welcome !
So are u also staying at 691B , same as Dora ?

So have u bought ur fridge alr ? and MJ table ?

Dora and Ahmel
Maybe all busy now and some when for holiday lor...

Meow,
Congrat... congrat.... congrat....

Ahmel,
You must be looking forward for completion.... Will shift in immediately? Try to book your furniture and Electrical Appliances earlier hor... otherwise additional 1% GST by next year.

Sad sad... My PS@ damage, could not play M.Games anymore......

<font color="0000ff">hello everybody!</font>

Meow,
How's ur wedding? Juz curious, where did u hold ur banquet at? Me still searching for banquet venue.....

Dora,
me still around.

Now busy sourcing for banquet venue as well as ROM. Hope to confirm our banquet by this yr...
Juz KPO, have you booked ur banquet already? Where's the venue?

Ahmel,
Have u done ur grills yet? Anyway, we got our grills fm IMM Wrought Aluminium. It's abit more X than wrought iron, we choose this becoz it's aluminium &amp; supposingly wont rust &amp; can do sliding grills instead of normal casement grills.
U may want to check it out.

Btw, the HDB pple came to smoothen our walls already, quite efficient. Ur hollow tiles settle liao?

Alex,
since your PS@ damage liao, so u must be free to help me..hehe, any recommendation for banquet venue har?
(1) Trader's Hotel
(2) Grand Corpthorne Water Front
(3) Rasa Sentosa
(4) Holiday Inn Parkview
(5) Carlton Hotel
(6) Pan Pacific

Chia,

How to help you when I also sian about this leh... That's why I go back to my "second wife" (PS2). But than hor "she" suddenly on MC... Haa... haaa haaa... haaa...

Well I have been to GPWF, RS, and PP before... food and Ambient not bad. However you need to go there to test first hor. Can't really advice you on price (not sure myself).

By the way you intend to plan on which date?

Nope, i'm still here. Will be flying off only on this thursday. Tomorrow will go back to work again.

Ah Mel, photos can only be viewed at least 3
weeks later. I'm still waiting patiently for it.

Dora to be frank, i dun feel anything happy or sad on the actual day. Only feel excited the moment i steped into the ballroom.

Chia, i had my wedding at Chevrons, the SAF club house. It's not a hotel.

Hi Alex,
So u also looking for banquet venue? hehehe, u want me to fwd u quotes? Me rang almost all the hotels[including some off-the budget hotels] + some restuarants in spore liao :p

Been to seen some hotels + restuarants but dun know much abt the food...
what are some of the things/perks/hidden costs to look out for?

Secretly in my heart i like newer hotels/resturants....

Anyway, my choice abit limited since i'm not having alot of tables, probably max. only 20..

Thinking of a particular Sunday in Jul'04 BUT then, subject to change also. Some hotels charge wkend rates for Sunday, some charge wkday.

Which venue do u have in mind? Mayb we great minds think alike &amp; we can go for bulk discount? hahahaa :D

Hi Meow,

Is Chevron at Jurong east? er...is it necessary to be SAF member to use their club house?
I didnt check that out, can you give me their contact number? Thanks!

er, can show us ur pixs when it's ready?

U sure real cool &amp; calm sia....the thought of the wedding kinda of stressed me leh.....pre-wedding preparations also sianz....

Wow....the thread got hot again! good leh ...

Yup yup....looking forward to it ! I would probably shift in bit-by-bit la....maybe stay there occasionally.... becos my wife will only come over permanently next yr.
Thanks for the advice, I do plan to get all my stuff b4 end of yr .

What is PS@ ? U mean PSX ? is it newer than PS2 ? me currently playing 'Fatal Frame' on my PS2 , very scary leh... sometimes alone at night hor, dun really dare to play also ....

No grilles installed, yet to find a vendor . So what kind of designs have you selected ? close to 2K for ur whole house ? Thanks for the recommendation, will go check it out next time in IMM .
My hollow tiles not solved yet leh. That HDB officer quite inexperienced... after the HDB contractor guy 'knock-knock' on the tiles, do admitted they are hollow, but may not have extra tiles of the same type...he need to check the stock and get back to me

So you and Alex both sourcing for banquet venues ? Actually I also on a look-out
We are thinking of May 04. Want to have something simpler, perhaps a buffet lunch/dinner . Have you considered The Sentosa Resort (formerly Beaufort) ? Think they have one of the most romantic settings and ambience, but think is quite X.

So where r u going for ur honeymoon ?
I'm currently planning for mine next Feb, a self-drive holiday in NZ . Maybe shouldn't call a honeymoon la...where got pple go b4 the banquet one...haha.... anyway going with another couple.
Looking forward to ur pix !

Chia,
Is isn't neccessary to be a member to use their facilty and yes it's at Jurong East. I've booked a chalet a night before my wedding there for my ah yee to rest. The chalet is very big. I like it very much, they even have a designated bbq for each chalet. Think i'll booked again to have bbq there. Its jus that members got more perks like chalet can book half year before and also a little cheaper lor. You can call 6795 9339 to enquire on their package at brilliant garden.

haha...maybe too tired rushing here and there. Imagine having my bedroom doors up only a day before my wedding and were given 3 days to finish them. At least the ah gu still comment the door is nice. Heng ah....
Then i can't meet my hubby also. So i also need to deco a little on the room. I placed the alpha bears on the bedhead and some precious moments figurines at the tv console. Overall at least my SIL and BIL commented the house is nice, else i die ah.

Actually i really wish it to happen again. It was fun...i made a number of things for this wedding. Like my wedding bears clothings, my just married sign, and my cute cake topper which was commented nice too.
hee...if you want to see can see from the chevrons thread but must look through last month one.

AhMel, me going for a short trip first. Cos we thought of the place to go too late. Most of the tixs are sold out. So we'll jus wait, say maybe feb or what lor. But first must decide where to go first. Dun think i'll go NZ, maybe Aussie or other places. Really dunno leh.
So coming thurs will jus fly to thai to shop shop. This year haven't fly there to shop, too busy with the reno liao
good thing is now is almost done except for some touchup which will continue after i'm back.

Ah mel:
Hi..i am staying in 690c..but not far from dora's block!All around the area!

Dora:
You also jong?? i mean MJ...i Jong too!! heheheee....next time got kaki liaoz!!!

Chia:
Hi...wanna ask you about the grills...cos my parents are doing up their grills...is the IMM one good?

Well...i hope everyone can update me on where you stay... i do know that there were some postings before on everyone's location..but ..but...but....m relying on DIAL-UP lahz...so take FOREVER to load up archives!!!..sob sob....

I LIVE in 690C!! 8)

Meow : Congratz !!!

Chia / Alex :
i jst book my banquet with panpac. took the ocean room promotion S$638 nett. think its quite a gd deal. actually wanted traders but becoz i may have more than 30 tables.. so the choice is out.. personally i felt that the price is reasonable and also the service is very gd !! among all the hotels that i been to.. i like the co-ordinator from trader best !!

calling meow... *-*

i'm looking for "just married" sign too. where didi u get it??

Hee... looks like quite a few couple getting married in nov. Saw 2 wedding cars on last sat below my blk!!

Yesterday I complain quiet, today so happening already
next time must complain a bit then the thread will get active

AhMel
Most prob we'll go and get the fridge this weekend. We saw a MJ table and MJ set at Carrefour a couple of weeks back selling for only $49.90! I thot the table didn't look steady enuf, but FH never mind, cheap can already... maybe will go get it this week.... hopefully its still there.... anyway, I can't play MJ one, its you guys/gals playing, better dun play till so violent hor... if not the table collapse

AhMel you also thinking of May 04? Me and Keann also May 04
But think if you want it for weekends, must will be fully booked by now already, dunno abt buffet lunch tho'....

oh Keann you also like MJ, next time FH, AhMel, and a few others can play liao....me can't play MJ.....

ChiaHui
I booked PanPac Pacific Ballroom cos I have 40 tables, way before the promotions. I have a spreadsheet summarising banquet details such as capacity, pricing, perks, hidden costs etc that I did in Jul. You want it? I can e-mail it to you if you want.

Meow
Maybe u were too stressed by you reno liao.... happy for you that everything went smoothly and most importantly you enjoyed your big day
enjoy yourselves in Thailand

Koalabear
When's your big day? I also saw the bridal car downstairs

Thanks totto.

Koala, i made my just married sign. Bought a heart shape wood piece and spray it with paint. Same goes to the wooden alphabet spray with sliver paint. Then jus decor with some paper flowers....bingo...my just married sign.

36007.jpg

I saw concourse selling it, it has the just married letters string together. It's made of paper and in silver lettering.

meow..*-*

how long u made this?? i'm not sure i got time to do or not...(left less than 2 wks!!!)
i just need a simple one to hang on my main door :

koala, if you have the materials ready, it should be very fast. Since its only for the main door(not car's door) can get the one from concourse. Its at level 3 in one of the shops selling party deco

thanks meow!!! Ur sign look nice mar. "thinking" of DIY also but i always think and no actiom :p

heee.... mine will be on sunday ler... u all come down and have group photo lar.. haaa "p

Meow,
u're so creative! Your JustMarried sign looks so nice.

You enjoy your BKK shopping trip! I quite miss BKK, cheap food, cheap shopping..hehehe

Koalabear,
Congrats! So this Sunday is ur wedding?
Btw, think hor, mayb Meow shd circulate her JustMarried sign for CCK pple to use hor, heeheh :D

Ah Mel &amp; Keann,
hehe, my grills not up yet lah, this Sat they coming to do the actual on site measurement.
Basic knowlegde u shd know abt grills is round bar more X than those squarish bars.
Solid bars r more X than hollow bars.
Pricing of ur grills subject to the design that you want.

IMM got 3 grills shops at 3rd floor:
(1) Ascent - near the escalator, next to some be-glass door shop. The uncle's name is Lawrence. Basically they have 2 pricing for their wrought-iron grills...he'll usually quote the higher price around $10+/square feet with 10yrs gurantee &amp; he'll show u some invoices that some pple fm some ministry also use their grills.
They have another company catering to lower ends with no guaranttee, less than $10/square feet.

(2)"No name" shop - it's behind the Ascent shop,next to a window shop. Sometimes the sale person not in the shop...hehehe, the pricing here is more flexible.Cant remember the name of the guy i spoke to but find him abit blur coz when i ask him for quotes, he got to ring somebody to check the price.They can offer onsite measurement for u FOC without placing any deposit.
Anyway,I dun quite remember the exact price liao. :D

(3)Wrought Aluminium - behind the Ascent shop,this shop is only selling ALUMINIUM grills &amp; not iron grills. Their wrought aluminium grills look like the wrought-iron grills. The price is abit steeper than some wrought-iron grills.

Ahmel,
we choose the leaf design, with 'stairs' type,u can find it in the shop. The price he quoteing us is abt $2100+. Probably u may get cheaper price since me &amp; Derrick lousy at bargaining :D

Keann,
er...we went to IMM becoz it's near. Think there're some grills manufacturer at Defu lane. Those pamplets that u received in ur letterbox could be cheaper than shops in IMM.

well done chia!!! btw,when deiciding the design, pls bear in mind that u have to clean the grills next times (unless u got maid lar). select something simple is better. i'm regretted coz mine one is star + sun + ... very diff to clean and hubby not helping me coz i insist to get that design
lucky only installed that design for living room's window :p

Hi Dora,
Received ur banquet listing liao.
Juz curious, r u having those march-in &amp; will u welcome ur guests during reception or..?
Me also bored at work...but happen that tday got a load of bo liao stuff to do &amp; worst still got to answer calls for my colleagues who r on leave...sian!

Btw, does PanPac cater to small no. of tables? I know they have the Ocean Ballroom promotion but it's for min. 30 tables...dun know if they can cater for smaller no...

koalabear,
i've totally forgotten that those grills need to clean also hor....hehe, probably me will get Derrick(FH) to clean..he do top, me do bottom :D

So how's ur wedding preparation liao?

Chia :
I know there are ple who book for 24/25 tables excluding the 1 reserve. Thght the promotion was quite gd coz the price is valid from (mon-sun). most hotel charge more for weekends. provided if u do not mind the low ceiling.

If ur interested, PM me.. i have taken some pix of the room with table setup and the reception foyer..

Dora :
so nice !! your holding ur banquet at pacific ballroom.. due to budget constraint.. i can only use ocean room.

Hi Chiahui

I'll be doing the march in and the reception. We're getting the entire Pacific Ballroom as we have 40 tables, so can do a very long march-in. that's one of the reasons why we took Pan Pac also.

Think you can try calling them to ask about the smaller number of tables. I only know that the decor comes free for min 30 tables, for smaller number of tables, dunno if they charge or not. Talk to the co-ordinator, her contact number is in the spreadsheet.

Think Marina Mandarin also caters to small number, why dun you call them up to ask?

Totto
Budget was also a problem, but we have such big table number so also bo-bian lor.... ocean ballroom is also quite nice, very cosy

oops sorry, i've lend my jus married sign and some other stuffs like angbao box to another of my friend who's getting married end of this month.

Hi Meow,
Wow very creative hor...

Hi Chia, Toto,
Did i give the wrong impression that I looking for a banquet... Hmmm... Kind of... but only planning hor still no confirm date yet leh... Always dealy here and there... ha haa haa...

Hi Dora,
Can share with me your list too.... heee... Million thanks...

Hi Ahmel,
Aiyah... typo error lor... It is PS2. PS3 is the newest which is under R&amp;D now which we are supporting it heeee... Still in early stage of R&amp;D luanch date unknown yet.

wah..this thread suddenly become so active talking about marriage ah..heehee....

me so busy so long no come in liao..hope u guys still remember me...

my flat finishing renovation soon..but then got a few things to touch up...

meow...congrats to you too...u so sweet to do the sign...if it's me..i think i just fall asleep..heehee..but then it looks so nice.....

Very Nice sign ! If so many of us here wanna borrow ur sign at the same time hor, guess must 'long-chiam-pass' alr
Have a super shopping trip !

<font color="ff0000">Keann,</font>
u stay in 690C ? oh, next to me only leh, me in 690B

We do have a contact list, normally maintained by Angelia. But she now in Nippon la... give me ur email addr and I could forward to u .

Paiseh , can u also send me the spreadsheet ? thank u hor. We thinking of May 04 as China has a week-long holiday at that time, so mebbe some of xiaomei's friends can also come lor ... still not confirm though ...
Quick! go grab the MJ table+set, very cheap leh !

Then we can start Jonging liao ... hehe... learnt a new word from Keann ...

Thanks for the grilles info ! wah, the price quite ex hor...besides the living and 3 rooms, does urs also include the aircon ledge window and kitchen ?
Will probably drop by IMM this weekend.

wow, u are supporting the R&amp;D of PS3 ?? u working in Sony or a vendor supporting Sony ? very interesting... so u get to try out their games first-hand ?