Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
okie. but i'll cfm wif u again. cos think my frenz wanna change the meeting time
to 1+ pm

Hi Meow,
sorry to hear about your MIL, hope she is coping it well.
Don't stress too much..!
Take care of your health too.

me happen to come across this thread.. me stay at CCk Crescent too.. but seems like no one stay at blk 685B?

irene,
WELCOME!!!!

u wanna drop me a mail with ur mobile contact &amp; email address for me to update the CCK list?

There are <font color="ff6000">Angelia (Wong)</font> and <font color="ff6000">Daniel</font> @ 685B

dora,
my other appt is postponed.. so i'll see u tmr @ 12:30-1pm ?

who else coming? where is this <font color="ff6000">AHMEL!!!!</font> his wife came back, then he "disappeared" liao. very "heavy color light friends" leh!!

Angelia

Okie okie.... so see you tomorrow....

Yah lor... where is AhMel??!!! Aiyah... of course wifey more impt mah

Angelia....eh... you sms him? I'll probably drop him a msg tonite also...

Hi pple...

me chose white colour laminated kitchen cabinet leh..but after a few days thinking me afraid that i may regret....any colours to recommend?? the electrical man quote me $1300 for shifting of some points and laying of cables leh...abit ex right??

hi angelia,

what's your email address?

hi shirley,

Personally i will not advise on choosing white laminated kitchen cabinet.. coz white laminate will turn yellow as time pass.. and since you are using it in the kitchen, i thk it will be worst as any stains will be quite obvious leh.. u want to reconsider?

Hi Irene

Welcome!! You move in already?

Shirley

I have light grey and white for kitchen cabinet to match the grey wall tiles by HDB. I wanted white cos the kitchen is very dark, so wanted to brighten up the place. I think its very seldom that you'll stain kitchen cabinet, most likely its the top only (at least for my parents place). I haven't started using the kitchen yet, but I think the white cabinets will also ensure that I'll keep the kitchen clean
I think the quality of the laminate will determine if it will turn yellow. The study table/shelves at my parents place only turned slightly yellow after >10 years... but after scrubbing with Jif, it turned white again

Angelia/AhMel
Sorry the roman blinds were not up yet, so you can't see it....
The fishtank pple made such a huge mess, after you guys left, I cleaned until siao
At least the curtain guys didn't create such a big mess....

So Angelia, you decided on your curtains already?

AhMel, so Xiaomei leaving today? Hope you have settled everything liao. FH asked when you want the Mahjong session, he itchy hands liao

Dora,
no worries, we're pretty close by
at least we get to see MelMel's wife
&amp; oso have a rough idea.

BUT, do let us noe when ur blinds R up so we can go feel the fabric

wah, think next yr CNY u all can play "tong xiao" liao. got 2 long wkends leh (CNY &amp; Hari Raya)
then i go there &amp; eat

long time never post, great to see u here again

Meow,
sorry to hear abt your MIL. U take care ok ?

Irene,
Welcome !! R u currently renovating or moved in alr ?

Dora,
yes, xiaomei left this morning on a midnite flight. now i'm all alone again...

Managed to settle most of the stuff. Designs have been finalized with Johnson, in fact spent most of yesterday with him. He brought us to select lightings, then went onsite to discuss electrical works with their guys. Did chat abt you and he said will definitely give u a good discount for ur final 10% payment...
shld lah, since u introduced so many clients to him.

Mahjong ? No problem....now my hands also itchy alr ...
Have it in your new 'mahjong room' ? hehe...where to get the other 2 legs ? Kuek dun play, so urself? Derrick ? Alex ?

Angelia,
ya lor...same here, my wife also get to see u pple too

So how...have u thought it over? do u still want my rice-cooker ? or helped me to find a buyer ??

ya lor...next CNY shld be fun, all neighbours shld have moved in alr . You can come and eat, but must help to "Pao Kopi" hor .

Shirley,
hehe...think both of us are busy with same things leh.... we also very blur after discussing all the colors - paint, lamintates . I also decided on 'zen white' for half of my kitchen cabinets, the other half will be 'Ju2 Hong2' color...kind of orangish red ....and black granite top. As for electrical works, mine came out to be ~2K , after discounts and bargaining somemore... mine requires more shifting of points due to wall hacking, adding a no. of extra power points and many light points also. How about lights, have u chosen alr ?

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
"pao kopi"?? no need lah... the hostess will hv pkt drinks ready...

wah, so u very efficient hor, settled almost everything in few days.

orangy-red kitchen?!!! me can't wait to see leh

rick cooker ah? i got say i want me? thot the arrow is at <font color="ff6000">Dora</font>???

as for MH, <font color="ff6000">Dora &amp; hubby</font> already 2 legs, plus <font color="ff6000">Derrick</font> &amp; u enuff liao lor. else still can get the rest of the CCK-ers

AhMel

Don't worry lah, with friends and future neighbours like us... you won't be lonely.... just come in here to chat more often lor

Wah I was already complaining that my electricals very ex... yours almost $2K?
*faint*

AIyah... he say say only mah... wait till I see the "good discount" then I'll believe it

I also can't play Mahjong... so I can make snacks while Angelia Pao Kopi
Oh.... must try to find another 2 kakis then you guys can start playing hor

Angelia

Sure.... will ask you to come over....

for MJ, how abt the rest? e.g. <font color="ff6000">shirley, irene, pris, meow, koalabear, AhBlur, etc...</font>
(btw, where's <font color="ff6000">AhBlur</font>? MIA liao??)

Angelia,
Me don't really know how to play MJ but hubby maybe can join in play abit lor.
But still prefer cards game.......

Wah.... card games and mahjong... my new flat is becoming like a casino liao

And since so many pple are interested in makan.... let me go and get my fridge first... then we can have a gathering-makan-casino-making noise session....

BTW... AhMel you really blur lah.... you were asking me abt the rice cooker, not Angelia lah... anyway, I'm eyeing on a electronic rice cooker that can also double up as a slow cooker.... but very ex leh....

<font color="aa00aa">dora,</font>
dropping hint ah? but too bad, we all dun understand.

we bought our appliance from Sweetson @ Bt Batok. things pretty cheap as compared to those big chains like BEST, HARVEY NORMAN, etc. got our fridge, washing machine, fan &amp; TV from them. intend to check out convention microwave oven, ventilation fan then get from them as well

<font color="aa00aa">koalabear,</font>
ya, ya, we go make noise... <font color="ff6000">Dora,</font> ur new place got karaoke or not?

<font color="119911">we turning her hse into entertaiment centre liao

<font color="aa00aa">pris,</font>
maybe we start another table for begginers.. hahaha.. we play "sweets" instead of $$

<font color="0000ff">btw, anyone bought / intend to buy sewing machine? i thinking of buying, but dunno which to get. then seems expensive...

Angelia

hahaha.. you are faster than me.... I didn't intended that to be a hint.... but since you mentioned it... eh... why not??? hee hee hee

We don't have karaoke lah.. both of us can't sing leh.... we haven't bought our home theatre set... but don't intend to buy with Karaoke anyway.

Can I have the contact of the electrical shop? I've asked around a few others at Bukit Merah also... ehh... do you mean convection microwave oven? I also want to get.... maybe we go buy together will be cheaper
BTW, what's the ventilator fan for??

You good at sewing? Me hopeless at it.... can cook but can't sew.... maybe should learn from you

<font color="aa00aa">dora,</font>
huh? what hint?

ventilator fan is those round (stainless?) steel, sitting on the fan kind lor. noisy than normal fan, but more powerful

hhehee.. ya, ya.. wrong spelling

no lah, not good at sewing, juz normal "sew 2 pc together" kind lah
. but the sewing machine nowadays very smart leh, can sew according to ur (softcopy) image....

let me dig out the contact, then post here.

If you wanna buy electrical stuff, besides sweetson @ BB, u can try calling Megadiscount store. they're price are also cheap compare to Best Denki, Hv Norman, etc.. if u are interested, can go down to their shop at Katong shopping or Novena Sq i think.. if ur buying more than 1 item, can ask them for further discount from the price tag..
Sorry dun have their no. with me...

hohoho...me finally choose white &amp; light grey cos my designer suggested it...me got light grey flooring for my kitchen that's y i wanted something bright...

me want to play mahjong too!!! hahahaha...now they started the lightings stuff then tomorrow start the flooring liao...wah..getting headache liao....

u guys go where but furniture huh?? me saw some nice furnitures in Star furniture leh..have a friend in furniture sales, he told us to not buy furniture from Novena cos always got complaints..

poor Dora...her house will be so noisy..wonder her neighbours will complain anot..heehee...

me saw some lightings and the guy quote us $1233 leh...cos total about 25 lights...heehee...

me got sanyo brand air con leh..any comments?? please feel free to let me knw...

Angelia,
ya lor, i also can't wait to see my 'orangy-red' kitchen
we prefer more vibrant color, originally wanted orange, but postform dun have this color except with lines one but we dun like, so chose the next best color lor .
Ok lah...i will just keep my rice-cooker then, next time all of u come visit we can 'xia chu' and then will need it liao ...

Wah...i think u shld change ur nick to ActBlur hor...hehe....

Dora,
Ya, with neighbours like u pple i will not feel lonely la....will definitely come in as often as i can , but tomorrow my reno will start liao . finally !

Ya lor...the electricals very X ! 27 lighting points, and over 30 lights to be fitted ....
btw, what is a 'slow cooker' ? same as steamer ?
mine comes with 'steamer' function also leh ....wanna consider ? hehe....

Haha...ur place will really be turned into a casino den ! one table for MJ, one for Cards, mebbe can setup one for 'Da Xiao' ... heh...

Hi totto,
ya, Mega definitely cheaper than Best. For example saw the 42" Hitachi Plasma in Best, selling for $9999 including home cinema system, choose between wall mount or stand, minus home system only can reduce $300 . Call up Mega, the guy quoted $8500 for same model, w/o home system and include both wall mount or stand. think can bargain further .... will definitely check them out for subsequent buys .

<font color="aa00aa">shirley,</font>
yup, DO NOT GO TO NOVENA OR ANY OF ITS SUBSIDIARIES!!!!! they always kenna complaints.. either this or that. think quite a number of SB couples oso kenna.

Shirley

Heh heh.... during the mooncake festival gathering, the CCKer's already had a wild time in my unfurnished flat at 11+pm... my neighbour already came to "Look"... think they are prepared already lah.... haven't moved in already so noisy... next time move in will be worse

You also chose grey/white kitchen?? That makes the 3 of us: me, you and Angelia

AhMel

Eh.... My place not that big lah... you really think its a gambling den meh....

Slow cooker its the kind that can boil soup for hours on low "fire".... the electronic kind has timer that can stop on its own, so by the time we come back from work, got yummy soup liao....

Angelia/Shirley

Actually I got most of my furniture thro White Collection which is part of the Novena group. My dining set is from Castilla, and mattress is 4-star, but bought thro white collection package. Only the bed frame is from Cellini. Altho' I've heard horror stories of Novena after I placed my orders, I would say the service at White Collections was very good. (I didn't order anything from Novena). We changed the delivery date 3x... and in the end, it was still very prompt and good. I told you abt the dented dining table leg - it was replaced straight away....Cellini was also very good... Dunno I'm lucky or what... but I'm definitely 1 satisfied customer

Angelia
I'll prob go check out the electrical store at BB

me long time din come to the forum, very busy.. feels good to be back and reading your postings.

i'm deciding the colors for my kitchen.. was thinking of using white and grey cabinents and black homogenious flooring... wonder how it will look.. scared the black flooring too dark..

Anyone installing aircon in the living room? i was told that the BTU for mitsubushi starmex is not enough for the unit in the hall... they say toshiba is more powerful, able to support... but toshiba so expensive leh...

now we headache shopping for electrical things and furniture for the house..

wizard...

black homogenous flooring for the kitchen not dark with white &amp; grey cabeinets...it looks very nice..I've seen a combination like that...then I heard from a friend that Mitsubitshi Starmex really can save electricity but then chances of water leaking into the inverter is very high so be very careful. My hubby has some dealings with a air-con man...so he told us lor...

Gals...

You all go Dora house 'xia chu' then I go there eat cos I can't cook...wah...good leh..hahahaha

then now problem is my customary will be next year Sept or later then my grandma say cannot buy bed orelse I have to buy another new bed when my customary is drawing near..aiyoh...
anybody know whether can I just change the mattress for my customary wedding and still use the same bed frame??heehee..don't dare ask my grandma orelse later kena nagging..heehee

then anyone heard of this shop called 'Ritz Rymen' at the Plaza??

Hi Wizard

I have black homo tiles for my foyer area. Really looks nice... but Angelia and AhMel say very reflective, so if wearing short skirts then can see everything liao
But I find homo tiles a bit too slippery for kitchens leh.

I have aircon for my living room. LG inverter gold system 4. Becos my living/dining is L-shaped, the other side take a long long time to cool down. The salesman say only LG and Toshiba is cold enough, but Toshiba very ex so I took LG lor.. got 5 years warranty somemore... and everything made in Korea.... The jap brands only the compressor is made in Japan, but everything else assemble in Malaysia/Thailand/China....

Hi Shirley
Initially we wanted to buy our bedframe from Ritz Rymen, but later found the shop a bit suspicious. we 1st saw them at an exhibition at Suntec - asked for the name card, say out of stock... then when I asked them where is their shop, the guy mumbled something like a few places also have, instead of giving me the exact place. I asked him furniture mall at Beach Road? he went Yah yah. How abt IMM? Yah yah.... He just gave me a feeling that he was trying to hide something... When we went IMM, couldn't find Ritz Rymen, but we saw a shop under a different name selling the exact same bed set... we asked the girl for name card, she gave me a photostated writed small piece of paper (??!!) But she said the shop is new so I gave her the benefit of the doubt. Then we went to the Beach road Ritz Rymen... again they have problem giving me their namecard (but this shop is not new leh).... Then the sales lady say the IMM shop is not new....

Anyway, wasn't comfortable giving them any deposit. They always give me a feeling that they are trying to hide something.... so just be careful lor....

The bed is the An Chuan thingy right? My FMIL say as long as we turn the mattress over than buy new bedsheets can liao... But it really depends on the "pantangness" of your grandma lor...

Angelia/AhMel
So quiet nowadays?

AhBlur/ChiaHui
Any updates on your side??

Meow
Busy Preparing for your wedding?

Hello everybody!

Wizard,
Wah, i think i'll like ur black black kitchen...hehe, i wanted black tiles &amp; black cabinets also but my ID say not good &amp; my FH also dun like all black......
so end up i use grey tiles with a stretch of black tiles, with black &amp; white cabinets, mostly r white color cabinets...

Ahmel,
Another good point abt Mega elect is they accept credit cards ;) Can delay pymt abit :p Guess shd have credit card instalment plan also?

Anyway, pei fu u sia~~~ so fast can select the materials, colors, etc etc.... me &amp; derrick see until eyes see stars liao, still have some carpentry items havent choose color yet.

Angelia,
yeah yeah, can count me in for the beginners table for MJ? hehehe

Dora,
Count Derrick in for the MJ, he also long time no play liao....

Anyway, Johnson's workers already doing the tiling works for the living rm liao bery fast sia, probably end of Nov shd complete?
We also choose those black tiles for the foyer,i prefer those shiny shiny types BUT Derrick prefer matt BUT end up choose shinny...hehee
Me bery bad 1, dun care if pple 'offlight' when they enter our flat :P

We also bought the downlights fm SLM, no time to shop around in advance since we only got wkends but wkends occupied with other stuff, sighzz....
We havent even finish browsing the whole stretch of Balestier lighting shops.......

Btw, mind if i ask how much u do ur window grills? Can recommend? hehehe

Everybody in the world keeps reminding us to do the window grills....we like this Wrought Aluminium shop at IMM but the price abit steep, around $2.5+K for the whole house, It's solid aluminium, wont rust BUT thinking, we dun need to do sooo good lah, coz dun know if we'll stay there for so long :p hahaha

Anyway,went in search of ROM venue &amp; banquet venue.

We finalise our ROM venue last wk but banquet venue still searching.....
Shd still have plenty of time to search for next yr Jul'04 hor? Anybody got recommendations for 15-20 tables @ less than $700/table for Sunday?

Juz curious, anybody attended any wedding at Carlton Esplanade room on 4th floor? Any comments? Me quite like the smallness of the room :p hahaha

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
U mean the matt (non-slip) homo tiles in the kitchen is still slippery ? Matt tiles should not be shiny and reflective la, so no danger of "zou-guang" in the kitchen for Wizard..

<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
wah...long time never see u here alr ....
no choice la, need to decide on these things fast cos my wife was here only for short period of time. We also select colors until color-blind...at the end took up some advice from Johnson lor...still waiting to see the full-color perspective.

Where is SLM? was it the shop Johnson brought u to? We got no time to shop around, so selected all our lightings from the first shop, i think it's called Singapore Lightings.

Today the aircon guy is installing the trunking.
I decided on Daikin system 4 inverter, plus a single split unit (24,000 btu) for my living/dining/kitchen... dunno enough power or not cos it's an open concept .... i bought from Hong Seng for price of $4650, will be getting my instant heater from him too, $95 each. but true la, only 1 yr warranty for blower and installation, 5 yrs for compressor.

Me also looking ard for good deals on grilles. My dad also emphasize to install them, for safety reason (remember the recent spiderman news?) and convenience.

Hi all CCKers

Mi back here in this thread...:D...my renovation finally completed liowz...all probs rectified...at first my granite flooring had certain parts yellowish and we tot its the flooring got defect...but our contractor told us granite flooring need bout 3-6mths to be totally dried up and yesterday mi and hubby went back the flat to have a look...some of the tiles dont look as yellowish as b4 liowz...at least one piece of matter off my brain...otherwise imagine having to knock out the flooring will take so much work..*faint*

Then yesterday went Queensway the shops at the hdb flats opposite queensway shopping ctr to get some electrical appliances...its quite cheap there wor...as we compared the prices to the hougang "goh ah bee".

Now busy recke arnd and buying stuffs for the new hse liowz...went ikea to get some tings...then still have to look arnd for sofa and dining table sets...

Btw, anyone got recommendation on those 3-seater cloth sofa which is bery cushiony and soft soft one...mi dont kinda like those hard sofas....but my budget is abt $500 for the 3-seater sofa

Wah!! Suddenly everyone appeared

ChiaHui
I did my wrought iron grilles at $1.4K for all windows except kitchen, cos too cramped to hang clothes if we open the grilles due to the parapet wall. Its at IMM too.... let me know if you want the contacts.

You want your banquet in Jul 04? I heard most places are fully booked till Dec 04 for weekends already, unless you want a weekday.... you better quickly get your venue 1st....I can't share my experiences cos I was looking for >35 tables during my banquet search.... maybe other threads here can help you?

AhMel
Aiyah, at least your dad makes sense cos you are at a low floor. Can you believe it when my FMIL tried to convince us to install grilles for the same reason?? We are at such a high floor!!!???
Unless the spiderman really thinks there's treasure in our flat to take that kind of risk
She made so much noise when she realised that we didn't install grilles for kitchen. She want us to install the Aluminium sliding grilles if we don't have space. So obiang!! we explained that we would have to close the kitchen door anyway if we have kids next time, cos there are many other hazards in the kitchen as well.... She still maintains that the spiderman can climb thro the kitchen window
Give up....

The matt homo tiles are still very smooth right? Its just that they are non-reflective only... dunno
at least I didn't think the ones that we saw was suitable as kitchen tiles...

AhBlur!!
LOng time never hear from you.... good.... you are done with your reno also... ehh.... soft cushiony cloth sofa... hmmm seems like we never saw any during our hunt leh... they seems quite hard... how about ikea? Although I don't think their sofa are very reliable. ANother place that you may like to check out is seahorse... I bought a sofabed (1.5 seater) at only $89. They have others which are quite soft, and quality looks quite OK for the price... you may want to check it out.....

Oh no.. seems like everyone has started on the reno.. i hope nobody has choosed homo 60*60 china tiles for their living and bedroom.. coz it would so call warp.. sorry duno how to spell.. my contractor has to hack and redo some parts of my hse.. i am still not statisfied with the end result.. really regret not choosing ceramic..

i also have black homo tiles at my foyer area
not reflective at all.. !!

Ahblur, when are you moving in ? my reno is still underway.. dun think i can move in until mid nov.
btw.. have u meet our neighbour who stays on the 9th floor ? they have change the layout of their unit
thght it looks really special..!

wah...really suddenly everyone appeared...hahahaha

where is SLM??? me lookin for lightings too...

Dora...yah lah...when I 1st saw Ritz Rymen it's at S'pore Expo then I also ask for name card then also out of stock. They saw the other shop at IMM not Ritz Rymen (dunno what name the lady say)...

Chia...happy choosing colours...me choose until like siao...hahahahaha...

then hor...u guys if go IKEA buy bed hor..must check the size hor...dunno whether u all know anot..IKEA beds is slightly smaller so if buy liao have to buy their mattress also orelse outside buy mattress later cannot fit in...

Homo tiles very nice...I like...but then due to budget constrain..we got ceramics...sigh...

u all hor...foyer area got a special type of tiles leh...i think mine most simple liao..hahaha...no choice cos got no monies...heehee

AhMel...the window grills y didn't ask the ID to do it leh???

Shirley
Dun sigh !!! ceramics are gd and nice !!! homo suckz
luckily my hubby dun log in here... haha.. coz i am the one who insisted on homo.. and now i am complaining..

Ahmel,
Yup, SLM=Spore Lighting Mart, shd be the same store as urs lah...hehehee, buy fm that Ah hong,rite? :P

Anyway, we also scared of the spiderman althou we got nothing much in our house BUT juz play safe lor....i find that the easiest way to climb into the flat is thru the kitchen &amp; the masterbedrm aircon letch...
My mum even suggest doing grills for the 2 toilet windows &amp; she also said better to do vertical pattern types of grills &amp; not horizontal coz the horizontal type of grills may 'posed' as stairs for the spiderman to climb...hahahaa

Dora,
er..do u mind tellin me the name of the shop u went to? is it at 2nd floor of IMM?
Btw, when u havin any house warming?

hmm....y sporeans so KS must book banquet 1 yr in advance???

Wah, u havin so many tables, must be quite xiong on the pocket also...hehehe

Ahblur,
think furniture mall at beach rd got quite a variety &amp; i think there's 1 shop at the basement which can custom-made the sofa for u to ur requirements OR u can try those neighbourhood shops coz they usually dun charge GST..hehehe

Hi Ahmel,

For Aircon it is calculated as such. eg 24kBTU. If 4 aircon unit on together 24kBTU will be divided by 4 which is 6kBTU each.

Each room usually range between 5kbtu to 9kbtu. Usually Master bedroom require more as the room is bigger. By for Living Room it will usually need much more BTU. If BTU not sufficient, even if you on all Air-con at a time it might not be fully utilise even if the sub-unit indicate 14k or 9k or 8k btu capacity.

Hope this helps lor...

for my kitchen, i dun think i'll use the black homo tile.. we saw one that is quite nice, it's dark brown, but ceramic...

for aircon, we will likely use LG coz it is not very ex and comes with 10 years warranty !

we will also make grills lor, bec ours low floor.. the contractor quote us $650 but it is the normal ones, not wrought iron... wrought iron very ex leh!!

<font color="0000ff">wow, i only din come in for 2 days, so many posts!!!

me on MC last Friday &amp; yesterday, last Friday, eye swollen. Sunday nite, realised my eye got red spot, so went see doctor but he said no cause for alarm, juz some tiny blood vessels burst. will recovered in 1-2 wks time. nonetheless, he still gave me an MC

<font color="119911">erm... i dun remember who said what, so i'll juz give my "kpo comments" based on what i remember okie

<font color="ff0000">Foyer &amp; Homo Tiles</font>
hmm.. seems like quite a no. of u has a different "section" to differentiate the foyer.

our kitchen uses matt, light brown homo tiles, with grey/white cabinets. the tiles give me an "always sandy" feel leh

<font color="ff0000">An Chuang</font>
heard my mum's fren's son oso juz flipped the mattress around and put on new bedsheets. think it depends on how "pantang" u R lor

<font color="ff0000">Sofa</font>
think P&amp;R has those soft soft sofa rite? but think not cheap.

<font color="ff0000">Grilles</font>
my dad oso kept nagging at us when we doing our reno last time. but my hubby don't want &amp; i oso feel it looks awful, so.... till now still hvn't install
juz like what an ID ever mentioned, if the "spiderman" really "risk" his life to climb 15 storeys to our flat to steal, think we can "reward" him with some of our valuables lor

think when the time comes, we'll do those normal aluminium grilles

<font color="ff0000">Banquet</font>
we had ours @ Charming Garden Restaurant @ Copthorne Orchid Hotel. it's under Tung Lok &amp; we've received a lot of good comments on the food served that nite

Price is below $500, but max can only accomodate 22 tables comfortably for the restaurant. Don't quite remember how many can their ballroom take.

<font color="0000ff">it's quite fun going thru the renovation process rite? even nicer when u hv neighbours to discuss / complains etc....

don't forget to invite us to ur "open house" when ur flats R ready

Wow,

So many messages... the thread is suddenly so active again.

ChiaHui

The wrought iron grille shop is at IMM 2nd Floor. That shop don't have an obvious shop name, but its actually called belcraft. There are 2 wrought iron grille shops on the same row that is facing the main escalator. Belcraft is the shop that is further away from the escalator, but like I said, the shop name is not written there.

Wah your mum even more li4 hai4 than my FMIL.... Can imagine if the 2 of them have the chance to talk... they'll probably come up with more ideas... maybe we would need to put barbed wire outside of the windows!!! Hahaha

Yah lor... so many tables... but no choice since both of us are the 1st to get married in the family.... so bo bian lor.... after the wedding got to eat plain porridge everyday

Totto
No worries, I finished my reno with the 60X60 homo tiles liao.... very even no warping, except for the intersaction between the black tiles and the white tiles you can feel a bit of the edge. But other than that, I'm very happy with the workmanship. My ID said that homo tiles must be laid by one person in a single direction. If more than 1 person lay and start from different places, when the tiles finally meet in the middle, that's where the warping can occur. Dunno true or not... but mine seems very flat leh.... My collegues ID told her that actually the italian/Spanish tiles require even better workmanship than the China tiles, if not they will warp even more. The only complain I have is that if you have stains, must quickly clean it.... if not it will be adsorbed by the tiles, then have to scrub until siao.... I also kinda regret not doing ceramic when I was scrubbing the stains.... But it looks nice lor
But actually ceramic also quite nice lar...

Wizard
You LG aircon got 10years warranty??!! Mine only has 5 years leh

Poor Angelia
Your eyes feeling better now? Don't think its a problem.... my boss's boss also seem to have this problem a few times... but it goes away quite fast....

Will invite everyone over for a gathering/MJ/makan session after I get my fridge

<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
Oh, so it's the same lightings shop la. Yup, served by Ah-Hong too. So besides the downlights did u get the other lights from them too ? No chance to visit Mega yet, prob one of these days.... and they did advertise on the papers that 0% interest free credit card installment available, just dunno whether total price still the same or not .

Haha...i think ur mum's theory is really logical. Actually I prefer horizontal grilles compared to those square types, cos got more clear space for viewing mah. But my neighbours on top of me may be more scared, cos easier for 'spiderman' to reach their place ...

I think even if one stay on a high floor eg. 20th, it doesn't mean the 'spiderman' has to climb the full stretch of 20 floors, he may take the lift to 19th, then start from there ... depends on flat design also la...

<font color="ff0000">AhBlur,</font>
Wah, so good, reno finished liao ? how long did u take huh ? 2 mths ?
what kind of soft soft sofa u refering to, micro-fibre ones ?

<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
Hey Alex ! Finally u appeared again.

Thanks for the explanation. I do understand that it all depends on BTU amount to determine actual output. My system 4 has 26K BTU, should be sufficient for all my 4 rooms (not likely all 4 will on aircon at same time), only worry is the single split one (24K) , whether enough for my living/dining/kitchen(cos no door la!).

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
What is the BTU of your living rm fan-coil ? u said it took a long time to cool your living/dining, roughly how long ? up to 30 mins ?
And I thought your kitchen tiles are also matt homo, or are they ceramics ?
Looking forward to our next gathering ! most prob next month ?

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
My ID did quote me $1300 for aluminium grilles. I did not take it up cos thought could find better deals/designs outside.
My foyer currently also same homo tiles as living. But still can change color la, as long as still homo tiles then no extra charge.

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
aiyo....poor thing... no wonder never see u ard for some days. ur eyes better now ? it sounded so scary when u said blood vessels burst in eye.. or did u own a bino or telescope ? cos my granny used to warn me when i was a kid, never 'peep' at other pple else eyes will get swollen

And the time has come NOW, for u to install ur grilles. Perhaps all those of us here intending to install grilles can do together, then can bargain for better price leh. My dad also wanna re-do his house's grilles.

AhMel,
no leh, i dun own such stuff leh. so oso dunno what happened. maybe i rubbed my eyes too vigourously liao.

i oso got a shock when doctor says blood vessels burst.. got greater shock when he told me "no cause for alarm.. the blood spot will disappear by itself after 1-2 wks... after it turned yellow, green..." *faint*

hehhee.. now still not the time to do grilles lah. hahha.. maybe end next yr.
still wanna enjoy more "freedom" b4 going to "jail"

btw, if the spiderman wants to risk falling from such a high level......... i oso dunno what to say...

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
Wah! sounds exactly like our traffic light colors leh - red, yellow, green ...
so what color are ur eyes now ??

oh, so u dun intend to install grilles together with ur curtains huh ? then u better factor this in when installing curtains/blinds.

<font color="0000ff">Btw, anyone has comments on which type of grilles mechanism is better - sliding type, or those can open outwards/inwards type? or any other possibilties? </font>

Hi Dora,

Ya lor...its not easy to find gd and cheap sofa...those that i see that are kinda comfortable costs bout $1k for 3-seater lor..and mostly r synthetic leather sofa which after sitting for a while will feel hot...unless u r in the aircon room. As for Ikea one, so far i heard most ppl say their furniture cannot buy one, spoil easily....although i spotted some 3-seater quite nice when i went on Sunday....but also not cheap....bout $900 each. *faint*

Hi totto,

U r the one living at the 8th flr same unit number as mi one rite? I havent met the 9th floor neighbour, but my hubby said he saw them b4 cos got once he kpo go down and see their reno...guess i will go down and see this friday, cos will be there most prob the whole day to clean up the hse since reno completed lor..

Hi chia,

Thanx for ur suggestion, will try to drop by Furniture Mall when i can...cos hubby now trying to get all the tings ready liowz...he prob moving in during early-mid Nov.

Hi AhMel,

Yuppies...renovation fully completed liowz..probs all settled....took us total bout close to 2 mths...cos we started on reno end Aug...now oledi close to end Oct. Hmmzz..the wat is micro-fibre sofa? I dont want those velvety material lor...cos feel a bit farnie lehz.