Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
AhMel Da Ge

Yup GDL is Guo Da Li... that's when the groom brings pingjing and a thousand other useless stuff to the brides place, incl the cakes and the brides family will distribute to relatives together with the invitation cards... the bride will also have to buy stuff for the groom...... Before that the grooms parents are supposed to go and meet the brides parents to discuss what they want for GDL, and that is known as ti2 qing1.
Xiaomei is from China and yet your in-laws are more open-minded than my FPIL..... so envy. Actually my dad didn't want all these, but they insisted......... so sian....

Of course buffet less headache. It's paid per head while banquet is per table.... so even if you have less than 10 per table, you won't be so lugi like me lor... and buffet dun need to do table arrangement....... now I'm having major headache.... think I bo-chup already, I'll just put whoever I think won't clash to sit together, if not I'll lugi big time....

Hi Tulip

I finished reno earlier than AhMel... so far the workmanship is still ok. But like AhMel says they are less responsive after payment, but we still manage to get them to come and rectify small problems lor.... but if you read my earlier posting to nyny, I dunno if I should recommend to you or not....

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ernie,</font>
wow, to liaise with so many contractors is very tiring and time consuming hoh? I wanted to do that too but my FH discourage me, say we no time to oversee, so engage ID instead.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Shirley,</font>
so divekira is your friend. why u mistaken me as her? any similar point between us?

<font color="0077aa">Hi Ahmel,</font>
it's so tiring preparing for wedding...anyway, thanks for helping me to update the list

btw, can share with me the contact and printing price of your printer? I'm looking for one too

<font color="119911">Hi Dora,</font>
*wave* *wave* just finalise the concept for the house. will not start reno yet coz still need to select the materials. not yet settle my BS, been concentrating on my house reno these days. planning to settle BS by end mar, hope not too late

<font color="ff0000">Hi Woofy</font>,
wow~! u muz be very excited about the collecting of keys~!! :}

I had finalised my ID firm liao. now at the concepts finalising stage. once the designs are finalised, will be able to start reno work

so far, I'm satisfied with my ID's timeliness response and I quite like his working attitude, not like some IDs that's out to squeeze $$$ out of u. He just want to make sure the house is done up nicely and within our budget

my budget was 20K but after adding a few more items, it's about $25K now

Hi AhMel (I got it right this time yeah!),Dora and HP (stubbilla), thanks for sharing the information.
Looks like most of us is still at the headache stages - wedding and home reno!!! heheee...

hi HP,
shirley mistook u for me coz we both have the same name

hi Ahmel,
heard about the 5 days week thingy but don't think will happen so soon

Hi HP, yes I agree with your FH. Dun do wat I did as its really very time consuming even though I did learn alot of renovation thingz. I m glad that it is finally over *phew* so now just have to organise my wedding stuff den I will be able to relax....

<font color="ff0000">Dora mei mei
wah...Keng Fai's parents are really traditional leh...need to go thru all these procedures..
I must admit i'm lucky to have really open-minded in-laws, furthermore we had our customary banquet (just a lunch session) over China last yr, so it's easier this time round lor.

For my buffet, still need to do some table arrangement (though can be free-seating among certain grps of tables..). And I also got headaches. It's count by per head, and for me there's a minimum of 100 pax. If less than 100 turn up on AD, i lugi. If more than 100, food and seating may not be enuff. So need to have good estimates. And normally pple will give lesser angpow $ becos they think buffet is cheaper..
So me and my parents alr expect to lose $ overall, ard 1 to 2K ....

<font color="ff0000">adam,</font>
Hello Adam! welcome back !

u really have been missing for a long time.
So u've been staying there for quite some time alr rite ?

<font color="ff0000">HP,</font>
Ya, very tiring hor ....
I left my pricing info for the printer at home, but i'll send u the contacts first. The planner passed 2 contacts to me - Focal Ad and Wedding Wishes. Supposed to meet Wedding wishes last sat, but did not manage to. Will prob see them this Wed.

<font color="ff0000">tulip,</font>
Yes! u got it rite this time ! Bravo!

Though headaches doing all these stuff, but will also feel happy and satisfied at the end la... enjoy !

<font color="ff0000">divekira,</font>
Be patient, I believe it will happen soon, prob by this yr

btw, u haven't sent me your contact details yet. u wanna do that ?

<font color="119911">hi Ahmel,</font>
din know u doing buffet style. initially we wanted buffet too but my parents also highlighted the lugi part where relatives will think buffet is cheap so give less hongbao $$. that's why we switched to banquet dinner.

<font color="119911">hi Ernie,</font>
well, at least reno over liao, left onli wedding prepartion. when's your AD?

<font color="119911">hi divekira,</font>
I see, no wonder Shirley mistaken.

Hellooo,

How's everyone out there?? *wave*

Hi Ahmel,
Me doing fine except busy lately... just came back from HK last nite, this morning stats working liao, pretty tiring now...
yawn.gif

Yeah, wedding preparation is always very hectic and headaches.. BUT, lucky mine has over liao... *phew*
Guess buffet session shld be alright, do remember catering usually will exceed the actual per pax share... so must have a rough idea of how many to order..if you leave your planning to your planner, think everything should be running smoothly...

Hi Dora,
Yup, very excited to collect my keys, wonder how my love nest gonna be...
*hehehe*
Oh... your company is closing soon? So how do you find your new deployed department?
Hopes everything is fine... jobs market now is pretty bad though many pple say is picking up.. *sigh*... economic is so bad ..

Hi HP,
Yeah, finally can view my house... hmm, since im collecting my keys soon, i have to buck up my sourcing of IDs/contractors soon... btw, which ID did you engage? What kinda of style are you looking at? I got a quotation from one of the contractors, his quotes is quite reasonable, however still need to make comparison with others.. *sigh*, didnt know looking for contractors is so tedious...

hi woofy,
when u collecting your keys? u muz be very excited now.
sourcing for contractors are very tedious, that's why I only go for contractors who done my friends' houses. those exhibition one I never even bother to go

I'm going for simple reno loh. no theme, just simple, easy to maintain can liao

<font color="119911">oei, oei, oie, when i become "Da-jie" again?? aiyo, u pple always make me feel so old huh? last time wedding thread oso call me "da-jie", now oso call me "da-jie" hiaz...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">dora,</font>
haha.. now u know how tiring to do studio shots?!! make up 2 hrs, whole day smiling, etc.. dun forget to share ur pix when they're ready

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
u very "eh sai" leh, 1 person "bao gah liao" for wedding &amp; reno. i can't imagine if i leave these tasks to hubby, what'll it be like

<font color="aa00aa">ernie, hp,</font>
me oso very practical person, easy to clean &amp; maintain, nothing fanciful! initially hubby din quite like it, but think now he appreciates it cos he's the one doing housechores!

eh aunty,

at least they call you da jie. i am sure better than calling you aunty right

eh aunty, on that sunday morning if you doing nothing, maybe take a walk down to jess's home and watch me getting tortured...heard that there are ten jie meis and everyone is a single stage that i have to pass.i plan to have the ambulance ready just in case i collapsed from exhaustion. anyway c u on that evening.

espilon

<font color="aa00aa">dan,</font>
wow!!! <font color="ff0000">10</font> jie meis &amp; everyone is a single stage??? oh... hope i can be there. it'll be fun to see u being tortured

oei, oei, oei, u dun ruin my reputation here leh
else i'll prob be the <font color="ff0000">11th</font> jie mei

oh, c'mon, it won't be that jia-lat lah. they'll still hv to keep u up &amp; running so that they can hv round 2 in the evening

what time u'll be reaching jess's place? but hor, her parents pantang or not? scarly they pantang, then not so good leh. somemore me born in yr of tiger, so many elders dun really like. maybe u check it out then let me know again?

sure, u'll definitely see me there. wanna see how u'll enjoy being tekan during ur wedding after tekan-ing so many couples

HP

Yah... settle the reno 1st.... BS is quite fast, esp if you take OTR... Have fun with your reno

Woofy
yah, company closing down soon.... most people are already retrenched.... so this place is getting more and more like a ghost town..... No lah I won't be spared from the retrenchment..... I go other dept to make sure that they pack up everything.....then when everyone finished packing, I pack myself also lor
yah lor.. the govt still say economy and job market is picking up, then even say this is a growing industry, but so far only abt 1/2 of the retrenched collegues have found a job.... sianz....

AhMel Da Ge

Yup like Woofy said, the food will normally be in excess..... so its ok to have slightly more people.... losing $1-2K very good liao..... I'm anticipating much more than that

Angelia Da-Jie

Haha.. Da-jie good what, that means you are well respected mah.... like Zoe Tay

How was your Oz trip?? Any pics to share? And how is the little one doing?? Not bad leh, not born yet already travelled so far

Hey Dan

Congrats on your big day!! Dun worry abt being tortured lah.... it only happens once in a lifetime!!!

<font color="0000ff">Hi angelia,</font>
u're now the queen mah, of course your hubby muz do all the housechores

<font color="119911">Hi Ernie,</font>
wow, your AD is in July, so how's your preparation so far? which BS?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi AhMel,</font>
Got your email on the printer. thanks a lot

<font color="0077aa">Hi Dora,</font>
I'm looking forward to start my house reno

Morning everyone, mid-week ardy, counting down to weekend.

Hi Angelia, how's your trip to Australia and how is junior? Yes I agree cleaning would take extra long time if design is complicated. Thou my hse design simple but I still take very long time to do cleaning cos I very slow...

Hi HP, Dang is my BS. So far just cfm BS and venue for banquet.Didn't do much preparation actually cos oso dunno what to prepare and my parents are totally clueless abt wedding preparation, so they say everything simple simple can ardy...

Hi HP,
Yeah, i gonna need to visit more houses for viewing before deciding which ID/contractor to choose.. anyway, got to do up my homework first..
Btw, will be collecting my keys this coming sat.. hehehe...

Hi Dora,
Sorry to hear about the retrenchment.. so any plans for yourself?

Hmm, hows your preparation going on? Need any help?

Hi Angelia,

Welcome back to the forum..
Hows was your trip in OZ? Must be very enjoyable .... hmm, how is your little bb? Do take care of yourself hor...

<font color="aa00aa">dora, woofy, HP, ernie,</font>
the trip was fun &amp; i was feeling so great over there. but come back, bb misbehave &amp; make me feel sick again. hiaz..

however, things are getting better. i'm looking fwd to passing the 12th weeks marks, which is 2 more wks to go, cos many say by then, will be the best time of pregnancy &amp; will feel good
praying hard mine will be the case too.

hmm.. photos will prob hv to wait cos still hvn't got the camera cable from hubby's fren so can't upload to web.

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
welcome back, da jie !

eh....so u did any 'bunjeeeeee' over in OZ ?

how many pics taken ? must share hor ....
aiya....not that i 'eh-sai' ... it's 'bo-bian'... 'buay-sai' also must become 'eh-sai' ... haha... though tiring, but interesting la...

ya...my parents initially also raise their concern of having buffet, but they chin-chai also. Since I really prefer it, so stick with it lor
Btw, where is ur banquet gonna be held ?
I've met up with Kai &amp; Simon last nite, they are really fun guys
and their work is good lor...So decided to use their services liao, waiting for their contract now.

<font color="ff0000">woofy, Dora,</font>
Thanks for the advice on the buffet per pax thing. Very true indeed. Actually for my case it shld be simpler.... minimum 100 pax, and the place can only take maximum 110 pax, so shld be quite safe to order the minium amount..

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font> how come u expected to lose so much ? tot normally for traditional sit-down dinner, you would at least break-even, or even earn some profit ?

<font color="119911">hi angelia,</font>
wow~! glad that u enjoyed yourself. your BB very good liao, let u enjoy the trip

must take care of yourself hoh~!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Ernie,</font>
I love Dang but never go down to check out yet. still cannot decide if I should spend more $$ for quality or spend less $$$ and get those comprehensive packages at those less famous BS

<font color="ff0000">Hi Woofy,</font>
u muz be excited about the collection of keys this sat...2 more days to go

ya, should look at more houses first. see the workmanships, ask the house owners how's the after service.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ahmel,</font>
my banquet venue not confirm yet

Kai &amp; Simon very fun-loving people. u sign up which package? the 2 photographers configuration? your AD in may, so should be getting better deal rite? muz let me see the photos leh since yours b4 mine

Hi Woofy

Still looking around for a job lor... but not very active... was thinking of looking actively after the wedding, so meantime can be a full time bride
The preparations is okie, thanks for the offer.... me everything want as simple as possible, so my side is very easy.... his side wants complicated then his mum go handle lor..... me very bad hor

Angelia

Hmmm..... maybe the little one is suggesting that you stay in Oz long term
. Glad that you enjoyed yourself. Do take care

AhMel

Yah lor you really "eh-sai" if let my FH handle everything alone, he sure miss out a lot of things

My banquet is a long story lah.... don't want to talk about it..... basically the rule is if the % of your guests are mainly your in-law's accquantainces which neither of us have seen, and they are mainly retirees, you will expect to lose a lot lor.....esp when our tables are not cheap..... if he has said so earlier we would have opted for a cheaper venue.... even if he offers to pay our losses its still losses lor no matter whose pocket it come up from........ sian lah

Hi Dora,
ya, if your tables are ex, and your guests are retirees, then quite likely will lose $$. how abt inviting them separately to a restaurant? cheaper leh.

Hi HP

That is out of the question. I wouldn't even dare suggest that.... aiyah I've decided that I don't even want to know how many tables and who they want to invite in case I vomit blood.....
if he insist on inviting and he wants to pay for it, then I guess I have to shut up lor.... even tho' I think that it would be a huge financial strain on them........

hi Dora,
well, then let them pay loh. no choice anyway.

where's your banquet venue?

me still sourcing for my venue, am thinking of changing my wedding date too. likely to bring forward to nov instead of dec liao.

Hi HP,

I m going for the quality as FH said that it is once in my lifetime thingz so I can do it "my way". Plus with dang, you do not get the usual comprehensive package as you'll get involved in the designing part of your WG and EG as well.

Dear neighbours,
Have a good weekend

hi Ernie,
I would like to be invlove in designing my own gown coz I got a lot of ideas. will go Dang to see, then I'll let my heart and my mind play tug-of-war loh

hi HP,

hahaha.... u like to be tortured????
(just joking) Good luck on your search for a suitable BS ok. Keep me updated on your choice.

oh man...seems like I have missed out alot since last week man...suddenly all the da-jie and da-ge all come out liao...then i guess I'll have alot of of elder sis and bro man...ha ha..

what is Dang? so many short form i don't understand...any big jiejie &amp; korkor know where can I find wedding tables to accomodate more than 80 tables other than Suntec huh? me really headache leh..need so many tables so need to start sourcing liao...

Hi HP,

Yes good choice, Tanjong Pagar is the right place to start looking cos most BS are located around there. Good luck in your search this weekend.

Hi Shirley,

Dang is the name of bridal studio. Can try Orchid country club, I think they have a grand ballroom which can accomodate so many tables.

<font color="ff0000">shirley,</font>
Wah! The largest banquet i attended b4 was also abt 80 tables.... i think it was in Ritz Carlton, or was it Shangrila... ?

hi koalabear,
ya, told to Kai b4. he's a jovial person. with him, there's no worry of no topics to chit chat

too bad I'm changing my AD, so cannot engage Kai's service.

Thanks !

and yup yup....really busy preparing....meeting florist, printers of invites etc. Tonite meeting Fabian to discuss his videography services.
Sorry to hear u are not engaging Kai anymore, so who will be your photographers ?

I signed up their 2 persons config, digital package, cost 1199 including holiday toll, sentosa transport toll .

<font color="119911">hi Ahmel,</font>
not yet decide my AD photographers since my AD date not fixed.

muz share with me how u think of the portfolio of Fabian. me thinking of engaging videographer too.

your 2 person config include prints? or just the service? what is holiday toll??

Hi Ah Mel, I was oso recommended Fabian for videography. I have seen his work as well but have yet contacted him. His work is realli good, have you seen his work?

I have send out a birthday alarm for all neighbours in CCKC to fill up. Thank you.

The photo package did not include prints. Got to pay extra ~$250 for prints and albums. Mine falls on Labour Day which is public holiday mah, so have to pay extra lor....

<font color="ff0000">HP, Sheepy,</font>
So far, I think Fabian's work is the best. Personally I liked his style and creativity. He showed me two sample DVDs including raw footage. If you contact him and express your interest, he will give you access to his online demo webpage, where you can look at several of his works -express highlights, MTV etc.

Now considering whether to confirm him or not, still discussing with my wife.... she liked his work too
but really not cheap lor... but thinking since a once-a-lifetime thing, must well go for it...worthwhile memory mah... next time can show my kids or even grand kids... hehe...

hi cck gang,

see that some of you guys are talking about fabian. maybe i can shed some light as i have worked with him many times in my hosting of weddings.

fabian's work is very good. so far, whenever hedy highlights are shown at the wedding,majority of the guests will give very good comments. i know because i have heard the comments many times. in addition, his mtv style highlight is very popular. not sure if you need to pay extra for it but many guests were impressed with his mtv style day highlights. as for higher than normal price, i think its not an issue as you are paying for someone's creativity. want to have good stuff, then prepare to pay fo it. in any case,the video will serve as good memories.

the above said is my opinion and i gain nothing from singing him praises

epsilon

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ah Mel,</font>
your AD package is still cheaper. don't worry. my friend engage black box with only one photographer and it cost him $1300. another friend also engage AD journalistic photographer at $1200, also one photographer. for the price u paid, u getting 2 photographers, so still good deal

can PM me Fabian's contact huh?

Thanks for the assurance!

I have sent u Fabian's details alr, check it out.

<font color="ff0000">Dan,</font>
Your comments do help me to confirm that it's the right choice
Besides his creativity and 'romantic' feel of his video, I'm comfortable with his personality too.
Btw, heard that he's gonna be ur emcee and shooting ur day video ?

hi ahmel,

yup, he is going to be my emcee..thats why i cant get him to shoot..boohoo.

anyway, dont worry. he is good. his price may be a bit high but lets put it this way, we are talking about capuring golden memories so it shouldnt be compromised. for your info, there is talk in the market that his mtv style day highlights is the best around.