Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

meow

Dora,
Same same, my one also quite high but not the highest. So far so good too, but i still have a long way to run. I think the most important thing when look for contractor is see can click or not and of course trust.

Are you able to help me find out the sink you use and the cost? Is yours the 2bowls big and small or 3 bowls?

Oops i made a mistake. You say grid lines and i thought its one of the tiles i like which is the lines one and its call ice roll, plaster roll so that why i say is it something roll. Where you get the tiles from? I've already been to the 4 shops in Balestier many times liao. Defu Lane been there twice too.

Your little square is it like many squares with shades of grey or white with a little shade of white call trend something like trend 16, trend 5 like that? If not where is that tile shop? Got the name?

angelia

greetings from London!!

epsilon,
ya lah, me on honeymoon.. told u b4, u forgot ah?! Turkey trip pretty nice, but London.. hiaz.. tell u when i get back.

chiahui

Hi Dora,

Thanks for lettin me view your flat on Sat!

I think it's nicely done up, the gaps betwn the tiles is really small & i love ur studyrm idea which allows light to enter to the dinning rm.
When will ur flat be ready to move in?

After viewing ur flat, i'm sooo tempted to collect my keys~~~~~~~

ahblur

Hi Dora,

So sad for not being able to view ur flat on Sat..
..was at the office in the morning and by the time i reached yew tee it was already 1.30pm...*sighz*

For the lighting in the bathroom, mabbe u r rite, juz putting a bulb seems a bit scary, like very fragile anytime can drop....as during Sat i was at the new hse testing the lighting pts using a bulb with hubby, then i see the bulb hang like tat seem scary...haahaa...so prob i will buy those light with juz a round cover protection its enuff liowz..

As for curtains, kinda tinking of installing cafe curtains, cos its much cheaper than day curtains also, and probably becos my living room does not have full length windows so having daylight curtains also doesnt look tat nice...

And yeah, last Sat went Ikea to take a look, grabbed quite a lot of Chinaware cos some of them very cheap...:p..and i looked at the curtains the material like u said doesnt look nice...mabbe will go Taka to take a look

ahblur

Hi everybody,

Juz wondering if any of u all installed air-con from Twin City? Because i went Expo on Sunday and the air-con price they offering is quite attractive....so was wondering if their service is good also.

alex

Hi Ahblur,
Try calling Ah Tang at 62971670 or 62924648. he might give you cheaper price. About 10~15% cheaper. I think he is from Prominent. Most of my electrical appliances I got from him. However he got very strange char, remember dun ask him which one good. Find out the model plus pro and cons, than call him for immediate quote. What he could give is prices that you can’t get from outside, other than that quality is still considered OK.

Hi Meow and Ahmel,
Oiii who said reservist is sin-nang one huh?? Very siong ok…Heee…
what I meant “strategic games” involve planning than execute it physically lah… Not PS leh… I think Meow should knows what I am referring too. I am in Ops and Ints…

Hi Meow,
Yup it is the same Alex… For the 29” Toshiba TV is damp heavy from the front. Have to specially instruct Joseph to take note of take, especially the weight and possible indent marking. Initially it sinks and Joseph carpenter came to fix additional bracket inside the shelving to withstand the weight, Bracket can’t see from outside still ok. For indent mark try to get those 3 M base support, usually in black/white and comes in round/square shape. Remember thicker the better. When the TV is in try to put newspaper first than slow stick the base support to it. This way will not caused indent marking. I learnt it through the hard way… so good luck…

Nowadays need not worry about water pressure. Top floor will get the better pressure as the water tank is on top and flow downwards. Many of us got the wrong impression that lower floor will get better water pressure. As your floor only 5 floors different so should not have a problem. Unless every one uses water heavily at the same time lor… It is better to get a better recommended water heater especially for instant one. If it could heat up the water faster than water pressure will be higher, otherwise you have to slow down the water flow in order to get the heat you wanted. Personally I would recommend 707 although it is slightly expensive than the rest.

Currently I am using PLC 13Watts. Total 15. If I were to use 10watts, I might need to use more. My calculation is 13Watts x 15 = 195watts if I on everyone. But if I use 10 watts which I need about 20 lights, this means 10watts x 20 = 200watts. This means using 13 watts is cheaper in the long run. Higher watts will be suitable for those who seldom on all the lights like myself. On the other hand still can get the brightness. However please take note that installing 13 watts vertical types will lower your ceiling b’cos 13 watts is longer than 10 watts. My unit is the top floor and the height is much higher than normal unit therefore installing 13 watts doesn’t make much differences lor..

alex

Hi Meow,

For the work schedule thingy, maybe send seperate to me, I'll try to explain seperate over the e-mail.

PLC lighting $13 is cheap cheap liao. You might not find the same price outside. Anyway he got it from contractor price right, he'll give you the receipt one lah. No worry...

meow

Alex,
Over the weekend, i finally understand what's going on liao. Went down to my flat again on Sunday. The cement is up for my living/dinning and 3 bedrooms. Think they'll do it today, so i dare not enter my flat.

As for the PLC lights, i think i need to ask Joseph the watts. I was at balestier again yesterday. Went to one of the shops which my friend says its cheap as she compare to most of the shops. But hers is the square ones which i'll take those round ones lor. To my surprise, the price for a 18W that's using OSRAM bulb cost $19.

Okay, will let Joseph know about the dent thing. Did he know about your case? But your TV console isn't done by him right?

Chaihui,
Sounds like Dors's house is done up very nicely. Now i feel a little inferior to let you view leh.
Not those realy fantastic designs. But what theme or concepts do you want?

meow

AhMel & Alex,
Okay, maybe Alex is right since his really require strategic thinking, more shiok than PSII right? Can also sleep mah in the dark of course.

chiahui

Hi Meow,

I've received ur quotes, thanks!

Your quotes are abit X..hehee BUT, I KPO, is your flat ready for viewing?

Probably will be looking more into contemporary theme, simple & clear cut. My requirements r pretty standard also but dun know Y my standard requirements turn up to be so X.

Went to check out Impress 21 last Sat & now waiting for Henry to get back with quotations.
Will check out Dora's ID/contractor too.

Cant wait for the 7th mth to end~~~ tday is juz the start...........

dora

Hi ChiaHui

No prob. Nice meeting you. Hope I have been of some help. We'll be neighbours next time anyway

Hi AhBlur, no prob. We can fix another time if u still want to come over to take a look

Hi Meow

Aiyoh don't like that say lah... actually there's nothing in my house yet other than the standard homo floor and the false ceiling, and the painting. The only thing special is I hack the 1/2 wall of 1 of the rooms to make the dining brighter lor.... When everything is done, I'll invite you over lor. Also I can go over to your place to look? Sorry hor, your many queries, can't answer you. Down with a very bad flu, 2 days MC, cannot even talk properly so cannot ask the ID for you. Will try and remember to ask him when I see him...

its so miserable to be sick

meow

Poor Dora, Get well soon okay? Yipee i can go house visiting liao. Maybe we go after you complete your house? I can help go spot some chips and cracks too. That's what i did for my friend and she got her ID to amend the defects. My QC standard quite high one.

Dora & Chiahui,
Today i drop by my house again. Saw the workers still working aft 6pm. Didn't really step in lor, hubby only look from outside, i paiseh dun even wanna walk closer. My living/dinning floors are up. I suppose the bedrooms are up too. But can't see from outside lah.

Chiahui,
As you compare here and there, the prices are pretty similar. They play with the figures here and there. But at least my kitchen is the cheapest as compare to others ID lor. Some ID dun have the hualage fees charge in too. Then hor, hualage also got 2 kinds. One is for the big so call tanker to contain all rubbish one, and the other is to carry the sand to your unit. One of them is charged by your contractor whereas the other is you pay to him. So you must check lor. Think this should be under one of the so call hidden cost. Alex am i right??

My theme is more to the resort style one. Used to choose Zen, then feels too raw, so take resort kind. So my house hor, you may not really like it. It makes it feel small and dark lor.

Ahblur,
how's your progress? I took my aircon from what my friend recommend. He say their after sales service is good...so i take them. I've never check out prices from twin city before, but i did check Hong Seng, All best and Gain City. All prices are about the same lor. Which aircon you intend to get? I'm took Mitsubishi Mr Slim, not the inverter series.

dora

Hi Meow

Thanks for offering to be my QC inspector, really appreciate it. My FH always say I too chin chye, he is very very particular one.

Still on MC today, feeling better, but my nose still "running" leh.... hope it doesn't run away
.... and my voice also gone liao.... FH say I sound more sexy
.... aiyoh don't know how to go back to work tomorrow....

Hi ChiaHui

Agree with Meow, the quotation more or less the same. But you must take note of the FOC items lor. Actually no such thing as FOC in this word, so the best is to ask them how much they are able to deduct if you don't want. E.g, my package come with fridge and aircon. I took them out and he deducted $1100 and $1750 respectively. My collegue's package quite similar to mine, but when he took out the aircon, they only deduct $1200, cos the FOC aircon is a cheap Fuji air. At least mine is a Fujitsu. So these are things that you need to compare also, cos I think most pple won't take Fujiair lor....

AhBlur

Don't know about twincity, my aircon is from Allbest in IMM. Got the trunking up already. Mine is system 4 LG inverter gold series. $3250 for unlimited trunking, 2 times installation and upgrade to 24K fancoil for the living/dining room. Comes with 5 years warranty. Think only LG and Toshiba has the highest BTU if you are looking at system 4. The rest afraid not cold. And toshiba very ex leh... then LG comes with 5 years warranty for all parts, so took it lor.... Remember to check for the unlimited trunking and the 2 times installation. Very impt. Also daddy say that Allbest insulation (the black colour tubing) is the best quality that we have seen so far, so we took it lor.... No harm looking around for comparison. Don't just look at the price hor... if the insulation and the workmanship is bad, you'll have endless problems

meow

Chiahui,
Yeah yeah, i agree with Dora too. You see my FOC items hor, initially is charged one like my showerscreen, but i told him the package he offers give it free, so after talking to him he say okay, hence i save $650 for the shower screen and kerb for MBR. Also hor, i share with you a dialog so you can learn how to bargain. Initial price is $1680
Me: How much will it cost if i remove the display niches for my bombshelter and the strips on my bombshelter door?
ID: $600 for only the plain wall.
Me: What about the door if i dun want the strips?
ID: reduce $200 from $1680.
Me: Then what if i dun want the niches but keep the strips?
ID: $1000+
Me: huh? A plain wall plus the door is only $600+$200=$800 only leh!
ID:Cannot like that lah...we also need to earn mah. (Punch calculator).
Me: Can compromise?
ID: $950 can?
Me: OK.

Alex sure scold me liao
for being so mean to Joseph. But my ID is the manager and holds a small percentage of the company's share as what i hear from my friend. So he can make decision directly and dun need to ask boss. Which my friend didn't really get much benefits who sign up with the boss.

ahblur

Hi Meow,

Me also taking Mr Slim from Mitsubishi lor, but only taking System 2, becos one of the bedroom totally empty and our whole entertainment system in mbdrm, so thought it will be wasted to install in living/dining also. Me tat time saw Gain City fair at suntec having Mr Slim at $1560 unlimited trunking + 5 yrs extended warranty, but me very kiam siap lor, still wanna recke arnd...haaha..heard that Hong Seng at IMM also quite cheap so intending to go there n have a look too
That day saw TwinCity at Expo selling at $1500 with $100 voucher.

Hi Dora,

Yeah, i heard insulation got 2 types rite, grey and black? Black is the better one ah? Cos i donno much bout air-cons also. For the System 2 Mr Slim i tink BTU more than enuff, the bedroom 2 is 8000BTU i tink, mbdrm is 11k BTU if i am not wrong

alex

Hi Meow,

You are right that Joseph are given some shares stake. I heard that too lor... shhhh....

But I dun have hor... so that is no reason for me to score you one lah... as long as you can do them a favor by introducing some customer if you feel they have done a good job for you... heee...

I think by now after som many comments from other people, you might already realise somtimes initial price doesn't come as a first priority. Most important you are comfortable with the ID and can click along... Than negotiation will be easier...

meow

Ahblur,
there's 2 units in IMM with Hong Seng. One is with all old ppl there, the other is the couple one. The couple one is cheaper lor. Think you compare their price and i still think quality of workmanship is more important lor.

Alex,
Yeah, i agree. Negotiate is better when you and contractor can click.
Sorry huh...is Joseph aware of the dent cause by your TV? Do you think he'll know if i tell him that and ask him to make a sturdy TV console?

alex

Hi Meow,

Joesph not fully aware but I liase directly with the carpenter b'cos I see more often. I try to be more reasonable, since the carpenter is infront of me often so I told him to fix it. Eventually half way the process i think Joseph have realised it lor...

Just to add on also to click with the worker hor... they are the one who is physically doing the things. Sometimes this kind of "PR" thingy can make a thousand miles differently...

meow

Thanks Alex and Adam,
Tomorrow afternoon will drop buy again. Will ask hubby go buy some drinks for them too.

chiahui

Hi meow,

resort style? That's pretty interesting, must be quite cosy & goin home everyday will be like a trip to some resort, heheee

Anyway, i got the quotes fm Impress liao...Arrgh, almost fainted when i see the quotes, heehe.
Bet we really have too much requirements,must cut cut cut......

U pple so good at bargaining sia, really learn alot fm this ID sourcing...headache, headache.

meow

Chiahui,
i do hope so, but i dun think it'll really feel like that lor. I didn't have any parquet flooring leh. All tiles mah.
If you wan, you do can try the ID which Alex and I are using.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="119911">phew... finally finished scanning thru past postings.. it's like suddenly we've got a lot of new neighbours
good, then maybe we can start to organise a "Lantern Festival" gathering for a start
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">alex,</FONT>
are u compiling a list of occupants with blks &amp; emails? if so, do send me a copy pls.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">epsilon,</FONT>
so now u've gotta do homework for the house reno &amp; wedding simultaneously? be warned, it's tedious.. hahaha.....

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">chiahui,</FONT>
hv replied ur email

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ahmel,</FONT>
u oso Man U fan ah?

hubby now not so into PS, well, guess he nvr has been, only played few times after i bought him the set.

alex

Hi Angelia,
Wah Lua ah... You finally appear... Hope your enjoy your honeymoon...

Please see below for all the occupants data… I did not manage to compile it leh… Ooppps… Only got some of those e-mails from the past…

1) Regenite - Regent Grove
2) Charming_Tail – 559
3) Cychang (Paul) / AhBur / Jean Lim(yaya) - 683A
4) Meow – 683C
5) Piggy / Netsnob (SS Yap) / Tane- 684A
6) Priscilla Ng (Pris) – 684B
7) Anxious - 684C
8) Angelia Wong (Angie) / Epsilon (Daniel) - 685B
9) Meggie – 686A
10) Bluz – 686B
11) Sweetiee (Elleon) / Lifetime - 686C
12) Cutecute – 687C
13) Bei Bei - 688A
14) Lonigal / Kirin / Adam Teo– 688B
15) Lyn / Wandererevo (Wai Meng) - 688C
16) Pearl - 689A
17) Cow - 690A (not confirm, need cow's advice)
18) Ann / SY / Arnold Wee (firefish) / AhMel (Melvin) - 690B
19) Kas / Duchass / Keann / CCK- 690C
20) Damnjian / BubbleBB’s Brother / Milong / Koalabear / Dora / ChiaHui (Chia) - 691B
21) Angelia Ng / Funky Tan- 692A
22) Alex / Doraelin - 692B
23) Pucca75 - 78* series
24) Discrete / Derick / Concern / Irvin / SehLin / Agonyy- ???

Hi Meow,
Please help. I think you have the latest e-mail list from the recent discussion on the reno thingy, could you help to forward to me. I’ll try to make a compilation from there.

meow

Alex, i'm confused. What email list? You mean the details is it? I remember it was Angelia who wants us to sent to her. She's the one compiling leh with only the nick, real name and such.

Angelia, remember?

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">meow,</FONT>
i only received email from u leh.. so i din compile any. kekeke.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex</FONT> is refering to the email list from ur recent Reno disscussion

ahmel

Hi Alex,
U in ops &amp; int ? So doing all those 'top secret' stuff ? Any 'war-gaming' involved ? this shld be much 'funner' than PS leh ....

Hi Angelia,
Yup, me a Man-U supporter. Have been watching so many of their matches, until my LaoBa is also a supporter now...heh
Is ur hubby still their fan ?
Hey, a 'moon watching' session would be great for all to meet.

angelia

AhMel,
yup, hubby (kuek) is still a Man-U fan. guess u guys dun change club often, yeah?

hahaha.. i became Liverpool (or rather Owen) fan after watching soccer matches with him. i find Owen more cute then Beckham
. partly oso bcos we often dun see eye-to-eye, hahaha... so muz support the rival team..
but dunno why i hv fave player in Arsenal &amp; Liverpool but not Man-U...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">anyone wanna volunteer to be organiser for the "moon-watching" session?
<FONT COLOR="ff6000">AhMel ???</FONT></FONT>

dora

I'm back in action after being sick for more than a week. Imagine I was on MC again last fri after MC on Mon and Tue... I told my boss that I was sick again after looking at my in-tray after my 2 day MC

Wah so many postings.... good good... got an active bunch at Yew Tee

Going to have my laminate flooring and lights up this week. Carpentary will be up early next week, cos FH on overseas trip next week, so hopefully can get things done before he leaves.
AhMel/AhBlur/ChiaHui/Meow, any updates on your side?

"moonwatching" sounds good.... maybe we would need someone's flat which is in a "habitable" condition, any volunteers?

Just saw on my calendar.... mooncake festival is on Sep 11
Doesn't sound very good hor....

alex

Hi Dora,
You are not alone. I also just came back from MC. Got Gastric flue lor… Feeling is worst than SARS….

Hi Ahmel &amp; Angelia,
I used to be MU fans but with recent poor management from Alex Fuguson, I think not now. Maybe I am more supportive to Players rather than clubs. Where ever David B and Robertos C goes too I’ll support that team. Love watching their Free kicks and corner kicking… So powerful…

Hi Meow,
I have reply you thru e-mails.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
hv u collected ur SARS kit? me hvn't yet leh. juz came back last Wed, then Fri gotta go my mum's place for dinner.. this Friday gotta rush back to Malaysia... hiaz..

btw, do they give out national flag?? cos they give for free at my mum's place, but think it's last year or the year before

alex

Hi Angelia,

Yup my dad already collected liao… At RC Friday. Only one lor…Now where got free flags one…
My dad brought it from NTUC at less than $3(not sure). Actually I was about to ask this question why nowadays not much people hanging National Flags during the period of National days. My block about only 18 flags and your block about 21 flags. Both your block and mine have a about 189 units each. Average only 20 flags which mean statistically only 10.5% hang flags. Very small number compare to 10years ago where almost 90% of the whole blocks do hang flags leh… use to live near Chinatown neighbors there very “On” one.

Just wonder whether if it is a)One or more family member not Singaporean b) Not necessary liao c) Patriotism need not show it out d) waste of money and effort e) Very OBian f) Huh… got such thing meh… g) where to get it huh… h) Arhhh lazy to hand lah or i) other reason.

Is just my curiosity to as this question lor… very bo liao hor…

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
for me, it'll be <FONT COLOR="ff6000">(d) waste money &amp; effort..</FONT>

if they give me free, then maybe i'll hang. but hor, after hang, wash oso troublesome leh. need to wash &amp; hang separately... hiaz..

ahmel

Hi Dora,

Hope you are better now.
I have been working in Germany for past 1 week, and will be here for another 2 weeks...so no updates so far . Met Johnson just b4 leaving, and the total quote is $44K (with lots of custom-built stuff....so need to remove many...) .
HDB finally asked me to collect key on 1 Aug, but outstatin leh....so postpone to 18 lor . How long do we have to report defects to HDB ? Cos need to leave again for China on 20th leh....dunno got enuff time or not ... jia lat ah ....

Hi Angelia,
Owen still cute meh ? growing older alr ....

Perhaps next time can catch a match with Kuek...shld be more fun with more pple ...
I don't mind helping out in organizing the event on 9/11 (hmmm...wat a date...), but will need more pple to help also lah....esp i will be out of spore for most of Aug . You collect the contact list first , can ?

Hi Alex,
I think Alex Ferguson still has the touch in management, esp after ManU won the league last season . And from the recent US tour, they were just fantastic ! I have more confidence in them now .

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Alex,</FONT>
hahaha... i'm typical S'porean.

oh, another reason (when i told kuek last nite) is <FONT COLOR="ff6000">(a)One or more family member not Singaporean</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">AhMel,</FONT>
oh, so u'r on biz trip
when we went turkey from &amp; back to London (13 Jul, 25 Jul) we transitted at Munich
bought some chocolates there

Owen growing older, but still prefer him than Beckham.. hahah.. think my new interest is Henry from Arsenal. finds him very cool, plays very fair game (or at least when i watches, i don't see him cry "foul") &amp; has sportsmanship

think as long as you report the defects before you start renovation, will be alrite. juz pass the list to your ID/contractor &amp; get them to submit to HDB when they go to apply for the reno permit will do. i think that's what we did.

eh, you very good leh.. i "volunteer" you, then you "volunteer" me again!
but think we'll fix a date b4 Sep 11 cos that's a wkday. maybe we have it on 05/06/07 Sep (fri, sat, sun)??

okie, okie, will try to compile the contact list.. (actually already gotta most of it from <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Alex</FONT>

no problem. u can "jio" him to watch Man U matches together.. but being lazy &amp; a bit shy.... he might need some "warming up"

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Dora,</FONT>
can u email me ur email &amp; contact so that i can compile the list?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ahblur, AhMel, cychang, doraelin, funky tan, koalabear, meow, netsnob,</FONT>
got ur emails. can u email me ur contact number as well?

thx.. thx.. thx..

[email][email protected][/email]

alex

Hi Ahmel,

Spet 11 Period no good for me leh...
Might have to bring "Full Bag" along liao...
. I think you know what i mean. Maybe we keep in touch on the date lor.

Remember to report all defects and get it done before reno. Otherwise contractor and HDB will blame each other for the existing/future defects.

Well do agree Mu won last season. but than hor... I'll bet my last cents that this time Arsenal/ Real M will at least win 2 cups this season...

Hi Angelia,
Please also copy me the list. Try to keep a history copy of that too so that in future it will still be available when needed (as if trying to run an election???
). Thanks...

dora

Hi AhMel

Wah...so nice go germany for 3 weeks.... I always like Europe
wish I can go back there to work again....
Think the report of defects should be OK >7 days. we reported >7days later also, but ours was very very minor. But later Johnson say he can fix for us, so we never go back to HDB cos scared of their renowned bad workmanship, but the HDB guy kept chasing us for it... so siao on hor....

Hi Angelia

read about your nightmare. Feel so sorry for you. I've a similar experience also some years back when I was backpacking in Europe. My daypack actually got stolen right under my nose when I was at McDonalds in Prague.
Didn't lost anything valuable except the camera and the film in there which I took in Munich... so altho' I've been to Munich, but no pics... so sad
But lucky got travel insurance, if not my bro would have killed me for losing his precious camera.

About the "moonwatching" session..... I can volunteer mooncakes (homemade by me.... if you guys are brave enough to try

ahblur

Hi Dora,

I've already confirmed my ID firm liowz....took Everlink becos when we went to view the showflat last Sat....both mi and hubby very satisfied with their workmanship and pricing....and most imptly can get along with the designer whom will be designing and supervising our reno
I think its best lor..cos if designer and the person supervising is different not so easy to communicate.

My reno will start officially on 28th August which is 1st day of chinese calendar 8th month, cos dont wanna start reno on 7th month. And total reno is 23k lor

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Dora, Meow,</FONT>
got ur email

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Dora,</FONT>
wah, then how? u gotta go shop for clothings &amp; necessities there? luckily u bought insurance. think our next trip to european countries muz buy insurance...

guess we're both fortunate in some sense. u've can claim for ur lost items, we din lose our films (camera &amp; video), else our 13D Turkey trip is really wasted. and i was sick throughout the whole of the trip. hahahaha...