Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
<font color="aa00aa">meowie,</font>
my house don't have any concept. juz mixed &amp; matched.

we haven't got down to do our curtains yet

Hi Angelia

Me not worrying excessively lah... just that I'm never so lucky one leh... never won any toto or 4D and most lucky draw... so don't believe that my luck is so good lor....we'll see

Me not engineer lah.... my physics cannot make it leh...but I'm in manufacturing....

Meow

Just curious, how come your supplier and contractor push the blame around? Your ID not responsible for everything meh?

Angelia,
Must use drill to put the 'nail' in lah. Adhensive tape won't be able to support the weight of the mirror right? Unless the mirror you're talking about is not those wall to wall kind of mirror isit?

Dora,
The supplier of tile says the workers didn't see at fading tones of tiles and just put them in. Also say the warp is acceptable to them and he's seen worst cases one. The boss of the tile company in balestier keeps quiet all the time. He dare not say anything cos his staffs were in the wrong for telling wrong info to us. The ID cum contractor also have fault, the workers didn't check for defects and jus place them in. So in the end....i suffer.
The stupid supplier of that tiles keep telling me those techincal stuffs like how the tiles is make which i wonder whats the point of telling me now. He want jus tell me earlier lah even tell my ID that next time the workers lay tiles, must look out for these kind of tiles problem before laying, can't just follow the patterns. I somehow feel that i'm a guinea pig like that. What's done has already been done, he should tell me what he can do for me mah. But at least he admit the fading colour is due to the production of tiles. Warping is due to the workers. Faint i tell you ah.

Juz wondering hor...if we have collected the keys but have not moved in yet...are we required to pay the maintenance fees? Cos i have a fren having a new flat but not at yew tee her maintenance fees free for a few months already....although she had paid HDB 3mths maintenance fees when collecting the keys, but she received mails telling her the maintenance fees is free.

Angelia

Don't think its advisable to use adhesives for mirrors in the bathroom. Saw at ikea the adhesive kind and they say "dry area". so bathroom is prob out.

Meow

Oh dear. Your tiles supplier is not recommended by your ID? That's why they push the blame around right? That's why I took the supplier recommended by my ID so that anything he can take the responsibility. To me the tiles is the most important part of the reno, so any defects must get it rectified cos it's the most permanent thing and difficult to do any DIY later. Hope you can resolve your problem soon!

Dora,
The tile supplier is one that my ID recommended. They do allow me to hack the tiles away if its very un-acceptable. Else i'll just get discount lor

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
ya lor, we bought the mirrors from Ikea, went home open up then realise it's not recommended for bathroom
till now, our bathroom still doesn't hv a mirror on the wall cos we're trying not to drill

<font color="aa00aa">epsilon,</font>
me not rushing

actually haven't got down to doing anything yet. last wkend brought the camera along to my ILs place (Seremban) but don't have time to show my ILs cos my FIL hurt his spine....

definitely hope to get it out this wkend cos <font color="ff6000">kuek</font> going for 3 wks biz trip coming Monday.

so how's ur prep? started on anything?

Hi Angelia

Getting all my carpentary this week, then the grilles. Then I'm done!!! FH on biz trip so a bit shiong to manage on my own
How's the others doing??!!

Hi angelia and Dora,

My ID firm will be dropping down our flooring materials all these this Thurs....will be starting reno prob end of Aug....very excited now

<font color="aa00aa">nyny,</font>
yup, me staying @ 692A officially since 01 Dec 2002

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
my hubby oso on biz trip... flew yesterday.

i can understand ur situation cos the last time i was oso in the same plight....

Hi Angelia,
Checked, and 12 Sep is ok for me .

Dora, Angelia,
Me also in same plight as u, for a lagi longer period, cos my wife is currently still in Beijing and will only come over permanently next Jan.

Yesterday went to collect key, but cannot process becos I don't have my wife's IC (she's a PR).

They follow so strictly to rules (indeed stated on letter, but my parents probably missed it and I didnt know, and too late to react when back on Sunday) , even though copies of the IC has been given to them during registration/booking . No choice lor, postponed to 1st Sep .

As for ID sourcing, got to wait till Sep.
Dora, can drop by ur place again in Sep to see the ID's result?

Hi AhMel

You are finally back!! Wah your wife will only be here permanently in Jan, then you very poor thing hor...My FH gone for a week now only I already feel very sian....on top of that so busy in office... me still in office by the way, surfing the net to take a breather... everything like wrong timing.... sianz

The downlights on the L-box got quite a few defects, too loose.... like it will move one.... told johnson already and he said most prob they dig the hole too big, he'll rectify it.... hopefully it'll be alright. Will check on the carpentary this week. the flooring and painting is done and quite satisfactory.

Sure, you can pop over in sep, everything should be in by then....Then you can also help me spot defects
FH always say I blur blur one

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
okie... then maybe we settle for 12 Sept, Fri?

<font color="0000ff">"Moon Watching" gathering on 12 Sept, Fri.

those who are interested, pls raise ur hand...

Hi Angelia,

sometime ago you've posted the contact # to collect SARS kit, may I know have you collected yours? Have been trying to call but no one answer the phone....

<font color="aa00aa">checking,</font>
nope, i've not collected the SARS kit cos wasn't around after i got the number.. maybe will get them this Friday...

this is what i get from them :
<font color="0000ff">We understand from the RC that the SARS kits can be collected on every Friday from 8.00pm at the RC centre located at Blk 668 Choa Chu Kang
Crescent #01-287.
You may wish to call them at Tel : 6765 7732 before going over.
Thanks</font>

<font color="119911">
MOON WATCHING
Date : 12 Sep, Friday
Venue : MPH between 692 &amp; 691
Time : about 8pm ??

WHO's COMING?
AhMel
Dora
Angelia &amp; hubby

Angelia

You have everyone's e-mail right? Maybe you want to try mass mailing? Maybe they are too busy to come into this forum?

Greetings from Beijing !

As for moon-watching session, hope more pple would be able to make it !

Dora,
I'm with my wife this entire week , took one week's leave after my biz trip in shanghai.
Hopefully she could also come over Spore in Oct during their holidays, lots of discussion with the ID and to shop for furnishings.

When is ur hubby coming home ? He's not coming for the moon-watching meh ?
And thanks, how abt 6/7 Sep, will u be in ur house ? No prob, could help u to find any defects...but hor....i myself also very chin-chai one leh..... not a detail person lor ...

Angelia,
have u sent the email ? cos I haven't received any yet.
how about meeting at ur place first b4 proceeding to MPH ? so can see-see ur home also mah..... can ?

Hi Ahmel

Wah.... you are really a globe-trotter hor... Think you take the plane more than I take the cab leh

My FH came home last nite already... But he always work till very late on weekdays, so I dare not put his name down first.... 12 Sep no prob provided they connect the switches already cos I still want them to rectify the downlights....And I told Johnson no hurry...so see how is the progress lor... Now switches not up yet so at night its pitch dark lor.... unless we can make it like 7pm or so when its still bright outside

Yah Yah, Angelia, can I go visit your place too?

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel, Dora,</font>
hehehe... forgot to mass-mail
okie, okie, will do it later

no problem.. can come over to my place 1st.. but my place furnishing oso not "completed" hor. so don't expect too much, hehehe..

<font color="aa00aa">koalabear,</font>
what time ur lessons end? maybe we won't end so early, so maybe u can still drop by after class

<font color="aa00aa">nyny,</font>
can u drop me a mail.. i can't send a mail to u at ur hotmail acct u registered with SB

<font color="0000ff">sent u gals/guys a mail liao

HIHIHIHI

i got ur mail!!! thanks!!!

my lesson end @ 10pm, by the time i reach CCK will be 11pm liao!!!

hehe... feel so bad if you all need to wait for me...

Some updates about my ceiling leak. The hdb has contact the unit above me and get the contractor to mend it. So now its in monitoring phase to see if it leaks anymore. That unit also got overlay the toilet tiles.

Angelia-Thanks! Received your mail liao!

Hmm, i cant confirm if can make it on 12th yet BUT juz wondering, need to bring anything? Mooncakes, pomelo, drinks etc? Carrying lanterns or not? Or juz play candles hehehe :p

Dora-Finally met up with Johnson yest(31/8).Most probably shd be using his service since their package quite comprehensive &amp; Johnson seems a nice person to talk to. Really bery tired of all these ID searching &amp; paper talk.

Anyway, havent receive letter fm HDB to collect keys yet. Probably should be opening the door in 1st wk of Oct'03 since Sept'03 dun have much good dates towards the month end.

Must try to furnish the flat b4 the 5% GST, hehee.

Hi Chiahui

Glad to know that you're comfortable with Johnson.... going around to look for ID very tiring hor.... Hmmmm if you going to sign up, and if AhMel signs up, then I'll go bargain with him to get a lower price for all 3 of us

But one thing if you want him to finish by a certain time, let him know clearly. We act smart went to tell him to take his time, no hurry. So now in the last stages he really take his time, progress quite slow. Think his business very good so he deployed his men to other flats
FH say he'll make noise to him....
Other than that, everything has been quite smooth and satisfactory. Let me know if you finally sign up then I go and bargain.

AhMel, how abt you?? Let me know then I can go bargain also

Da Jia Hai Hao Ma?
For the Moon-Watching gathering, plse plse try to make it la....okie ? Already saddened
by the news that Alex, Koalabear and AhBlur not able to make it ...

How about meeting at Angelia's home at 7.30pm, and proceed to MPH at abt 8pm ? I'll be bringing a box of mooncakes (bought in Beijing) and some lanterns/candles. Drinks can probably buy from the 7-11 on that day .

Angelia,
Thanks for sending the email and list. Both of us can consider to be co-organizers la, hor ?
Makes sense rite....at least u have moved-in alr mah. Can u be in-charge of the drinks then ?
And u said ur deco not completed yet ? Which part ?

Dora,
I've finally collected my keys on 1 Sep ! Went to open it with my dad yesterday evening alr, never check or bother which dates are suitable ... But becos too dark to see properly, so will go down this Sat morning again. Can I drop by ur house on Sat ? Want to see then decide whether to sign with them or not .

ChiaHui,
Plse do come for the gathering okie ? Seems that u like to play with fire huh....hehe.... Can u bring the Pomelo ? Dora will be bringing somemore 'home-made' mooncakes .

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
so, finally u'r back in SIN..

okie, no problem lah. i'll take care of the drinks. maybe can hv some apple tea from turkey

7:30pm is it too rush for some? how abt make it at 8pm? think will be better

reno.. hmm.. some furnishes not bought, curtains not done.. hahaha

AhMel

You finally stopped flying
Sure you can come over on Sat, but timing may be a bit tricky cos I've 2 gatherings to go to this sat.... will sms you later to confirm....BTW, all my lights installed liao, so you can come at night also....

Paiseh... this year never got to making the mooncakes, cos very busy at work, plus the reno... hehe... next year can? Will officially be neighbours by then
Let me c what mooncakes I can bring....

Yah ChiaHui, come lah... more pple more fun leh....

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
yup, finally back....touched down late on sunday nite, and i'm alr missing the good food in china ....

Apple tea from turkey ? sounds exotic and interesting! it's perfect, as tea is always good together with mooncakes .

You are rite....7.30pm could be too rush .... 8pm is better

<font color="0000ff">Dora,</font>
Too much flying is really very tiring....but good for jacking up miles so can exchange free tickets...hehe...

No problem, plse sms me the timing. Seems that most of ur reno are completed ? What else is outstanding ?

okie, we'll just wait one more yr for ur 'homemade' mooncakes then

<font color="119911">Meow,</font>
How abt u ? can come for the gathering ? plse try la, hor ?

<font color="aa00aa">All other CCKers,</font>
How about the rest ?
Have not seen many around this forum recently...
Hope that more pple can join in ....

Hi Angelia,
Hope you have not forgotten about me....!
Wow got moon watching gathering never e-mail me n chio me go luckily I come in to the forum.
But I thought the actual day for lantern festival is in 11th Sep and y u all arrange to meet a day later?
If I come you all seems to know what to bring, then I don't know what to bring already?
Also abit pai say cos never see all of you before and then suddenly meet up feel abit funny lei....hehe
keep me update where to meet lor!

Hi Priscilla ,
Please come for the gathering !

No need to be paiseh...I have not met anyone before too, except for Dora (went to see her renovation work). 11 Sep is on Thurs, and Fri is working day....so on 12th is better.
I think most stuff have been catered for (mooncakes, drinks, lanterns) , perhaps you could bring some 'Zhu-Long-Zhai' ? those 'piglet in a cage' ?
just a suggestion ....

We will meet at Angelia's place at 8pm.

Angelia,
Btw, which is ur unit ?

People coming so far :
<font color="0000ff">
Angelia + hubby
Melvin
Dora (FH maybe)
Arnold (firefish) + FW
Chia Hui (maybe)
Priscilla &amp; Partner(?) </font>

hi everyone...

hmm... my class end @ 10pm, by the time i reach yew tee will be 10.45 - 11pm. can i still go if you all still @ MPH...??

btw... if can... i'll provide watermelon?? RED OR YELLOW???

<font color="aa00aa">priscilla,</font>
hi, hi.. really forgotten u stayed @ Yew Tee..
. will send u the list later

<font color="aa00aa">ahmel,</font>
aiyo, if i answer u here, means i disclosing my addy to everyone liao leh.. will send a post to u separately

<font color="aa00aa">koalabear,</font>
of cos u can join us if we're still around. juz make sure u give <font color="ff6000">AhMel</font> or <font color="ff6000">me</font> a ring/SMS b4 u come over to confirm we're still around

u dun need to bring watermelon lah. u going for class, how to bring?

Me &amp; My FH will be going. I'll bring the pomelo.

hmm, since Fri is already the 16th,abit silly to bring lanterns hor,hehehe.

Anyway, yest. went to Chinese Garden see the Hello Kitty lanterns. Overall quite nice,except that there're some of those lantern displays which are not Sanrio characters.

<font color="ff0000">angelia,</font>
aiyo, i dun expect u to reveal in the forum la....assume u would tell us via email mah....

<font color="ff0000">koalabear,</font>
probably some of us would still be ard, but just call us first to be safe la.....and no need to bring anything, just come

<font color="ff0000">chiaHui,</font>
Great that both of u could come!

I think mid-autumn festival period is ard 15th, so still ok for lanterns la... the moon is still very round.

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
haha...too busy thinking abt ur carpets n blinds ?
i think we need somemore mooncakes leh.... quite a no. of pple coming ...

<font color="0000ff">Everyone,</font>
For those who wanna meetup first, plse meet at 7.45pm at Yew Tee Station, just beside the newspaper stand .

OKie okie... I'll bring some mooncakes

Hahaha AhMel think you also losing your mind lah... I don't have carpets lah.... the one you saw was the curtains lah
No lah... its not the curtains that is driving me nuts... its my work... but lucky now getting better liao....

Won't be meeting up with you guys at the mrt cos most prob we'll go up to check the flat 1st. Angelia, we'll go up to your place directly okie?

Hi Angelia,
Wow, you really forget about me liao..! so sad...
I think on the day I will go straight to your house cos my house n your house only 2 bus-stop away so I think I will go straight rather then going to yee tee MRT then u-turn back to your house.

AhMel,
I think of bringing something else lor....maybe buy some snacks cos I think most of us will get sick of eating mooncakes if everyone bring mooncakes.....right!
My hubby mostly will come lor.....hope he no need to stay OT so can come lor.

<font color="0000ff">Dora,</font>
aiyoyo....i'm really losing it too....I was thinking of curtains all the while, dunno why i wrote down carpets leh ????

<font color="0000ff">Priscilla,</font>
You are rite! Too many mooncakes no good also. Any snacks will be most welcomed.