Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

milo66

for those living in segar area, any problem with your ceiling? mine started to develop white patchy stuff on it and since i painted it purple, it look very obvious

wiseharmony

Hi milo,

didnt chk abt the ceiling thot... but some of my furnitures - those made of rattan & bamboo turns moldy easily.

any advise or similar problem?

okiblur

hi milo,

mine also developed white patchy pattern but it occurs at the service balcony. so i guess it's due to humidity since i use that area for washing and that area is also designated as my doggie toilet.

happy CNY to everyone here

skydreamer

hello everyone,

i have jus moved to bukit panjang town. would like to know if there is any private bus from senja road to shenton way area?

many thanks.

okiblur

pekochan,

me too me too...cannot wipe off also.
brown mouldy patches....wah...heart pain
think need to buy paint to repaint the patch liao

jasz

hi chatel
i think $18K upfront is indeed quite expensive...wat room type is that by the way?
but then again perhaps your unit is on a very high flr, unblock view or maybe designer decor? not forgetting it is sooooo near bpp
welcome!!

It's 5yrs old unit, 5rm, v. high floor, unblock. They change the hall flooring to marble and room to walnut colour laminated. At least dun really need to hack anything to change to our design. They even had the kitchen revamp to country style; wall tiles changed too.

Does it sound worthwhile to pay this kind of money?

I thk we made too quick decision and the agent got hold of us at the right time too.

Kind of feeling cheated.

jasz

hmmm...i guess if u really like the house and u feel comfy then it's ok, though its kinda expensive that u paid $18K cash above valuation. Personally, I will prefer to buy a simple unit at/below valuation and do my own renovation. At $18K, u can do quite a fair bit of reno, at least it's new and 100% to your liking. And reno these days is really cheap. But that's my own preference only...

The agent brought u to buy the unit... i thought tat it is only rightful that u paid them commission...how come u feel cheated?

ngjoan

hi Chatelaine,

do u mind to reveal how much u bought the unit?
& wat is the valuation?
i tot paying cash to seller can be negotiated??

_piggy_

My tot is that it seems like these days hardly anyone tops up much cash for flats but ultimately a house that makes you fall head over heels with doesnt come by everyday so i guess if you really love it enough, its really not so much of an issue.

Hi Jas

I feel cheated coz the agent is the owner exclusive agent to sell their unit.

Agent purposely tell us owner initially wanted to sell their house off at valuation + $30k above valuation. Agent told owner no market for $30k, perhaps can try $20k. So, upon hearing this, we actually offer them $18k cash but also ask him to try $16k first.

Somehow, owner accept the $18k cash.

What's more, initially we only want to see the house with no intention of buying due to owner not selling their unit yet.

Our reaction when we see their unit is like "wow wow, so nice as compared to all we have seen". After viewing, agent suddenly tell us if we really like we can try to offer.

That's where the agent got us! He knows we like the unit, $18k cash we will also pay coz we have been hunting for a house for very long. Tried a few WIS but didn't manage to get. Even the last WIS at Bt. Panjang we tried too.

Hi ngjoan

Sad to say the valuation is not even out yet and we promised them valuation + $18k cash!!! On 29th floor, valuation is about $320k. So hopefully this unit we bought would be lower.

I forgot to tell Jas that the agent didn't really find any house for us to view. He only show us 2 units and we confirmed with him the 2nd one which is real quick! As compared to other agent who has been looking hard for a unit for us.

We negotiate with him for lower commission and he say cannot.

What's more, we only view that unit 1 time and we offer!!!

Hi PorkChop

That's what I think too, nowadays ppl dun top up much cash but sometimes it's those China ppl who spoilt the market.

It's always those China ppl who can afford to pay upfront $20k cash or so. Thus causing us cannot find a unit until now.

After paying this kind of money, we also can't spend much on our furniture. No money liao : (

ngjoan

wow... chatelaine...
u like tat hor, very risky leh...
how can?
no valuation report & u agree on 18k.
OMG... really "pei4 fu2" u 2 leh.
then like tat, everything is confirmed already ah?
then r u entitled to 40k grant or 30k grant?
later still got to pay the agent's commission in cash oso... that means u gonna fork out abt $20k+ ah? feel very "xin1 tong4" for u leh.

last time, when i viewed those resale units, the 1st thing i asked wld be their valuation report & see if the date got expired mah.
coz a valuation report is valid for 3mths only.
try to fight for lower price lor.
if the seller is in hurry of selling, think they will still lower the price de.

_piggy_

For me i took a gamble and agreed on a price before the valuation report was out and it was a roller-coaster ride for us until the valuation report came out and the price that was agreed upon was like a good 20K below valuation ... but i do agree that its not often that this happens.

Chatelaine, in my own opnion since you have already signed to buy the place and you like the place just close an eye and stop thinking about if you have been cheated since its too late to be doing anything about it .... no point making yourself unhappy over this ...

Hi ngjoan

That's why I said cheated lor. My agent only meant to show us the house and not offer for it. Who knows after viewing, he said can offer! After all the "wow wow" we made.

The owner only start to look for a house after we offered, so we won't get our house until Sept.

We have viewed at least 10 over units in Bt. Batok and another 10 units in Bt. Panjang... this one is the best of all. That's why we didn't give a second thought and offered them. After offering, we find it stupid.

Hi PorkChop

What you said is true lor.

The agent also tell us if it's below $320k we consider it good deal lor.

But I think it's quite unlikely leh coz their house really nicely done.

I still hope the valuation is only $305k... hehehe

So ppl out there, dun be like me.

Reason being if their valuation is high, there's no reason we shd be paying so much cash above valuation.

jasz

Hi Chatel,

Actually a better way to do it is to make a deposit, and subsequently exercise the option (must be within 14days) when the valuation is out. Nowadays, even for 4 rm flat there's no need to pay so much cash above valuation. What's more, this is a 5 rm whereby market is asking at or below valuation.

At the very least:
1. U know exactly how the flat is going to cost you.
2. If the valuation is high, U can neg to pay lesser on the cash portion. U have more control over things that way.

It's crappy for the agent to say that owner is asking for $30K. That is NOT your problem. If I'm the owner and I say I want to sell my place at $100K above valuation, does it mean that buyers must pay that kind of price? siao rite?

However, if you have already exercised the option, then you are binded legally. I can understand why u felt "cheated", but perhaps it's too strong a statement to say that agent cheated you since we are all mature adults. Perhaps you kind of regretted your actions of paying $18K cash above value for an unit? To be fair to all parties, I guess this is more like a case of willing sellers and willing buyers.

Cheer up ok!
U gonna have a place of ur own soon!

Hi Jas

Thanks for comforting me.

Actually, we ask the agent to make an offer. Agent then told us to issue a $1k cheque to show our sincerity.

The agent is very smart coz he asked us to exercise the option on the same day we signed the OTP (Offer To Purchase). Hence, that's no way we can run away from this contract.

gelaine

anyone staying in Blk 18x? getting my keys on 17th may~ i've also paid 18k cash above valuation for my unit..but it's worthwhile...Cheers =)

ngjoan

hi gelaine....
hi 5!!!
me too 18X.
i'll be getting my keys this 9th May...

eehh... if i'm not wrong, u r frm the Mar'06 ROM bride... keke... rite

ngjoan

hi lomantik...
u oso staying at 18X ah
the valuation there cost 355k ah
wow sehh.... so ex ah.

chatelaine,
then u got to be prepared liao le.
how's ur valuation report...
out le mah

hi gelaine,
hehe... a bit excited bah...
doing some preparation for the "open door" ceremony... keke...

lomantik

No lah ... I not so fortunate ...
I saw one EA at 180 but too ex and I need to spend alot on reno so no point lah. I'm at 60X EA.

gelaine

Hey lomantik,

I agree with you lor... 18k top up so alot! Me and my hubby now very thrifty all of a sudden for the flat. But am still enjoying the process of building up my home though. If not for the fact my hubby love the flat, and my in-laws also thinks it's very good, and my mother-in-law went to get a lot for us saying this flat matches our birth dates... else we wun pay so much lor... Heh... But not regreting lah... coz we are very comfortable with it still.

ngjoan... Which exact block you staying? Can PM me? Then maybe we can keep in touch and kaypoh each other's flat. Heh... but me wun shift in so soon coz MIL say Lunar 7th month not good to move house. HAh... so prob will wait till end sept. In the meantime, slowly buy what we need into the house. HEh...

ngjoan

hi gelaine,
me too, might not be staying in so soon...
maybe after the 2 lunar 7th mth as well.
coz need to get the HDB to do some hacking b4 i can start our simple reno as well.
by the time it's done, think near lunar 7th mth liao.

Hi ngjoan

My valuation report is still not out yet. The agent have delayed submitting the documents for us. Hopefully, we will be able to know the valuation by this week.

I'll only be getting the house key in Sep coz owner not going to move during the 7th month.

Most probably, will move in in Oct. How about you?

gelaine

wah.. 25k is madness...impossible to sell off one lor....unless their deco is very very very nice..so far..18k cash over valuation is the highest among the transactions in bt panjang..only a few units frm blk 17x have successfully transacted at tt amount of cash above valuation. And besides they're not staying in tpy/redhill/queenstown..where to fetch tt kind of price... just a matter of time they will reduce the amt of $$..lol...

gelaine

chatelaine,

the flooring is using india granite(living room & MBR),all plastered walls,kitchen cabinets(aluminium trimming) all very well maintained coz e owner hardly cook..plus owner also leaving down dining table, Lshaped sofa + projection tv for us..so it's a pretty gd buy from what we see..

gelaine

Hey Chatelaine,

The previous msg replied by my hubby.

Hee... so this is my reply...
Wah yours really very ex. But yours is 5 room right? Mine is 4 room my valuation is at 248k. Ad i top up 18k. But the thing is my unit is pretty well renovated in my opinion lah. Coz my owner is actually a contractor himself so he is particular about the house reno in the first place.
It's simple but not too bad.

Ours is on 15th floor so also considered high levl so we're happyu with it. So what about yours?

Hi Gelaine

Mine is 5rm. Initially thought yours is 5rm too.

Mine is on 17th floor.

FYI... Understand your blk will be hit by the afternoon sun. My frenz is staying on the same blk as you. She told me in Jun/Jul the sun will shine from the window to the door. But also depend which side of the blk you are staying.

In this case, do you still to do reno.?

gelaine

chatelaine,

my unit isnt hit by the afternoon sun(at the point of time which we last viewed the flar,sumwhere ard in january). dunno abt wads gonna happen during june/july.. i can see abit of the cross junction in front of bt panjang plaza from my living room.

Only painting & chemical wash required....=)

larryle

I have just moved into Senja Grand. Anyone facing the following problems:

1. Small holes appearing on the ceiling (living rm, kitchen, bedrooms, storeroom)
2. Small insects crawling all over the house. They are lice look-alike but stay mainly on the walls.
3. Mouldy patches in the rooms, as if the rainwater has seeped thru the walls.
4. Things kept in the storeroom turns mouldy very easily. Moisture content seem to be very high in it. Have tried putting 4 bottles of Thirsty Hippo but it still doesn't stop the mould.

Anyone can help? Thanks!