Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

interrace

Pekochan,

Which blk are u staying at ?
i finally moved to segar liaoz..
but still got some finishing touches to the reno..and also my furnitures are not here yet...so basically living in quite an empty hse..
love the area though ..very secluded feel...
however my neighbours like not very friendly so far... only the bangladesh worker most friendly smile to us whenever we bumped into him...my hubby will then greet him gd morning..hee..

pekochan

hi interrace,

you have finally moved in. I stay at 480, you are at 479? my neighbours are friendly maybe you take the first move to smile to them first lor, u noe lah some people need some time to warm up. I agree the cleaners are very friendly but do be careful.

interrace

Hi Pekochan,

me staying at 484. i smiled at those who look like they will smile back types..keke..

why must be careful of the cleaners leh?

pekochan

Hi Interrace,

Oh, it's 484 paiseh. I mean don't be over friendly to them lah, we also don't know what are they thinking. fang2 ren2 zhi1 xin1 bu4 ke2 wu2.
So do you go marketing on weekends? Wonder when is the CC opening? Take so long to build and now take so long to open....sigh

interrace

Hi Pekochan,

Havent got the time to go marketing yet, busy cleaning the whole hse..

Not sure when the CC opening, even though i saw the police station opened liaoz..
do u jog at the canal area ? saw alot of pple doing that, but me not so keen in jogging leh ..
the other nite, it was a wet nite, can hear all the bullfrogs'croaking in the middle of the nite leh ...so loud..haha..

pekochan

hi interrace,

looks like you are very free today. i don't like jogging either. har? can heard bullfrogs croaking? which floor you stay? your unit is facing inside or outside?

I am a bit slow but I just found out that the Bukit Timah MRT line has been in the works (planning) for a really long time! At least announced 1 1/2 years ago by the LTA. And I always thought it was an unverified rumour! LOL

http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/proj_rail_future.htm

Then again, we've gotta wait 10 - 15 years before it's completed. Wonder if we'll still be living here then!

june2006

Those foreign workers/cleaners also quite poor thing wan lah... Alone here in Singapore and their supervisors are not always nice people. Can smile while being alert lor. Hehe...

Those living at Senja Grand... do you find the rain splashing into your house? My gate is staining my floor with rust now! A friend who is staying a block away told me the rain can splash as high as the middle of her main door! If I construct a PVC screen at the gate, it'll be so ugly! Sigh...

Hi wise

Yup! Been busy here and there. hehehe... Wah.. thanks for the map. It's super cool. We'll be able to cut through to town and work much more easily then, and don't have to depend on switching at Jurong East or travel by the super long North-South line. I wish it were tomorrow that they'd complete it. heheh

milo66

hihi i am also a bt panjanger! stayed at segar for abt 3 years liao.

pekochan: i am also residing at 480 segar rd! so coincident!

interrace

ur blk and pekochan same...is near the car park rite ?
is it noisy ? during like off peak hrs when pple come back from work and stuff ?
also do u find the air dusty ?
cos my flooring keep feeling dusty..dun noe izit due to my recent renovation ..or the dust which the wind blown in...keke..

milo66

yup. its near the carpark. the sound wise quite alright lor but its definitely very dusty ah. keep moping still dusty!

binbin

hi hi!

pekochan oopps paiseh made a mistake on the hubby and yoga ah hehehee...

interrace, yes some of the cleaners are frindly. there's one at our place, very very diligent, our block always very clean. we always greet one another when pass by. but yes lah, still have to exercise caution yar. how come your neighbours unfriendly? tot your area shld be all the young young couple? try to greet them, maybe that day they are in a bad mood ah.

hehehe yep yep the bt line is not a rumour. next time most of us will have a more direct way to work and home! hehehhee...

pekochan

Hi milo, o dun noe got c u before or not? wahaha.

Hi interrace, I went to the cc the other day. Got pilates class leh, did you sign up? I may be signing up. Got quite a few courses I'm quite keen.

Hi binbin, i do agree the cleaners are very diligent

interrace

Hi binbin,

Not all young couples leh ..anyway, maybe is true loh , like what u say, they not in good mood so din smile at us...we in turn also din try to smile back, cos the stare was not a friendly one leh ..

Hi Pekochan..
i went to the cc the other day too...signed up for the membership..got promo that day at 7bucks?
anyway, i helped my frd book the badminton court liaoz..hee..member got special price..
pilates ar..i am interested, but now dun have the time ..maybe the next class ba...

you not working ar pekochan ?

jacqui_chan23

Hiyee Guys

Just read finish the thread, my fiancee and i just shifted to Senja Link in June, must say a great place to stay, quiet surroundings and quite accessible.. only thing i notice is that there is not many pet shops around, have to send my dog to very far for grooming

binbin

helo jacqueline, there are 2 pet shops in BP area. one of them does grooming but i never tried. the pet shop that sells dog food only is at fajar market there, one of the shophouses. the one whch i think does grooming is along woodlands rod, near the junciton of woodlands/cck/bp road. it is opp ten mile junction. can walk there from ten mile or from senja stn. but i also send my doggie to our usual groomer in YCK for grooming, coz he is a expert breeder of shelties, very good with them.
whats ur doggie breed??

interrace, aiyoh, hostile stares? scary leh..... nebermine next time see them see their mood how lah.

pekochan

hi interrace,

ya, im not working at the moment taking a break now. $7? u mean the passion card? i paid $18 leh for 3 yrs. i may be joining the yoga class, it's on wkends.

hi jac,
321078.gif

i oso bring my dog to far away place for grooming. there is other pet shop at 'the rail mall' but u have to take a bus there. mine is a shih tzu, hw abt urs?

binbin

helo jac, i just went down to fajar last night and hey! the pet shop has a new management. they have grooming services now, and the owner is pretty good at snaltzers i heard.
and he owns 2 adorable shelties!!!!! just played with them last night....hehehehhe! going to bring prince there to socialise one day.

LTNS! There's a pet shop at Fajar? Will go check it out
Eversince the one at Greenridge closed, I pop by the one at Bt Panjang Plaza in case of "emergencies" (like running out of dog food.. haha). Otherwise, I usually order from a regular store near Pasir Panjang. For grooming, I recently sent mine to this place called Snips & Clips at Holland Grove Rd, recommended to me by my SIL. It's run by two ladies and they're really good. They also do pick-ups.

I wish we had a dog run here. THat big field there near the CC looks pretty empty huh! heheheh

pekochan

Hi binbin, o i've not been to the pet shop at fajar for quite sometime maybe will pop by one of these days. any idea hw much is the rate for grooming ?

Hi matka, really long time no see! Can I have the contact of the groomer, btw hw much do they charge for grooming a shih tzu?

Pls be careful when you all bring your doggie for walk, there are a pack of stray dogs(approx 6) around our area. That day when I was walking to segar lrt station I heard them barking when I saw them, 2 of them were running down the slope and then a girl was running across the road! I did not know whether the girl has agitated them or those dogs are really fierce. So all of you do take precaution when you see them.

Hi Pekochan

thanks for the tip on the stray dogs. Will watch out for them. I once encountered a really big, black friendly stray earlier this year at my place. Haven't seen it since.

I forgot to add in my previous post that the groomers that i send my bowwows to might be a bit more ex than the usual. I pay $20 more (prev $40 now $60) than the previous one I sent to for grooming. At first I gulped and hesitated for a looong looooong time, but when i finally tried them, I find that I prefer the results of this one. So just got to bear the extra expenditure a bit. I don't know how much a shih tzu grooming wld cost. Mebbe you can check with them. Their website: www.snipsnclips.com.sg.

If you want, can drop me an email [email protected]. They will give a small discount for your 1st session if you're recommended by customer. Small discount but i guess better than nothing. hehheh.

pekochan

Hi matka,

I went to the website to check out. For shih tzu is $75, very ex leh. My furkid is not like those shih tzu with very long fur, his 'hairstyle' is short. The previous groomer charge $55. What is the breed of your dog? Do you use the delivery service or you send your dog there personally?

binbin

helo helo! heheh matka, if only we have a dog run here yah, prince is itching to run.

yep theres a pet shop at fajar, ground floor, next to the spa there.....have not gone back to visit the two shelties yet...hehehee...

pekochan and matka, the 6 stray dogs have been there for some time oredi. they used to be in our cluster area, next to the zhenghua sec. but few mths ago they move to west springs school. matka, that big friendly black dog is owned by an indian in block 654 or 652 (forgot which one). he stays 2nd floor, his flat facing the centre part of our cluster, and his dog always runs downstairs. u be careful hor, coz he used to be friendly, but getting more aggresive now. he follow prince once harmlessly, but recently heard that he got into a fight with a small dog owned by someone in our cluster and the small dog was hurt. so be careful kae? we find the indian very irresponsible, kept letting the dog down without supervision. we saw him scolding the dog once when he finally decided to go home, but he cld have wired up his gate mah. think he did that liaoz, seldom see the black dog alone downstairs. think the dog name rado or something like that...

pekochan

Hi binbin,

I think that indian don't really care about his dog if not he won't let him wander around.What an irresponsible owner! Hate this kind of people.

Sometimes those stray dogs will sleep under the highway, I saw 2 of them the other night when I was cycling there. I was so afraid they might chase after me...wahaha.

binbin

helo pekochan, yah know what u mean, i get so scared when i see stray dogs too. but thing is, they can sense your fear so that makes it worse. need to pluck up courage to scare it. that time rado was following me and prince, i was so worried he will do something to prince coz his eyes were on him and nothing else. so eventually i stopped and make to throw something at him, and he ran away. we bumped into the pack of 3-4 stray dogs one night too, but there was 4 of us that night, and my hubby held prince and rush at them, and they turned tail and ran. but heard from the other sheltie owner that one day she bump into the same pack of dogs, and they chased her and her sheltie down the slope. i think its coz they ran, thats why they chase...think most stray dogs are scared and wary of humans, so as long as you act gungho shld be okie.

okiblur

hello....
it's been a long time since i join this forum. hv been more active at doggiesite recently.

roughly scan through the threads and there seem to be many new members joining here....welcome welcome....

i've adopted a dog recently...it's a cocker spaniel. i'll be bringing him to 'ka cha' tomorrow :p. hopefully, he will be more tamed after being 'ka cha'. i've came across the stray dogs too...but luckily have to met head to head with them otherwise i'll definitely get into trouble cos my boy is very excited at seeing doggie friends. hv also come across the black mongrel. during the 1st encounter, i quickly grab my boy and run but subsequent encounters, i realise that the black dog seem quite friendly but i'll still keep a good distance away from him cos my boy not a fighter -> got bitten by a schnauzer in our neighbourhood once

wanna arrange for an informal dog gathering?? wld like to socialise my dog more.

binbin

hey dingdong! yeah you also doggie owner now! u bringing him for neutering tmlw ah? we have been tokking about neutering prince but have not had the heart to get around to it.
scared he pain leh. why did you say u hoping he be tamer after that? tot u said he not a fighter? what u mean hope get tamer?

what doggie site you go to now? mind sharing?
i wld lurve an informal doggie gathering! *hope up and down*. want prince to make more friends. ANyone else keen?
322378.gif

pekochan

hi dingdong,

Aiyo so poor thing got to 'ka cha', how old is your doggy? Some dogs are unfriendly so they will bite, well I guess they don't social much that's why. My friend's schnauzer wanted to bite me when I pat him.

Sound interesting to have a gathering but it would be better if those without dogs also join in. Btw, any of you here ever meet up before?
322382.gif

okiblur

binbin, peko....

my boy is 11 mths old. he's super super hyperactive. it's very difficult to train him when he's always that hyper and keeps losing his concentration.

the main problem is: my boy won't bite other dogs and people but will tend to bite his owners (us), sometimes real hard, for no reason. i hv his bite marks on my hands and on some other parts of my body....very ingrateful dog *humph*.

he tends to be aggressive...especially when we want to stop him from doing something bad. for eg, when we want to stop him from tearing newspaper and tried to move the newspaper away, he bites us; when my mum wants to mop the window and floor, he will bite the cloth and when my mum prevents him from biting the cloth, he'll bite my mum. sometimes, he'll bite our clothes when we walk from one area to another....other times, he'll bite our butts...

other than to tame him down, health benefits is also part of the reason for neutering him. furthermore, he's quite a humper

pekochan

hi dingdong,

think he's still young and playful
then in this case guess it's good to 'ka cha' him since he's still young. are you a first time dog owner? ever thought of bringing him to obedient class?

binbin

helo pekochan, think last time some of us say want to meet up, but din get around to doing it. shall we?
of course those without doggies also can join lah, dingdong just suggesting doggie gathering so that they can make friends. maybe those with doggies bring them along? shall we?

dingdong.....aiyoh, he sounds quite bitey. :p one possible reason is he is teething, coz puppies teeth at around 6 mths old. and if not given an outlet to chew, he will turn to things he is not suposed to bite e.g. your butt. hehehee...another reason is he is too aggresive because he is a dominant male. in that case, you need to inculcate in his mind that YOU are the pack leader and alpha figure, not him. signs of him biting in retaliation, growling etc are signs of aggresivenes, and you shld try to curb it. have to be firm and fierce with him, punish when he is wrong, praise when he right. make sure u dun let him drag you on the leash when out for walks, always make sure he dun eat before you, not letting him onto the same level as you e.g. the bed or sofa. hehehe i know most owners like their doggies on their beds so its personal prefence. but probably with an agressive dog its better to play safe.

hihihihihihi

pekochan, i know what you mean abt the pricing. The website lists mini schnauzers as $65 but they've only been charging me $60. The first visit, if it's a referral will be a 10% discount for you. I also felt that it was expensive at first... and when i first booked it, I actually cancelled the appointment because I hesitated. Then I brought it to my usual groomer, but still I wasn't so happy. So a few months later, I finally tried them... and I noticed that my doggies are very happy with them. Strange, but true! Heheh.. they actually happily walk off with the two lady groomers when they come pick them up.

Dingdong, oohhh cocker spaniel
Have fun!

My dog still bites us occasionally... or puts our hands in his mouth, rather. I think it's because he wants to "feel" us but he doesn't have hands to do so! He loves his toys and thankfully he's not destructive with our furniture.

My friend once told me when I said neutering my dog would be so sim tia - "You won't feel sim tia when you know what he'll do." Hehheh. So I took her advice.

okiblur

hi pekochan, he's my second dog. my first dog was a mix breed, female....way way opposite from my boy's character. she was so so guai....

hv intended to bring him for obedient class after my exams. it's long time for him to learn some lessons.

binbin, yup yup, let's arrange for a meet up
dog or no dog....other pets also can...
i think my boy way beyond the teething stage. i think it's b'cos his previous owner allow him to bite her hand. we have bgt a lot of chew toys for him but he still prefer to chew our hands
probably fleshy meat is better to chew as compared to rubber bones. he doesn't growl hence he's not as aggressive as thought. hv tried to teach him the right way by saying firmly 'no bite' whenever he bites and confine him to an area. but our stern warning doesn't seem to register in his mind at all. he's not even scared of the cane. read from some dog reference book that between 9 mths to a year plus is a dog teenage period. hence, they tend to be more aloof and 'pan4 ni4'. so i guess this is his 'ah beng' period lor. hehehe...it's so embarassing to walk him especially when we bring him to unfamiliar places....it's more like he's walking me than the other way round.

matka, why ur friend said that 'u won't feel sim tia when you know what he'll do'??

well...my boy is very naughty today, very unusual of him unless he's really frustrated with certain things. he peed beside our recliner chair and then later on the sofa. maybe he has the sixth sense that he'll loose his 'manhood' tomorrow :p so he's trying to savour before he lost it. kekekeke

binbin

hi dingdong, so hows your boyboy's ops? how did he take it and did he appear painful or uncomfortable after?

hey girls, are we still meeting up?
how many of us are staying in the same cluster? wise, matka, hippos (MIA), myself are in the same cluster. who else?

hoppinghippos

hello! no lah, I"m not MIA, you all tok abt dog yoga, etc etc... alamak how I join in? I"ve not moved in yet tho, prob end of this month. And yes I"ve seen the big black dog quite a few times running around downstairs!

binbin

helo Wise, i saw a small silky terrier that looks so lost few days ago when leaving for work. wanted to pick it up so badly but rushing off for work so i couldn't. mesged ding dong, and her hubby so nice managed to go down less than 1/2 hour later. but sadly, no doggie liaoz.
but heard the neighbours got mention see a dog wandering about. that same day evening, heard an uncle say saw the same dog that afternoon....we only hope its either been found by the owner, or picked up by a kind soul loh....

how have you been, wise?

dingdong, really thanks leh that day.....pls thank your hubby for me. how's your doggie's spaying? we have booked him for a 21 nov ops....

wiseharmony

Hallo BinBin,

Wow. It beli kind of u to "look out" for lost doggies.

tks.tks. mi hubby is recovering. and am back to work. had been "working" from home for the past 2 weeks. we found food catering to take care of his lunches. didnt know many food catering dont take our area.... strange.

326890.gif

binbin

helo wise, actually usually dog owners will be able to understand the pain of losing their dog. so when i see a lost doggie, i tot of how the doggie (helpless, anxious, unwanted) and owner (frantic, sad) must feel and you will want to help. and taking care of him til he is found will only be a matter taking care of one more dog other than prince. sigh......but sadly, din pick him up like i said.

really? a lot of caterers dun do our area? funny..... good to hear your hubby recovering with your TLC.
take good care........

binbin

helo BP-ians! remember we were speculating what new shops we will have with the recent upgrading at BP plaza? hehehe! just a sneak peak! We will have Starbucks, Cafe Cartel, Body shop, Giordano, M1 Shop, Tinkerbell, SK Jewellery and Wang Jiao coming back. I am so excited about Cafe Cartel coz I love their bread pudding dessert! hehehee. and most of you here got your starbucks wish!