Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

binbin

helo helo, yep tinkerbell is open. i also saw the signs saying that delifrance (forgot to add that) and some other shops will have christmas promo, so i guess some will be ready by xmas, some only next yr early 2006. hehehee.

interrace

Hi wiseharmony,

marriage life aint a bliss thus far ...
lotsa adaptation and compromises and changes...

guess that's a norm rite..

same qns...where do you all mostly go for dinners?
feel like BP dun have good makan plcs for dinner leh ...

wiseharmony

Hi Interrace,
Yeap. yeap. agreed. need to adapt to each other. coz diff upbringing mah.

Currently, we got catering to send us lunch & dinners for weekdays. Weekend will either walk across to greenbridge @blk 524 or cook. for the 1st few week will buy fm BP plaza or Lot1.

U leh?

binbin

helo helo interrace and wise, good raining morning!
hey next time starbucks open we can have gathering there, very convenient for everyone hahaha. but i dun think they allow dogs. :p

dun go plaza that often lah. my parents stay near there so if we go parents plc for dinner than we may take a short walk in the plaza. otherwise, our dinners are usually spontaneous places loh, perhaps near my office, in town (if feel like going town), in fajar the sze char, or sometimes the row of shops opp beauty world.
you know which row i tokking about? its the cheong chin namn street, love the food there. they have nice indian food, nice chicken rice, killiney, and my favourite fish head steamboat!!!! love the fish head steamboat, very happy whenever we go there. but not cheap so can't go often hehehee. brought friends and parents there before, all of them love it. as for breakfast or lunch on weekends, we will go greenwich, fajar, senja grand (nice wan tan mee, roast meat rice and chicken bryani), bangkit (nice slice fish soup) or the kim san leng near bangkit. bp plaza also. next time i think once cafe cartel open, i am going there often for desserts hahaha!

interrace, yes married life is a lot of compromises and adaptations. but can focus on the beautiful aspect of being able to wake up next to the love of your life every morning.
and seeing him at the end of a tedious work day.

interrace

Hi wise,

wa, catering ar...not bad idea hor..
u not working ar wise?
me only need places to go for dinner, cos am working (job sucks).
Yup, wise, lotsa compromising, not only diff upbringing, diff race also ...more work and effort required...

Binbin,

wa, tks..so many plcs u go for makan ..must jot it down.
so far i only went to fajar kopi shop for the lor mee, senja grand for the hor fun ..and bpp for the food court food( not very nice leh).
mainly we go bukit timah , yes i noe that plc, my reg spot is the indian stall...nice and cheap...fish head nvr tried before (will try now that u mentioned is nice..), only taiwan porridge and the killiney, five star kampong chicken rice stall (expensive!) tried once each..keke.

dun noe leh, maybe recently got too much arguements liaoz, dun see the beauty of having him by my side in the early morning loh..
but my heart do soften when i watch him sleep ...haiz...

BTW, for starbucks lovers:
http://www.starbucks.com.sg/promo.htm

wiseharmony

Halo BinBin,
Yeap...been raining since morning... long life rain... hope it stops when gg home time.

Good huh, yr parents stay so near. so u quite familiar wif BP lah.

Hi Interrace,
mi working. just tat hubby met an accident last mth & MC for 3mths. so we try out some food catering. else hubby got no food and mi dun hv to rush home to cook or buy dinner if mi need to work late..

haiyo, interrace... wat happened? b'coz of housework? tink root cause of most relationship is communication.

take it easy lah.. still got a long way to go.

binbin

helo interrace, hehehe yep the fish head steamboat is nice....prices start $22 for the smallest steamboat for 2. then u order side dishes, must try their fried tofu (if u like), their ha chiong gai (prawn past chicken). and u can top up the soup as many times as you like.

yes i love the indian stall too, their mutton bryani the mutton quite tender leh, nice. like their tandori butter chicken (think thats the name).
yah loh the five star so exp hor??? but nice lah. think all these franchise chicken rice one all out to kill with their prices.boon tong kee also exp. i dun really like the taiwan porridge, find it exp and not very nice....have u tried the teochew porridge? me neber tried yet.

saw the starbucks page you gave, just realised BP may be the first branch in the west of singapore! hehee...

wise, yes we deliberately stay in BP so to be near my parents.
but not very familiar with BP also lah, coz my parents only stayed there about 5yrs also.

interrace, think the beginning of the marriage is when you iron out several things. not easy esp for interacial marriages which you said requires more effort. but i think the love that brought you together surpasses the boundaries, have confidence in you that you can work it out. just that a lot of patience and mutual understanding is needed.......all the best kae?

HURRAH for Starbucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and the M1 Shop! No need to travel all the way to West Mall to change phones now!

What's Tinkerbell? I hope Sushi returns too

binbin

helo matka, tinkerbell is a shop selling nice pretty shoes.
nope i dun think sushi is returning leh, din see the name in the list of New Kids on the Blk. hehehee.....

okiblur

Good morning gals...

binbin...u've really tried all the delicacies around BP
. your recommendations really sounds good. i find that the mutton soup at beauty world is really 'sedap'. the hawker centre opposite the bukit timah plaza serves nice food too. i hvn't tried those row of shops opposite beauty world yet.

interrace....marriage life is not like a bed of roses. just close one eye and everything will be fine at the end of the day.
u'll find that there's added responsibilities, ur pocket dries up faster
, u're obligated to pleased in-laws and be a 'guai' DIL, etc, etc. sometimes i also wonder why i got married in the first place. life was carefree before then but....no point pondering too much on it liao.

interrace

Hi wise,
sorry to hear abt ur hubby's accident, hope he having a speedy recovery.
So you took leave to acc him at home huh?
guess this experience should have drawn you both closer together..

Binbin,

the way u describe make me feel so hungry leh ..din have dinner last nite nor bkfast today..no mood to eat.

but think will like to try the fish head store soon, i also dun like the taiwan porridge , not nice and exp.
Teochew i tried once..so so loh ...at least they dun charge as ridiculously as the one at havelock road.

tks for the advice..i noe marriage aint bed of roses loh ..pple changes ...u noe ..
i miss my family,dislike the tons of chores, not a "guai" DIL...just like dingdong mentioned .."wonder why i got married in the first place. life was carefree before then ..."

tok abt regrets in life...
anyway, life still goes on...

binbin

helo dingdong, yes the mutton soup at beauty world is sure nice.
ate it very long ago, glad to know its still there. one of the nicest, hard ot find a good one nowadays. no lah i din try all the delicacies, just that i am one greedy pig loh, loves to eat hahahaa....hubby always call me that. :p so i love trying out food.

eh my ah prince being neutered on 7 dec, will update you kae? thanks for asking earlier.

interrace, the havelock road one expensive meh? i find it okie leh, the last time both of us ate there, ordered the steam fish (quite fresh) too not too exp. though i forgot the price la. the fish head steamboat stall is the first stall on the extreme right, nearest to da vinci or courts.

oh dear.....sigh.......can imagine how hard it is for u now, no mood even to have dinner or breakfast. remember, do not let your health down. though sometimes we get so mad and upset that we just dun feel like eating, but skipping breakfast shld be avoided okie?

try to think positively. i know its not easy, and we are in no position to advise you on anything. but whenever things happen, just remember that you love this guy enough to marry him. you also said your heart melts when you see him sleep, so the love is very much there.....try to work it out for the sake of the both of you. sometimes heart to heart talks helps. try to find uninterrupted time for each other one day or evening and talk through the things that's bothering you recently? hubby and i quarrel too, and when ppl get mad its hard to remind oneself of things you learn. for example, during our catholic engage encounter (a pre-marriage 3 day session), we were taught that during arguments, what matters is not who's right and who's wrong, but who's feelings were hurt and how sorry one is. at times like this, a simple sentence "i am sorry to have hurt you" work wonders instead of pointing fingers at who started what first. yep, but sometimes harder to practise what is preached.

wiseharmony

Hi Interrace,
Tks. tks. he's recovering, should be back to work next yr. i was working from home for the past 2 weeks.

mi heart almost stop when i heard abt his accident. the thot of losing him was too much for mi to bear. and it sort of remind us not to take anything for granted....

yeap, this accident does make us stronger and closer as a couple.

hi Wise

Sorry I didn't really read the posts further up and missed the part abt your hubby's accident until Interrace mentioned it. Must have been so worrisome for you. Hope he gets better in no time!

Binbin, am looking forward to the revamped BPP. Is Tinkerbell a known brand? Fun fun fun

Interrace, chin up k? Marriage has its up and downs. Having a bit more patience than usual does help. Take care

hoppinghippos

Hi Wise, really sorry to hear about your husband, hope he makes a speedy recovery! I"m sure with your tender loving care he will!

Hi interrace, I rem reading one article once where the reporter interviewed this super super old man who was still happily married and asked for his secret to his long marriage. He said when things are bad, he hates his wife like hell but the thought of divorce never crossed his mind. Pt being its normal to be unhappy, pissed etc, but the sanctity and permenance of marriage is always there.

wiseharmony

Halo matka & hippos,
Tks. tks. he's recovering. it an accident. nobody wish it would happened. but it did. anyway, that's life. the blessing part is he only hurt his foot. the rest ok. so felt beli blessed olreadi.

i always feel that things happened & it happened for a reason. & we always choose to look at the brighter side of life...

interrace

Hi Binbin,

ytd we went for peacetalk over the fish head steamboat which u recommend...haha, the fish head cost 15bucks, and we ordered fried egg oyster as well. The fish head was okie lah, i prefer the whampoa one though, the soup taste better.

But am glad i tried, cos its really nice to have hot hot soup during cold weather..

Thank you all for the advice and tips... we decided to go counselling in dec..haha...

Dear wise,

am glad to noe ur hubby recovering...i understand wat you mean abt heart stopping when u received the fone call.

binbin

helo wise, glad to know things are better and ur hubby recovering.....can imagine how you felt when u get the phone call... remember what i said that time kae? we stay so near, can let me know if u need anything.

yes indeed, things happen for a reason. whenever things happen, i try to tell myself that too...

matka, tinkerbell ah....hmm....dun think i have heard of it before, but sounds a bit familiar lah. the shoes quite pretty, a bit like prettyfit/charles n keith kind...

interrace, wah whampoa nice ah? which stall which stall? is it the two stalls of tze char and fish soup side by side together one? the row of stalls facing the shophouses? is the oyster egg nice? din order that. didn't like their chai po egg so i never thought of ordering any of their egg dishes hahahaa....yes it is indeed nice on a cold rainy day.
i like the version of soup with milk one, did you ask for that? its so near our place hehehee......

counselling? okie.....all the best to you dear....take care.......

hey hippos!!!

milo66

hihi haven been coming in for some time liao. how is everyone?

u guys planning a meet up? count me in! i got a jrt, sigh...a very handful breed! but now that he is older, seems more tame already.

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,
thank you. thank you. i'll remember yr kind offer.
the most stress weeks were over. things are more stable now.

Hi Interrace,
so now... nothing else is important to mi expect his recovery.

olso hope that both you will straighthen out all the unhappiness soon. take care & keep us updated.

binbin

helo milo! hehehe long time no see, hows ur jrt? how many yrs old oredi? some of us trying to arrange a meetup, probably when the plaza extension is ready we can meet at starbucks hehehee. will count you in. but you seldom come in how to reach you ah? can leave ur email?

milo66

hi wise!

hi bin bin,

sure. my email is [email protected]

my jrt is really a handful man. these few nights been raining and he started barking to alert us to close the window. so scare will disturb the neighbours. he is coming to 2 years old loh.. how abt ur?

binbin

helo milo mine is 2 yrs 10 mths. yah loh always worried will wake up neighbours. if he barks we will get up and scold him. he will stop, but only if we scold him very fierce. sigh.......what a weatherdog.

wiseharmony

Monkey Trap

A master took two students into a forest. There he took a hollow coconut with a small hole and inserted sweet rice. Then he tied it to a tree and waited nearby with his students.

Soon, a monkey came along, sniffed the rice, inserted his paw, and screeched in frustration when it was unable to withdraw his paw (now a fist clenching the rice) through the narrow opening.

"Let go of the rice, silly! Run!" screamed the students, amazed by its obvious stupidity... but to no avail.

"What was the trap that caught the monkey?" asked the master.
"Rice," said one student.

"The coconut," said another.

"No," replied the wise master, "The trap was greed - he only had to let go of his attachment to be free. Likewise, we are the ones who trap ourselves. We are always responsible. The real trap is always within, not out there. The causes of suffering are in us. External situations are only conditions."

<font color="ff0000">What is in your monkey fist that you still hold on to?'</font>

wiseharmony

Quiz Time: Hatz Quiz
Based on a war story

330882.jpg

Shown above are 4 men buried up to their necks in the ground. They cannot move so can only look forward. Between A and B is a brick wall which cannot be seen through. They know that between them are 4 hats, 2 black and 2 white, but they do not know which colour they are wearing. In order to avoid being shot one of them must call out to the executioner the colour of his hat. If they get it wrong, everyone will be shot. They are not allowed to talk to each other and have 10 minutes to fathom it out.

After 1 minute:
Q1 Which one of them calls out?
Q2 Why is he 100% certain of the colour of his hat?

This is not a trick question. There are no outside influences nor other ways of communicating. They cannot move and are buried in a straight line. So A &amp; B can only see their respective sides of the brick wall, C can see B and D can see B &amp; C.

Have fun.

binbin

hi treasures are u from BP too?

hey bp-ians!!! there is a chinese restaurant opened in bp plaza, called Bi Feng Tang, looks quite nice, the kind of crystal jade kinda eatery. going to try soon. last night tried delifrance bistro, ate their lamb shanks with mashed potato and roasted chicken with fettucine, quite tasty leh...hehhehe u girls can go try. and starbucks is opened halfway oredi. wang jiao is back. dun see body shop yet though.....

wise wise i know the answer to that leh! heehee....

sjen

Hi fellow BPians,

recently bought a unit in Lompang Rd blk 17+. My kitchen need to redo the wall tiles partially. Understand that the current tiles are supplied by HDB when they construct the flats abt 8 yrs ago. Problem is my contractor can't find the exact kitchen wall tile (white based with pinkish veins). Anyone has any idea what is the company that supplied the tiles for HDB? Better still for the units at blk 17+. Thanks!

sjen

Thanks slowwalker

I understand from HDB that the tiles are produced one-off for this project. They want to buy more from the supplier also no more.

slowwalker

My hse abt 3yrs old after i got it.
Lots of hair line cracks. And both HDB and my ID manage to find it and replace.

Can try to go that coy to find if u really want to save the tiles.

wiseharmony

Dear Friends,

THINKING of buying new toiletries such as towels for the coming Chinese New
Year???

Remember the circulated email about this old ah pek, selling towels @
Chinatown Complex (the big market at Pagoda street...where currently all
the
Chinese new year stalls are situated)....hence while shopping for Chinese
New Year goods, why not just drop by his stall...

* For those who have no idea....in short...this ah pek appeared in one of
the Channel U TV program, featuring him &amp; his 2 retarded
daughters...apparently, selling towels has been his livelihood &amp; has been
providing for his 2 grown up daughters...Besides household chores, he has
to
wash his daughter's clothes &amp; bedsheets as they are not agile enough to go
to the toilet...... he was offered the government financial grant where he
is entitled to claim $240 per month but was rejected by him...reason being
that he feels that he is still capable of supporting himself &amp; was
fortunate
to have his own small stall.... hence, he wanted the $$ to be channelled to
other people who might need this $$ more than
him.*
That program was about 2-3 years back. The last time i visited him, he was
wearing a very old T-shirt, greeting me with smile when i approached him to
buy towels. But on 18 Jan 2005 when i went to the stall, he was seen
sitting
on a wheelchair, looking sickly &amp; senile....his hand seems to be swollen &amp;
unable to move....(looks like stroke) an uncle who is helping him to mann
the stall commented that the ah pek is not in good health &amp; he is just
helping him...despite of his health, he still insisted to be at his stall
everyday. Though he is unable to serve the customers, he will still sit on
his wheelchair &amp; be by his stall...

I would like to take this opportunity to urge everyone of you...esp on this
joyous occasion where happiness &amp; joy is filled along the streets of
pagoda,
DO look out for this ah pek who is at this small, un-noticed corner at the
Chinatown Complex....i went there at ard 8pm &amp; he is still there....his
stall unit number is #01-186 ( if you forgot, just ask around the other
stall holders abt this ah pek with 2 retarded
daughters..) Help him out by buying his towels......Even though it is just
a
$1 hand-towel.....and trust me, you will not feel that it is a waste of
time, going all the way to his stall just to buy towels..... you never
know,
be it $1 or $10 (for 3 big towels).........a small charitible act would
definately help to boost this old pek's wish to maintain this stall &amp;
ability to support himself till the end of his time...

Please circulated this email around.....as i know alot of people would
surely make the trip down to Chinatown to enjoy the ambience of lunar new
year..............By drop by..... you never know YOU will just make a
difference to his small earnings for that day.............* May you be
blessed with luck &amp; good health in the coming lunar new year* ..........

Many Many Thanks to You