Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
hi ann,

yeah you are on the other side of the mrt track...near to the ktm railway...

oh...i got my tv from the philips carnival sales....so far fridge is toshiba (unless get a better one)....washing machine is from samsung 8000 series...

oh yeah do you know any good cheap vacuum (silent)...and also grill cum microwave...???

i looking for one that can set temperature one...

also...need to get dvd/vcd/mp3/cdr/cdrw player too...

maybe we can update who have moved in huh so that maybe when most of us had moved in we can have a joint bbq....

paul...

Hi Paul,

My washing machine is also Samsung 8000 series. Got a free small microwave oven too. Did u have it or is your free gift something else? Does it sing when you switch it on? Mine does. Didn't know till we did our 1st wash. Rather musical. Makes washing a whole new experience...haha.

Vacuum cleaner is also Samsung. Won it during my D&D this year. Small item but loud. Cannot help in that area.

As for the DVD item, mine is the Sony DAV 800 home theatre set. Good enuff for DVD/VCD/CD. As for mp3/cdr/cdrw stuff, it's done by our PC. When we bought theToshiba TV, we were given a Toshiba mini home theatre set free. My hubby fixed it in the MBR. Guys are technology inclined.

Microwave/Convection oven is National. The only inverter in the market now. It has served us well. Can toast bread some more

Ok who else has moved in. Own up pls

Hi SehLin,

i oso hv this chimney hood problem ,u can ask ur designer or contractor to send for cutting .My designer said stainless steel cutting must use special machine ,and she charged me $320. Hope this info is useful to u.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">sehlin,</FONT>
yup, like what <FONT COLOR="ff6000">passer-by</FONT> mentioned. we'll send the chimney for cutting. but not sure how much yet, they hvn't got back to us.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wandererevo,</FONT>
hey, send me ur contact oso leh.. then when i go there, maybe go ur hse "knock knock knock"

<FONT COLOR="119911">wah, only couple of days &amp; u all started on the electrical stuff liao.. our flat hvn't complete yet leh..

last evening went CCKC to check on the progress, nearly fainted..

the sink &amp; hob was fixed slanted, some of the kitchen cabinet door handles also slanted!! hiaz.. think <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Henry's</FONT> carpenter is very jia-lat.. btw, they using China men for carpentry!!

oso, the wardrobe, think they drill the hole for the "support screw" wrongly, then they juz use some white stuff (i dunno what is it lah) to patch the holes!! very jia-lat..

hopefully can arrange for meet-up with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Henry</FONT> one of this wkday at CCKC to take a look &amp; point out the faults lor..

</FONT>

Hi Angelia,

My kitchen door handles were also slanted...think the workmen cross eye after working the whole day. Tell them and they will re-align
Sink was not slanted but a lot of water marks although it's stainless steel.

THe white stuff is plaster. You shd see a plastic bag of white powder in your house. They mix the powder and water to get the plaster. Common...I have that in my cabinets too. ID company sent their main contractor back to my hse to get get rid of it after HDBay inspector spotted it and asked for the patches to be washed away. Can use thinner to actually wipe it away.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
u mean they drilled the (wrong) holes in on ur cabinets and then they filled it back with the plaster? then won't u see the white marks? it's not professional leh.. tot if u spoil it, shld change it mah..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wandererevo,</FONT>
u sent ur contact? thx, rec'd it liao.

Hi angelia,

My house reno was done by an id firm ,my cabinet handle not only slanted ,but they install vertical when i asked 4 horizontal. Sigh! Now my head 10 times bigger than u.

u r luck ,can get ur contractor to re-align n solve the problem ,but mine ......sigh.

I dont think ur carpenter drilled the wrong hole ,mine also have ,actualy they patch up the screw head lah (may be check with ur contractor).

BTW is ur solid surface top installed ,if not then the sink and hob r not consider installed slanted .The position only final when solid surface top is installed.

Hi Angelia,

For me, not many holes were filled with the plaster. Cannot be helped when they have built in the cabinets and then drill wrongly. I decided to overlook it because they smoothen white patches and can only notice if you really take a close look.

If yours is too many, then better change.

BTW, the boss of my ID company dropped by my place on Sat with potential clients. Wanted to show the clients some of their work. Instead, they were impressed with my furnishings though it's really simple. They liked the way we placed our furniture and the colour combination.

As a result, the boss is asking us to allow her to feature our house in Home Concepts magazine at the end of the year. Still thinking about it.

Can I join in ? Just got 2 know abt this forum yesterday.
I'll be getting my key soon. Glad to know that pple in my new neighbour are so friendly &amp; helpful.

HI Derick,

Welcome to CCKC. Source for your ID/Contractor already?

Which block will you be getting?

Glad to know more neighbors joining this thread. Do join us more often, ok?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">derick,</FONT>
welcome aboard.. so now u'll hv to source around for renovators, accessories &amp; such..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">passer-by,</FONT>
nope, the solid surface not up yet. but we were wondering, if the "cut" the hole on the kitchen cabinet slanted, how can it be straight when the solid surface is installed? anyway, will wait &amp; see lor.

for ur kitchen cabinet handles, u din insist they re-do?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
wow, that means we must really really find some time to go ur place &amp; see see leh.. ask ur ID if let them feature, will u get "rewards" or not lah.. hehehe...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
hey, i like ur kitchen glass door very very much leh.. only problem is the top got "lobang" lor..

wondering have anyone see any coffe table fully made of glass before....i mean even the legs and no framing...

also what to check out during hand over huh...????

tq....

paul...

Hi Ann,

May I know what is the model number for your National Microwave oven?

Is it easy to clean after using?

Can it be used to cook rice?

Hi Paul,

You might want to visit the recent Asia Pacific Furniture Fair, at EXPO from 28 Sept to 6 Oct.

Maybe you will be able to get something you want there.

Hi Angelia,
I hv signed up with impress21 this morning .I had read your posting ,so I'm very curious to find out the minor problem done by henry for your house.

I did mentioned to henry about there's one flat at CCKC. He explained that some of your carpentry works r not fully completed yet n there r some final touching up works going on. So is too soon to say that handles ,hood n hob r slanted. He said will be having an joint inspection before the house is hand over to you.

Also as regards to the kerb at kitchen entrance ,your hubby had understood during henry's proposal, that's why your hubby is fine with that n never bring this matter to henry.

henry also said that all alone he's dealing with your hubby ,so I think you should clarify with your hubby as regards to your house reno.

Honestly I find that henry is very sincere n caring .I had accepted his explaination n moreover my friend is a happy customer of impress21 .

Hope that the above will clear your doubts.

Hi Angelia,

Thanks for the compliment. Well as for the lobang, i think should be ok. I don't think we will be having heavy cooking so often. If by chance to have heavy cooking, hope the hood will do its "work".

hi alex...

i have been to the fair but most of the furnitures there are made of woods....

anyway got my sofa from there....

paul

Hi Paul,

Really ah?? Mostly wood... Hmmm that is good for me, actually I am also looking for wood coffee table or side tables. Might be going there to take a look.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">lee peng,</FONT>
thanks for your concern... we've clarify some of the stuff with henry (btw, hubby always talk to him over phone only, &amp; when we go to the new flat, hubby &amp; i always go together), &amp; also clarified some of the stuff with fellow CCKCians here &amp; that's why i did not bring up those matters (e.g kerb) again.

i get my hubby to clarify or liase with henry doesn't mean i did not ask my hubby what was henry's explanation after he checked wif henry. i chose to let hubby to check with henry cos i noe i'll scream at henry if i were to call &amp; ask him personally as there are a lot of things which doesn't seem so rite. in the end, hubby is the one who's getting the screaming from me.

as for the hob &amp; sink, it's juz logical thinking that if the original is already slanted (with the holes &amp; such), how are they to rectify after putting the solid surface? cut another pc of wood &amp; "patch" back?? or juz leave it as it is? if this is so, then izzit considered "cheating"??

for the door handles, they've installed it slanted, so how are they gonna rectify? patch it with "plaster"??? &amp; there are also others which i do not wish to mention.

some things which are "not a big problem" to u, might be a big concern to me. i'm more of a perfectionist, so i might hv my expectations higher.

&amp; if u happen to go to my flat &amp; <FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex's</FONT> flat to see, u'll see that <FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex's</FONT> flat is a lot cleaner than ours. and mind u, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">alex's</FONT> flat is also STILL UNDERGOING renovations!!! juz can't understand why ours is so messy &amp; dusty &amp; imagine they juz install those built in carpentry like that!! wonder how much dirt is trapped underneath those built-in stuff.

yes, they'll clean the house before handover, but how are they going to clean underneath those built in furnitures?? that's my biggest query!

hello lee peng...

yeah i agree with with angelia as my contractor do the chemical wash and water wash before the installation of carpentary....it will be more cleaner this way....

sometimes it maybe just talking to the ID firm person is not enough as they can say yes yes yes to you but they will forget to convey the message to the working people....

it happened to me too as i need to take precautions to tell both ID firm person and his carpentar so that they will have the same info...

hi alex...

yeah there is a lot of wooden stuff there...one setup particularly is having the zen concept...

oh yeah entrance fee is SGD2 per head...so if you need to gain free entrance you can look for me...i have the ticket...we can share it...(if you don't want to have lucky draw that's all)...

cheers...

paul...

Hi Lay Peng,

I could not really compare reno for both reno at this moment because I have not went up to Angelia unit before. (Aiya each time wanted to go there timing not right lor…)

I think I remember my ID has mentioned before that they will do an initial cleaning for the carpentry material first before installing them.

As for my case, both of us (me and girl girl) very KS one lorr…. So in the first place we requested to confirm the detail drawing and material before they start the carpentry work.

Frankly speaking I feel so paiseh… almost everyday even during weekend speak to my id over the phone to confirm details… luckily he is quite patient lor or else…

Hi Angelia,

I have referred your case to my ID and my friend’s ID. Both said that if carpentry error due to their fault and is not acceptable, can requested them to change immediately. However it must be a clear cut case such as hob and sink that is slant, handle slant if rectify will need patch back that will be very obian etc etc. This are some eg which is very obvious case which can ask them to re-do. What they suggest is to ask them go there verify early. Request them to go down with you and show them lor… This are some feedback I got from them.

For the dirt, just one question, did they cut the material at your unit or is it pre-cut at factory than install at your unit. Cutting material at your unit will definitely more dusty, Just my thinking only.

Hi Paul-san,

Really ah… you got lobang to go in free? Need your help to pass this lobang to me leh…
I don’t really mind about lucky draw because recently running out of luck. So chance of kana will be very slim lor… Just image park before Traffic light during red light also kana kiss like that….

Thanks in advance for your lobang…

Wonder why now a days EXPO exhibition got charges…
9494.gif

Hi Interested,

Microwave is National. Modeal is NN-C781JF.

Can cook rice.

Hi Angelia,

Only a complimentary copy of the magazine

Welcome Derrick!

Thank you for your warm welcome.
Need some expert advice.
Did you pple bought your kitchen accessories first, like sink. stove or look for a contractor first ?

Hi Derrick,

I think it is better to chk around the market roughly what type of design of kitchen accessories you are interested first.

Buying the accessories first would restric your ID creativity. Maybe your ID/contractor would have better proposal of what kind of accessories.

For my case I check around the market for the design and than pass the model number to my ID for discussion. In the end he helped me to buy it at contractor prices which is cheaper by 20% to 40% depending on products.

Hope his helps.

Hi CCKCers,

nid ur advice here:

1)Anyone bot a Fujioh Hod and Hood (stainless stain series)? Where u got it from? Went to Hoe Kee at IMM. Find their price on the high side le.

2)Anyone having a 43" TV? Toshiba Hypro100 good?

3)Any recommendations of where to buy sinks and taps? Understand that there's a whole stretch of shops along Jalan Bersah? but not sure which one are good bargains.

some updates from my side: FH decided to get the LG Inverter Gold. he wanted the 5 years' warranty. Now, it seems like all brands of aircon goin on a price war...Daikin, Toshiba, Mitsubishi giving shopping vouchers. LG giving 21" flat TV! intends to give it up (MBR not enou space to put TV liao la), able to deduct $300 from the cost thou.

me counting down to our ROM next tues. Getting Jing2 Zhang1 liao.

Any special "encounters" that u ppl had on ur ROM day ?? care to share share??

hi alex...

actually i went there to look for my contractor but in the end his is not arrived yet so i bought the ticket lor....i still keep it and if you want to i can pass to you...but most prob i'll be going again on the last day to see is there anymore thing to buy in case have better last day price cut...

hi ann...

did your national grill microwave can set the temperature...the one that we see so far have only 10 presets temperature...

hi derrick...

maybe you can ask your contractor to give you a time schedule for the renovation works...in there you can ask him to highlight when to buy what like taps/mixers...sink...hob...hood...washing machine...fridge...lights...aircon...so that you can pre-plan your scouting trip to jalan besar...geylang...balestier and etcs...from there you see the model and try to bargain...then get the model no and ask your contractor whether he can get cheaper price or not...

i hope this helps...

cheers...
paul...

hi piggy...

try universalunion along geylang rd...

here is the address...

Universal Union Enterprise Pte Ltd
Contact person: Steven Tan
Tel: 67490007 / 67433852
Fax: 67468849
Address: 710 Geylang Road (beside Lor 44)
Singapore 389625

email: [email protected]

look for a guy call steven....

i got my taps from there...reasonable price and good design....i also know that i have fujioh hob and hood too...he can give you good tips...

tell him you are recommended by paul...

as for fujioh hood and hob...i didn't get it but this model have the most powerful suction around 1000+...

anyway...to be frank...due to the hood design (like a huge shark mouth) i didn't get it...

paul

Hi Paul,

ya, u meant the Fujioh Oiltech rite?.....v unusual design indeed.....kekeke....i dun like that oso...saw one v slick one by Fujioh in Hoe Kee...the sales said that Fujioh got this design from Europe, paid a big sum for it, therefore it's selling price oso higher than other models..Hoe Kee selling $800 le...but it's warranty period oni 1 year, compared to the 3 years that other models Fujioh having. Have to pay for the design lor..

May i know Is everyone here using hood w chimney?? Anyone having those flat ones??..How is it huh???...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">piggy,</FONT>
maybe u wanna check out Indesit, Delizia or Ariston? only found in Mayer showroom.

hi piggy...

just my opinion...if you are a heavy cooker get a high suction power hood (at least 600 &amp; above - my standard) if not you will not suck anything...

so from what i know is that most slim type of hoods (w/o chimney) are having the suction power around 450 to 500...unless you tell me you don't mind lar...

i'm using TEKA DS90...so far installed already but have not been using as my home renovation is not fully completed yet...

there is a lot of other brands around...you can go to jalan besar to look around...a lot of them...anyway in the same time you can look out for the hob and sink too....

also...keep in mind that hob and hood doesn't need to be the same brand...you can mix fujioh with teka for instance...though it will be slight expensive as the shop couldn't sell them in bundle...

fyi...most of the shop bring in the hob and hood in bundle form (cheaper if they get it in this form from the agent compare to geting single pieces)...so it you get separately they will not deduct much as they need to carry the remaining piece like hob of you only get the hood...

paul...

Help! Help! My Chimney Hood dealer aask me to bring my contractor to take measurement 4 my hood 2 c whether can fixed or not.
Very sad ,my contractor said he don't provide such service leh ,champ liow .I had paid up my hood liow.

hi sehlin...

since you are doing the box up on for the sewerage pipe at the kitchen you can ask you contractor to hold work then you can take the measurement from the hood...then you can ask you contractor to make the boxup base bigger than your chimney hood...

also normal the length of the hood is adjustable...

also...i think you can 'screw' your contractor as he seemed to be not committed at all...

yeah maybe he will not go down to measure but at least he can give you some concrete suggestion right...???

oh better...if your dealer can give you the hood dimension which normal they should have it in the installation guide or some product notes then you can past it to your contractor and tell him this is the hood you can and he have to fix it in to your kitchen accordingly...!!!

sometimes this kind of contractor need some 'screwing' before they will buck up...!!!

paul

which chimney hood u bought?

btw, which blk u staying? what the flat layout like? if it's the same as ours, got beam at kitchen, then prob gotta cut.. but muz see which hood u bought lah.. we bought delizia modello F34 from novena..

doesn't fit, but contractor help us find shop to "cut" to fit lor.

u tell ur contractor, okie, if u dun go &amp; see, later the hood come, u die die oso must install it NICELY, if not, i dun pay u money!!

for us, contractor is very nice, even went with us to take measurement (after we can't get clear dimensions over the phone from the sales people). we went down ourselves again to take measurement, but then decided it's best to get contractor to go &amp; see for himself.. he even took a pix of the hood, hahaha....

cannot return, can change??

if u not in a hurry, maybe can come view our flat after the hood is up.. but then hor, i oso dunno when will be up.. prob by next wk shld be up lah.

yep, thks, angelia &amp; Paul..will be looking ard la, but think we are quite concrete w the Fujioh Hod(we love it)....juz thinking twice abt the hood lor....

my ID will be on leave for a few weeks, so we got a while to go c c look look...hope that we can complete the reno by this year!

How's ur first week at ur new place, Paul?...

errm, Sehlin...maybe u can take down the measurements and inform ur contractor? But come to think of it, u r the customer le. Why he being so difficult? He is supposed to stick by u during the whole reno period ma...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">piggy,</FONT>
i suggested Mayer cos we ever saw fujioh hood that's similar, &amp; mayer is selling it cheaper.

no harm juz go &amp; take a look.. not all things are expensive......

hi Piggy,

You got any email address?

I can email you some catalogue that my ID firm put for me under a package for my home.

hi Alex, angelia(angph38), Kirin, Piggy, Paul

Some update from me.

Got my key in the middle of the week and also selected my ID. Will be signing on the contract by this weekend.

manage to get what we want under $20k
package includes

cremaic flooring for living/dinning
homogenous tiles for kitchen
2 shower kerb
solid surface top kitchen bottom cabinet with hood, hob, sink and mixer
roller blinds
paint work
door for the kitchen entrance

well hopefully our choice of ID is correct...

Hi Netsnob,

Really a good bargain. Can shall with me which ID. Actually one of my friend also looking for one around your budget. I have recommended him my ID El-fa but doesn't work out for both of them leh...

Maybe i could recommend your to him lor.

Hi Netsnob,

Woah...u superfast leh. Me got my key 3 mths ago but till now haven't even confirm the design yet though we hv decided on the ID liao.
Hopefully, I can start my reno soon cos I'm trying to understand wat the rest of our neighbours are communicating....lots of details...very 'chim'...will try to learn from their concerns &amp; frustrations...kekeke

Hi Piggy,

Congratulations in advance to your ROM.
In my case, I dun feel anything until the very day of my ROM. I was so nervous until hot flushes appear on my body....very obvious leh. Luckily, it's not very obvious in photos...else it would be ugly. My advise to stay calm and hv a good nite sleep b4 ur ROM day....thu it's always easier to say than done.

hi Alex,
hope i am not too late in replying. Really very busy these days. Just shifted in over the weekend &amp; have been staying at the new house for the past few nites. Really feel very satisfied &amp; happy with the place, esp with all the efforts from the past months. Only concern is that it's too quiet at CCK. Just read in the papers today there a lift robbery at Blk 666 2 nites ago. Think it's just opp our blks leh!! Quite scary. So to all our neighbours, pls make sure your wives &amp; girlfrens are not alone when coming home at nite. Still not very safe i think, esp with all the workers ard.

Alex, i din choose the date to move in. Just choose a sat &amp; decide that's the day. My dad said any day in the chinese 8th month is always good. Haha...so we just take the most convenient one. Plus, having my customary ceremony this weekend, so must shift in by last week. These few weeks are the most chaotic period of my life, i think.

Ok, will try to come back more frequently after my customary ceremony. See u all!!!

just a question,

If we get a plumber to install instant water heater, do we need to pay for the license?

One thing is that I always get conflicting info on the same subject matter

someone told me I do not need to

another told me the ID will take charge of it

Hi Netsnob,

New rules from don't know when that Install instant water heater no need to apply any permit. My old flat and the new flat have install instant heater and they told us no need to apply anymore permit for installation.

Hi netsnob ,

If yours is new flat n hdb had already provided the heater point in the toilet (it is already tested by hdb) ,u dont need to apply n pay any license. Dont con by your id.

Hi SehLin,

If your contractor dont provide such service for helping u on cooker hood ,I presume they only eye big big when u mention $$$...to offer such service .Try n c.

Hi Angelia,

You mean your contractor take picture on the cooker hood at the shop ? wow..he's very careful .That's good.
Btw which model u bought so that i can inform my friend to avoid that.

Hi Alex,

Thank 4 welcome me to this interesting thread.

Hi netsnob,

wat's the catalogue abt??....

Thks, Kirin! ya, i oso hope i can sleep that nite! me oso scared flush red red le...later all photos come out, looks like lobster!...kekekeke...

hi Alex, Concern

Thanks for clarifying.

Someone told me that I need to pay for the permit and he caution me to check with ID

Just want to be sure of any forseeable hidden cost