Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date

hi meggie,

Oh is that right?? Where's the block? 686B?? Mine is 686C. Next time you can come visit me...

Hi all, Piggy here..

really envy most of u here le...either already living in your new place or started reno liao...my FH and I NOT YET!!!!!!..getting hysterical liao...juz went to check on HDB contractors' remedies on the defects...they missed out on my bathroom's wall tiles!!!...some having hairline cracks...FH v the angry...emailed the HBD personnel on Mon, oni got back yesterday...lucky her..or else FH will b complaining to her boss liao...

Our ROM date is in this coming Oct..oni juz got my dress...hv to get ready the others...

Sweetiee, not sure if u can rem...u recommend some dinner venues for me...fyi, we booked our wedding dinner with Nobel House liao...it will be next Oct lor...a bit kiasu la...but at least sth behind our back now...kekeke..

ok, CCKC ppl...Enjoy ur weekend ar!!!...

hi Piggy,

I see... good for you... at least one thing off your mind...

Dun get gan cheong over the reno thingy... Take your time... dun rush into making any decisions.

Hey all,

Another reminder:

Ask your ID Person/Contractor to do a genenral cleaning of the place before they handover. As I found out, they are supposed to. The other thing is getting the HDB to inspect your place before handover. As told to me, it is necessary. This will help in future when you are selling the place.

Keep smiling. Think CCKC will be more populated now that so many of us are doing the reno.

Colours are important too if you find your kitchens too small. Try to coordinate brighter colours. Makes it look spacious.

Updates again...

Painting work done. Just take note that the color you see from catelog might be different from the actual effect after painting. It will be "slightly" darker after painting although it is the same color code you have chosen.

After having the advices from this thread I’ve ask my ID to try out contrast color for my doors. My ID advice it will be better to choice slightly contrast and not too far away from the wall. It turns out to be quite nice. First try out turn out ok... heng ah... one shot one kill…

Thank you very much for all your advices out there.

Hey all,

Have a geat weekend!

Just went to the hse to check out the air-cons...

In good working condition esp the one for the living room

One more week to go and I have the house. Yeah!

hi...

how come so quiet here..???

just wanna ask is there anyone know any cheap and good curtain maker...???

anything below $1200 will be nice...

thanks...
paul

Hi Paul,

Ya lor… very quiet here leh… hmmm….

If you intend to have Roller blinds than it will cost slightly more. For mine - 3 rooms with roller blinds and living with single curtains (without day curtains) will cost $1550++. The curtain is better fabric which can be use as day or night curtain.

If all rooms/living make curtain with better fabric, it is about $1200 +/- slightly. I have engaged Gracious Image Marketing Tel 65322710. They are always at Expo Exhibition. Maybe you might want to try them for quotation.

No comments on quality yet because only take measurement, and will have to wait till the rest of reno finished first before they come in for work.

How is the progress of your reno? hope it is going well for you folks...

Mine - flooring, painting, grills, lighting, toilet accessories fitting completed. Quite satisfy except that my ID made a big mistake by installing brown grills instead of silver grills. Will be changing it within this few days.

Still got a few stages to go… Floor polishing, laminate flooring, aircon unit installation (although pipe installed), carpentry fitting, general cleaning. Really looking forward to shift in by early Oct

My reno is completed. Took leave today and did a thorough cleaning. Boy, am I aching all over now
Fruitful day cos mopped, cleaned, brushed, etc...

The house is spick and span now. Just waiting for all the deliveries to be made & then will be doing another cleaning job again

Trust me, it's a real tiring:P Pengsan already :P

Anyway, have a great weekend all!

Hi Ann,

Wow… so hard working…
just a quick check, anybody helping you?

For me, now really scary now because from the start of sourcing for a unit and reno ID till now almost 80% of the work/coordination is done by myself leh… family and my girl girl are only good in suggestions and QC check. heee…. Hope they don’t see… this otherwise …

Hi Alex,

My hubby and I did the cleaning ourselves. Started on Thu as the reno was completed. Though the ID Company did a throrough cleaning, it was rather dusty. We have been sweeping, mopping, cleaning, washing.

Deliveries started pouring in at 10am on Friday. It was back to cleaning and cleaning again

Had some friends who came over on Sat. Passed the dusty & sticky floor test :P

Better get help when it comes to cleaning. Quite siong for a person to do it.

Still have 2 more deliveries to wait for. Sofa and cosy corner stuff.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
so u went to see our flat ah? aiya, u can lift up the protection sheet mah.. then can see a bit. i worried too white leh.. hiaz..

our contractor told us kitchen cabinet is up (but hold the sink &amp; hob opening), 1st coat painting done (2nd, 3rd &amp; 4th gotta wait after aircon trunking &amp; capentry up), others on hold.

u install window grilles? hmmm, then must go take a look when it's complete. cos we worried it looks awful (diff to match hdb provided grilles) so not installing at the moment.

paint ur bdrm drs as well! seems like really must pop down to take a look one of these days leh.. then see if can do the same to ours. what color u painted ur walls? most likely will leave the iron door as it is.

did u change ur toilets door? me still hvn't decide.. hiaz.. very fickle-minded!!

oh, can email me ur air-con trunking layout map? thx in advance.

tot of ur qn. (the kitchen top to put rice cooker etc...), that's why i thinking of doing a sliding table top. but hubby like not so interested, &amp; contractor says it's expensive so gave up the idea.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ann,</FONT>
envy, envy, envy.... can we drop by 1 of these wkends?!

<FONT COLOR="119911">did anyone change their toilet basin(s)? hubby thinking of changing to those glass type.. $360-$400 leh.</FONT>

Hi Angelia,

Long time never hear from you. Welcome back. Hope your Japan trip ok...

Wow you got so many layer of paiting coat. I only got 2 layer with one color. Door different color. Can't really remember the color name, I think it is lily white (3 in 1 ICI). Doors already painted "Rod Iron" color (Silver). FOC

Don't dare to lift it up becuase without your permission leh. Went there to see already veru peisei liao...

Window grills already up. At first it was brown becuase ID made a mistake. Later they change for us to Silver. Brown looks more matching to window color but make the house very dark. We think silver looks nicer... but up to individual preferance.

Well not changing any Toilet doors and bedroom doors becuase after painting quite like it.

Ok I'll e-mail to you the trucking layout. Maybe your contractor have better idea... but is too late for me because already installed trunking (plaster it and painted)

Hi Ann,

I think i must hint them that cleaning up the house very siong... or esle I'll lay flat there after cleaning...

thx in advance. maybe if i go down tonite, shall pop by ur unit.

i think we oso chose lily white for our walls. i forgot how many coatings, but def. can more than 2 lah.. i asked contractor, he said paint until i satisfied. oso, were given 4 colors. so we took 1 color each for the rooms.

ur painting includes walls &amp; doors rite? maybe i shld ask to paint the metal door.. kekeke...

aiya, oready ask u to "zi ji lai" oready mah... no need pai-seh.. when i go ur place, i oso "zi ji lai" ok.

Hi Angelia,

Already sent trunking plan to both e-mail address (your personal and office one)

No Problem, pls comment after you have take a look. Still got time for rectification. heee....
but remember to close the door and off the lights if you happened to be able to reach it. heee...

By the way main gate painted "Rod iron" color is FOC, chk with your contractor can it be done.

Lucky for my painter. Have passed Joey's QC check. So 2 layers is enough. Chose one color becuase don't know what color to chose. By the way we are poor in color combination, afraid that the house look like kindergarden if choose the wrong color. Therefore only use 1 color for wall, 1 color for bedroom doors. gate different color.

got ur mail.. thx.

din managed to go to CCKC cos hubby said he tired &amp; we still hv some unpacking to do!! then 2nite i've got facial appt, dunno if can make a trip down.

oh, for us, our walls &amp; doors painting are separate items. but total ard $1300+/- lah. prob will check again

were u at ur flat last nite? around 9.30pm? kuek &amp; i went up to c, &amp; when we open the main door, there seems to be light coming out from dining/kitchen area leh..

<FONT COLOR="119911">hi all,
anyone did tempered glass shower screen for the m.bdrm toilet? went to look at flat last nite, &amp; might need to change the bi-fold (toilet) door cos it's pretty "chor teng" as it opens to the side of the glass shower screen...</FONT>

Hey Alex and Angelia,

Looks like your houses are almost done too

After buying your major furniture, be prepared to buy the necessities too. Didn't know so much else to include until over the weekend. Minor stuff but costs a bit when you keep picking them up. Been carrying plastic bags after plastic bags up to the house
Like a ganang guni woman liao :P

Check the painting of the doors. Heard another owner who told me personally that his painters left brush hair stuck with the paint when his doors were painted.

Hi Angelia,

Wow lao ah... Don't scare me leh... Maybe the contractor did not swtich off the light when they leave the house yesterday afternoon... must scold them liao...

There are 2 units after you come out from the lift. One that is painted “Rod Iron” Silver (that is my unit) and the other is painted light color. Hope you went to the right one.

Yap I am using Tempered Glass Shower Screen for both toilets. But sliding one in order to save space. You might want to try CT Interior &amp; Supply at Blk at 62567087 or 62567901. One SS (TG) is at only $380 each. One of the cheapest I found in town. My new neighbor opposite has been using it for 1 year ++. It can comes with various sticker with foster glass effect, if you want it.

They also selling Doors and sliding doors. Better quality at $180 each and $80++ also have.

No intention to changing folding doors because the SS maker promised to provide us stopper (FOC) in order not to hit the SS.

Hi Ann,

One of this days can we go to your unit and look see look see.

now cannot change liao lah... already installed.

ya lah, initially i oso dunno which door to open, but remembered ur "wroght iron-silver" door, so open that one lor... kekeke...

then we were passing comments on ur living room lighting (is that lighting or ??) &amp; tot "seow liao, maybe u at kitchen then heard our critics!!"

Hi Angelia,

We were not there yesterday. Oooiii... don't "sen sen mi mi" leh... Share with me your comments hor...

Are you referring to the living rooms lights (with many sticks like a fan)? Oh that is living light with dimmer.

hehe.. not so good comments mah, that's why "sen sen mi mi" lor.. okie lah.. here goes.. we find the lights very "unique" but kekeke.. dun really noe how to appreciate it lah.

Oh ok,

More ideas to share then between u 2

Great!

So how was ur Japan tip? Enjoyed?

Was there in 92 and 94. Long long time ago...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
hmm.. japan trip quite fun, but walked a lot lor.. kyoto, nara, kobe.. and not forgetting osaka itself.

din buy many things cos very ex. and hubby say i go all the way there then din buy anything very wasted!!

things we bought we 10R acrylic foto frame, wall clock for new hse, small small table clock for new hse, 24 pockets clear photo hanger. think that's all!!

<FONT COLOR="119911">updates..</FONT>

last nite went IMM &amp; decided to get from AllBest liao.. all along he wanted Mitsubitshi (non invertor), then last nite changed to Daikin after hearing the salesperson say Mitsubishi (non invertor) model phasing out, new one coming out supposedly next mth, he switched to Daikin.. then, after talking somemore, &amp; the salesperson recommended Sharp (with ioniser), then he changed his mind again &amp; finally decided on Sharp lor..

trunking will be next Sat...

Hi Paul-san, Kas-san, Damnjian-san and the rest,

How is your reno going? Must be busy nowadays?

Nowadays seems very quite here…
8892.gif

Hi Sweetiee,

When is your due date… Must be very happy now… take good care of yourself

Hi Ann,

Already commission your new house? Hmmm maybe you might want to start a mini house warming liao…

Hey Angelia (Ng),

Are you going to your unit tomorrow? I’ll be there with Joey tomorrow morning 10.3am+ to discuss some details with my ID. Perhaps we could see our “Zhen Ren” there…

Do Enjoy your weekend… bye bye…

shld be going to CCKC to discuss stuff with contractor.. but dunno what time yet..

wah, ur appt so early, i prob still in bed.. will SMS u when tmr when i abt to reach there.

hi Alex,
yes, have been very busy recently cos just changed job. My house will be ready on 25th Sept &amp; will be moving in on the 28th. The coordination these days are mainly done by my hubby cos really too busy with my new job these days. I think now it's the carpentry stage. Just did my window grilles too but my hubby is not happy with it cos it doesnt look strong enough. Had an arguement with the ID over this. Think he want to redo this part. I will leave it to him instead. Now, i just sit back &amp; relax while he coordinates.
Lucky me...

hi all....

yup busy too here....just finished installing the lights today....so next week chemical wash follow by washing then carpentary and paint touch up and washing....intends to move in on 28 sept too like kas....the auspicious time would be from 11 am to 2 pm....

can't wait for it....

paul

Piggy (684A) here. Updates from my side, HDB has redo the defects liao (finally). Hv already signed with one contractor oso and seen their first draft of perspective drawings too. Me not that impressed le. Got comments here and there, until my FH cant stand it!

wana do this, do that, but budget constraint le. *sigh*

Our ROM date getting nearer liao. 3 weeks more!!!...Countdown......

Paul &amp; Kas,

Congrats! 28 Sept v good date huh?? Juz look thru the "tongshu" to get date and timing, rite?

Anyone has recommendations of where can i get cheap, energy saving lights huh (for my living rm L-box)? Thks!

hi piggy....

actually you can try to get it during the philips carnival sales last week but it is over now...

maybe you can look around for any warehouse sales places in the classified...along jalan balestier should have a few....

remember...the most important before you finalise with you contractor is to see whether is there any hidden cost or not....something might look nice on the surface but once you give the go ahead sign and during works there might have a chance that they told you that you need to add $$$ to have something...so try to look into details too...

something also very important is the measurement of the cabinets like kitchen and wardrobe so that it will suits you height and comfort...they might tell you it is standard but if you are a very tall/short person then it might not be good to you right....

material used too also needed to take care off...

take a look into more deco mag so that you have an idea of what you want....

paul

p.s. the date is chosen by my mother as i don't know anything about it...thank god it is saturday if not need to take leave again....

Hi Paul,

Ya, i heard of the sales too, but oni have more concrete plan now le. but nvm, wait for next one lor...

Have already signed liao le. Ours is a basic package thingie, plus a few additional carpentry (managed to bargain on these items lor), cant really c their itemised pricing, but did compare with the others' quotations with similar items and seen their varieties for the materials offered in the package. Find them quite alrite lor. But in terms of design, they do lack a bit of creativity (more of practical side), compared to the others on the high end. Was impressed by one lady in Kinghall during exhibition, but their quotation even "IMPRESS" me further, as if i m "cai tau"...kekeke...

Ya, v true for the height thing. My FH and I r tall (1.87m n 1.7m respectively). So, when u c one big sized couple in the neighbourhood next time, could be us..
..kekeke...we did ask the contractor to take note liao.

That date v good, even for marriage. keke...good choice!

Expo having "Asia-Pacific Furniture Fair" on 28Sep - 6 Oct (Hall 5, 6), "The Wedding" 4-6Oct (Hall 3). Juz to share info la.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
thx for the info..

<FONT COLOR="119911">will be doing aircon trunking this Sat. also arranged for delivery of lights &amp; hood &amp; hob to be this Sat.. do all one shot!!

parquet flooring is up, but not polished. altar shld be in by this wk. m.bdroom daybed cum cabinet not up.

last wkend saw a 7-pc furniture set at picket &amp; rail.. tempted to buy cos we liked the bed &amp; the price is so cool... $1499 for Q size bedframe, mattress (of cos not so gd type lah), glass partition screen, side table, dressing table, wall mirror, full length mirror...
</FONT>

hi angelia...

just my 2 cents advise....during the installation of the aircon trunking please make sure the installation people do the water pipe leveling properly...most of the case with aircon is not the fault with the compressor or blower but due to bad levelling that caused water from aircon discharge not properly flow....these caused back flow or leaking....

paul

hi angelia...

you need to be on the spot to see it...the water pipe should be slanted in the trunking...ask them abt it if you are not sure so that they will not tale things for granted....

also remember to check the trunking too as contractors tend to save up on materials....like sometimes there is a small portion in the final installation but the left over cut out is not longer in sizes...so they will use the left cut trunks to patch the left over portion and not using a new piece...in this the trunking will look like being patched....

also make sure all the groove (between trunking and wall is sealed with silicon (power type not oil) and also any hole on the wall should be properly patch....

remember to cover the blower after test and keep all the remote control....

all above is based on my experience....

paul

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">paul,</FONT>
thx for all ur tips... hubby will be there with our contractor this Sat.. me working, so can only go after work!!

Hi Kas and Pual,

Need your advice how you managed to see 28 Sept is an auspicious day for shifting. I always see those Chinese calendar on which day is good for something and not referring Tong Shu. Accordingly to that calendar that I did see it mentioned about auspicious day for shifting. Did you see the “Tong Shu”?
8949.gif

Initially looking at the “calendar” I chose 6 Oct or 19 Oct (both especially weekend) for shifting house because “Kai Ru” and also there stated good for shifting and grand opening…

Hmmm… I need to learn more on this from you folks… Need your advice leh… Most likely I might be getting the wrong information.

hi alex...

sorry...i also very sua ku on this things....i just called my mum and as her to find a good date for me to shift into new house by 01/10/2002....

so she come back to me on the date lor....

maybe you can ask your parents lor...or even some older generation people that you know of...

on the things to do before shift in maybe i need to find out too...

paul

Hi Paul thanks,

I think I wrote the wrong infor. It is actually I did not see in the calender it mentioned about good dates/time on 28 Sept is good for house shifting. So sorry wrote the wrong infor...

I myself also not so good in this too... i only know how to see from the chinese calender. I think it is the easier version from tong shu lor...

Thanks for your inform again.

hey, when'r ur ROM huh? izzit yesterday?! i kind of forgot liao, but remembered it these few days leh...

Hi Angelia,

Hmmm... when the day gets nearer trying to keep in low profile but you still can remember...

Very good memory leh...

Is tomorrow morning. It going to be very simple one lor...