Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

interrace

So qiao, he say he lost touch with u liaoz...
are u guys gg to catch up on stuff ?
since u also staying in bukit panjang, am sure u guys are closer to each other now..

my reno started without hdb permit leh .. ??

wiseharmony

Hi hippos,
u doing major reno?

We olso start abit liao. Will go on full stream tis mth... u know who (hint "K...Y") delay lah.

our bedroom floors, ceiling & painting r done. only left wif carpentry for kitchen & bedrooms.

then next will be furni & elec stuff. Yr air-con install? need lobang?

Hi Interrace,
how is yr reno gg on? how much is yr estimated total cost?

Morning everyone! LTNS

Hi Interrace

Saw your wedding pix. Nice! Btw, where are you learning pilates? Am looking out for places.

interrace

Hi wise,

est abt 11k without furnishings and other stuff..
aircon also not included.
not major renovation...minimal...

u got lobang for aircon?
which brand u gg for ?
ytd i went over to see, they finished painting the whole hse and pipes only.
think next wk will do electrical works and stuff?

Hi Matka,
RLTNS leh , u come and go like wind..very busy ar u?
Me havent signed up for pilates yet, thinking of moving in first then see if the zhenghua cc got any offer, since CC will be much much cheaper ??
wanna join together ? maybe in another two mths time... ?

hoppinghippos

interrace: yup, will love to check up with him when we all move in to stay at BP!

wise: I didn't dare to start reno till KY fin all his works, scared about indemnity. anyway I"m DIY-ing so need time to plan. aircon I got trunking installed liao, no need lobang thanks! but maybe later electrical stuff we order tog? so rem to jio me when you're ready to order!

wiseharmony

Hi Interrace,
will PM u the air-con name & tel. it wif hubby.

Hi hippos,
we olso DIY-ed. tat y the process is slow olso. coz we need to take leave to monitor the progress. last week, mi was there to monitor the progress of the pergo floor. BTW, we ordered our elec stuff liao. but can PM u where we got fm. May b can press for price.

BTW, when is yr target move in date?

june2006

We got our keys on Wednesday and there's water and electricity in the house now... Feels good. =) Now wait for hubby to give green light to get contractor. Mm... probably very little reno to be done. Major ones will be kitchen and built-in wardrode for the bedroom... which is SO TINY!!! Hehe...

Senja Grand is near WestSpring Sec... a little cluster of 6 blocks.

pekochan

hi, any of you noe how to get rid of those small insect in the house? i often see those that looked like tiny spider but the color is white and they like to make cobwebs.

wiseharmony

Hi hippos,
U got mail!
Our target date is mid Oct. (Hopefully too)
Last week the lightings were up... suddendly the house b'come so bright!! ke keeee.

Hi pekochan,
Oh dear. A lot of 'em? wonder where are they from?

interrace

Hi wise,
what kinda lights did u buy ?
i bought some hamburger lights, seems like not very bright leh ...
maybe not used to it ?

Pekochan,
think can find their nest and destroy it ...
long legs with tiny bodies ?

tengteng

Hi people!!

I want to construct a window for the servie balcony... but my ID charges me 450 bucks for that. anyone has a cheaper alternative?
dun want to get mr K---y to do it.. he will take ages.

june2006

Cobwebs good lah... now mosquitoes are dangerous mah. Speaking of which the J&J insect repellant is good. Can try lah...

With the pest problem, choose a day when you're going out for the entire day... before you leave, spray the house with insecticide, every corner of the rooms and along the edge of the windows. Then shut the windows and leave it until you come home. Should help.

wiseharmony

Hi pekochan,
OIC....

Hi Interrace,
total i think we hv abt 28 lightings point!!! spend abt $900 for the lights. bght hamburger light for store room only.
we mged to bght some lights during some clearance sale, else will b more ex.

Hi bell bell,
izzit a better material tat he'll be using?? i think mi quote was $320 for balcony for 3panel. let mi check. may b can "press" yr ID for price, since u let him do so many things?

pekochan

hi june, if i do so i think not only the insects will die, my pets will perish with them too..hee..hee..

hi interrace, can't locate the nest leh, maybe my hse too dirty liao! think i need to be hardworking to do hsewk often :p ya small body then long legs, how u noe?

interrace

Hi wise,

the hamburger light really not very bright for my kitchen and my toilets leh ...haiz....regret regret...bought wrong lights liaoz..

Hi pekochan,

cos i saw some in my mom's home too...majority ard cupboard or corners..they can really generate tons of webs...wonder if got something to do with the cupboard wood...after i threw away the old cupboard, dun see any more of these crawlies liaoz...

june2006

Peko, you keep doggies? I would love to have pets too but it's a lot of hardwork. Besides I don't like the idea of a lonely dog since I'll be away the whole day!

I saw a couple of the spiders... orange in colour? Very tiny wan right? I saw the web in my storeroom but I left it there for now..

Was wondering if the nest could be in the L-box? Mm... for my Senja flat, there's also a box-like structure on the kitchen ceiling (to hide the pipes). Wonder if these are the places where they can hide.

june2006

Oh! Good news to share with you all... I've bought my honeymoon tix!!! Direct flight to Tokyo on NW in December... less than $1300 for 2 tix. Wonder how much the fuel surcharge will be eventually... :p

alden

Halo all,

Does anyone heard of UnimaxCreative?? Now thinking bout signing up with them leh.. but dunno how good are they?? anyone can help???

pekochan

hi june, yes i hv a doggy and a guinea pig. hvg a pet is a lifetime committment, if u want to keep a pet better discuss it with ur family first.

orange colour? mine is lighter colour... like greyish.

u gog japan f&e? i've been there sometime back and i enjoyed myself. i sure u gonna hv fun there!
313339.gif

pekochan

hi june, yes i hv a doggy and a guinea pig. hvg a pet is a lifetime committment, if u want to keep a pet better discuss it with ur family first.

orange colour? mine is lighter colour... like greyish.

u gog japan f&e? i've been there sometime back and i enjoyed myself. i sure u gonna hv fun there!

shelyn

Ahlo everyone,
mi long long time din post here liao... was missing for quite sometime... so i guess i'm still considered 'new' here =P

my house now finally more or less done... now looking for contractor to do some minor reno like adding shelves, etc... got any recommendation?? my reno is really very little kind.. i only need a wardrobe in bedroom and 2 layers of shelf in living room.... so dunno got contractor wan to do such simple work or not....

i'm now starting to like my new house more and more.. haha.. cant wait to move in =P

wiseharmony

Hi Shelyn,
Nice to see u here too. SO u r olso stayin in Bt Panjang? where huh? how abt lighting & painting all done liao??

mi reno just started also got contractor to do. if u keen drop mi a mail lah.

shelyn

hi wise,
yah i bought a resale flat at blk 177
need to do painting but i have a lobang for paint liao...
lights everything all done... so only need to do a bit...

wiseharmony

U might have read some before...
If there's anything to describe these little articles, I'd call it a LIFE dictionary.

A good read which serves as good reminders.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

TRUST is a very important factor for all relationships. When trust is
broken, it is the end of the relationship. Lack of trust leads to
suspicion, suspicion generates anger, anger causes enmity and enmity
may result in separation.

A telephone operator told me that one day she received a phone call.
She answered, "Public Utilities Board." There was silence. She
repeated, "PUB." There was still no answer. When she was going to cut
off the line, she heard a lady's voice, "Oh, so this is PUB. Sorry, I
got the number from my Husband's pocket but I do not know whose number
it is."

Without mutual trust, just imagine what will happen to the couple if
the telephone operator answered with just "hello" instead of "PUB".

aa

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

NO POINTING FINGERS

A man asked his father-in-law, "Many people praised you for a successful
marriage. Could you please share with me your secret?"
The father-in-law answered in a smile, "Never criticize your wife for
her shortcomings or when she does something wrong. Always bear in mind
that because of her shortcomings and weaknesses, she could not find a
better husband than you."

We all look forward to being loved and respected. Many people are afraid
of losing face. Generally, when a person makes a mistake, he would look
around to find a scapegoat to point the finger at. This is the start of
a war. We should always remember that when we point one finger at a
person, the other four fingers are pointing at ourselves.

If we forgive the others, others will ignore our mistake too.

aa

CREATING PERFECT RELATIONSHIPS?

A person visited the government matchmaker for marriage, SDU, and
requested "I am looking for a spouse. Please help me to find a suitable
one." The SDU officer said, "Your requirements, please." "Oh, good
looking, polite, humorous, sporty, knowledgeable, and good in singing
and dancing. Willing to accompany me the whole day at home during my
leisure hour, if I don't go out. Telling me interesting stories when I
need companion for conversation and be silent when I want to rest." The
officer listened carefully and replied, "I understand you need television."

There is a saying that a perfect match can only be found between a blind
wife and a deaf husband, because the blind wife cannot see the faults of
the husband and the deaf husband cannot hear the nagging of the wife.
Many couples are blind and deaf at the courting stage and dream of
perpetual perfect relationship. Unfortunately, when the excitement of
love wears off, they wake up and discover that marriage is not a bed of
roses. The nightmare begins.

;

NO OVERPOWERING

Many relationships fail because one party tries to overpower another, or
demands too much. People in love tend to think that love will conquer
all and their spouses will change the bad habits after marriage.
Actually, this is not the case. There is a Chinese saying which carries
the meaning that "It is easier to reshape a mountain or a river than a
person's character."

It is not easy to change. Thus, having high expectation on changing the
spouse character will cause disappointment and unpleasantness.

It would be less painful to change ourselves and lower our expectations...

lo

RIGHT SPEECH

There is a Chinese saying which carries the meaning that "A speech will
either prosper or ruin a nation." Many relationships break off because
of wrong speech. When a couple is too close with each other, we always
forget mutual respect and courtesy. We may say anything without
considering if it would hurt the other party.

A friend and her millionaire husband visited their construction site. A
worker who wore a helmet saw her and shouted,"Hi, Emily! Remember me? We
used to date in the secondary school." On the way home, her millionaire
husband teased her, "Luckily you married me. Otherwise you will be the
wife of a construction worker." She answered,"You should appreciate that
you married me. Otherwise, he will be the millionaire and not you."

Frequently exchanging these remarks plants the seed for a bad
relationship. It's like a broken egg - cannot be reversed.
lll

PERSONAL PERCEPTION

Different people have different perception. One man's meat could be
another man's poison. A couple bought a donkey from the market. On the
way home, a boy commented, "Very stupid. Why neither of them rides on
the donkey?" Upon hearing that, the husband let the wife ride on the
donkey. He walked besides them. Later, an old man saw it and commented,
"The husband is the head of family. How can the wife ride on the donkey
while the husband is on foot?" Hearing this, the wife quickly got down
and let the husband ride on the donkey.

Further on the way home, they met an old Lady. She commented, "How can
the man ride on the donkey but let the wife walk. He is no gentleman."
The husband thus quickly asked the wife to join him on the donkey. Then,
they met a young man. He commented, "Poor donkey, how can you hold up
the weight of two persons. They are cruel to you." Hearing that, the
husband and wife immediately climbed down from the donkey and carried it
on their shoulders.

It seems to be the only choice left. Later, on a narrow bridge, the
donkey was frightened and struggled. They lost their balance and fell
into the river. You can never have everyone praise you, nor will
everyone condemn you. Never in the past, not at present, and never will
be in the future.

Thus, do not be too bothered by others words if our conscience is clear...

jju

BE PATIENT

This is a true story which happened in the States. A man came out of his
home to admire his new truck. To his puzzlement, his three-year-old son
was happily hammering dents into the shiny paint of the truck. The man
ran to his son, knocked him away, hammered the little boy's hands into
pulp as punishment. When the father calmed down, he rushed his son to
the hospital.

Although the doctor tried desperately to save the crushed bones, he
finally had to amputate the fingers from both the boy's hands. When the
boy woke up from the surgery & saw his bandaged stubs, he innocently
said, "Daddy, I'm sorry about your truck." Then he asked, "But when are
my fingers going to grow back?" The father went home & committed suicide.

Think about this story the next time someone steps on your feet or u
wish to take revenge. Think first before u lose your patience with
someone u love. Trucks can be repaired... Broken bones & hurt feelings
often can't. Too often we fail to recognize the difference between the
person and the performance. We forget that forgiveness is greater than
revenge.

People make mistakes. We are allowed to make mistakes. But the actions
we take while in a rage will haunt us forever.

shelyn

Hi wise,
thanks... will ask him... =)

wah u very philosophical hor.... alwiz got such things for us to read hehe...

june2006

Hello again!
Going to Japan is like going back to a second home for us. He's got some friends there. How do I put it... it's like going there to live for a few days rather than being the typical tourist. =)

The article "Be Patient" is really heart-breaking!!! The father didn't love the truck more than the son... he loved HIMSELF more than the son. *sob* Then he committed suicide because he just can't look past his own mistake and (all the more) continue to take care of his son. Running away from responsibility!!! *SOB*

I'm still in the process of confirming a contractor leh... Anyone heard of Modern Design? It's at Katong Complex. Seems good... Got a quote from Baroque D.Zign. They're charging me $200 for protection sheet on the floor and another $200 for whole unit chemical wash. Sounds a bit crazy to me leh... And btw, what's chemical wash? (My dad said it's just removal of cement left on the ground leh.)

Peko, I would love to have a dog but... shouldn't cos need a lot of time lah. Don't even have time for my fiance liao. Mm... then I don't want to go through the pain of seeing it pass away lor. =P But I love to sayang doggies... they're mostly very affectionate.

shelyn

Hi wise,
i moving in only after my wedding on 18 march next yr... traditional families lah so cannot stay together b4 wedding... hehe =P

my PS on 30 Nov... so still got some time for mi to slim down hahaha....

pekochan

hi hippos,ey looked like a much bigger version of hamster.guinea pigs are very tame and won't bite u. u thot of getting one? keep a pet is a lifetime commitment.

poisson

hi I am staying at Senja link, every morning when i am going to work, i see private bus below my house, so i am wondering anyone of you here know where these bus are going? cos i am actually looking for any private bus that will go direct to my workplace at Suntec city in the morning as i find it quite tiring to walk to the main road.
Thanks....

pekochan

hi poisson,

welcome to the thread.
i think you can try calling this no.97393178 i saw this private bus picking pple up at BP area. think it's gog to town area like orchard rd, shenton way...

hoppinghippos

peko: yup I know, hence won't be getting pets just yet. Just learning more about them first! Are they easy to train? ie. respond well to you, etc?

binbin

helo helO! wah, i trying to catch up on the postings until i breathless *tongue hanging out*. suddenly so many new members. Welcome to the BP Family!!!!

eh, now i dun rem who say what....but i remember someone said interrace photos nice ah? i also wanna see! interace???? purrrleease...

pekochan, are u the one who's hubby went to yoga and can't bend?? hehehhee very cute leh, u made me laugh trying to imagine the scene. i also brought my hubby to yoga before, both of us trying to bend into those awkward poses quite fun! hahahhaa....

novia, u asked abt whether yoga can slim? think yoga can do quite a bit of things. tone up ur body, strengthen ur immune system, improve your posture, your mental control etc etc....but alas we have never gotten down to really learning it hehehe...

hey someone said jurong got yoga classes, 12 lessons $77 issit? quite cheap leh.....very worth it. somemore facing swimming pool?

oh u mean the police station at sega lrt there opened on 25 sept? that means i was there on opening day!!! hahahaha coz we went fajar for breakie, and decided to walk to the cc to look see, coz saw a lot of vehicles there, tot the cc open. but only the NPP is open. but the cc still incomplete. but there's so may rooms! its a nice plc, with karaoke room, dance studio, classrooms, study rooms, and its nice. theres a ma ma shop there too.... theres a room with nothing but beanbags and couches....dunno whats it for but looks cosy. thing is, like a lot of things not done yet, the finishing touches. really duno when they opening...

hihihiihihi everyone

Senja Linkers and Roaders, need to ask you if you've had the rivets to your windows changed. We're kinda behind the times and weren't too sure if ours needed any changing considering the flats aren't that old, right?

At the same time don't want to be cheated by the contractors as well. So has anyone changed their window rivets, or we don't need to change it at all?

interrace

Hi Binbin,

My pics are posted in one of the thread " any inter-racial marriage" u must search, hee...pai sey, cos i dun have a copy with me...keke

Hi Matka,
My flats built since 2002, i checked with hdb guy, he say for my case, dun need to change.
But the toilets rivets are rusty, so i request for them to change ...till now they have not come to rectify ...

maybe u can check with ur hdb person in charge...

Hi Interrace

Thanks! Actually I've tried calling Income to ask a contractor to come to my place before.. but never got any response. Guess they must be overwhelmed. I'll give HDB a call and see what they say. Thanks!

Guess what? I can't even get through to HDB. Think they're flooded with calls. The CCK HDB branch isn't listed in the directory either. Only fax no.

interrace

Hi matka,

You dun have the officer in charge no?
cos we are being assigned to one office in charge for all the hse rectification leh ...

Pekochan!!!!
Where are you?!!

Hi Interrace

When we bought our place 3 years ago, we weren't "assigned" any. Instead we had to hunt them down (call the main line). I had the guy's number but since it was so long ago, not sure if it's the same fella.

Hi Wise
Thanks! I managed to get through to the main HDB line... after being put on hold for the super duper longest time. Funny how Hong Kah Town Council has the phone no of HDB CCK when they delisted all their numbers from the Yellowpages and HDB website. heh heh. Hong Kah isn't even our town council... but guess CCK is ;)

Anyways, I checked out my old papers, and looks like the place was completed after 2000. So we shld be exempt! :D

pekochan

Interrace, I'm here! You miss me ar?

binbin, u made a mistake liao it's interrace's hubby who went yoga with her.

hippos, i have not tried to train my guinea pig but I think they are difficult to be trained. But whenever I open the fridge he will get very excited and make noise very cute one.