Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date

back from my ROM last friday...have been away to bintan for my ROM-honeymoon...

yup...my house started work since 2 weeks ago...lighting points and false ceiling have been completed...just some questions here...have anyone seen the way of the false ceiling installation...??? i saw it and they are using solid woods which nailed to the ceiling and then aluminium trunking that nailed to the wood before the false ceiling board to it...i tried to use my bare hand to bend the aluminium trunking and i could do it with only one hand...it looks quite thin to me...i called my designer and he told me this is the standard that supplied in the market...i worry that over the period the false ceiling will curve down due to the weight of the lights....

also can anyone recommend where can i get nice (square) centre piece light for living room that is cheap...i found one at light-pro in IMM that made of cloth (3 by 3) and it cost about $409...so ex...!!!

the floor tiles will be done by next week and according to my contractor it should be completed by 21 sept...so intend to move in early oct...

also which aircon brand is good...??? looking for a 3-split one for the bedrooms...

thanks...
paul

Wow-So many updates

Hi Angelia - After the handover to us, likely to spend a day cleaning up the house and then having all the stuff that we ordered to be delivered the next 2 days. After that, my hubby will stay put at the new place. I will move in after the wedding in Jan 2003.

Just dropped by during lunch time. Theworkers are installing the cabinets. Will be going by there again after work.

Didn't see any nice lites at Ikea too. Anyway, dun think you are in the rush. Take your time in searching for the rite stuff

Hi Paul,

Didn't do false ceiling...cannot help. I got Fujitsu aircons 4 split for my place. 2 compressors, 20,000BTU for the 3 bedrooms and another 20,000 for the living/dining. Paid abt $3.6K including installation.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex,</FONT>
hey, then can draw me a "trunking plan" so that we dun need to "sang nao jing"?! thank you, thank you lah...
.. next time i ask <FONT COLOR="ff6000">kuek</FONT> to give u a treat!!

our floor works are done, except the rooms parquet..(the last time we went)

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">paul,</FONT>
i oso went bintan for "after ROM honeymoon".. but it's 1 mth after my ROM, &amp; i was the one arranging!!! hiaz... can someone here teach my hubby how to be more "romantic"??!!!

we not doing false ceilings, so can't help either.

u mean table light, or standing light (ur centrepiece)? we intend to get standing light, but not now lah.. now even the ceiling lights oso hvn't settle..

u doing carpentry work anot? can finish by 21 Sept ah? so good.. hope ours can oso finish by end Sept or early early Oct.. then hubby can shift in first!

hubby seem quite intend to get Mitsubishi System 3 (non-inverter). but hor, seems like got 2 type of combination leh.. the BTU.. 1 is <FONT COLOR="ff0000">9000 x 3</FONT>, the other is <FONT COLOR="ff0000">9000 x 2 + 12000 x 1</FONT>, if i remember correctly!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ann,</FONT>
same here, hubby will shift in first, then me after customary.. but prob will stay over during wkends lor..

lightings, actually we set our eyes on a couple oready, juz hvn't gone to buy.. will do so after japan trip.. our wedding's end Nov this yr.. so must hurry a bit so that can shift in latest by end Oct.. cos by then will be real bz with wedding preps..

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">what's the procedure for painting huh? is it lights first, or paint liao then lights up? what abt carpentry? b4 or after painting?!</FONT>

Hi Paul-san,

Maybe you might want to try Nobel Lighting House Pte Ltd at 69 Jalan Besar Road Tel 62960829. It is a small shop where they sell many Italy and France designer light. However it is “chong” one. Design similar to those designer light but made in Taiwan. Good one, ranging from $100++ to $300++. I got my from there.

For the False ceiling. The process is as per what you have descript. I happen to be there when they install it. According to my ID he mentioned could tahan the weight of the light… My relatives have install false ceiling for about 5 years, no problem… hope really no problem in future....

As for the Aircon (for bed rooms), I have reserved for Toshiba Invertor system 3 (26BTU) @ $3150 with $350 Takashimaya voucher. Last Sat completed Trunking and piping. Seems OK. Will wait till completion of painting than install the unit for testing. Will update later.

thanks for the feedback...actually i'm thinking of using samsung model am20a1e3/am20a1e09/am20a1e06x2 (3-split) for my new place...not sure samsung good or not...if not might want to go for either daikin or mcquay...

hi angelia...for the centre light it is for the living/dining room...ceiling mounted...i don't have a dining room for your information...don't like the idea of having dinner in living room...so made some space in kitchen for it...

i'll be doing the carpentary works but the contractor told me can handover on 21 sept leh...at first i think it might be too rush for them too in case there is defect works to be done but he told me it is okay...they can even done up the defects by then...hhmmm...then okay lor...i wanted to shift in earlier too but the workmanship/finishing must be good lar...no compromise from my side...

hi alex...at first i think it is okay too until my father highlighted to me...he told me in malaysia they used thicker (more durable) aluminium trunks...anyway i just make my contractor to assure me that my false ceiling will not 'drop' down some day in the future or else they will get my lawyer letter...

me thinking of going jalan besar to shop around this weekend too...anyone have any shop to recommend for hob and hood...looking to get TEKA brand...

thanks...

paul

Hi Angelia,

No problem. Just write to me when your aircon guys are ready to install the trunking for you. I scan the plan and send it to you.

By the way, thanks for your reminder of that beam on top of the Kitchen. We have decided to change the hood to Vela, pyramid design. I have went to Mayer (IMM) and they told us for just one day there are about 3 couples including myself asking the same question regarding how to install hood with beam…

Hi Paul,

Also hope no problem for my false ceiling too... else I'll "kill" my ID.

Happy shopping...

wah, 3 couples ah? maybe they read here, then went to ask lor.. kekeke..

think i read somewhere that teka not so good.. or was it another brand?! i forgot liao.. maybe u do a search for "teka" under "home and deco" and see what it returns..

at least ur kitchen still can creat some space.. ours too small liao.. definitely hv to eat in the dining hall...

we oso aiming at 2 sq ceiling lights for foyer &amp; dining recess area.. then get a same design but in rectangle one for the living room.. saw it at lumiere &amp; balestier lightings (both same mgmt).. but forgot how much liao.. if u not in a hurry, then can wait for us to be back from Japan (09 Sep) then we can go see together....

Hi Paul &amp; Angelia,

I'm currently using Mitsubishi System 3(non inverter) mentioned by Angelia. I find that the 2 rooms when occupy by alot of pple(approximately 7). The rooms are not cold. The temp i set is 18'C.

hope this help.

hi angelia...

actually my kitchen is not really big but it comes in some odd shape...if you know those 68+ types...

anyway only 2 person what...if more people get a foldable table and some stools lor...can put them in the CD shelter right...at least make the living room looks much bigger...

for the lighting...well..i'll be going to my contractor supplier (light n light) this weekend to scout...if got nice one should have discount on the discounted price...hopefully...then have to scout for taps/mixers and basin too...

oh yeah do anyone come across any square basin for toilet...???

paul

oic.. we oso went contractor recommended.. but hor, the prce (b4 disc) oready more ex then those we see at Balastier, so din get from them..

square basin.. dun rem got see anot, cos we focusing on the glass type.. but sure can find lah, jln besar got quite a few shops..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wandererevo,</FONT>
thx for ur info.. will let hubby noe.. but then, do u mean each room got 7 person or u on the 2 a/c together &amp; inside the 2 rms got total of 7 pple, &amp; it's not cold??

hi angelia...

i walked to whole jalan besar last 2 weeks but couldn't find any of i like...i wanted a really square one...until you head will bleed if you knock on to it...

anyone have any information on daikin...??? heard it have quite good reviews...

then maybe u shld get ur ID to source for u lor.. prob they hv more lobang!!

a/c wise, i got no idea......

angelia,

I switched on the 2 a/c(except MBR) together and with 7 pple in the each room. The room is not cold. But no problem with MBR even when i set it at 20'C. I have called the service man to check it out but they said no problem ask me to try with temp. 16'C.

just want to ask how many of you all are doing suspended type of kitchen cabinets (without base)...???

i'm trying to have one but need a small kerb to hide the piping for the sink...

standard height for kitchen cabinet (bottom) incl of solid top is 34 inch but not suspended type will take up abt 4 inch (10cm) below from the floor and this leaves approx 77cm for cabinets incl of solid top...minus off solid top (5cm) will leave abt 70cm which means if I were do to 2 shelving in it each will be abt 35cm...is it too small...??? though i have a tall cabinet (ladder) that have a base...

any idea...???

thanks...
paul...

Hey,

Thot ID company shd be recommending all the measurements to you guys?

Why are u cracking ur heads so hard over the ID?

Just asking

hi jan...

normally to my idea they will just tell you the norm but if you want to be different it is okay...well...it will be your house and you are going to stay in it not the designer so you need to be comfortable with the measurement right...

obviously if you are very tall or short you will not want your top cabinets to be difficult to reach right...

paul

Hi Paul,

Agree with you. Height will have to be adjusted accordingly to comfort level. Usually ID will try to proposed and convince the easy way out in order to save some cost.

For my cabinet, I have requested to do it slightly higher to adjust to our family average height…

Hi Angelia and Wandererevo,

I remember during the installation of trunking, I ask the Aircon guy and my ID on what are the factors that contribute to the efficiency of Aircon.

1) The distance of trunking - Longer distance less efficient
2) Number of bends – because bend will have smaller holes dia that cause smooth flow of Air.
3) No. BTU of your unit. Power.
4) Invertor or Non Invertor system (not sure what it means – maybe one of this systems is the latest Technology
5) Conceal of the rms. If door/window slightly or open frequently efficient will drop.
Don't quite remember about the actual dimension but just ask them to make accordingly to where i pointed...
6) Cleaniness of filters/system
7) etc etc... (can't remember the rest)

Hope this infor helps...

thx.. hv fwd ur postings to <FONT COLOR="ff6000">kuek</FONT> liao..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">wanderevo,</FONT>
may i check is urs the <FONT COLOR="ff6000">9000 x 3</FONT> or <FONT COLOR="ff6000">9000 x 2 + 1 x 12000</FONT> BTU?!

angelia,

My system is a 9000x2 + 1x12000BTU. Therefore, MBR got no such problem.

alex,

Well, i didn't really bother abt the trunking distance jus let my ID decide. However, b4 i placed order for the aircon, the shop did mentioned to me that they are giving me the best grade sponge which use for wrapping ard the conduit. The serviceman came to checked gas and filter, he said no problem at all. He jus said tried with lower temp. In my opinion, i think Mitsubishi compressor is not as powerful as the rest.

Hey,

Inverter is latest technology. Energy saving. There is supposed to be a small chip. What it does is help pump the cold air according to temp of the day and number of occupants in the area.

As explained to me basically when we were looking for air-cons too.

Hey Paul &amp; Alex,

I agree with you. My ID company did the measurements for the cabinets according to our height. It was an on-site situation.

I was just curious abt u guys cracking ur heads over this and that and was wondering why...

Hood/Hob, air-con trunking &amp; now height of cabinets...

jus a pcs of advice. ask your contractor to change the gate hinges. I believed u can recall the break-in incident at Punggol few mths ago.

hi angelia,

i went to Natural Cool at IMM. I paid S$2350 for the system and got a $250 CK Tang voucher.

Hi Wandererevo,

Yap correct lor... For my gate, use a bit of stength can even lift it up leh...

Thinking of asking ID to weild it or change it for us.

harlow...

just wondering do anyone have their kitchen completed...??? if yes just wondering if there is any photos taken can you share it with me....

thanks...

paul

Hey all,

Update:

Dropped by during lunch. Aircon is up. Remember to keep your controls when yours go up. Prevent if from being used by the workers.

Carpentry is almost complete. Just a touch up here and there next week. Plus my curtains/roman blinds.

Hi Ann,

Since my aircon not up yet, might have check with you if it is possible to on the aircon through the units without the controllers. Just curios becuase TV could have standby mode and can be turn on without the controller. Need your kind advice.

Hi Alex,

I hope not. Met the air-con installation guy at the lift. He told me that my ID person told him to surrender the controls to her &amp; not to leave it in the house.

My ID person spoke to me a while ago. Told me controls are with her. This is to prevent the air-cons from being used at this point of time.

I did ask her abt it. Was told that it is difficult to unless the workers are experts in switching it on w/o the controls. Dials are internal so may not be an ez task.

Hope this info helps.

Happy with your reno, so far? and shopping too?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ann, Alex,</FONT>
the other time we went gaincity, (&amp; another occasion another co. at an expo), that sales person juz lift up the cover &amp; can on the a/c liao.. like beri easy leh.. but dunno do they "pre-dislocate" the cover so that they can "easy-demo" to customers lah..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ann,</FONT>
wah, u work very near CCKC izzit? how come everytime can lunch time go "spot check"?!

Hi Ann and Angelia,

thanks for your infor... I'll check with my ID if it is possible to disconnect the power connection for aircon after everything is ready? However this way might not be able to check the condition of aircon. hmmm...
8138.gif

So far so good. Quite happy with the apperance of flooring. Need Joey to check the quality (since she is in this field)

All lighting and 80% of furnitures book. Except for M.bed rm becuase Wedding Dinning not so soon.

Tomorrow will be another busy day. Need to check condition of reno again; On site to change some carpentry dimension; source the outstanding kitchen and toilet accessories.

Hee hee Angelia,

Yes I work nearby and I happen to drive. So I am able to spend my lunch time there. Hmmmm...maybe offer you my services of checking up your place for you too

Anyway, when the air-cons are installed, the hardware it is supposed to still be wrapped up in their plastic sheets with tape all over.
As a result, the workers shd not be able to switch it on.

Anyway, just a note to observe. Our ceilings are not even so dun be disheartened when your built-ins are a bit slanted or crooked. Maybe only my ceiling is not straight. Just take note anyway.

Piggy (684A)...juz wana check with all of u..anyone here heard of Unimax Creative PL (Radac member)..Comments?....they offered 8 years of warranty for their workmanship...tot is quite an assurance lor...

Are they really good in their services?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">piggy,</FONT>
nvr go to them b4, oso nvr hear any comments abt them, so can't help..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">ann,</FONT>
it's nice of u to offer ur help.. but no need lah.. dun wanna take up ur lunch hour.
anyway, think ours not many things to check out lor.. will prob drop by again one of the days this wk (b4 i fly on Fri morning).

Hi Piggy,

I have approached Unimax (Derrek Yu) 2 months ago. He did not get back to us on the quotation after spoken to him twice at different Exhibition in Expo. Maybe try other ID from Unimax, they might serve you better.

Hi Angelia,

Have a good trip. Eats lots of sushi

2 more weeks and I will have the house.

In the mean time, coordinating my delivery dates

thx.. but hor.. i dun dare to eat raw food.. so prob will take those sushi with cooked food
.. maybe shld try their sashimi.. hubby was saying it's good.. was wondering shld i try the globefish?! but it's poisonous if the chef din handle it properly!! hmmmmm
8230.gif

hehe.. will also try to look out for things for the new hse... kekeke...

wow, so envious.. i oso dunno wat's the progress of our reno.. din check it out since hubby went on biz trip 2 wks ago..

must let us go ur hse c c okie?!

how's ur reno coming?!

wat abt u?

This week all the flooring work done except laminates for rooms. All piping and ceiling work done last few week.

Next three days will be painting work. Next weeks will be installation of grills, vanity top, Floor polishing, general cleaning, lighting installation.

Siao liao lah... This means next week have to visit the unit more often to KS ensure things goes smoothly

Hi Good morning everyone,

Just a quick check with you folks. Anybody changed/changing the bedrooms doors?

The current door is quite simple and plain, anyone paint it darker color or using decorative items to make it difference?

morning...

just bought most of the stuff last weekend - hob, hood, lightings, sink, basin. confirm aircon (using daikin). let me see, still left with taps/mixers/showerhead and other loose items like sofa, fidge and washing machine.

wet works almost completed and will be down there in CCKC the coming sat afternoon to receive items and take measurements plus looking at how the aircon trunking is done.

by the way, is there anyone here hide the aircon trunking and where do you release the condensation water from the aircon? in main bathroom or common bathroom?

also did anyone installed hanging light for balcony. i worried about the strong wind that will blow the light to swing around.

painting will be next week. after that chemical wash and then installation of carpentary and accessories. looking at the progress should be able to move in at the end of sept.

hi alex, for the door i didn't do anything. maybe will paint with a contrasting color with the wall...if wall is white than get a darker color or vice versa...intend to change the door 3-5 years down the road when i can redo the bathrooms.

anyone have any recommendations for cheap taps/mixers? also for curtains.

yeah also have to take leave more often next month to oversee the installation of the accessories. feel better if i'm there personally.

take care...
paul

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">alex, paul,</FONT>
*sob* so envious u guys can get ur hse done latest by end Sep!! *sob*

not intending to change the bedrooms doors but was contemplating whether to change the MBR bathroom's door to a 2-pc sliding. will hv to wait till we come back &amp; get contractor to do some measurement b4 he can tell us if it's feasible.

our painting works were put to a stop, cos we hvn't decide whh aircon man to use. our contractor said if not using the one he recommending, then he'll not do the painting first as when the guys come to do the piping, will mess up his painted walls.. so we oso okie lor.

hopefully i can find time to go down tonite to take a look b4 i fly tmr morning. wonder if the parquet &amp; kitchen boxup are up?!

My flooring almost complete.The reno work should be done by end Sep.I will be changing all the doors,find them too plain.Each one will cost about $500.Very nice though a bit expensive.
Which brand of air-con is good?Need to get 5(2+3).

hello everyone,

Good to hear that most of your reno works are progressing well... Good, soon all of you can settle in...

Hi Alex,

We did change all the bedroom doors... But painting over with some design won't be too bad an idea.

Hey all,

Yeah...I am at the last phase of the house reno...

Just left with general cleaning, re-painting and curtains &amp; roman blinds. Wun be changing my bedroom doors. Chose a colour (steel fusion) to paint them with. Turned out quite nice too

Getting all my furniture delivered next friday.

Hey Paul,

In my case, my air-con trunking is all hidden by 2 plastered up boxes that is below the beams of my passage way to the rooms. It becomes part of the beams. The water of the 3 split ends up in the MBR bathroom and the one in the hall ends up in the common bathroom.

Thanks for your updates on the bedrooms doors. My bed rooms doors will be painted slightly contrast color with the wall. But quite close to the wall color. Have not seen how it turns out... hope it looks ok, else might be thinking of changing it. I mean new doors.

Hi Pual,

I only have one trunking below the beam of my passage way to the rooms, same as Ann. My ID have box it up. After painting can't tell becuase it look like part of the beam.

Aircon condensation water were release to the master bed room beccause nearer to the location of the 3 split and compressor

Hi Angelia,

yesterday went to our unit and check. At the same time I went up to your block and look see look see.
Not able to see your flooring because it was cover with protection. Quite like the “Rod Iron - silver” color that your neighbor painted for the main gates. Thinking of painting my “Rod Iron – gold.”

Just with you for all those who have not started with Carpentary work (Kitchen Cabinet).

Please ensure that you have sufficient space for putting the items outside the drawer (on top of the solid top). After I have seen my dimensions drawing and have a detail study on the items that I might want to put outside (eg Rice cooker, small oven, electrical water kettle, Water flask.), but find it no space. Nowadays Kitchen area in new HDB very small. Need to have detail planning before deciding the space needed in the Kitchen Cabinet.

Do enjoy your renovation…

Maybe those who have already completed their Kitchen cabinet could share some ideas with us...