Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

blur_queenie

Is it good to get the flat at Segar Rd? My OH stays there and his sister n family stay at the next block. His mother has been hinting to get around the area and wanted us to consider his sister's neighbour who is currently looking for buyer but no takers. I'm not very keen on it cos that neighbour has been advertising for a while and yet could not find any takers. What if i bought the house, would i be in the same fate as the neighbour when there's a need to move to a more centralised area? There isn't any flats for us to choose for the moment, currently waiting for next WIS or BE.

xinyi_reiko

Hi Jojo,

Depends what is your concerns. Buying flat is never easy. Many factors to consider. Whether is convenient or not, next time will have resale value or not, schools nearby or not, your budget and a lot more.

What your concern now, will be also other potiental buyers in future. This is what my dad told me.

The reason why the flat no takers maybe is because not very convenient.

So there is a reason why flats in gd location price are always high.

tinkerstar

Hi xinyi_reiko,

My flat is 17yr old..so some of the things quite old although I'm the 3rd owner. We will be re-doing the 2 bathrooms and the kitchen.. and do touch up on the living and masterbed room. Certain things I want to keep but my husband wants to change.. See how loh.. wait til we see the quote then wil decide again. But the bathrooms and kitchen will definitely have to go.

hey Felicia,

Fajar is also under BP. So when wil u start ur renovation?

tinkerstar

Hi xinyi_reiko,

I will not be taking reno loan..coz find the interest a bit high loh..so no more shopping for me now as I need to save up money for my reno!

hypsyn

I've juz gotten a resale flat at Petir Rd recently, am pretty upset as my family does not want to re-do the W.C coz' they were afraid that after re-doing that part the excess from the bits and pieces of cracking will get stuck inside the pipe and cause choking in future. Is that true?

Need the expertise advices! Thanks!

sandyteo

i am currently staying in senja, and will soon be looking for a new flat for me and hubby, still in bt panjang area, so that I can be near my parents.
We are looking for 4-rooms but i prefer units which are NOT along the common corridor. So far, i know flats in my area, Senja Blk 603-606 do not have common corridors. Does anyone know which other clusters have 4rm in point blocks?

blur_queenie

Hi Sandyteo,

Are you selling away your flat in senja? If so, how many rms is that? I am considering flats around that area as my FH parents are staying in Segar.

cherylkjh

sandy teo
i m oso looking for senja area. is ur 4 room??
i m looking ard urside flat, near to bpp and easy to go town... any1 has lobang???

xinyi_reiko

Hi Sandyteo,

Point blks in bukit panjang.. if is outside senjar, it will be at bbp area... like blk 163 - 168 flats and the D&B flats beside bus interchage there.

Hi Baobei,

Have you tried calling up agents listed in newspaper?

cherylkjh

ya, i just went to view 2 unit at blk 613 and 615 last nite.... blk 615 the unit abit old lah, condition not so good selling at 220k... 613 not too bad but sell at 270k but all below value price

sandyteo

Hi Xinyi,
thanks! I went to look at the blocks beside BPP, they look like point blocks, but they actually have flats along the common corridor.

Hi Baobei and Jojo,
the current flat I am staying in at Senja belongs to my parents. It is 5 room. They have intention to downgrade, but no concrete plans when...hehe.

xinyi_reiko

Hi Sandy,

Ya, a couple of blks are point blks plus corridor. I think level 18th and above are point blk flats. I went to view a couple of flats at that area before.

weevenge

just got a flat in BP .... blk 170+ above 10+ floor .... 5 rm ....302k valuation ,ard 8k above valuation ....

wanted to buy one at blk 537 above 10 floor also but owner house is 292k valuation, want to sell at 306k .... in the end we choose 170 instead coz its just 2min from interchange and next to plaza.... as compare to blk 537 ard 10min from interchange...and the condition is worst off than the blk 170+

before that seen blk 525, 183, 181,185, 533, 180, 178,179 ....

good luck ... i consider myself paying abit expensive .... coz the market now is buyers market... so guys take your time and bargain accordingly...

cherylkjh

went to view another 2more.. at 613 too... 19th n 13th floor.. BF interested in the 19th floor.. but they asking for 280k... so it either 19 or 15.... all is corner unit...

xinyi_reiko

Hi weevenge,

I think yours quite worth it leh. From what i know 18+ 5-room all pricing around 320k - 330k

Compare to yours, I think mine is more expensive. My flat is at blk 180+, 4-room, costing me 265k + 20k above value.

tinkerstar

Hi xinyi_reiko,

So your 2nd appt shld be in a month's time. Excited to start your renovation soon? You can start looking for an ID/contractor now. Do you intend to renovate a lot?

I've been looking for an ID for months. Finally have shortlisted one but have not signed with him yet as I find the price a bit high. Still comparing with other firms.

xinyi_reiko

Hi Tinkerstar,

Yap, will be end feb. The HDB officer says after my rom then 2nd appt. So that I no need to go down to show the marriage cert again.

I don't intend to reno alot. More on putting things in.

Things that I wanted to do:
- re-paint whole place
- feature wall + display cabinate for bomb shelter
- a divider
- a platform at living room for cosy area (just a small area)
- change toilet doors to bi-fold doors
- build washing machine and fridge base
- Remove platform in MBR (left by previous owner)

These are the things I want to do. Not sure if 5k can settle these things.

Which ID have you shortlist?

icecherry

Hi Hi...
I've just booked my flat at segar area. Anyone staying around there? Went to one reno unit to take a look... I must say that i am quite disappointed to see that the MBR is so small, even though mine is executive flat... thinking of hacking the walls to combine one secondary bedroom and master bedroom... Anyone done that?

xinyi_reiko

Hi IceCherry,

Hacking of walls is pretty common. Should not be any big problem doing that.

My friend did that. MBR plus another room, then in the middle, he did a walk-in-wardrobe. But his is a 4-room flat.

icecherry

i also wanna do a walk-in wardrobe...

Hi Xinyi, have you got an ID yet?

xinyi_reiko

Hi IceCherry,

I have not find an ID yet. My FH says after gotten keys then search for ID. But meanwhile, I will do some online research. :p

reinstar

Hi Xinyi,

I am currently reno-ing my flat at segar blk 481! welcome to our serene and ulu segar! heard that they are building the new swimming pool and sports complex at the open fields in segar.. hope that it comes true! meanwhile i am working with a contractor i'm very happy with.. house almost ready. u want u can PM me.. let u see his handwork at my house!

blur_queenie

Hi reinstar,

Tot the Sports Complex is going to be at N5 Park which is opp Senja (the pond area)? Was searching around for this location on the map but they only show N5 housing estate area around Senja area thus we thought that it might be there. Segar is consider as N4. If they are really building the Sports omplex at the Segar plot of land, i might consider getting a flat as my PIL stays there. It's pretty wasted to see the flat piece of land after so many years which the government can build a park or more 4-rms flats to cater to the increasing demand.

reinstar

hi jojo,

thats what we hear from our agt and people in the neighbourhood... seems that the senja area is quite prime, they are considering building a condo there! someone actually wrote to Straits Times WRT to the stadium issue.. abt how it was promised to us and PAP have not delivered... now eagerly waiting for their response.

all in all i find segar one of the most serene estates in singapore. transport wise it is not the most convenient, but it is hard to find somewhere as green and as quiet as segar!

blur_queenie

hi reinstar,

Condo at Senja? It's a bit too congested there though it's near BPP. Yah, i saw the article and read the response from the TC. I managed to find some articles in regards to the sports complex as early as 2004! imagine it has been delayed for 4 years.

I agree that Segar is indeed very quiet and serene. I like it there during the evening time where families will bring their kids to fly the kites at the big plot of land. Guess that kinda of environment will be gone once government build the sports complex and will no longer be the "ulu" segar area.

reinstar

jojo,

Yah the sports complex will probably bring around alot more pple! but i joke with my hubby that when the sports complex is built our house will be like a full service condo... the police post outside act as the security guard! haha

i din get to see the reply to the letter. what did the TC say WRT to the complex? we want it built asap man!

blur_queenie

Well, according to them, they are proposing to get it build but unfortunately, they didnt state a date nor period they will be commencing this project.

The other time they mentioned during the election that they will be building a swimming pool at Petir area, alas this project has been scrapped (my FH's friend who work in the Sports Council told him so) last year. It's pretty disappointing when the government promises some incentive but didnt delivery it within an acceptable timeframe. Now with the sand price increasing, i wonder if any future projects will be delayed due to shortage of sand and other commodities.

xinyi_reiko

Swimming pool at petir. Has been mention for ages, until now still have not built. I also remember that durign election, they say they will build it. All lies. Haiz...

The future MRT... i think the idea is also call-off..

reinstar

soooo living at segar makes buying a car a priority now! hai! but then again i love the serenity there so there are trade offs..

and must remember... segar flats are CHEAP. so cannot comprain. haha.

blur_queenie

Hi Reiko,

Where have you heard about the MRT? I should read up about it and write to the forum.

Reinstar, how much did u pay for your flat? It's a 5-rm rite?

xinyi_reiko

Reinstar, have to give and take eh.. Very difficult to have a perfect HDB in sg..

Jojo, There was a MRT line plan for the whole sg, consist of current and future mrt lines. There is thie period many forums are posting on it and even mass email floating around. You may want to do a search?

reinstar

yah have to give and take! no perfection! anyway me and hubby were totally against segar until we saw this flat!

Jojo,

my flat is a 4 room corner at blk 481, and two of the rooms have been demolished to make a living room. now only me and hubby.. so one room enough for us!

heard abt the mrt line also.. but plans to build will start only after circle line opens which will be 2010 (i think!). so when the bt panjang line opens, i think my kids will be in secondary school liao! SO LONG!

xinyi_reiko

reinstar, your case sounds like mine also. At first me and my FH don't want any 4-room flats in jelebu road - blk 181 - blk 185 range. Because previously visit a few units, very small and cramp, don't like the lay out. Our intention was blk 163 - blk 168 range of 4-room flats, because is bigger, around 102 sqm.
Until we saw this flat. Totally different layout and the previous owner make it look less cramp. Love at first sight. hehe..

blur_queenie

Reinstar,

How much did you pay for it? My FH rather get a 5-rm than 4-rm there as the size difference is insignificant and it's cheaper for 5rm. I'm actually against of getting there as transportaion is pretty inconvienent unless you got a car. My parents stay north and my workplace is at south-east. Time will be wasted travelling to these places if rely on public transports (except taxi). Sigh, just have to wait another 10 more years for the mrt line to be up!

tinkerstar

Seems like most of you staying at the 'newer' part of Bukit Panjang.. I bought a flat at the old area which is near to CC. Heard abt the stadium thing but then... no news now.. =( I also hope that they will build a swimming pool in BP!

xinyi_reiko (xinyi_reiko), for my hse reno, I've signed up with Fuse Concept although it being a bit more pricy coz we are paying for the service. Still feel a bit heart pain after signing up with him loh..

For your requirement, this is what I think the cost would be:
- re-paint whole place => $1500
- feature wall + display cabinate for bomb shelter => $700 + $700
- a divider => $700
- a platform at living room for cosy area (just a small area) => $700
- change toilet doors to bi-fold doors => $560
- build washing machine and fridge base => $300
- Remove platform in MBR (left by previous owner)=> $100

Ehh, just my guess after looking thru so many quotes.. Are you gg to polish the floor and check the electrical work? Looks like ur hse is really move in condition!

reinstar

hey jojo,

i paid 225k for my flat. valuation is 240k but we pushed it down. we bought a 4 room becos :

- the 4 room flats @ segar are actually more 'valuable' becos of its scarcity
- it is a 4 room corner flat, very good privacy
- this flat is on the top floor, higher ceiling and no one to drip on my laundry
- there is a policy at HDB WRT the 2% interest HDB loan. we are allowed to take this loan only for our 1st two HDB properties, and the second property must ALWAYS be an upgrade from the 1st. so if we bought a 5 room flat, we will need to get an exec flat of mansionette to qualify as an upgrade and enjoy the 2% hdb loan. with a 4-roomer i have the choice of going for 5 room in my next purchase.

so the abv are all considerations in our decision to get a 4 room in the end. anyway my 4 roomer really doesnt look like a 4 room... 2 rooms have been demolished to make a living room so it looks more like a studio apt.

transport wise, i have to agree with u jojo.. its a total bitch to get home. but then again, its really the trade offs lar. i think nowhere else can u get this kind of price for a hdb flat liao.. unless its like at jurong west which is lagi further frm the city.

blur_queenie

Reinstar,
The amount u paid is not a bad deal.
Think i should consider getting a 4rm as we might get a 40k grant as his parents is living in segar too. Wonder if there is any ard more resale around the area.

reinstar

jojo,

if both u and hubby are 1st time buyers, CONFIRM will get 40k grant one. haha.

let me know if u want me to reccomend u an agent. my agt specialises in bt panjang.. quite good!

blur_queenie

Reinstar,

Will discuss with my FH, he will definitely laff at me for wanting to get BP as i had mentioned before for not getting one due to inconvienent location and scare transport. Do you knw of anyone that is selling around the area? I'm usually at my FH place everyweekend, we can walk around and view during the period.

xinyi_reiko

Hi Tinkerstar,

Thanks for sharing your quotes. Yours seems more expensive eh. I just request for a equote from another ID firm. Much cheaper than this.

I think I will do forfeit some items like dividers. I still want to control my budget. =/

yimom

just realize there is one thread on the BP..Me just bought a resale unit in BP. 16+ 4 room point block...getting the key next friday but the owner move put ealier...so we kind like get he key un-offically last sun...now waiting for CNY as we will start reno after CNY...

icecherry

i am currently staying in BP (older BP area) and just bought one unit at segar area. What i heard was quite different leh... Heard they going to build the interchange at the empty site... lots of talks on the site but so far no firm news yet... anyone staying around 47+ area? dunno when getting keys but now trying to decide the layout... can someone send me pics of your renovated unit for reno reference? thanks in advance.

xinyi_reiko

Hi shelllim,

Ah.. intially I wanted to buy a flat at that area. too bad no chance. How much do you intend to spend on your reno?

Hi IceCherry,
interchange at that area? hmm.. pretty unbelieveable, because 2 interchanges in a estate seems quite impossible. Unless they moving the current one to segar.

blur_queenie

Do not think they will build the interchange there. The current one is only 6 years old and Segar isnt as convenient as the current location as the roads are pretty narrow. More likely will be for other projects. The land next to the segar flats belongs to state land for long time but no actions being done to it.

If they are building more flats there, it might bring more life to the area. Some people felt that it's too isolated.