Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

xinyi_reiko

Hi jojo,

Agree with what you said. Have to really hope for more flats. Then possibility for an MRT station will be higher also.

I also got heard stories before that MRT station will be build at segar area.

So many different stories.. dunno which one is real. =/

reinstar

if the interchange is really built at segar, traffic will seriously be a nightmare there! somehow i dont think the mrt will be built there either.. becos the mrt should be built next to the interchange rt?

me hopes that the sports complex will be built there lar... that will be the best!

yimom

Hi Xinyi_reiko
not plan to do major reno as we pay above valuation 9k (total we paid 276k- consider very high for 4 rooms in BP). The house is almost renovated, marble flooring, parquet for all bedrooms and kitchen just done by previous owner 3 yrs ago) and they hardly cook..so as good as new one, but due to hygeine, we decided to redo 2 toilet and some touch up like painting, polish, vanish...so far quotation i got is ~ 10-13k....so my budget is less than 13k

re: MRT
My fren's fren..work in what waht dept in transporation, they said there is a plan for MRT at BP, and is located at the current interchage. She even send me the future MRT map many mths agao when i surevy the house in BP, the MRT route will..if i recall correctly will pass thru orchard one ler...but now i heard different thing.,,maybe i check with her and ask her to send the MRT future map to me again.

blur_queenie

Hi Shell,

That will be useful if the news can be confirmed. Cos it will affect decision in buying the flats at segar. If the interchange is build at Segar, we will rather look into Senja area as the noise from the interchange will be disturbing. My FH's cousin stayed at the block of flat next to the interchange and it's pretty noisy most of the time (sound travel up, the higher you stay, the noiser it will be).

yimom

Hi Jojo
ok..i found the email she sent to me and i looked the future map liao..the route will go thru little india and bugis...i can fwd to those are really interested..but how true is it..i dunno as she fwd the mail to me many months ago..

My unit located at near to the interchange, but facing the other direction..shud not be nosiy gua......5 mins walk to the interchange and BPP..when we buy the unit, the seller agent also mentioned that there is plan for MRT..that's the valuation is very high for area ard the interchange. I have been hunting for 16+ (point block - one floor only 4 unit) since last sept..most of the unit sold very fast and all buyer pay >10k above valution...even we offer 10k++, we stil cant get the unit as there is alway someone willing to pay higher than us.
so when we view the unit. we offer on the spot even that time the valuation report not out yet..risk taking ya..hehe..but lucikly the valutioan out 269k so we pay less than 10k above valution

xinyi_reiko

Hi shelllim and yimom, both of your flats consider quite cheap liao. Mine is more expensive. 285k.

I agree that blk 16+ flats are difficult to get. I also tried to offer many times. =/

yimom

Hi Jojo
Sent..but i am not sure how true the future map..just a reference ya..
BTW, where is your unit jojo??

yimom

Hi Xinyi_reiko
yaya..the 16+ very hot...thats one time we view one unit at 163..after the viewing, we take the lift down and at the same time discuss with hubby how much want to offer..then one couple go up and view..within 10mins, we called the agent said we want to offer 12k..the couple faster one step..they offer 15k!!!!..aiii...so heart pain and cannot sleep for few night. So when we view this unit, on the spot we offer liao....fast fast close deal cause the seller agent told us one family is on the way to the unit to final offer..phew...

Where is your unit? High floor?

xinyi_reiko

Hi Yimom,

I totally agree with you. I think we might view the same units. So far I view units on blk 163, 164 and 165.

All sold out very fast. We are very disappointed every time we lose the deal. Haiz. I can totally understand your pain.

My unit at Blk 185, 18th floor. This unit we bought, we really stay there dun want to leave liao. And do our offer. Me and my dad sat at the owner's dinning table, seeing potential buyers coming in and out. We sat there don't want to go anywhere liao. There were ppl waiting downstairs planning to offer.

I feel that is lugi if we go down and discuss our offer. So better do on the spot.

yimom

oo...actually we view few unit at 18++ also..all low floor...those high floor one..seller open big mouth..asking at least 20k above valuation, and if i m not mistaken, 18+ 4 rooms is smaller rite? So me and hubby feel that pay so much to get small unit...beh tak..somemore i have one baby..really need bigger space..

Hahaa..i think we must be view the same unit ler...me so far 165, 168, 163, 167...all point block. the 163 one is 16th floor and the house was well renovated..(same boh?). Me current stay at mayspring condo, from my house i can see that 163 unit..every time i open the window and saw the unit...feel un-easy and heart very beh syiok..so hubby quick quick ask agent help to find 16+..he fear that i will sia if stay there too long..hahhaha..but god help us la..we view that unit 2 weeks after 163...happy with the buy...mine is 22 nd floor...totally unblock view and very windy...

blur_queenie

Hi Yimom,

My FH is currently staying at 48X, so most prob be looking at that area or Senja area.
Haven really source out anything yet.

Have received the map, thanks. I m pretty amazed by the map. Hoping that it will be true, travelling will be much easier. It remind me of Japan though with so many lines intersecting each other, even HK is not that complicated.

yimom

Hi Jojo
No problem
Yaa....hopefully the MRT is real..if happens..then for transportation wise will be more convenience and if one day really really want to sell off..price will also better since near to MRT..

xinyi_reiko

Hi Yimom,

18+ flats are smaller. I think pros and cons. 18+ design and build mah. Somemore newer flats. At first I saw 18+ 4-room flats, did not leave gd impression, due to small lor. Until I saw this unit. Clean and neat. Look spacious. I think it boils down to how you going to place your furnitures to make your house spacious, not only just placing mirror.

Overall must feel comfy when inside the house.

Ohh that blk 163 unit! I rem clearly, I also got offer. Even had 2nd viewing.

yimom

ya..i think first impression is important....acually i view one unit 17+ the carpark link to BPP one...5 rooms, 10k below valution..actually me also like that unit and the house also almost renovated...5 yrs only. But too bad..17+ blocks are so close to each and other...i can even see a the family next to the block..can see TV programme ver clear so more...so no privacy at all...

xinyi_reiko

Hi Yimom,

I also viewed such flats before at blk 18+. Point blk yet no privacy. Wrong facing eh.

I think both of us are equally fussy buyers. hehe.

Have you gotten your keys? How is your ID hunt?

This thread is getting livelier.. hehe..

icecherry

Hi reinstar,
my unit at blk 471... think quite close...

anyway, hope there will be more flats around the area cos quite quiet leh...
now all the WIS are closed for BP... but i know there are still many units untaken. Dunno they keep for what purpose...
Actually i like 48+ but most are resale and no time to go round hunting for flats... but still i am very excited abt it... can't wait to collect the keys...

yimom

haha..my hubby said i m too fussy...we view abt 50++ unit before bought the unit ler..

ya..decided on the contractor (not engage ID as i m doing minor thing only.)

Yup..get the key lliao but the 2nd app is next friday as the seller moved out earlier..

tinkerstar

I do agree that mine is a bit more pricy loh.. No choice lah.. coz mine not contractor.. and he wil be doing all the coordination for me lah.. I guess paying for the service as well. I'll be spending at least 30k on my renovation! Hav to save and save now!

xinyi_reiko

Hmm.. maybe I should also get a contractor instead and go browse through the mags and look for ideas eh. But local mags don't really show much design on feature wall for bomb shelter leh.

Yimom, how much are you spending on your reno?

yimom

me spend abt 13k (overlay 2 toilet, paint whole house, change toilet room, change bedroom doors, polish marble..vanish parquet, build n wardrobe.......) >= 13k gua..i ahvent really negotiate with the contractor yet..will do mine today..if the contractor is good..u can try to contact him and try to get the quote...u can call him and ask him to go up to your house to give 1st quotation...

xinyi_reiko

Hi Yimom,

Thanks for sharing with me.

Any ideas what local home design mags are informative? I know there are 4-5 kinds on the market. Not every one is suitable for HDB flats. Somemore overseas mags are totally not suitable for local homes.

tinkerstar

I'm gg to meet my ID to select the tiles and to look at the 3D drawings.. Excited to see the final outcome of the house!

I also just bought my mattress.. Spent a week searching for the suitable mattress.. Going to continue my furniture hunt after CNY!

xinyi_reiko, you will be getting your keys soon!You can buy ur flat floor plan from HDB and start sourcing for a contractor. Have fun renovating ur hse!

xinyi_reiko

Hi Tinkerstar,

I gotten my floorplan during my 1st appt. Already draft out what I want already. Not a major reno, so can DIY design the layout abit. Hehe.

Who is your ID?

I also want to buy mattress intially, but decided to put it off, because not intend to have customary so soon..

tinkerstar

Hi xinyi_reiko,

My ID is fuse concept. I only started sourcing for mattress after I found my ID coz I nid to know when my renovation wil be complete. Anyway, I bought my mattress now so that I can lock in the price before GST increases. Robinsons can keep my mattress for a year and if there is any drop in the price of the mattress, it will refund me. So not tt bad lah.

xinyi_reiko

Hi TinkerStar,

I also worry abt GST.. hopefully everything can be settled before 7% GST.. I think I last min then go buy and keep for 1 year.. hehe..

xinyi_reiko

okok.. iandao, you make me gan jiong leh.. :p

I also very eagar to faster get my keys.. hopefully owner is able to give me before mid march..

tinkerstar

Tml budget day and it will be announced when GST will increase.. Either 1st Mar or 1st April! So better get the big items 1st! Renovation also hav GST one loh..
sob sob.. =(

blur_queenie

Helo ,

Anyone had any idea what is going on opp at Segar field? Saw barriers & tentage, wonder if there is plan for constructions of some sort?

white7

Hi Xinyi_reiko,

I'm from an ID Firm, Pls feel free to email me your contact details or you can send me an email then i'll provide you my contact. It'll be better if we can discuss thru the phone and arrange to meet up with your floorplan and discuss. Thanks.

xinyi_reiko

How is everyone???

I have gotten my keys yesterday, very happy.

But was troubled at the same time, due to some minor problems here and there.

blur_queenie

Did you ladies got it through resale?
There is a balloting/wis coming up next month and im thinking to give it a go. Saw a couple of empty flats around Segar and Jelapang area.

icecherry

Hi Jojo,
got mine thru WIS in Jan... Some new flats are still empty... including my block... These are all executive flats, smaller flats are mostly resale flats...

tjh

hi we are new here...
looking at senja link blk 650-654 ea or 5 room
any idea if hdb is releasing the empty units or anyone selling them?
the environment is great there

reinstar

hello bt panjang-ites!

I'm back! flat is done up already unfortunately its still a weekend house!

anyway icecherry which blk u staying in? i thot i saw quite a few empty units ard my area too!