Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

Kitty, I do not have any samples.. If i remember correctly, they do have chinese wordings as well on the "poster"... thought it would be useful for older generations.
I also thought of doing my own poster. However, I just used theirs in the end.. save myself some trouble and time. Check with Hilltop if they can show u any samples.

Hi, I just booked Hilltop Garden Restaurant (bukit batok csc) last mth for my wedding. my AD is on 3 Jan 09... have any one tried their dessert? shld i choose yam paste or the red bean paste with glutinous rice ball... so far, have anyone try be4 to have 3 weddings are held at the same time for ballroom A, B and crystal ballroom... I heard from suzzana that my AD are fully packed... i scared there will be cork up...

Want to let go a 21/02/2009 package @ Hilltop Qianxi Garden Restaurant due to personal reasons. Ballroom B, minimum 25 tables (can accomodate till 30 tables), free flow red wine/beer/liquor. Food tasting not done yet. $538/table nett; Deposit of $2K paid, willing to let go at a discounted price of $1.5K.

Please email hifisiao at hotmail dot com for more details.

Hi, I've booked Qianxi Hilltop for my wedding on 7 Dec 08. being kiasu, I went to try out their food during my dad's bday celebration before booking. Haha.

Mary: personally I opt for yam paste, cos its not too sweet. =)

Garfield: According to Suzzanna, can change dishes but must do top up.

received not too good comments on the red bean paste.

you can change dishes but gotta top up for the difference. just to share my understanding, the price difference from example package A to package B is due to the difference in the dishes. In other words, the amount of package difference is actually the incremental top up value. Not sure if this is still valid now but do double check with Suzanna on this understanding as their staff usually quote otherwise. You may wish to check with Suzanna the top up price for each different dish and check that the top up value adds up.

hi there, my AD was last yr june. if u r interested in the crystal ballroom, u may want to take a look at the photos in my multiply.

http://pkum.multiply.com/

i like the food very much and i think is the nicest as compared to the other branches.

hi Pauline..
how r you ?? been very long since we chat in here.. So happy for you tat everything turns out well on your AD. See that u've been to Japan for your honeymoon.. it sure looks fun !!! I've also chosen Japan as our honeymoon location.. Reali looking forward to this holiday break !!!
My AD is on 31 Aug, starting to get busy now liaoz lor..And I'm also having problem now with Hilltop as they say there's no supply of suckling pig.. It's kinda frustrating cos my frens had help asked ard other restaurants and seems like Qianxi is the only one having short supply of this dish. The main reason they gave was tat AVA had suspended all imports of meat from China.. However I've checked on AVA website to find out that this suspension had be lifted since Jan 2008. Haiz.. it reali make me wonder if the reason they gave were genuine or issit becos the cost of suckling pig now is much higher that may affect their profit margin..
Nonetheless.. I hope Suzanna will give me a satisfying answer.. and keeping my fingers cross tat things will be better.. onli thing to look forward to now is the honeymoon..

hi whoofy,

i also have the same prob..no suckling pig so no choice change it to herbal duck.

i actually plan little gals to stand beside the aisle but after looking at the photos i think the possibility is v small

hi kitty
when is ur AD ? U wanna shall ur package details in PM ???
Bcos of those silly excuese tat they give, both my hubby & myself are now insisting to hav the sucking pig. Even if they need to buy from Tiong Bahru Roast Meat stall...

Hi Im new here and i tink most of u like qianxi food..any recomendation of the dishes?is there a lcd projector? portable or ?Hmm but i tink they nv include any stay rite in any hotel rite..

hello

thinking of hilltop garden. able to comment on their food and service standard. Need to book soon and appreciate ur comments. thanks a lot ^_^

1)Food Quality
2)Service Standard

finally! someone replied. haha..
yes, booked on 14 june 09. anyone here same date?
mine is $688. garfield, have u also booked or looking to book?

Hwei Fang > I have been thinking of booking this place but have not decide on the AD date. The $688 price, the food? How many tables? How much deposit to place? Can settle the balance the next day? Any special thing u wanna highlight?

garfield, the food is the same as the 678 one in their website, except 1st dish change to lobster cold dish. as for quality, it depends on luck really. personally i've not tasted them before but i've heard good, as well as bad comments abt them from friends and relatives. i'm taking the crystal ballroom which can go up to 62 tables. deposit 2k, cash, cheque or credit. the balance will be after the event, can pay on same night as ur dinner or arrange to pay the next day or a few days later. they prefer cash.

things to highlight? not really. i think their deal is already very good. their boss, suzanne also won't really give any more perks.

Hwei Fang > Thank u so much for all the precious info, btw Suzanne is the boss meh? I thought she is the coordinator or something, opps.

Crystal ballroom must be the 1 on top of the hill which is the highest? So u have booked Jun 09, i guess if i consider Sept 09 should be able to book also liao. Thank u so much, really appreciate it!

hi everyone here,

Just a negative feedback at the ballroom changing room. As the ballroom is located near the kitchen n toilet, it stinks..and when I wanted to use the toilet beside the changing room OMG, the toilet is so dirty, I complain to the captain and he told me is for the use of your workers n chief etc and they are uncivilised people..OMG I think they are more like dogs the toilet bowl cover is totally uncover when they urine..and the whole toilet is full of urine smell..

I think the toilet can be should be both parties, the customer(bride) and workers but they should keep it clean.. It make me have to go down to level 3 toilet as I don't want my guest to see me yet.. I suggest you all take a look at the place first and inform them to keep it clean for your use..so will save the trouble of using others toilets and for the beneficiary of other couples that will be using the ballroom next time..

As no one point it out earlier..I'm going to do it so the restaurant can provide better service...

garfield, no prob. yup. i've booked for june 09. yes, the crystal ballroom is on the top floor. if u have decided, better be fast. suzanne told me lunar 4th and 8th mth already almost fully booked.

kitty, thanks for the info. think wld go see, see when i go for food tasting.

btw, where did the brides here go or rest after all the events in the morning? stay at home? or go hilltop already?

the changing room isn't very comfy. thinking of going to the spa there for massage then rest there at the couple's room.

Kitty > Thanks for bringing up the issue, i will take note of it too.

Hwei Fang > Lunar 4th and 8th means what? Lunar is Sept? Minimum how many tables? Food tasting need to pay extra $?

dear ladies..
my AD is 31 Aug 08...
totally agree with kitty on the condition of the changing room and the area behind the stage. Following was wat my sister & her hubby had saw when they were helping out during their fren's wedding last month :
- area outside changing room were fill wif tables to put the dishes
- floor was very wet & slippery. Most of their staff were wearing PCK boots !
- Stinks (even if u go on a normal days with no fuctions, u can still smell the carpet is moldy)
- Very unsightly for guests who are coming up from the carpark using Lift 2B
- back door of the ballroom was open, hence guests tat came up to level 4 using lift 2B had miss the reception & signing-in

I've met up with Suzanna lately to finalise my banquet details and had also feedback to her on all these. She is aware of this but however due to the space constraint of the kitchen at level 4, having tables outside the changing room area is unavoidable.
For me, I've suggested to arrange someone station at B1 carpark @ lift 2B. This person is there to guide the guests to use lift 2A instead. This will at least prevent guests from seeing the unsightly mess & missing the reception. (Must remember tat if ur guests miss the reception, it may also mean tat they may not hav put the ang baos into the box.)
For us ; the brides.. will have to bare wif wet floors and just be extra carefull when we are walking lor.. ultimately the banquet staffs are also the heroes tat help us have a good wedding..

Hope tis feedback is useful to u all.. I'll tell u more after my wedding... good luck to us all !!!

hi whoofy and gals,
few question to ask.

1) hw many mths b4 actual day did u all choose invitation card???

2) restaurant will provide 70% of attendance right?

3)initially when sign with hilltop, i told them the mininum of 55 tables, so when choosing card, i told them my rough count of 65tables, so 70% of card will be provided right??

4) so how many wks b4 actual day should i finalise the no of table to the restaurant??

Yes whoofy. indeed v unsightly for guest to use the lift at 2B..one more thing need to mention is the side doors of the ballroom should be close at all times..as i hv guests at the passage way when i'm about to get ready for march in....OMG..my hb has to ask them to excuse them before both of us hv space to move..

Maybe you need not to get someone to guide them to lift 2A, you may indicate them in the poster that stick at the lift..

hi myfavchoco
1) usually u choose ur card when u go for food tasting. Just let them knoe when u r making the appt for food tasting tat u will also be choosin the card. Printing usually take abt 1wk or less. Pls get ready all the names of ppl to be on the card (both English & Chinese). A form will be given to u to fill up. Do not expect very extraordinary designs available to choose from.

2 & 3) cards are 70% of confirmed tables. They will print 70% of 55 tables first. But if u hav already confirmed wif them tat the tables gonna be more, they will print more for u w/o charge.
For me, I only have 45 tables. So intially only printed 330pcs. But I've ask them to print 30pcs more.. to my surprise no extra cost.

4) usually they will call u 2 wks prior to ur AD to finalise all the details. Incld any vegetarian & Muslim pax. Once tis is confirm, they will also give u the table layout plan for u to start arranging.

1 thing to note is tat they are not reali initiative.. so if u wanna go down and do some rehearsals, pls call them and make appt. So long as the ballroom is available, they are ok.

Kitty.. thks for the point.. I'll take note of the corridors as well.. but I guess they keep some doors open are for the smokers.
I think I'll ask them to put up poster as well as get them to send 1 staff to station at the Lift 2B. Anyway we pay for their service already.. Such are flaws which they shld foresee and not wait till cliets feedback.

Hi gers, Im also Hilltop bride in Oct.

Whoofy: Wow yr AD is comin soon. Congrats! Agree with u tat their cards are more of traditional type. I also have 45 tables only, same as u. So when do u get to know who's the banquet coordinator for yr AD? R u able to talk to the coordinator abt yr banquet schedule?

Kitty: tks for the reminder.

Btw gals does Hilltop provide the posters or we have to DIY ourselves? How many packets of flower petals used for march-in? Kindly advise.

dear ladies.. thks for all the blessings..
as the days draw near.. the big puzzle is getting clearer.. most frustrating thing now for me is confirming the guest list esp from relativess..so wish me luck..
I think my coordinator so far is Andy (not very gd in service so far) he's too by the book and not flexible. My sister & her hubby also encounter not so pleasant issues wif him during their fren's wedding. In the end, the groom jus give a call to Suzanna to settle it..

I'm planning to fix an appt wif them for rehearsals and also going thru the details .. however there shld still be a final briefing on the actual day..

I do knoe tat they put up posters at the lift lobby. But I'm prepare to put up mine, pointing directions for guest to take the correct lift 2A. Haahaa can say I kiasu lah..

As for petals.. dun think will be using in my march-in as my hubby is very excited wif the "stick poppers" leh.. maybe will jus get 1 pkt to scatter on the album table. Am also considering to bring my own tea lights..

whoofy: wat size is their poster? Feel like DIY my own also. how many tables are there along the march-in line? Need to estmate the amt of flower petals used..guess u gt the banquet table arrangement layout liao, mind sharing with me?

hi cheryl
I think their poster is abt A4 size bah... not very sure actually.. But I did mine using A4 size lor..
We just drop by last weekend to check out the ballroom, I think there shld be at least 10 tables along the aisle..

Hahahaa.. unfortunately I have not start on my table arrangement yet !! Cos I still can't get a confirmation on the total no. of guests from the relatives side !! Both my hubby & myself are equally frustrated wif our parents for delaying all our planning..

1 ang bao box shld be enuf.. better not to hav too many, very difficult to look after if too many.. I'm only using 1 - took from my office.. the usual A4 paper box.

Whoofy: oic..tks for sharing. Bet u muz feeling excited abt yr big day? Agree with u..Actually the biggest headache is the invitation part esp with my in-law part..sianz

R u done with yr AD schedule, emcee & TQ speech yet? Need reference mah, can share with u wo.

dear cheryl
hav not felt the excitement yet.. maybe becos there's still many things to finalise..
have already done up my AD schedule and also given the scripts to my 2 emcees.. as for TQ speech, not surprise we'll have a last minute wripte up.. hahahaha

myfavchoco...frm wat I understand, they onply having mandarin speaking emcees...

Whoofy: u will be juz fine..juz dun be too stressed can liao. Sure everythin will wk out well. U gt any Multiply account?

hi cheryl
thks for the encouragement... my AD is 31 Aug 08.. 2 weeks frm now..
Sorry.. I dun hav any multiply account.. only facebook....

cheryl,
my actual day is 09nov, about 3month time. yours is early =)

i went down to take a look at the invitation card.. and ask bout the emcee, yah... they only have chinese speaking one.. sighz !

yap mine is 5 oct..I went 2 collect my invites yestrday, printing earlier by a week than expected. =) I request my table cloth change to all gold color..juz in case my EG color gt clash.

Dear all, sounds like all of you are taking the grandballroom... I can only book the Ballroom B at Level 2. Any complaints received for Ballroom B so far? my AD is 3 Jan 09.

Hi Mary, I don't have 45 tables of relatives and friends. I have already booked Ballroom B at level 2. My AD is on 25th April 09. There is additional cost to book the grand ballroom.

Yah, but it is nicer. Too bad, I booked too late.. for my AD on 3 Jan 09. Anyway, I heard from Suzanna that my date is fully booked for that nite... so imagine the carpark should be very full... actually, now I dont know what should we prepare for our wedding.

Is there any wedding favours that is cheap... like a piece of small cake in one mini box for each guest. I think it is much more worthy... compared to keychain, candles and bear... any recommendations?

Mary: Wats yr budget like? Maybe something more practical like photo frame..cake idea is good. Hw abt cupcakes, its the "in" thing wo.

gals not to worry coz Qian Xi is well known for their gd food. Im sure yr guest will enjoy the food. The ambience of level 2 ballroom also good mah.

whOOfy jO > Thanks a million for brightening up this thread and filling most of us with answers to the restaurant. I am also in a fix cause i have no idea how many tables we wanted and as for the AD, we are still in the mid of discussing. Seems like we are going to settle around 35 tables .... probably on the 2nd level.

Talking about wedding favours, i also dunno what to give too.