Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

v_koh

I wanna find out if any of the couples had tried the food at the newly opened restaurant, Hilltop Garden Restaurant, located at Civil Service Club at Bukit Batok?

Anyone can give me the feedback on the food??

sunnytan31

I just had my wedding banquet last week (50 Tables) at Hilltop Garden, 4th storey, Crystal Ballroom (Max. 62 Tables).

I can say is Fantastic. The Food serving is HUGE and HOT, Taste is GOOD also. If cannot finish, can 'Ta Bao' somemore.

Ballroom deco is one of the nicest out of all non-hotel ballrooms and is also better then MOST hotel ballrooms.

Free flow of Red Wine, Hard Liquor, Beer and Soft Drink. No 10% service charge and No 5% GST.

All my fussy relatives didn't comment anything bad, all just keep quiet and enjoy. Ha Ha...

Overall, is CONFIRM better then MOST HOTEL ballroom, looks very GRAND too. Only down side is, NO special suite for couples to stay overnight there...

royndor

hi sunny,

is there any pics that u can share with us?? i'm shortlisting for my AD next year.. do they cater to a smaller no. of tables?? say about 25-30??

dangou

i've signed up with them in feb06 and will be holding my banquet on 25nov06 at crystal ballroom. i'm captivated by the ballroom though not furnish yet at that time, cos of the high ceiling and quite spacious.

i'll be going for food tasting in late sep. will share with u all again.

dangou

Sunny,

Btw, heard from parents saying that if the restuarant offers free flow of wine, liqour, etc, they will tend to save on the content, meaning not to refill guests' glass even though it is empty.
Will this happen at hilltop? We will definitely not want this to happen...

dangou

hi li_bride,

sorry for not responding earlier. i'm not sure leh, cos that time the lady boss told me the minimum tables for crystal ballroom is 45. maybe u wanna check with suzanna, the lady boss?

brotherbill

According to suzanna when i spoke to her on the phone, to have the banquet at crystall ballroom, its $1200 + min 45 tables. Do you think there is any possibility to get a waiver? Also, wonder if its possible to have say 35 tables but pay a certain fee for use of ballroom. Any one have any comments on that?

dangou

hi lil...
so u able to get the ballroom?

hi william...
$1,200 extra for using crystal ballroom? I'm not aware of that!!! did you ask why?

dangou

hi lil...
so u able to get the ballroom?

hi william...
$1,200 extra for using crystal ballroom? I'm not aware of that!!! did you ask why?

lil_bride

hi dangou
yup, i got the ballroom and as william mentioned, i have to pay $1200 for using the lvl 4 ballroom, min 45 tables.

dangou

So lil & William, you mean though u booked 45 tables, u r required to pay $1200 extra huh?
Oh dear… I was not told about that when I book the tables way back in Feb06. Guess I just act blur or maybe this rule does not apply at that time yet, so hopefully I got away from it.

lil_bride

dangou, you're so lucky. Ok, we shall not spoil market and just act blur. I did ask Suz if there's any ways to waive off for me but guess, I took the min tables, hence I do not have much bargaining power. How many tables are you going to hold on ur big day?

dangou

That time when I booked, the ballroom is not up yet, so its very empty inside with no curtains as well….cant really imagine how it will looks like when done. So maybe they haven see if there is really market for it, hence did not charge the $1.2K initially. I also book a min. 45 tables. I gonna act blur... cos no one mention abt this rule when I booked, so its rather unfair to tell me to pay for it now after I confirmed lor….

How abt other ballroom at level 2? Is it nice as well??
Ya.same as dangou...as it's free flow..they might be slow in topping up the drinks lor....maybe any brides with experience with hilltop can advise us...

And...any one can advise if there's any chalet there tat we can book??Cos if there's no chalet for us to book there i find it rather inconvienece...like i prefer we can lock our stuffs inside the chalets (album potraits ang pow boxes) when the dinner starts....and if then we are prepared to get very drunk tat nite...so is best we can rest at chalet lor...Hmm.....

shirli

hi vic

there are no chalets over ther, mayb u can put your belonging in the dressing room... whereby u can locked them in the dressing room provided by them

Oic..but is it safe to lock our belongings to the room?hmm..have not book with them yet. Cos my hubby still prefer hotel..headache lar..still sourching arnd for a best of all venue.

shirli

as long as u can locked that room, i tink its quite safe... hotel mayb u can try furama riverfront..actually tried to book tis hotel but they are not available on the dates i prefer

ohh..i did consider there before but becos we have more than 30 tables so cannot take their jupiter package...only can take venus package which cost more which is out of our budget le..sob

shirli

oic, so how ur seaching now? any idea where liao? or can try novotel clark Quey i think , my friend hold at ther

cherinet

can i know is there a room specially for bride and bridegroom to change her wedding gown and make-ups? is it convenient at this HillTop @ CSC Bukit Batok?

dangou

yes, there is a changing room, but not very big, just a small room enough for the bride and two more sisters to help the change. it is behind the ball room...
you sign up?

ii_yume

Hi all.

Actually the hilltop sounds romantic but there is no room to stay over night. So this is a really negative point! But my hubby really like the package.. its quite cheap...

can someone share with me the pictures at hilltop?

ii_yume

Hi Shirley,

I have saw the pictures from the website. And is mesmerised by the crystal ballroom. but i hope to see something from the brides whom have held their dinner there.

Hi all..
Just some feedback..
We have went to see the ballroom at qianxi hilltop..the crystal ballroom is very nice..but it need minmum table of 45 n abv..and to use that ballroom..we are inform also need to pay a ballroom charge of $800+ if i didn't remember wrongly the amt. The two small ballroom downstairs is not as nice...but still can do lar. My hubby dun like the LCD screen so we didn't take. Is a good budget and cosy place to hold your wedding.

loink

I think to use the grand ballroom.. they charge $1200 not $800+.. unless u view it recently & they reduced the charges..

ii_yume

hihi, i went there last evening~! its really fabulous and relly cool and the food is nice. we (me and hubby) ate our dinner while waiting to speak to suzanne. we are relly impressed by the deco and even the reception place seems nice. yes, we are referin to the crystal ballroom. it really looks even more grand than a lot of hotels out there.

and ytd suzanne says its $1200..

little_pig_head

hihi... new here.

I went to check out the place too! Cant agree more that the crystal ballroom is grand!! But the in-charge says must pay $1200/- + min 45 tables! My family only intended to hold around 40 tables ... :-(

Forget to mention that the in-charge mentioned that the payment needs to be settled in cash, no cheques and credit cards accepted coz' too high amount!!?? Is that so for those who already held your dinner there??

Paisey..think i remembered wrongly the amt.To me is i would rather spent abit more for hotel if i am asking to top up this amt of $$. At hotel i can even get free night stay at bridal suite..helper's room..free car park pass,wedding flavours etc etc.But of cos the pro-is they provude free flow of all drinks including beer,wine and hard liquor.So now it depend on you girls to judge tats if is worth to top up $1200 for a venue.
Umm...girls..jus to take note..the skirting of the reception table outside the crystal ballroom look ORBIANG...if any girls are taking the crystal ballroom..you may want to ask the resturant to change the skirting...it's in bright orange color with i am not wrong.

ii_yume

hi Victoria,

i went to view the ballroom last sat. i forgot abt the skirting~!!! but maybe it doesnt seem that ORBIANG to me. i have placed my deposit. the relly ORBIANG thing is the print out tht shows the bride and bridegroom's name. so LC. other thn that everything is super grand. even grander than other hotels.

i really cant justify even when i have placed the deposit.. no flavours, no bridal suit, no free car park.. my sista in law oso ask.. why choose this place? but i really like the decor.. hiaz..

Little_pig_head: suz & tony told us can pay by cash or cheque but no credit cards. our AD is on friday so they say we can even pay on monday!

Hi pk..since you have already book..then be a happy bride and dun worry too much about it k. There are many good points abt abt crystal ballroom too lei..the grand set up...super long march in...the good food and free flow of all drinks. but just take note of the little details and change them so that can make it even more grand lor..Ya..agree...the printout is really orbiang..somemore they paste it all the way from car park lift to ballroom..hope you can feedback to qianxi to do something abt it~ Maybe the next time you go down..you can take note of the skirting lor....seem like they use those skirting like we order buffet from catering like tat..

ii_yume

hi Victoria.. thank you for the advice~! maybe i make my own print out if got time. though my AD is next year.. i am really looking forward to it. now when i tink of it, i oso very very excited.. still 7-8 mths to go... ahh.. ^_^ everyone of us here must be super happy bride no matter wat.. dun let anything spoil it!

whoofy

helo ....
can't help but to join in this forum as I've placed my deposit with Hill top as well.. But my AD is a tentative date in 2008. Heehee... abit kiasu hor ??!!! But my hubby fell for the ballroom on our first visit liaoz leh !!! xP
We had place a 2K deposit, incld of the 1.2K ballroom usage fees. Initially, we were also take aback of tis additional charge. But still find it quite worth since the package is quite reasonable price. And the ballroom is so grand !!

serlen

Hi, Dear BTBs,
Jus wanna check wif u all, for the 2K deposit, how's the payment like? credit card, cash or cheque? Im oso meeting up suz tis coming week. Appreciate ur reply.

ii_yume

serene: for deposit, i think they accept all payment mode but for balance they prefer cash/cheque/nets.

i paid by card for the deposit.

ii_yume

whOOfy: my HB.. was so smitten by the ballroom he insist we have to get this ballroom. and stop looking at the others... somehow i m quite worried for their service. as there are some negatives remarks.