Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

whoofy

dear all
for me.. I'm having shot glasses as my wedding favors. Was lucky to manage to get my colleague's dad to do for me as he owns a small biz providing corporate gifts. However as I had a last minute increase in tables, I had to source alternative suppliers to make up for the shortage in the shot glass. Finally found this wedding favors website and was surprise of their fast service. As usually customisation will require at least 2 wks.. for my order, it was onyl 50pcs and collection within 1 wk. Variety & price range is rather wide to choose from. Do check out this website : http://divinefavorz.com/mall/

hweifang

do u think it's ok not to give any favours?
i'll be only inviting relatives and it will be a pity to spend the money and have lots of leftovers.

ebride

Hwei Fang: Tats a very god questn! I was thinking abt this issue few mths ago. Well I could only say its up to individual preferences..but usually favors are given whenever we attend for any banquet. If nt, guest has nuthing to bring hm as souveirs..may sound abit stingy. So I started sourcing ard for favors i.e more practical. Then I finally decided on the magnet fridge cum photoframe as my favors which is ard $1.70 per pc. Leftovers can always ask the banquet staff to collect back at the end of event. U can still give to those ppl who r unable to attend yr banquet.
Hmm did u discuss with yr hubby abt this & wats his views?

hweifang

hm... yup. may seem a little stingy. but again, like for myself, i don't really like all these little things.. getting these souvenirs were quite nice initially, but after some time, there's only so many times i'll be delighted after getting coasters... candles... magnets... photoframes (no offence) etc. so after some time, i'm also one of the guilty ones not bringing the souvenirs back. unless it's food-related like cake, cookie, chocs.

my husband also have the same view as me. it's the in-laws.. this thing abt face. sigh.. maybe i'll source for some food stuff.

hwei fang > Ya ya ya, i also have the same opinion as you .... candle, small cup, small photo frame, hp chain, i just throw them aside after the banquet. So far, the only appreciative one is CHOCOLATE coz still can eat it and is also my favourite, hee hee.

herain

hi, talking abt chocs as wedding favors. Just afew suggestions:

1) Chocolate graphics do provide chocolates weddding favors. They do hve some generic designs such as "Xi" wording or "Thank you for coming" to choose from; or you can customise your own designs on the chocs. price range from $1 and up. chocolategraphics.com.sg

2) I remember Duetforte do have some nicely wrapped choc wedding favors shown. Unfortunately, the webbie is down currently. duetforte.com

3) Get some off the shelves chocolates that has individual wrapping done in the box. Some are really nice and yummy...

kcpc

Any BTB chose 10 oct 2009 as their AD?
I've booked mine (Ballroom B).. Any advises or anyting to take note upon signing contract?
I've arrange with Suzanna to sign contract on this coming Sat.

hweifang

thanks herain for the ideas.

kcpc, maybe this is a little too late. ha. think nothing much to take note of. the package is quite comprehensive. also, they don't have much room for negotiation also.

whoofy

dear all
I'm finally back in tis forum after 2 weeks from my AD. Would like to share some of the experiences I had wif Hilltop during the wedding..
Overall everything went well as wat we wanted.. and smoothly.. So all those pre wedding worries are truly not necessary. Special thks to Kelvin & Andy for their great profession. They were very helpful thru out the whole nite. Telling us wat's coming next, which direction to walk etc.. and most importantly, asking us to relax & enjoy this once in a lifetime experiences. Even the rest of the captains were alsp very helpful. Everywhere we go, we were escorted.. And when we finally pack out stuffs to leave, they even helped us carry our barangs barangs to the car..
They had indeed follow our feedback and dedicate 1 staff to ursher guests coming out from Lift 2B to the ballroom..
Since I was still doing my make up, Andy even stand in as the "bride" during the full reheasals wif my hubby & emcees.. Key point is : walk very slowly...

whoofy

once u arrive at Hilltop, they will prepare a large serving of a dish u request for ur early dinner. My videographer, MUA, emcess and some brothers all had a share of an early dinner before the rehearsals.. and it's complimentary lor.. for me, I requested fried rice since it's easy to eat w/o much hassle.

every tiny little request we made were answered.

One sugguestion to those having their banquet @ the ballroom :
since the camera will be focusing on guests thru out the dinner, which may not be very sightly as people are eating, u can do up a simple slide show of all your photos, and play it repeating thru out the whole nite. Tis is wat we did.. at least better den filmin our guests eating..

We have received varies feedback on their food..
a few of our tables mentioned tat the fish were overcooked, and another table mentioned tat the prawns were not fresh. However most of our frens had given a thumbs UP for the food and mentioned tat they had a very full dinner. Refilling of drinks were rather prompt as well.. no complains.

If ur wedding is within tis month, I strongly recommend to top up a few dollars to include their house special mooncake. It's realy very nice.. thin skin, not too oily and not very sweet.. all of my guests love it.. Only sad thing was tat since it's serve during desert dish, most of them were too full.. and they thought it was complimentary from Hilltop, so some of the tables din eat much and leave it . So.. do ask ur relatives & frens to pass ard tat if they can't finish the mooncake, ta bao back as it's paid by u and not complimentary.

For us, we even got 1 box complimentary from Hilltop. At the end when we were back home, we had lots of food to eat since they make it a point to ta bao every dish tat we missed... which some hotels dun even provide such services..

Overall as I say, we were very pleased wif their services.. we even prepared a big ang bao for them as tips..

ebride

whOOfy: Good to hear yr banquet is a success..tks for sharing. Hmm not bad huh, got early dinner? How early is it? So yr banquet starts on wat time? My AD is early next mth & was told that Andy or kelvin maybe our coordinator as well. Anyway nxt week will go for food tasting after ROM.

whoofy

thks myfavchoco... dun forget to bring down the chinese names of parents etc for the wedding inserts as u will likely to be choosing invitation card during food tasting.

dear cheryl
u can arrive Hilltop as earli as 4.30pm if u want to. Jus approached their staff to collect the keys to the changing room once u r there. Kelvin, Andy and the technicians will be there by 5pm. Once they arrive, they will ask u wat food & drinks u prefer for dinner. They will be obliged to ur requests..
Either Kelvin or Andy will first sit down and brief thru all the "itenenary" for the nite wif u, tis inclds the whole banquet sequences ie. any wedding montage before match-in etc, ur confirmed banquet menu, table # of guests taking halah / vegetarian if you hav any.
U can also pass all the dvds, cds, vcds to the technicians to test..
Once briefing is over, u can start on a full rehearsals.. by tis time, I believe ur MUA has already arrived. So likely the groom will be the one going thru the rehearsals. For me, Andy partner wif my hubby for all the match-in rehearsals, which is also good, as he can guide my hubby the walking pace.

Just remember tat u r the king & queen.. u can ask for any requests.. so long as they can fulfil, they will do it..

minyee

hi,i am intending to book hilltop too...can anione gimme a rough guide on the total bill? saw from their web tat its nett price...so if i 25 tables,its sumting like $548 X 25 = $13700?
ani other charges to take note of?

whoofy

hi christina
no other hidden cost. U pay wat u see on the net. Unless u hav special additions of halal or vegetarian request which they will charge per pax. However if u hav 10pax veg, u can request them to count this full table of vegetarian as part of ur confirmed 25 tables.

whoofy

I'm not sure leh.. mine was the crystall ballroom @ 4th level.. so the toilet is way to the front at the reception. Though there's a toilet jus beside the changing room but it's meant for their staff. For changing rooms at 2nd level, I'm reali not sure.. but I knoe tat it's bigger den 4th level.

whoofy

yes.. we prepared shot glass as our wedding favors.
we jus pass to the staff to put them on the table. We also requested them to put alternate colors since there's 2 diff colors.

myfavchoco

whoofy,
yah.. thanks..
went for food tasting on yesterday...
nice nice.. jus tat i change the hilltop cold dish to the lobster one.. since no suckling pig.
cos the hilltop colddish really not nice.. haha

ebride

whoofy: Tks for sharing my ger.

Myfavchoco: same cold dish..gonna try later in the day Ie. Mon evening.

Garfield: $528 for veg

whoofy

hi su..
yes, the menu and price is exactly the same as per listed on their website. However, a few of us did encounter not able to hav suckling pig as the supply in the market was very scarce since the suspension of meat imports by AVA last yr. Though the ban was lifted, the cost is much higher now.. you may want to check and confirmed wif them again before decidin on which package u choose..

suying

hi hi... thks for reply.
any wedding photo to share? thought of booking for jan'09 or feb'09 - is there still enough time? but my date nt confirm yet.

bubblesting

Willing to let go a package on 14/02/2009(SAT) at Hilltop Qianxi Garden Restaurant Ballroom A. 10 to 15 tables. Selected menu SGD 538.00/table.. Menu can still be changed. Deposit of SGD 1000 paid.. Willing to let go at SGD 750.00. I have booked a MUA on that day.. Paid SGD 100.00 as deposit for my MUA.. Willing to let go my MUA FOC as well.. Email me for more details. goh_weiting at hotmail.com

tresalim

I have placed a $2k deposit with Qian Xi Restaurant (Hilltop) for 35 tables at Crystal Ballroom. Pillarless and high ceiling. Very good PERKS. I have to postpone my wedding and I'm willing to let go at a discounted price.

I have fixed it at 7 dec 08. As I've placed the deposit early, I'm able to get a better price @ $568 per table.

Have a look:

Special Wedding Package:

1) Free Flow of Hard Liquor, Red Wine, Beer, Stout, Chinese Tea and Soft Drink (Hard Liquor and Red Wine for booking of 25 tables & above)

2) Free elegant ivory sear cover for ALL dining chairs

3) free 10 pax food tasting

4) Wedding March & First Course Presentation with Special Effect

- Laser & Disco Lighting

- Smoke & Music Effect

- Projector w/ projection Screen

- Hugh Stage with LED Lighting

5)Multi-tier dummy wedding cake with champagne fountain with complementary bottle of champagne

6) Free wedding invitation cards with free printing

7) Free guest signature book

Total capacity is 65 tables

Interested parties, pls email to [email protected].

cutie_mary

Sweety - what kind of bad experience you have at Qianxi?

myfavchoco - for wedding favours, you can click on the link which I find it the cheapest for kit kat chocolate http://divinefavorz.com/mall/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=4&products_id=3

As for 'Guo Da Li', I supposed we have to distribute cakes to relatives. and for the cakes, can click on the link http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg
The gift box very pretty... and can put photo too. I intending to get it from there....unless there is better recommendation from you...

kcpc

hi sweety,what bad experience u faced?
maybe u would like to share with us?
my banquet will b next year, anything to look out for?

kcpc

Hi Tresa,
Im not sure when do you sign the contract.
I've signed recently and the contract stated very clearly NOT TRANFERABLE, there will be penalty also. I would advise you check with the person in charge, to avoid any unecessary compensation.

Btw, how do you fight for free food tasting session.. and 35 tables to be held in the crystal ballroom (Min. 45 tables)? No matter how i ask suzanna, she said CANNOT...Haiz..

kcpc

Hi Hwei Fang,
I've signed the contract.. I doubt they will grant me tht perk la..My only wish is not to have any complains (crossing my finger) on service and food, i'll be happy loh..

Actually im juz curious y Tresa managed to get the free food tasting...and hopefully she can share with us on the 'method' used... ahahaha

tresalim

haha... i onli asked whether can get the free food tasting or not.. and coz mine is a lunch on weeken, she obliged. Mebbe coz the husband was there and kept saying that he looked like hk actor n we tried to make him happi... haha

tresalim

is there anyone wo wan my date or any dates in dec 08 or early 09. I am even willing to let go of my deposit of $2k. i told suzanna tt i haf no choice but to either trsf or wait for 3 yrs (coz grandma passed away). She agreed to my trsf after my pestering. so brides to be, grab this offer! contact me at [email protected].

kcpc

Sorry to hear tht Tresa.
im juz afraid Suzanna din highlight to you on the penalty.

Anyway, your package is really veri attractive with free food tasting and banquet to be held at crystal ballroom.. no matter how muj i tried to pester suzana, she dun allow beocz i did not meet the min. tbls requirements.. so no choice lor.. have to stick to Ballroom B..But, the function room is also nicely decorated...

tresalim

thanks. Realli grateful for anyone wo is picking up my package. I was looking forward to my wedding until this sudden thing. All I can do now, is find a replacement.

Anyway, suying, u haf mail.

ferlinloh

Hi all, I have a package to let go too.

I have placed a $2k deposit with Qian Xi Restaurant (Farrer Park) for 35 tables at Diamond Ballroom. (Venue can be changed to any of their outlets). Pillarless and high ceiling. Very good PERKS. I have to cancelled my wedding dinner due to some personnel issue and I'm willing to let go at a discounted price.

Here are the details of the wedding packages:

1) Free Flow of Hard Liquor (Martell), Red Wine (Cornerstone), Beer (Tiger), Stout, Chinese Tea and Soft Drink (Hard Liquor and Red Wine for booking of 25 tables & above)

2) Free elegant seat cover for ALL dining chairs

3) 50% discount on the food tasting and if 2nd table required there will be a 30% discount

4) Wedding March & First Course Presentation with Special Effect

- Laser & Disco Lighting
- Smoke & Music Effect
- Projector w/ projection Screen
- Hugh Stage with LED Lighting

5) Multi-tier dummy wedding cake with champagne fountain with complementary bottle of champagne

6) Free wedding invitation cards with free printing

7) Free guest signature book

8) Menu package start from $498nett, $538nett, $588nett, $638nett, $668nett, $728nett

Total capacity is 50 tables

Interested pls contact me directly at my mobile 90053658 Ferlin Loh or email me at [email protected] or [email protected]