Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

joi

duh.. whoofy jo.. can upload ur scripts in text format? coz I duno y i open up ur doc, all square square, question mark question mark de wor..

by the way, anyone has the webby of the shop that sells chinese customary stuffs in jb city square ma?

whoofy

hi joi

U try saving the doc on ur desktop and den open with MS Words ? I believe the weird fonts is becos it contains chinese characters.
Or PM me ur email address so that I can forward to u...

cheekychick

Joyce, personally hor, i tink the best day to hold a dinner is on a Sat liao...Dun tink ur frens will mind dat its a V-day. After ur dinner, they can still go hapi loh cos next day is Sunday mah....unless ur frens are those who work on weekends or shifts. But then again, we cant please everyone..as long as u r hapi, can liao
Dun wori too much...my hb now at Qianxi attending his fren's dinner, lol. He juz called me, say the food is good & he is quite full sia, lol. Now he's eating noodles liao...

kelv_angie

Hi Cecilia
Im staying at blk 467 Segar Road. You?

Hi all, i have booked 1 Nov 2008 @ crystal ballroom, initially booked 20th Dec and 28th Dec. Anyone on the same day??

amylee1982

HI Kelv angie

My wedding is on 2 nov 2008 @ crystal ballroom also... hehhe...

i am staying in blk 470 segar rd... guess we are neighbour....

kelv_angie

Hi Geniebottle

We are still deciding.. Either we go for a short resort trip and later to Tazmania during Dec or go straight to Tazmania after wedding... Depending on our financial status... You?

Hi Amy Lee
I'm staying at blk 467 2nd flr.. no choice but to take the low level unit as thats the only unit left with the round balcony and facing the forest. Oh ya and im also born in the yr of 1982.. Hehe..

whoofy

Wow.. seems like most of the BTB in Hilltop stays in Punggol !!

Rather than asking each other wats our AD.. why not start a thread listing out our AD.

I'll start the ball rolling..

geniebottle

kelv_angie,

plan to go australia but my sis in law say airport tax now is $700. not worth it. Ask me go other place. =( so now still deciding.

geniebottle

HillTop Brides AD :

1.whOOfy Jo : 31 Aug 08 - Crystal ballroom
2.Joi : 16 march 08 - Crystal ballroom
3.Geniebottle : 09 Nov 08 - Crystal Ballroom

kelv_angie

HillTop Brides AD :

1.whOOfy Jo : 31 Aug 08 - Crystal ballroom
2.Joi : 16 march 08 - Crystal ballroom
3.Geniebottle : 09 Nov 08 - Crystal Ballroom
4. Kelv_angie: 01 Nov 08 - Crystal Ballroom

kelv_angie

Hi Vincent & Geniebottle

If don't go for honeymoon then wait till when??? hehe.. I think thats the only time we would bear to splurge... haiz when the date gets nearer we'll then decide..$$$$$

devilz_vinz

Wah..all the AD still so long to go..haha..still gt abt a year for u all lo..

think will still go aust..money earn is meant to be spend..once in a lifetime de ma..enjoy 1st,suffer later..hehe.

so kelv angie..where u intend to go??

cecelia446

Hi Amy Lee,Kel_Angie,

I stayed at 470 Segar too.. Very near to Angie, and same block as you Amy..
Which floor r you? You bought the executive too? Me 12 floor.. My dinner next Sunday le.. 16th Dec. So nervous now..

amylee1982

hi cecilia

i am staying with my parents.. haven buy any flats yet.. but applying now... so waitng for my queue number.. i am staying in the 15 floor?
did you just shift in?

cecelia446

Hi amy lee,

Yap, just shift in.. Haven't really tidy my house yet though.. So now very busy with packing, cleaning and wedding this coming Sunday.. So tired.. :p Find one day, we can meet up.

eowyn_1711

Dear all, i had also booked the crystal ballroom for my AD on 25th May 2008. Besides wedding favours, and wedding songs, do we need to prepare for anything else?

When will be the best time to go for food-tasting? 2 months before?

Do u all have a coordinator? Coz me and hubby booked directly from the bosses. It has been too long liao, can't really rem her name also. Hmm.... suzanne?

Chamz, suddenly feel very unprepared and my AD is on half a year away.

cecelia446

Just finished my wedding banquet at Crystal ballroom last Sunday.. This is what I felt as a bride throughout the night..

1) As the dressing room is right at the kitchen, when you were to spend 2 hours doing your make-up inside the room, you will smell of shark-fins, chicken, roasted pork.. Er...You name it.. So, remember to bring your perfume along..

2)Seafood Hor Fun will be served durig your make-up.. Pls make sure u cover yr food and drinks epecially before the make-up artist spray yr hair, she will most probably unintentionally add some 'spices' ono your food when she is doing your hair..

3)The make-up room is cold.. Bring along yr jacket too..

4) While walking out from the make-up room, walk extra carefully as the floor is very oily.. Especially if yr heels are 6 inches high..

5) Briefing will only be coveyed to yr hubby. So make sure both of you communicate well.. If not, you will be feel quite lost..

6)My Emcee is from the restaurant.. Half of the time I dun hear him talking though.. A few times, we were being left on the stage, dunnoe what's next..

7) Perhaps during your thank you speech, you can remind your guests to feel free to ask for alcohol.. As the waiters, waitresses dun refill the wine glasses unless you ask for it. We did brought along our alcohol, but end up, we didn't use any at all.

8) The rest I would not really know, bcse I didn't get to eat any food that night.. But alot of my friends commented the food is very nice. Basically as a bride, you dun get to worry at all. Cse most of the time, you will be in the dressing room.. So let your man handle everything man..:p

Seriously, I felt that alot of times, we do the routines depending on ourselves, our past experience when we attend other ppl's wedding.. My hubby says Kelvin and Andy did brief him every now and then.. But I still felt quite lost lor...

Anyway, let's be more forgiving bah.. Cse I believe kelvin and Andy were very tired and exhausted le.. Bcse I knew Sat, there were also another wedding banquet in Crystal Ballroom. And they really stayed till very late.. We left almost 12am, most of the crew and Kelvin were still around then..

Hi eowyn,

No worries... Believe me.. Anyway, you can't do much now also, as your guest lists are not out yet I believe..
Everything will turn out fine on the actual day..Just sit back and enjoy the whole process.. You will love it.. We have very marvelous parents, friends and even my photographer that help us alot.. They really made our day turn out very smoothly. So, dun panick.. No matter what happens, the couple will always be the safest.. Cse there will always be ppl around you that settles any issues without you knowing it. Good luck!!
kao_wedding.gif

kelv_angie

hi cecelia

congratulations. Its good to hear that everything went on smoothly. Oh ya how was the parking? Was there any complaints on the car park lots and crowded lift??

cecelia446

Hi kel_angie,

Thank YOu!
As I have already informed all my guests that are driving to park their car at the multi-storey carpark nearby if they see a long queue outside the club, so most of them noted abt the carpark nearby. It will be a bit troublesome if it's a rainy day though..

Lift wise, very crowded lor.. Imagine we got 54 tables of guests all waiting for 1 lift outside the ballroom, and there are guests from level 2 restaurant as well. In the end, I noticed most of them chose to climb down the stairs..

I have catch up with some of my husband's relatives yday, they told me the food is very good.. Big portion.. But the service is very bad. Apparently, one of the waitress nearly caused his aunt to trip almost 4 times. She was very pissed.. And another cousin feed back that the waiter cleared the dish without asking them whether they still want the food or not. So, these are the minor things that happened that night.

cjs

Juz finished my wedding dinner @ the Crystal ballroom last week. From the guests' comments, food portion was great, taste was definitely much better than most hotels. Service wise.. not so perfect though.. need to push the waiters to refill.. guess too busy. BALLROOM SETTING WAS IMPRESSIVE. Overall, it was a splendid wedding as Andy was there to help us out with most of the things and the crucial timings.

The only not so impressive thing was the changing room.. and the pathetic lift.. and limited parking space.. but no one really complain though.. coz so many of them had a good gathering...

For those who had chosen Hilltop, dun worry!

eowyn_1711

Hi Cecelia, thanks for the encouragement. I'm glad that u didn't have major issues on your wedding banquet. I guess minor hiccups are to be expected. Service wise, i guess we cannot really expect too much.

I guess i should really prepare my guest list now. :p

whoofy

Congrats to Cecila & CJS !!!
After reading these feedbacks, it just pop to my mind that perhaps I shld print out all these in the forum and shld to them..hmmm.. Maybe I reali can consider doing so.. esp. during my food tasting.

cjs

My photos will come later.. after 1mth of processing and editing.. I see whether got anything to share at a later stage. =)

wendily

Hi Ceilia & Amy,

I'm staying At Blk 470 too!
Still renovating my place now!
Did you see the pin up on the lift, thats my house!

LOL!!!

cecelia446

Hi all..

Happy New Year Everyone!!!! Whoever are going to get married this year, an advance congrats and happy preparing for your big day k..
Just got my photo from the photographer, still figuring how to load though.. Ke ke!! Cse, i'm quite a computer idiot.. Ha Ha! But I did load some photos into my frienster. Can Take a look. Er.. My user is also cecelia446. :p
Oops! Forgot to thank you you guys for the congrats! Once again Happi Happi New Year to all!!
Hi Wendily,
Which floor you staying? And what pin har? Can always drop by my house at 12 floor if you need any help like borrow tools or toilet.. Hee Hee!!!

devilz_vinz

how long in advance then u guy went for the food tasting??mine AD is on 16mar..plus the invitation card must choose when ar??starting to get nervous liao..

geniebottle

i was told by suzanna 2 months in advance, must call them to book.

woo.. everyone's big day seem to be earlier than mine... mine seems so faraway. =(

wendily

Hi Celia,

I'm staying on the 4th floor.

I mean, u know outside the lift, they pasted up this piece of paper, saying that there's a reno going on in one of the unit. Haha.. Thats my unit lor...

Yeah.. i think if need to borrow toilet can go up to your house...

cecelia446

Hi Vincent See,

For me, we ment for the food tasting 2 months ago. But I think it's better for you to go before chinese new year. Normally, they only allow food tasting on weekdays, as weekends they have wedding banquets going on. You should go to choose your wedding invitation cards design now if you have confirm your number of tables. As they need around one week to print your invitation cards. Then you need to tie your cards, write and post your cards accordingly.. It will take quite a while for that.

2 months before: food tasting, choose wedding cards designs, post your cards

1 month ago: confirm your guest lists,get the floor plan, ready all your wedding vcd, music to be played..

2 weeks ago: make your arrangment with them to test your vcd, songs to make sure they can be played properly..

Happy preparing yar..
Remember, have enough of rest, and relax.. If not, pimples will start making friends with you.. Really..:p Cse that happens to me and my hubby.. Ke Ke!!

Hi geniebottle,

No worries dear.. At least you have umpteen time to prepare and read our comments here to keep you prepared.. Isn't that good..
You will also realise that we can take a few months to prepare for the big day.. But the 1 day is so fast.. With one blink, everything is over.. So, be fully prepared, so that you won't regret things not done up to your expectations on that very important day.. Good Luck!!

Hi Wendily,
Just told my husband abt wat is the pin abt.. Even went to read our notice board in front of the lift. Guess, my eyes too small, didn't notice the paper.. Ha Ha!! Ya sure sure, we stock up alot of toilet paper, so you can always drop by.. Ha Ha!!
Anyway, dun you realise our living room very dim? I think 4th floor should be even dimmer.. Perhaps you would want to put strong white light in your living room.. We have 8 spot light, but still very dark to us..

wendily

Hi Celia,

Yes its very dark! Good thing is no afternoon sun, bad thing is even during the day, i think the lights have to be on!

I put a total of 10 spot lights in the living room, 10 spot lights in the dining area and 1 dining light! Agree that its very dark..

Here is a link to my reno progress if you are interested...

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=11103

Hope to meet u soon! (in the lift) LOL

cecelia446

Hi Herain,

Didn't get wedding favours for my banquet as our budget very tight during that time, with our house reno and wedding at the same time..

Did check out with my friends who got married recently whether there's really a need in the 1st place. They say actually it's not very neccessarily..Mostly, wedding favours very similar everywhere, either magnets, keychains, chopsticks or pepper containers.. Anyway, it's really up to you, how much you can afford lor.. Older generations dun really appreciate wedding favours actually.

From apart of all those common wedding favours. I think wedding cameras are not a bad idea. By putting one at every table and let your guests take pictures themselves will be fun and creative.. At the end of it, develop and post it to the guests will be a very memorable event for them to remember.. That if you have the extra cash lor..

Hi all... me just had my wedding dinner on sunday @ level 4 ballroom... the place really surprised my relative, friends and colleagues..they don expect the ballroom to be so grand and nice.. Food wise.. everybody Thumb up! all good comments... service good, food delicious and big portion, environment "nice pool side scenery" beta than those hotel ballroom. and of cos is all becos of the beautiful couple...hahaha :p.. so gers.. just rest assure... u will be the STAR on ur dae...but me and my hubby really thanks the person incharge at hilltop. without their arrangement and reminder on all things.. we might be a blur spider... specially thanks to "Kevin" he is veri detail and helpful on all things. he onli keep saying.. "smile" is wat he wants us to do. All other issue he will settle for us. He really do solve my hubby side issue.. we really have a wonderful evening with him and his team around.. THANKYOU.
And oso thanks to Suzanna, she came to check out isit everythings alright.. Appreciated their professionalism. Thankyou once again for letting me to be a swee swee bride with no worris on tat evening...