Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

yes alhana the sch std have dropped but tat was after we left! hahaha :P

well dun rem since when but when i saw gals with long hair in ahs uniform i was quite shocked...i guess they hv to keep up with time so they do away with many of those ridiculous house rules!

where did u hold ur AD buffet? im open to all possibilities lah...

is true tat u can't please everyone but most important thing is since it is ur BIG day, u shd be happy with watever style u hv choosen!

Hi blossom

We may chuck the baby with my folks to go on holiday. Kekeke..not parents yet and already thinking of ditching her :P But we may feel heart pain leaving her behind...once you see her and develop the bond, prob difficult to let go. Actually, we thought of going for a short break now, since I'm still not that big and it's safe to fly for now. But my hubby quit his job recently, so we've decided to save money first. Will always hv chance to go somewhere later on

lilac

Hehe..yah, school standard dropped after we left..i agree! We were the ones who made the school :P But in a sense, having discipline is good. My hubby was a teacher, and he said that kids now are very difficult to control. And if you hv lax discipline, it makes things even worse. Some kids dun even respect the teachers and will talk back to them, even at Pri school level!! Scary.

I had my AD at Oriental Hotel, by the poolside. It was quite nice and romantic. It was quite simple as well..no video slide shows, stage games etc. We just kept it short and sweet. I agree that you should be happy with your choice. Unfortunately, some couples are not given much choice in this matter..they have to give in to their parents. Think that's quite sad lah.

yes some kinda discipline level is definitely necessary but there r really some rules tat we hate during my time, tat we as students felt would make our sch days happier if the sch could do without them! those were e days
i tik many gals cant stand tat below knee length skirt! haha! *rebellious*

ur hub was a teacher and has quitted? any particular reason? i taught as a contract teacher b4 but found tat it is not my cup of tea :P

hee i like oriental! their poolside ah...ooo hv heard abt it but not seen it....but the idea sounds pretty romantic...
tik our parents will leave the decision to us....i guess it will all boil down to e type of feel we want for tat day....

m so glad tat is friday!!

Yah! The knee length thing drove us nuts too. Remember how some of us wld stitch up the hemline and quickly rip it down during spot checks. But the teachers were usually wise to such stunts :P

My hubby was teaching for abt 8 yrs before he quit. It's stressful, alot of politics (which he hated), bad mgmt, bad kids, bad parents...he was so unhappy. Actually, he's good at teaching, and most of his students loved him. But alot of the other stuff got to him. He used to get such bad tension headaches..now he doesn't anymore. He's trying to start his own biz selling tees and doing some private tuition as well. He's much happier now.

Hi beautiful brides to be,

Just surfing around this treasure trove of information and decided to start a thread for the exciting Hwa Chong Humanz folks...

Students past and present (?!) of Barnard, Miles, White and Burge (some Woolhead, some Perry), post away!

I'm from 96A14, so far the only batch who gave Mr Miles his glorious record of 100% As. Till today, I still dunno how I skipped from a D at prelims to an A during the A-levels. the mysteries of the universe....

Maybe those who chance upon this can start by sharing how many other couples in your batch have already tied the nuptial (not gordian) knot...

i still remember the strict school rules.

alhana,
i think your hubby made the right decision to leave. not easy to be teacher these days. i have a schoolmate who tried to go into teaching but in the end still give up. another went through the nie training but suffered too much stress and quitted too.

Hi Blossom

Yeah, I know quite alot of teachers who quit too. It's really a stressful job. Most people think teaching very good coz of the shorter working hrs and school hols. I think if not for the hols, most of the teachers wld go bonkers by now! They really do need that break to re-charge. Anyway, hols oso don't mean less work for them. most of the time they still hv to go back for staff meeting, workshops, CCA etc etc. And you can't take leave to go on a break whenever you want..it's so restrictive. Actually my hubby hated the school politics the most. He had a HOD who was only interested in protecting her ass and a principal with no balls. And just coz of their seniority, they always think that they're right, even when they're not. The worst kind of bosses.

Looking fwd to my long weekend break. On leave from Thu. And will be going for my next ob/gyn appt this Sat. can't wait to see how big the baby has grown by now
How did you gals spend your weekends?

hihi ladies

hah i agree tat teaching is a stressful job and is nvr like what others perceive....half day sch with 2 months long hols blar blar....gee they do not know tat teachers have to stay after sch for ECA, remedial classes and markings! and there are tons of other administrative stuff to take care of as far as i can recall...

it is not easy to teach at all...u hv many responsibilities....not to mention abt pressure fr parents...ur superiors...principal! hah u hv it! pressure fr all directions!

seriously not many pple can take the stress and politics make the situation worse....

alhana, so gd hving a long wkend tis week...

i didnt do much last wkend, jus catching up on sleep, so slept alot haha...was thinking of catching x-men but in the end didnt...i gonna take leave and go shopping this fri though hehe :P

Hey lilac

We watched X-Men on Sunday..didn't like it. But my colleague enjoyed it. I think it depends lah. I read the comic books and the movie really detracted from the original story....I didn't appreciate the changes coz I fel that it made the story rather lame. But then again, quite alot of people enjoyed it too. Let me know your thoughts after you've watched it

Hehe..I slept alot too. Now sit or stand too long I'd get back aches. So end up lying down in front of my TV whenever I can..end up sleeping..hehe. Lazy man. I need to shop too..supposed to start looking ard for baby furniture, like cot, diaper station etc. Sigh...I've always been very lazy when it comes to shopping. Hubby sez I'm not a typical woman as I don't really enjoy shopping. Actually, I do like it, but I usually prefer to shop when overseas, esp BKK (my favourite!) Hardly get the urge to shop in SG. Oh well, GSS is here, so I better go and see if I can get good bargains.

hey blossom, check ur mail....

alhana, hee ok if i watch it, will let u know my thoughts.

did u all watch DVC? i read the book, found tat the story line can really keep u in suspense! it makes me eager to find out the ending fast! haha! enjoyed the movie as well although some details r left out but overall it delivered my expectation!

i love shopping in bkk too although it has been long time since i went there...hv not been to hk and taiwan...will wat to go shopping there too cos i heard the things in taiwan r cheap and nice!

ya u need to source ard for ur baby stuff soon loh....u should be getting bigger now so must be pretty tiring to walk long or shop rite? gss ah can go see lor but i hate the crowd leh! tats y must take leave to beat the crowd...my mentality is if theres something i need and is a good buy then good la else theres no need to jus buy for the sake of buying

Hi Lilac

Nope, not watching DVC. I'm one of the few who don't like the book..heh. I finished the book in one day, and I must say I don't like Dan Brown's writing style. Found it rather childish, and i hated the ending!!! It was kinda lame after all the build up.

I usually go to BKK once a year..it's like my mecca. But can't go this yr liow. Actually baby stuff there are quite cheap..when I went there a few yrs back my colleagues asked me to buy things like baby clothes and milk bottles. They were much cheaper than that sold in SG. Actually I can still fly now if I want..but rather save the money lah.

I hate shopping crowds too. Whenever I go to town, I'll go early in the morning and leave right after lunch, just to avoid the bulk of the crowd. I hardly window shop as well. Like you, I'll only buy stuff i need the item.

alhana,
didn't do much during weekends. i usually do hsework and laze around. i watched x-men last night. i dun like it either although i never read the comics. my hubby likes it though.

yah, it's about time for u to start shopping for baby stuff before you get too big. there is a motherhood fair at expo now. there is also 20% discount at kiddy palace.

lilacgal,
wow so good, can take leave to go shopping. i hate crowds too but can't take leave to go shopping now, quite busy at work.

i heard the dvc is not as good as the book but i didn't read the book so will be giving the movie a miss.

ok, will check email later. paiseh for replying late.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Hi Blossom

Did go down to the motherhood fair just now..nothing much leh. Will probably chk out the hypermart in kaki bukit one of these days.

So how are your holiday plans coming along? Still deciding where to go?

hello ladies...ah i was in town shopping juz now! yes i took half day leave keke...will be taking another half day leave tmr also...hehe i bought a couple of bags at discounted price

alhana haha bkk every year ah....ok not bad la the place...quite cheap mah....can eat, do massage and lots of shopping! ya theres tis big place at kaki bukit tat sells baby stuff...tik it has got lotsa things in there....is double storey yet they still got to display their stuff outside the shop :P u shd go check it out there.

blossom ya tik u r busy at this time of the month....is ok la u take leave during ur off-peak days lor...no need paiseh lah...sometimes im also quite slow in replying....keke

alhana,
i saw the hypermart in kaki bukit before. i think there are two stores there. i used to pass by that area quite often.

still can't decide where to go. my hubby is doing the planning, will discuss with him this weekend.

oh, i miss shopping in bkk but i heard not very safe to go there now. my colleague went and said the people there dun like s'poreans. really hope can go there shopping with friends.

lilacgal,
wow, looks like you are a bag lover. i no time to do shopping yet. maybe this weekend but have to squeeze with crowds lor.

actually, i have a lot of junk at home, no place to put new buys. my wardrobe is bursting. sigh, having own place must clear up on our own. both me and hubby are lazy bums, so you can imagine our place in a mess.
maybe i should spend sometime clearing my hse first. there are a lot of clothes and things that i have not used for donkey years. if i clear away those stuff, there will be space for new things or at least my place won't look so cluttered.

hahaha... i whole mth also busy one. i do a lot of adhoc stuff actually.

I'm from the 82-91 batch.

The school looks completely different now...

Just the other day, I saw a bunch of old secondary level teachers shopping around in Tangs and it was so nostalgic. They still look somewhat the same! Think they've retired long ago...

Anyone still remember Mrs Teo? She is the very fierce math teacher in Pri sch. Thanks to her I scored A* for my Math
Really miss her.

Sec there was also a Mrs Teo. She taught Geography. That one really dislike me cos I always skipped her class. Hahaha...

Yes, I remember the Mrs Teos!!!

The Pri level one always wore cheongsams to work and brandished a cane in class. I never encountered her though...

The Sec level one was short in height and she taught me English one year and Geography all the way. In my last year, she developed an addiction overload to Tresor perfume and made me hate the scent forever.

u guys from the sec sch section? i was from the Pri section.

I think i might have rem wrongly.. think it was Miss Yap not Mrs Yap.. Miss Yap was in-charged of Brownies and Girl Guides i think...

My Maths teacher was Mrs Chin! she was wonderful.. any of u rem Mrs Ooi? she taught me in Pri 1.. and there was a Mrs Bingham too....

Hahaha... that's so funny!

The Geography Mrs Teo really dislikes me. She said she was actually confident of a 100% passes that year but cos of me, she probably wouldn't achieve that. I heard she still mentioned my name after I left sch. Hahaha...

Hi every one
I'm from the pri sch....80-85...Oh that's so looOOOOng ago! Hmm...that makes me your senior

Ah....Mrs Teo...her cheongsams & ruler/cane...i always kena by her coz Maths my worst subject

I remembered queuing up to be slapped by her for every wrong answer made. Traumatic for us then. Wonder why no one complains then.

Still, when i had A for PSLE Maths, I went back to school to thank her personally.

Lost contact with all my classmates now...

Bear, I attended from Primary level too, I remember all the names now that you mention it.

Do you mean Mrs Oei who taught Pri 1?
Mrs Oei is the most patient teacher I know, but there was this very naughty Indian gal called Ann in my class that made her lose her last bit of patience one day and Mrs Oei shoved her into the broom closet!

Snow, oh its spelled Mrs Oei. I kept thinking was Mrs Ooi! heh... ya she is super duper patient and she always has an extra sandwich for gals who has no $ for recess.

Oh yes, i always rem that i kept losing my badge and name tags! do u guys have the prob? heehee... and also when we left Pri 3 and changed into Pri 4 uniform, i was lazy to bring my PE and just did PE in the top! got punished a few times for doing that.

Anissa and Kimeoki!

My maths teacher is mrs teo!

I lost all my classmates..haa...maybe you gers are my classmates? kek kek kek..

Last year I met Mrs Teo she was in hospital..I said Hi to her and she of cos couldn't rem who I was..haa..

She has aged alot but still wearing CS!

I remember the painted rusty badge that we used initially in the earlier years, I was in the yellow house. Later they "upgraded" the badge to a laminated one and it didn't rust so easily but I still liked the old one cos it was so "retro".

The shoes were also an item. I remember we all start off with the china doll cloth shoes, and there were some "richer" gals that came in the patented Clark shoes. When we reached the senior years, all vainly started to adopt the fashionable pointy toe pumps or laced up sneakers. Anything was ok, so long as it was totally black... The shoes code was real flexible and I think we were the probably the vainest school in S'pore then!

haaa......snow I am from the blue house! haaa...yah..i not so rich lah..me wearing those ah mah black shoes..kek kek kek

yup..lots of envy from other schools cos our shoes are black!

ya ya, i rem both badges.. but i prefer the older badge without the laminate... machiam antique! heehee.. i rem there was this ah ma who has no teeth and cleaned all the loos.. she was always picking up sch badges around the sch. so i made frens with her and get to keep all the blue badges!

Blackhawfwife, I also blue house leh!! now there are new names for the colours liao.. Blue = sapphire, yellow = topaz, red = garnet, and green = emerald. they got the t-shirts too! they introduced this when i was in Pri 4 i think....

Love the black shoes too! i nv needed to wash my shoes on wkends!! but hor i hated those china doll shoes cos u can't run in them and they are super slippery...

I really miss the canteen food and the snacks! We also used to have finger nails checking after recess and I always envied my friends who were fingernail chewers! I never learnt the art of nail chewing till this day...

I was from the Yellow house! The green and blue houses were always the ones which emerged 1st on Sports Day.

Yeah, agree that we were vain! I love the black shoes. So stylist! I remember wearing my skirt real short and putting a black/white sweater over the uniform b4 hitting Orchard Rd after sch!

I joined the yahoo! friends thingy and managed to find back some of my ex-schoolmates.

Speaking of canteen food, I miss the char siew rice! Btw, I know the vendor's niece. She is now the proud owner of a donut shop @Burlington Square.

What are you gals doing btw? Which line I mean. Sure miss the good old days!

Anissa, ya the blues and the greens always win the interhouse comp.. heehee... i also joined the yahoo sch frens and met a couple of old frens but nv go and actively contact them... i m a biologist now...

Still rem Mrs Yeo's hb was helping out in the canteen! do u rem that?

I miss the chicken rice served with the black sauce, curry chicken and the chilli fish cake!

I'm doing product management at StarHub now...

Din now about the Yahoo sch frens thingy, think I'll hop over for a look!

BTW, I was browsing through the current MCS website and chanced upon this newsletter: http://schools.moe.edu.sg/mcs/newsletter.html
Saw a teacher I recognise!!! -Mrs Pang. Though she's never taught me before... She's been there for 30yrs and is still there, WOW!!!

Thanks for the link Snow! i can even sing the sch song now.. too bad they din give a short history of the sch.. haizzz..

I rem Mrs Pang... she tot me once in Pri 3 or 4!! she is still in charge of swimming!! too bad they nv have a list of teachers there...

Oooooh... my saliva is drooling now! Hahaha... I love that chicken rice with dark sauce and the 20 cents chilli fish cake. Yummy yummy!!!

I'm currently an AM with DUCKtours. Tough job. Recently went for some job interviews and somehow my boss caught wind of it *hiaz*

Anyone of you married btw??

I'm married, since 2000.

StarHub does have job openings. You can search for available openings at: http://asp.starhub.com/joinus/index.asp

I used to be in the swim team too. The teacher in charge then was Mrs Ng. She taught me Science in P5 and Mrs Chin taught Maths. There was a certain school vacation where I was working temp doing mail insertions for Mrs Bingham's son...

Hey, I used to be in the swim team too!

I heard Starhub pays well and they give staff recognition. I have a friend, Richard Ang who works there and he seems to be doing well.

I'm married with a 9 mth old boy.

Btw, I happen to chance upon this website which pays you for reading ads of your preference. Anyone who is interested in earning extra income and pm me at [email protected]

Hey Anissa, then it seems we must know each other! I remember that the Geography Mrs Teo was in charge of the Sec. swim team... Did you use to compete too? I remember going for National heats...

StarHub is okay... It depends on where you work, get what I mean? *Wink*

A friend has recommended me to the email ad thingy too!

Hi snow,
I think I am 1 yr your senior. I was not that gd that I could participate in National heats lah. You remember Wei Yen? That one is a gd swimmer. There is Miow Ping also if you remember her.

I think the email ad thingy is interesting. I have a friend who made $1k-$2k a mth from such websites. At first I was a little skeptical abt the whole thing but it sounds logical and they don't spam my mailbox which is what I feared.

Miow Ping definitely sounds familiar. I used to be neighbours with the Lim sisters, you know Rita, Linda and Sherlyn? They were swimmers too...

I've yet to receive anything from the email ad thingy so I can't say for sure it is good money.

Rita sounds familiar.

The email ad thingy is still at beta stage and will only start in July so we won't know. At the moment I have only referred 8 persons to it. Hahaha... need to hit 20 before I can see results leh.

Oh... You mean the gold membership...

BTW, I still have some old school mags/yearbooks. Must go dig them up sometime to refresh my memory.

yooo...hows everyone?? hv been busy at work last week...tis week still ok...can take a breather....

hey alhana, how did ur checkup go? hows baby growing? did u manage to shop for ur baby necessities?

blossom, check ur mail! i also need to pack up my things....cos parents also moving house soon....geee got lotsa stuff to dump and pack man! *faint*