Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

hello ladies,

how's everyone? blush, pitterpatter, snipsnap - long time no see you in this thread!!!

starstar, you look really really pretty!
very happy and radiant too! congrats!!

hi starstar,

hehe, u oso nv see my pics before mah, how u noe? :P hehe...

congrats again... must take good care of urself for AD! it's creeping up on you. time really flies!

hihi starstar,

yep! just saw ur photos....u look ravishing! so preety preety leh.
the photos are very well-taken too...
so, looking forward to your AD next? hehe.

thanks ladies...

anyway just got my PS album last sunday...very happy it turn out very nicely laid out...
trying to upload onto the net... I'll inform u all once ready...

Hi all~
i just discovered this thread today.
anyone spotted Mr Yao (or was it Yow) on tv recently? he's getting some serious exposure for the MOE recruit drive.

altogether now...."hao dang cuo er qi xiang xiong~" ( i never understood the lyrics of our school song! )

Heh, I nvr knew the lyrics of the song..my mandarin sucked. Its amazing that i actually survived 4 yrs in that school, and even did CL1 for that matter.

i born in 1980 :P

but some of the teachers' nickname is long lasting....i heard from my cousin the music/choir teacher is still called 'huang neow neow'. heehee.

and Bunsen lee ? (the science teacher named after the bunsen burner)

i actually still remember some of the lyrics to that sch song haha... i miss those days.... this period our classroom will be decorated for CNY...

happy new yr too all ah juniors & seniors...

hi anyone there from st marg's getting marry?
i saw this thread but realise it ended 3 years ago... tot of wanting to revve it...

OMG
i'm 1979!
you're my junior! probably wld have seen u ard!
what a coincidence!
Yup
Huang niao niao
bunsen lee
potato yao

(i think my batch gave them those nicks! haha!)

Do u remember in sec3 there was a talentime competition? my class was the one that won the top prize. we wore white tops and black skirts/pants with boots.

i miss AHS a lot.
for all its rubbish and weird rules (pple too!)
it's one special place, unique to the world out there.

Congregate, ye TJC!

Remember the sch cheer:
"Say we are the best,
so u'd better not mess.
u'd better not fool,
coz we are cool.
*clap, clap, clap clap clap,clap clap clap clap*
TJ!"

haha genesis...this is a small world...i m also ex-tjcian. but no surprise lah.... a lot of AH pple go to TJ :P:P:P

me from comm-arts. now no more commerce liaoz/.

hahaha yami, u're right.
a whole bunch of AH pple end up at TJ or TPJC.
Gosh, i think i wld almost definitely know u at least by sight??????

comm-arts? Me too! i was from the "human" class (aka the humanities class)

hi Tougei, i'm from the 96 batch. how abt u?

Hi genesis,

I'm the 94 batch. Sigh, so old liao. But I'm from Science. I really enjoyed my time in TJC, missed the studying life. Now working not so fun
Who's your GP teacher??

Hi yami, you mean now TJC doesn't offer commerce classes?? How can?

yah no more commerce classes. mine was the 2nd last batch. not only TJ, i think all JC dun offer commerce already.

actually i find TJ a bit too stressful... maybe it's my yr.... but its like all study n no play.
:P i prefer my sec sch days cos we play more hahaha

Hi Yami, oic
But like that where do all the commerce students study then? Can they go straight to SMU bypassing JC? Hmm, think I'm too out of touch with the education system in S'pore now.

Haha, my experience was opposite from yours. My secondary school was sooo stressful that TJC seems more relaxed in comparison. I had tests every single week in my sec school such that every weekend gotto stay home to study. Very sad life

Wah, I still remember that I hated my economics lessons. Got this angmo lecturer (forgot name liao) and I kept falling asleep in his lecture
Still, think my GP lessons are the most stressful - all the essays and comprehensions. Urrggh!!! My tutor was Mr Francis Tong. Of all my tutors, he left the strongest impression on me (got both good and bad
) Anyone was taught by him too??

OOOOH! francis tong!
Hahahhahaha! i got caught playing "dai dee" while skipping some lecture. my friend and i were sent to his room. we were quivering with fear and expecting the worst. to our surprise, not only did he spare us his lecturing, he even said we looked like "good girls" & didn't expect us to "do something like that"...... I was stumped. wasn't 3/4 of the world playing either dai dee or Bridge whenever they could at the canteen or anywhere in TJ??????

my civics tutor is ms norsheha. fiesty punch she packs.

Tougei, i rem that angmo lecturer. MR MALCOM FROST! Thanks to him, i finally dropped that dreadful subject at the end of yr 1. he was not only one of the boring lecturers, he was my econs tutor too!!!!!!!

Hmmmm.....i think TJ was too "muggy"...being in the humanities class, we were expected to perform above the rest. that meant nothing but essays & essays & essays & ...... u get my drift.

AHS was fun. somehow the frightfully cheena culture and our inherent resistance made it a delightful experience. sounds morbid eh? Credit goes to our weird AHS teachers who barely taught us anything. (except for Mr Yao & Miss Loh, who were fantastic teachers albeit their absence on the pupils' popularity list.)

Formula for AHS then was:
teachers + nothing substantial learnt = fun + good grades

weird formula, but it worked!

haha.....TJ was on the other hand, bordering on the ostentatious & pompous side. Altho i enjoyed my JC days, it's the days in AHS that give me a warm, fuzzy feeling.

ok.....now i really feel old.
*sits on a rocking chair and rocks wistfully*

hihi starstar,

jus saw ur pics...u look gorgeous!!
have been v busy recently
so havent been popping in here....seems like its rather quiet here these days also. hope everyone is getting on fine...

yo all....erm bet all of you guys dont believe...before typing this..i am using my HP to calculate which yr i graduate from PC. Hahahaa....cant believe it i actually graduate same year with gim here!!! Also from 6G siah...hahahahahaha...

actually PC brought me back many many many bad memories..but of cos i am eternally grateful to my P4 chinese teacher - mdm lee da lan. Thanks to her full support and encouragement
for all those years.

Is it? Lost touch already. Every time I pass by the school, just envy the new building. Me old ex-girl liao. Graduated in 1991. Jingles, what abt u?

Hello Mei Mei Men

Haha! No one can beat me. I'm the oldest SNG to be lurking in this forum. LOL

Anyone 1989 batch? Heard that Xiaozhang started an education school for children.

Just wanna find out. If you've got daughters, will you send them to SNG?

Yeah sunnygal - also miss the old building where all our classrooms situated in shape of octagon. Not to mention also miss the old pastor...friendly

hahahaha i was tryin to recall that lousy ang mo tutor's mah...yeah snowman FROST..... lucky my econs tutor quite good..(mrs teo or mrs lee ...aiyah cant remember...it's that very well dressed - everything same colour form head to toe tutor..)

played a lot in Ahs...though also got commn tests etc...but overall v fun leh. tj teachers stress us a lot.... n dun remember our names hahaha (but i also cant remember theirs...)

Hello gals! Im an ex-PHS gal as well. I've grad in 1992.
Yap, agree that the new school really look much better compared to my time but I still miss those days.....

Glad to find this thread looking for ex-PHS!

Hi all seniors, i grad in year 2000. the new building is nice but i also didnt get to use it although we have to donate to the buidling funds... =(

care to share who were ur fave teachers?

Hi there...oso frm PHS grad 95....dun tink most of the teachers are still there after 10 years....fave would be Maggie Lim if anyone of you still remember...btw the thread says ex-schoolgirls meeting place but i m an ex-schoolboy...does that mean i m a little extra here???just happen to chance upon the thread....

Seem that I am the oldest here so far. Aiyo, don't seem to be a good sign leh. haha. Anyone have any idea if they are inviting us back since the anniversary in around the corner. Actually, most of my memories are in ECA. I am in the concert band. Last time, don't reallt know how to think and spend lots of time in ECA. SO, results not too good, but there's lots of fun and good memories in here. Any ex-band members around? Can tell me who's the instructor now?

Hi alpy_l,
no problem, just join in. I didn't even remember PHS has a teacher by the name of Maggie Lim. I think really old liao.

wah never expect i can find so many ex-PHSians here ...Marilyn not sure leh cos they just place a banner out there...dont know if they are inviting us or wat.

My fav teacher...will be a lady Geography teacher called Mrs Tung. Though she may be very fierce but she really inspire and made me a better person

Hi Alpy

yah..i remember Maggie Lim, she was my form teacher and English teacher... is she still teaching? i tot I heard that she went Japan or something...

surprised to see so many PHS pple too...Secondary school days were the best...so carefree and fun.

hi all, i grad in yr 92...same as.....(fat)
hi fat, u gal? from which class?
i lost contact with most of the classmates liao except for 1 friend.

jingles, Is Mrs Tung-ET? Never taught by her, but heard that she's real good. Not many teachers had inspired me so far. Can only thing of Mrs Joseph.

jingles, Is Mrs Tung-ET? Never taught by her, but heard that she's real good. Not many teachers had inspired me so far. Can only think of Mrs Joseph who taught me when I'm in Sec 1.

Yes marilyn! She is Mrs Tung...though she is not the kids all time fav but i find that she had taught me many things and had applied it thru my uni days too. Another of my one fav teacher is mrs dhillon who taught me literature - really love her lessons when we were going thru charlotte web

is maggie lim the literature teacher? if she is, then i tink she was still with PHS until when i was sec 3, ie 1999. she gave birth to a very cute baby also! not sure where she went though..

as for mrs joseph, history teacher rite? she was very very fierce leh...

Blue

I remember Mrs Joseph and Mrs Tung.wah...suddenly can remember all the teacher's name...One I will never forget is David Wang( old Principal).His car always get scratched by Ah bengs

hahaa the david wang is so funny...seriously i dont think he is a very good principal...but i definitely respect the disciplinary master - cant remember his name but he is a short round indian man.

Secondary school is much fun though PHS is not a SAP school or anything it had brought me many good and enjoyable times
Although some of the teachers esp the Chinese teachers are not that inspirational (that is why my CL almost flop!!!), i will definitely still choose to go back there if someone turn back the clock...

By way anyone interested to go back to their annivesary??