Club Chinois

doggal80

Hi Mawis,

Thanks so much for the info.
Hehehe...actually not a bad idea to get your guests to wear black cos u will be the only person in white gown.

I didnt know that we can request for red roses or any other special decor?

Your pics look great n both of u so happy.
Guess what? I am also wearing green for the night gown....such a concidence.

I will only be taking my bridal pics in Mar09.

Congrats ya. :)

mawby84

Heys jac,

u can choose white, pink or red roses in any combination for the floral deco.

Heys annisan, my PG is Tuckys photography, no regrets going to them

doggal80

Hi Mawie,

Cornelius didnt exactly mentioned this to me.
Mmmm...so do i actually informed them a mth before your dinner about the decor?
Or how do i go about that?

Oh yes, did u order any wedding cake for your dinner n was there any additional charges involved?
Did u get Tuckys photographt to do your dinner photography n videography?

Thanks ya. :)

mawby84

Heys ladies,

My pre-wedding was $2280 (with 24 page twin album) and actual day $800. yes they do provide videography as well, but cox I did not engage one, so cant recall the price

Jac, Cornelius would confirm with you a month prior to your wedding when you submit the photo for 'Mystamps' wedding favor.

Nope i did not order a wedding cake as the food portion is huge, so would not be able to finish... BUT.. my father-in-law's birthday falls on 13 Feb, so would do a inpromptu bdae celebration for him too with a small cake
with the wine toasting.

I had engaged Tuckys only for pre-wedding and actual day fyi.

doggal80

Thanks so much, Mawie.
I was initially hesitating n concerned if I have selected the right place.
But the information u provided really gives me the assurance that everything will be what I have hoped for.
Thank you. :)
Hope to be able to see pics of your wedding dinner.

kaijing08

Hi anybody held their dinners at CC restaurant, I'm just wondering how is their table setting, ambience like, and any comments on their chairs? I thought it looks funny.

mawby84

Heys Jac, u're most welcome. guess it was easier for me to relate to your queries as I myself had the exact concerns on the location

Kai Jing, if you are referring to the floor plan of the restaurant, it is available on the website. as for comments on their chairs and ambience. it is up to individual i guess. Given my take, I tink the leather chairs look pretty classy and its comfy (from my experience during the food tasting). Ambience wise, no complaints too.. I like the opulent theme with reds and blacks, not forgetting that its complemented with their courteous and attentive staff.

doggal80

Mawie, thanks so much. :)

Kai Jing, I agree with Mawie. The leather chairs will give a different feel than the normal wedding dinner which one attends to. The restaurant actually gives a very cozy ambience too.

kaijing08

Thanks Mawie and Jac.
Really need all the info I can get since I'm doing this from overseas, I can't be there to see for myself until I return to sg.

I'm concerned about the march-in, is there going to be space? Also, is it a straight through march-in or an L-shape? My brother went down for site visit and from his pictures, seems like won't be marching-in from the main entrance?

doggal80

Hi KaiJing,
If I recall correctly, will be marching in from another entrance. Mmmm...should be enough space if they keep 17 tables in the main hall.

kaijing08

Hi gals, i just saw the floor-plan. Think I know how to handle the march-in. Thinking of doing something different for my march-in.

mawby84

Heys Kai Jing,

yup the march i is from another entrance with a straight march in of about 3 tables length, clearly visible if you use the staircase from the hotel lobby.

Similar to Jac, I had been liaising with Cornelius, so far so good

kaijing08

Ok, i'm abit peeved by the fact that Eric hasn't said anything since the food tasting, and we paid for it somemore. But hb says it could mean that there are alot of pple eyeing the date, so what are we waiting for..and i was like =_=...didn't know he sees it that way.

And I can't help getting distracted about the food even though i wasn't there to eat it and might not even get a chance to....so.... =)

doggal80

Hi Mawie, can i enquire with u about the reception table?

From your previous msg: Jac, the reception table will be placed on the left side of the restaurant entrance (corridor area).

are u referring to the foyer area with the staircase leading to the hotel's main lobby? or it will be placed right outside the restaurant's entrance?

Thanks gal.

mawby84

Heys Kai Jing,

Could be due to the volume they are handling leading to the oversight. Did ur family fill up something like a grading card where each dish is individually graded i.e. A, B or C and improvement areas. After you finish the dinner, they will keep a photocopy and call you up to follow up the next day.

Personally, I feel they had been getting more well known for the good food and affordable prices, so the demand is there so if you are really keen, would be good to reserve the date you want asap

Jac, the reception table will be placed right outside CC, on the left side (if you are facing CC). They will combine two of the tall chairs (currently used in CC) for the recep to sit.. (tink its quite nice)

doggal80

Hi Mawie,

Thanks so much for the info.

Cos Cornelius told me that it will be placed at the foyer area n I am worried that my family n friends might not noticed it (cos another wedding dinner at the ball too).

Maybe I need to request for it to be placed at the CC entrance where u indicated.

Yea, I agree with u on the big chairs used. It will be so outstanding. Hehehe. :)

mawby84

Heys Jac,

you're most welcome

The other recep table for banquet held at Antica ballroom will be put up near to the lift, which is quite a distance from where CC is, think should not cause major confusion.. *keeps fingers crossed*

kaijing08

Hi Mawie,
Nothing was filled out. I have not tried CC food before though I've eaten at other Tung Lok restaurants, so I got them to go down and try 3 dishes from the banquet and we paid for it.

I've just spoken to Eric - he still didn't mention anything about the food tasting session.
Grrrr~~~~~
Though he is fairly prompt in his replies.

I have tentatively reserved the place. Was deciding between CC and Grand Corpthorne Riverfront ballroom...and I have to agree, the setting at CC rest is different from the normal based on the pics I've seen so far..

Just to check do you gals actually have an empty reserve table? like you book 27 at the restaurant, but 1 is empty reserve?

mawby84

Heys Kai Jing,

Yup I had no choice but to squeeze 18 tables in the main hall (resulting to the zig zag march in and so on) cox my guest list has a total of 23 tables.. but i informed Cornelius I am going for 21+2.

kaijing08

Haha..ok.

I've been using this on the old folks to stop them from adding more pple - "I can't fit any more people. If not, i will sit them at the private area..you want? Don't want then stop adding".

doggal80

Hiya,

Mawie>> Yea...keeps fingers crossed. All should be great. No worries. Hehehe. Me was also thinking about putting 18 tables in the main hall but scared cramp. Do keep me updated. :)

Kai Jing>> For mine, 20+2reserved. Bu trying to keep it to 20 tables. Hahaha. Still deciding on the menu too. Headache headache. :p

kaijing08

Jac>>
Still not decided? Mine will be Elegance because I don't meet the minimum requirements for CC cos I don't wanna invite too many pple and I don't want my guests in the private area, so gotta upgrade menu. Looks exciting to me though. And from my folks who tried the fish, duck and mee sua..it's very good. Esp the duck, it was impressive.

Have you gals seen the bridal suite? Any pics to share?

doggal80

Hi KaiJing>>> I agree that if my tables are lesser than the requirement, then I definitely will take Elegance. But scared there might be possiblilty that will be more than 22 tables. Which is why I am still considering. Tung lok food is good so no worries about that.
:)

What do u mean u dun meet the min requirement? Cos i thought need at least min 20 tables????

doggal80

hehehe...actually i also prefer Elegance cos can eat abalone. but my mum keeps telling me that there is no way i will be able to sit n enjoy the food. sad. so still discussing with my hubby to be. :p

kaijing08

Yup, the minimum is 20. But i'm getting only 17 mah..haha. Fill out the restaurant and I don't want to put people in the private area.

Yeah, Elegance looks really good..hmm..abalone? Ok lah, I get to eat it during cny..so..
But my eyes lit up when I saw duck and mee sua. So far, have not seen these 2 on the menus of the banquets I've been to.

But I thought you can request for the food to be sent up to your room during that day? I am thinking of doing that actually. Otherwise how? I think the food is interesting enough that's why I book that place, but if can't eat..then abit lugi right..not $$ sense lah, but food experience sense.

doggal80

Ok...but did u enquire from them about any conditions? If i recall correctly, previously i was told that if i only have 19 tables full...i can still come back n eat for the empty table.

Ya, abalone can eat anytime. My mum says will buy a lot for me to eat. Hahaha. But if pay so much, also must have some chance to eat on some dishes mah. Like u say, will lugi lei.

:) However, i still want my guests to come n have a great time. Especially i want them to come n enjoy the good food.

kaijing08

Ok I hope i can eat abalone that day.

Yah, the condition is I take Elegance menu which we don't mind and i need to pay for barrel beer at S$600+, banquet wine at S$22+ per opened bottle and floral arrangements at S$450+.

I told my mum the mee sua sounds special and she was like...pls leh..you want i cook for you when you come back. I was like =_="""

This Friday paying deposit, and 1 less thing off my mind.

Jac>> when's your AD?

doggal80

Hi Kai Jing>>> not bad lah. my AD on 13Jun09. When's yours?

Mawie>>> yea, can chat online. then also get more info. :) luckily not working on CNY. else sure exhausted.

So who is your BS? How was your outdoor photoshoots?

kaijing08

Jac>>>> AD on 4th Oct 09. Just paid initial deposit for CC today.

BS not decided. Looking at quite a few places but can only decide and confim in Apr. Only doing AD PS and most prob just take one big picture to be mounted and used as guest scroll - intend to frame it up after the AD. But i think the PG should be treating the 2nd case as a mini outdoor PS based on per hr charge out rate.

What about you gals? How's the bridal and PS? Think Mawie's is Dang?

doggal80

Hi KaiJing, my BS is Bliss Bridal n having a package with them. But for dinner, might need to look for someone else. You still have time to prepare...hahaha, me rush rush till headache now. :)

Mawie, added u in hotmail but not sure if correct or wrong. U can add me on msn too. My email is [email protected]. Thanks.

ferlisb

Hi ladies, do u think there will be any discount if we get extra room from the hotel on AD dinner?

What is the max tables u gals are planning to have?

mawby84

Heys Jac,

yes i did receive your msn messages... but when i got back to my laptop.. din manage to catch u online sorry sorry

Heys Ferlis,

from what i checked with Cornelius, he said it wasn't possible... but u could check on the hotel websites, they often have some promotions for e.g. my friends got a room booked at 199 nett per night for my AD (quite reasonable i thought).

i should be having about 25 tables.. where i need to house some tables in the private area which have no view to the stage. hope the food and company will make their trip worthwhile.

doggal80

Hi Ferlis>>> Yea, I also needed to get extra room as well, but was advised the same which Renne indicated. So keep a lookout on OPH website. No exact confirmation but hoping to keep it between 20 to 22. When u having your AD?

Mawie>>> Hehehe, no pro. I just needed to enquire on more infor about how I should go about dinner as well. So u holding at ballroom? Cos u got 25 tables now. I hoped that I can get a reasonable price for an extra room. :)

mawby84

Heys Jac,

had kinda predicted that i might exceed the minimum 20 tables requirement sometimee late last year but when i called Cornelius to check, he said another couple has booked the ballroom already. I will be sticking to CC and see if I can do anything to get around the 'no view' issue, had proposed to Cornelius on having a projector screen inside the room which shows the stage view via live feed.. waiting for his response.

I am usually online during office hours and sometimes in the evening. Hope to chat wif you more on msn soon

ferlisb

Renee, mawie & Jacqueline >> Hi gals, really appreciate and thank for urs advise =D

Jacqueline>> I be having mine on 28 Dec (Mon) which will be exactly the same date as my rom =D
We will try to keep it to 28 tables. As the Ballroom is quite small,Eric told us that the area will be cramp if we have 30 tables.

doggal80

Hi Mawie>>> I think it is a good idea to have a projector screen so at least guests wont have to rush out to view. Hehehe. Me still praying to keep the tables to the min requirement else too tiring. Yea, hope to chat soon. :) Haha, I am mostly online in the evening.

No pro Ferlis. U holding your ROM at the same hotel?

doggal80

Ferlis>>> My ROM will take place on 28Mar09 at Peony Jade. Oh no, I have to lose a lot of weight cos eating n eating non-stop. :)