Club Chinois

may04~b2b

Hi anyone had theirs/gonna have theirs at Club Chinois-Orchard Parade Hotel??
Pls tel me if i shd choose Deluxe or Superior package???
I've seen the thread on "Orchard Parade Hotel" not much was really mentioned...

pls advise!!!

Arigato

yougurt

hello, Alice
Which package you choose? your date is in May?
You have already booked Club Chinois? Any comment? I have booked the Superior Package.

Regards.

fanyong

I have booked mine with them. Think mine is deluxe but after food tasting, we may have to change some dishes... depending on whether parents like it or not..

Any of u know what the waiters/ waitresses wear? cos me thinkingof wering a cheongsum as EG, but worry i may look like head waitress if they wear cheongsum too.

Hi yougurt, when is ur AD?

garfield33

Hi fanyong,

May i know how's yr food tasting and why do you want to change some dishes? Is it caused it's not nice?

yougurt

Fanyong & garfield33,

Mine is in Sep. You?

How is the food there? i thinking of having food tastin in June. Why change dishes leh?

I dont know what they wear, you might want to check with the co-ordinator?

maiden78

halo gals!

im also very interested to hold my banquet at club chinos as im v attracted to its cozy but modern feel.anyway,im so happy tat tis thread exist!

i jus rec their wedding pkg quotation n find it really reasonable. moreover, e superior package seems v attractive.

hi fanyong, yougurt

can i jus double check wif u? cos i rec their pkg attachments n it states tat there is no service charge... izit true? im v amazed n pleasently surprise wif tis statement!

btw,fanyong when is ur AD?

yougurt

Maiden,

You are right that there are no service charge!
So the package looks very attractive. in term of price. I initially also choose superior package but after all, think that deluxe is more worth value for money, thats y decided to change. you sign with them already?

maiden78

hi yougurt!

im stil in e process of gathering my infor on e venues tat i wan so haven sign up wif them yet... btw, i haven even been to walk e ground yet.. but club chinos is def my first priority

yougurt

Maiden,

What is the reason make you think that CC is the best for you? For me, i feel that the place is too small and not enough to gather for my need. By i after other factors consideration, still go back to CC.....

maiden78

i yougurt!

i think e main reason tat attracts me to cc is cos its under tung lok.. furthermore, i think e price is also v reasonable as well.. btw, my other other choice is raffles marina but gotta go view both places then can make better comparison..

oh, so u find e place at cc too small/ btw, hows e embience like?

yougurt

Maiden,

The place, decoration is ok. but there are pillars. the ceiling not very high. But the compliment of this venue is the food is nice, worth money, located at orchard etc etc. i did consider marina as well but find that it is very inconvenient to my guest. So finally decided CC. At least for elderlist,, the food is nice and they will not complain. u get what i mean.

maiden78

hi yougurt!

yah, i totally understand wat u mean... elders r always a major consideration here... i guess for me, doing it at RM will not b much of a prob cos most of my hubby n my relatives r staying in e west

but i agree tat CC food is a major reason tat attracts me to their package, not forgetting how e package is reasonably priced!

oh so u think CC's ballrm is so so oni... me haven been to check out e place... wil let u know after i go view e place!

fanyong

Sorry for the late reply. Mine is superior package.... may change some dishes cos it depends on my MIL's taste buds... Their food is not bad. My friend's wedding was held tehre last yr.

Ballroom can only accomodate max 27 tables otherwise will be blocked by pillars. You are right there is no service charge... only 1% (govt tax) and 5% (GST).

fanyong

Yougurt,

My AD in Oct, so yours will come before mine... Is urs on weekday or weekend? When is ur food tasting? For me, I very busy wif reno also, so haven arrange for food tasting yet....But am prep to change soem dishes cos my MIL very particular wif food one... This is also the reason why we decided to use s Tung Luk ballroom... CC is good as it have the food of Tung Luk and the ambience of hotel cos it is in a hotel...

cutiegirl

Hi Fanyong,

So which package did you choose in the end? What the diff between the two package (i mean the dishes). My wedding also in Oct. What is your date?

fanyong

hi cutiegirl,

I chose superior package... but now busy prep for ROM so havent gone down for food tasting yet... My AD on 9 Oct. Wat abt u? Why dun u join us at the Oct 2004 Brides thread, under" A Meeting Places for the Brides"?

jazzyjas

harlow!
Have juz signed wif CC last Sat. AD is in Jan 2005.

Hi fanyong,
thx for the "pillar info", coz i am wonderin how many tables max i can have to avoid the pillars.
Have chosen the Deluxe pkg.

btw, wd u girls like 2 walk in on "red carpet"?
understand tat CC dun have tat.

jazzyjas

hi ming, y not u gone down & c the ballroom? r u planning 2 take up the wedd pkg wif CC?
Have signed up wif them oso.
Not yet go for food-tasting so i dunno abt the food.. but have frds who went 2 wedd dina there commented tat the food is good.
The ambience is cosy.. coz the room not very big.

yming

hi jas
we only c Imperium setting then realised they not doing in sep coz they shifting n they ask us to consider other tung lok rstnt ... so i shortlist CC n pine valley ...

nvr been to CC nor pine vallery ...can u tell me more about the ambience? isit like imperium (sort 1920s style) i am keen to attend their wedding show (for tung lok next jul) we only having 20+ tables (small affair)

thanks =)

jazzyjas

hi ming!
wat is ur priority? $$, food or ambience? all of the above?
For ambience, i cant really tell u loh.. coz so far i only went 2 c once, where a couple is holding their wedding.. but then they were juz setting it up, like i said, i find it cosy. Their style is like most hotel ballrooms i saw.. but the aisle is not long.. no red carpet either, 2 pillars in the ballrm, a mobile stage.
For 20++ tables, the room is big enuff. can take up to 32 tbls.

My advice is u go n c.. then at least u can have a feel of the ballrm.

yming

food is top priority (to bf n his mom)
i am concern abt ambience ...maybe i shd just sign up for the wedding show n @@

Jas thanks for your info (greatly appreciated!)
find it tiring to source for banquet n many other stuff too .....

jazzyjas

hi ming,
ya.. 2 guys guess food & $$ is top priority.
its how u wan the ballroom 2 be tat is impt loh.
like how u plan ur march-in etc.. songs.. u know, create the mood.

same same. when is ur AD? u ROMmed?

gentasg

Hi Ming,
you are saying there is a wedding show for tung lok next jul. mind telling the date?

If i m interested to see the layout of the ballroom, do we need to make reservation or just walk in?

virgo

Are we able to bargain with Eric on the package? Heard my frens say we are able
to bargain for wedding dinner deal....

i_panda77

me a Oct bride & i hv booked my dinner at club chinos. Anybody hv pics to share on the stage deco? Don't know whether the hotel will put any deco for me or not...scared!

fanyong

Hi i panda,

Me also Oct bride and will be having my dinner at CC.... urs is which day? Have u gone for the food tasting?

fanyong

Min no. of tables for weekend is 25...

Price is dependent on weekday or weekend... Weekday starts from 500+, weekend starts from 600+ per table.

fanyong

Hi jazzjas,

Not bad... the ballroom decor is nice... food is good....esp the fish... However, I received comments from my cols seating at the corner that the waiters' service v bad.. They keep watching the stage activities and did not see my cols waving their hands at them.... They didnt top up their drinks frequently...Also they not v experienced and didnt serve vinegar with the shark fin..

Comments from relatives is that their service is good..so it depends... Those seating near VIP will get gd service whereas those further ones will get the inexperienced waiters..

During the table to table toasting, when I need a drink I couldnt find any waiter nearby... wonder where they have all gone to....

Hi rusty

U can see their packages from the tung lok website

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

glad 2 c ur reply.

Tat means the waiters all very "gan" hor....serving those in the ctr n not those at the corners.

Btw, wat color u chose for the table cloth?

Is the suite too dark for makeup?
if u rem, someone in the forum mentioned b4.

fanyong

Hi jazzyjas,

As diff waiters serve diff tables, they allocate good waiters to serve tables near VIP and inexperienced young ones to serve corner tables... that is y the diff feedback from diff guests.

Table cloth is standarad white and green. VIP can either choose red or gold... I chose gold...

The suite is OK for makeup.... not too dark.... BTW when is ur AD? Is urs at CC?

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

thk this is the case for most banquets loh.

thot its either red or green for the table cloth?
i was tol this.
Wedding in End Jan 2005.

Ya.. at the ballroom.

fanyong

Red or gold is for VIP.... all white or white and green is for the other tables.... U wan to see pics? Give me ur e-mail addy.....

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

ya, i know wat u meant.
i mean i was tol tat other tables is either red or green.

OK!

u can PMmed me, email addr is inside.