Club Chinois

eevee

Hi DnA, yes the Antica ballroom can hold up to abt 28-30 tables thou 27 will be just nice. Not so sure abt the march in time.

alvinpoh

Hi, we wanted to swap the sharks fin for another dish and were offered either Lobster Bisque or Seafood Consomme with Fish Maw. Can anyone feedback on either of these 2 dishes? Thanks!

annisan

hey alvin,
u went for the food tasting??
how was the food?
as my top list of rmy wedd banquet will be dere...
so need yah advise...

DnA

alvinpoh

Hi, haven't arrange for food tasting. My wedding's in Nov 08. So still some time before I go ba

jojo27

Hi, I am also having my wedding at CC, 12 Nov 08. Food tasting on 7 sep... yum yum...
I changed sharks fin to lobster bisque.... hope its nice!
I din meet the min. table requirement.... so don't have much free perks... can anyone share with me wat perks you rec'd?

stephlim

Welcome Jojo to this thread...

Latest Update ya:

Parmida 25 May 08 (Sun) - Happily married
Justina81 7 Jun 08 (Sat) - Happily married
apple gal 15 Jun 08 (Sun) - Happily married
catz 27 Jun 08 (Fri) - Happily married
Yeo Leng Soon Sean Nov 08 (Fri)
jojo27 12 Nov 08 (Wed)
skywu 27 Dec 08 (Sat)

Candice Kwan 8 Jan 09 (Thu)
mawie 14 Feb 09 (Sat)
ginnie_queen 7 Mar 09 (Sat)
piggy_steph 18 Mar 09 (Wed)
destiny (ourdestiny) 20 Sep 09 (Sun)
pringirl 29 Sep 09 (Tue)
Mich (woodychelle) 16 Oct 09 (Fri)
Jaslyn (happygurl) 21 Nov 09 (Sat)
Stera 28 Nov 09 (Sat)
Renne 04 Dec 09 (Fri)

Jaclyn (qbaby) 2 Jan 10 (Sat)
Eve 16 Jan 10 (Sat)

jojo27

I had my food tasting last week. hmm.. hasn't been a good experience though, as the service is really poor. we spent 3 hours at the restaurant (at least 15 mins wait for each course to come). & the lobster bisque sucks! I must say, overall the food quality is not as good as verdicts.

laiptan

I have my food tasting last week also...I found that the service and food is good. We had spent around 2hrs to finish the whole course...

mawby84

Heys ladies,

I guess it could be pretty subjective. For those who had chosen CC le, just hope for the best. sometimes it depends on what time and which day you go for your food tasting as well, if they happen to be crowded, the duration will be expected a little longer, will be similar to the wedding dinner.

Jojo, you could provide your feedback to the coordinator and see what could be done better for your wedding dinner.

walnut17

I'm new here.

I have signed up with CC during one of it's wedding show last year.

Chose Antica ballroom cos i needed 32 tables (max)

AD on 21 Mar 09 (Sat). Looking forward to it.

goddesss

sian..
the date i m looking at 12thDec09 is out.. guess gonna be more kiasu then that..
still waiting for Eric to get back to me which dates are still available.. else i hav to look into 2010 liao..

annisan

Melody> wah... so early got ppl booked for 12th Dec 09 le??? intend to hold ur AD at CC oso?? me too.. but mine will be in year 2010 lah... :)

jemalene

Hi Melody,
As CC prices are affordable hence a lot of dates being grab. I book in this April for my nxt yr wedding at Dec 2009
I noticed that you are a DEC bride yaz...ROM this dec...

mawby84

good to book the banquet location early if you know when you wish to hold your wedding. cox that's the starting point to wedding preparation. i did my booking last Oct for 14 Feb 09.
just a small advice here, if you more or less are happy with CC's service, you could place your deposit early to secure the 'per table' price. since i booked till now, coming 1 year, their price gone up by $30+GST per table. that aside, i tink they are less reluctant to provide comprehensive perks as compared to previously.

kinoweiss

hello

CC price has went up since april 08 as noticed tt from their upcoming wedding showcase. Also they are not willing to waiver off the wine corkage.

Anyone can advise on how to ask them to waiver off as looking at ard 26-28 tables.

Melody
No choice as that what I have been doing weekly, rebook the tentative booking if you are still deciding.

jemalene

Hi kinoweiss, i dun think is possible. I book CC in TUng lok April Wedding show...wine corkage still hv to pay. I suggested u take their house wine..cheap abt 25 ++

bling__

understand from eric that all packages signed during wedding show will not be giving waiver for wine corkage. correct me if this is wrong..

I'm taking the romance package, no waiver too.

kinoweiss

hi Renne and Bling

Thanks, that what I heard as well. Thus, if Im going to sign during the wedding showcase, I can bargain for any perks other than those stated?

If i dont sign during the wedding showcase, what kind of perks? To me the perks during the wedding showcase sems better than bargaining for fee wine corkage

Did u gals ask if we use 1.5 l wine, the corkage is still $15+ per bottle?

jemalene

i am taking the romance package. At that time, no corkage wavier but the thing that attract us is 1 table free.Save abt 700 bucks

mawby84

heys all,

I guess thats the trade off between 1 table free for every 10 versus corkage waiver. when i approached them previously, they were not able to give me the 1 foc table, due to the date i selected, so i din attend the wedding showcase and was given liquor and wine corkage waiver.. for beer its free flow or i could choose 1 complimentary bottle of wine for each table. as for other items like wedding invites and all, i tink its pretty standard.
since the past, the perks offered are pretty standard, for the price we are paying probably what we will get on the day will be worth our $$.

pringirl

star, it doesnt really matter. ur frens/colleagues will understand one. just dun put ur relatives @ e pillar there

kinoweiss, the corkage charge is for wine only. for duty paid hard liquor, dun think there is corkage charge.

pringirl

got both - ballroom (max 32 tables) & restaurant (max 26 tables) @ orchard parade hotel. food will be served by club chinois for either one.

penguinna

thanks kino and cornetto....

iyo, i really headache...i long time ago already know it's lunar 15th Aug liao...but was too narrow-minded, only see hotel ballroom, nvr open to other choices....now im stucked..hahaha......

i also got ask noble house.... 3 oct 09 also taken liao..no more...

lunch will be our last resort...

awhimsicaljen

hey all,

just like to check if anyone can advise what is the minimum number of tables CC require for ballroom? And do you guys have any packages to share?

parmida

Hi pringirl,

Thanks for the update of the brides of CC...very thoughtful of u

I was looking through the comments, and I realised some perks are diff from mine, or rather the perks have not changed much.. Basically Tung Lok perks are about the same they give to most couples..

For me, I took the hight tier pkg cos I only had 20 tables in CC... Personally, I felt the food was well worth the money spent.. Everyone had good raves for the food served, which I was happy to hear...

For CC, the partions are not removable cos they are fixed. For the ballroom, it got a nice cosy touch but its not pillarless, but I'm sure they folks there will arrange the tables so that guests have unblocked view.

Dinner in CC is a simple and cosy affair for me, which me and my hubs liked it.. For us, CC was the ultimate choice cos it had the 2 impt things we wanted, good food and nice ambience

Hehe...a super long post for long time that I went 'missing'
BTW, me not promoting OPH/CC/Antartica... its all my own opinions.

starzstar

Hi,I haven't seen the ballrooms yet. But there's a wedding showcase for Club Chinois in Nov. Should I wait til then or try to book as early as possible? What's the difference? I planning for oct 09. Tks for any advise.

mawby84

Heys Star,

There is only one ballroom, Antica in Orchard Parade Hotel, otherwise you could host your wedding in Club Chinois. I would suggesting booking at the showcase if you have a date in mind and its not those HOT dates.. cox if you have a HOT date in mind like valentine's day or public holiday, they will tell you the privileges might not apply even if you made your booking at the showcase. Least that's what happened to me, just sharing my experience.

anntonii

I'll be holding my dinner there on Jun 09.

just a simple reminder to all.

Club Chinos will require you to pay the balance of the banquet amount before 12mn. They actually waited and pester my friend to pay up almost immediately after the dinner. To which they have to hurry count their angbaoz and settle the bill balance.

I wrote to Eric regarding this matter as I always thought most banquets can be settled the day after to which he reply its a company's policy.

So please take note, if you do not wish to be disturbed after ur tired dinner, you might want to pay before the dinner to avoid the unhappiness.