Club Chinois

nov1

hi monpinkie...tks for the suggestion. i also think wld be difficult to make the decision alone...will ask my sis to go with me.

lyn6305

Hi Nov1,

Its much better tat u get someone to go with u to make the decision. I wonder is there only one coordinator in CC? Hmmm....i felt tat if only let Eric handle, may not b able to serve since all of us are working ma. :p

But i remember tat there was one time when Eric did serve me till ard 8pm...hehe...

nov1

hi lyn..i think there's another female colleague he mentioned before. heard tt she works till 6pm only and eric will stay a little late. my first appointment with him also stretched till 8pm but this round his attitude is bad. perhaps, the restaurant should change the working hours for their wedding coordinators as most wedding couples are working and it's impossible for us to take leave to go down and neither it's fair for the staffs to always stay back to wait for the customers. wonder if there's any feedback form after the wedding banquet...

lyn6305

Hi Nov1,

Oh...i nvr see the lady coordinator b4. Only know got Eric... :p

I supposed there is a feedback form for couples who had held their banquet there. hehe...so we can feedback this.

nov1

hi lyn...i also nvr see her b4 but normally a lady answers whenever i call eric. maybe she's assisting eric. yah, will certainly put this in my feedback

nov1

hi lyn...hv u ordered the xi bing from pine garden? just now went to order my gdl cakes for next saturday and the lady said the baskets are all taken up for tt day. they only have 5 baskets and the customers have reserved them few months ago. so better act fast if u hvn't

lyn6305

Hi Nov1,

I hv not order the GDL cakes yet. My TI QING will be tmr so will call them to order tmr after the TI QING.

So how many boxes u ordered? Do they require any booking fee for the basket? ;p

nov1

hi lyn...according to the lady, the basket is reserved for customer who orders their cakes so i assume there's no booking fee for it. it's on first-come-first-serve basis. the lady said many customers choose their gdl next weekend and advise tt if u intend to hv the basket, better order early.

small_one

I have returned from my wedding on Saturday.

Please do request for the bubble machine, cos the effects are really great.

The operations manager - Reuben Arthur - also made a difference in our experience with CC. He was very attentive and detailed. We could not have coped so well without him.

lyn6305

Hi Ivy,

Congrats! Great that u had enjoyed your wedding day!

Wat do u mean request for the bubble machine?? U mean CC has this machine and we could borrow for the banquet?

lyn6305

Hi Nov1,

My hb's side came and ti qing ydy le. From his aunty's words, i think they are going to order the XI BING and GDL stuff...my hb and me will not need to get the XI BING etc ourselves lor.

They mentioned one cake shop specialising in GDL one in Bukit Batok. They going to get from there.

monpinkie

Congrats Ivy!

What's the colour theme u chose? I mean ur flowers etc..

Nov1,

How's ur discussion with Eric? Everything ok?

small_one

Hi Alexia

We upgraded to the execuive suite. But it is not really very big. Just slightly bigger than their usual deluxe room. Yes, there is a separate living and sleeping area.

You might want to have at least 2 sisters with you in the room when you change. Cos the 2 doors to the sleeping area do not locks, so if there are others in the suite, at least a jiemei can help to watch out.

Thank you Nov1. Hope yours would be equally enjoyable.

Lyn and Monpinkie

Eric would confirm the decor a week before the AD. I chose red roses for a reason. It was the main theme colour throughout the day. I had red table cloth for the VIP tables and gold for the guests. came out very nicely against the white walls.

The bubble machine is used for the first march-in. It has a very fairy tale kinda effect, and it looks great under the spotlight.

You would be given 2 options - bubble machine + confetti canon or bubble machine + rose petals + confetti canon. I asked for the second one but i did not want the confetti canon.

junjun

I am keen to have my wedding banquet with Club Chinois too.
Is there any difference having the dinner at the CC itself and at the Antica Ballroom? ( as in costs?)
the person I talk to over the phone just mentioned the different capacity ie 27 tables max for CC and 32 max for the ballroom.

alexia

Ivy, rose petal is thrown by our guest together wif the bubbles machine blowing bubbles out? the diff between the 2 choice is 2nd one got extra rose petals? so u juz choose red rose. can ve a combination of 2 colours one rite?

lyn6305

Alexia, i supposed those rose petals are to be thrown by the guests sitting near to the asle and u can task few ppl to operate the bubble machine to spray the bubbles. hehe...

nov1

hi all...sounds fun. i hvn't meet up with eric...will do so this fri.

ivy, besides rose, what other choices they have?

nov1

btw, ivy, thot the contract they put was deluxe suite, instead of deluxe room? from orchard parade website, the deluxe suite is have a separation for living and bedroom.

poopoo

Hi nov1,

Yes it is Deluxe suite to be given to us, what Ivy upgraded to was Execuive suite.

Orchard Parade hotel is having the following class of suite.

1. Junior Suite
2. Deluxe Suite
3. Executive Suite
4. Presidential Suite

lyn6305

Hmmm...anyone booked a room at CC for relatives to stay for the nite? Will we as bride and groom hv discount since we will be holding our banquet there?

poopoo

First of all, I do not have a proper place for my husband to fetch me on the AD, therefore, I book the Executive Suite for one night (at S$300 +++ per room night).

This room came with separated living and sleeping area as Ivy’s mentioned. Booked this room because when after the groom negotiate the amount with Jie Mei, they open the room’s door, then he can come into the inner room to get me.

Besides the Executive Suite, I booked two deluxe room (at S$160 +++ per room night) for my parents and my sister & sister in law from Malaysia.

You can write to Eric for the room booking.

(S$300 + (160 * 8 nights)) = S$1580 +++, total S$1,841.50 ... i am broke liao

mitzi

Wah, executive room so expensive.

Then must we write to Eric first if we want to upgrade the room from Deluxe to Executive? But don't know how much to pay hor?

poopoo

Hi Mitzi,

I am not sure about how much need to top up to upgrade from Deluxe to Executive, may be you can write to Eric

small_one

Lyn

I cannot really remember what other colours are available. But Red and gold are the only options for VIP tables. As for guests tables, there are 5 colours to choose from. I would advise not to choose white, or your guests would look like they are seated on the walls.

The rose petals are thrown by the guests along the aisle, but the bubble machines are operated by the CC staff.

I arranged for 3 rooms - 2 for family and 1 for helpers. But the rooms do not have discounts cos CC is not related to OPH. So even if wedding couples get extra rooms, there would not be any discounts.

Hi Alexia

I am not sure if they allow 2 colour combination for the petals.

Hi Nov1

I have no idea what other flower options they have. Cos I told Eric upfront that I wanted red roses.

Hi Mitzi

The upgrade was $100.

hi Shirley

I did not have any discounts from OPH for the additional rooms leh. And they charged us almost $190 for each room, other than the Executive Suite.

lyn6305

Hi Ivy,

OIC...so u choose Gold for ur guest tables? ;)

Hmmm...$190 per room is quite exp hor...me still not confirm whether to book one room for my relatives or not. Will see wat my parent say.

small_one

Hi Lyn

Yups, I chose gold for the guests' table...

Monpinkie

They only served tuna and cheese sandwich prior to the wedding dinner. Fortunately my helpers helped to take some food from our church tea reception, otherwise I would have starved to death... kekekeke cos my food intake is larger than my hubby...

monpinkie

Hi Ivy,

I see... Did they take your portion of the banquet food back to your room? Or heat them up for you?

Because you wouldn't have much chances to eat at the banquet table.

lyn6305

Hi Ivy,

Huh they only give sandwiches for ur dinner ah...my fren's one at Sheraton was very nice...they hv fish and meat for their dinner b4 the banquet..

Red and gold goes well with each other. hehe...i think i will also choose red and gold themes. ;p

poopoo

Ivy, you made the booking thru the OPH directly or thru ERIC?

I made booking thru ERIC, the S$160 +++ for Deluxe Room is the rate he quoted to me.

When was your AD? to what i know the hotel is using flexi rate. If if the peak period the rate will be higher too.

Just now i just called back to OPH after reading Ivy's posting. Becuase i want to confirm the rate they are charging as per Eric's quote.

The Hotel told me my booking was Deluxe room @$160+++ (room only) and Deluxe Suite @300+++ (i thought i booked an Exe Suite with Eric -.-") and without the discount the rate will be S$200+++ and S$340+++ respectively.

mitzi

Hi Shirley

Do u know what's the name for OPH standard rooms? Those normal ones.. Cos wat we are given are Suites right? Should be higher grade than the normal ones ya?

poopoo

Hi mitzi,

The standard rooms (the least expensive room) will be their Superior or Deluxe Room. According to them both room are the same size, whereas for Deluxe Room give better view only.

Their Room Categories are :
1) Superior / Deluxe Room
2) Family Room
3) Executive Room
4) Junior Suite
5) Deluxe Suite
6) Executive Suite
7) Presidential Suite

Yes, CC provides us the Suite, which is better then the so call 'standard" room.

small_one

Monpinkie

Yes, the CC staff did pack up 6 dishes that we missed - cos we had time only for the first 2 and then the last dish. Anything in-between was packed up for us.

But we only managed to eat it the next day, before we checked out. But the food still tasted great, except the Ee-fu noodles was starting to turn sour, cos we didn't put into the fridge. We had the food cold, cos we didn't want to keep troubling the staff.

Shirley

My hubby made the booking for the rooms through Eric. My AD was last Saturday.

poopoo

Hi Ivy,

I think maybe due to the events held in Sg during your AD such as,

1. Asian Children's Expo 2006 (17Nov-19Nov)
2. 6th Asia Pacific Craniofacial Association Conference (17Nov-19Nov)
3. 3rd International Asian Conference on Cancer Screening (17Nov-18Nov)

Whereas, on 9th Dec no special event and only "Joint Commission International Asia Pacific Executive Briefing" on 8Dec.