Club Chinois

nov1

hi shirley

i hvn't thot of the need to change for $2 note & $10 notes..tks for sharing ;)

the briefing to "brothers" and "sisters" is merely to let them know the itinerary for that day and who to help wat...i hvn't got the exact idea yet but foresee there will be a lot of things to bring and carry and so it's impossible to rest the whole responsibility to only one person or no definite role for any one. so probably will assign some tasks to each of them.

Mitzi...i hvn't selected the march-in songs yet...actually wanted look for "cheena" songs but really hv no time to source for it. probably will just borrow some cds from my bro and choose from there. yes, the march-in @ CC restaurant is short...so probably choose a simple song but romantic.

nov1

hi lyn...don't worry, urs still got more than two months to prepare.

lyn6305

Nov1,

Yup but just feel tat time is flying lor keke...

I just got the timing for my AN CHUAN and GDL. hehe...so can start preparing for the stuff.

alexia

for me, march in song done, 1st dish song done, photo montage & slide show done, ang bao done, invitation all sent except for relatives, red wine done, final fit appt booked, ann chuan & gdl date set, mua timing set,meeting of jie mei done, cake voucher purchased for relatives.

now pending to buy the ann chuan stuff. gdl both parents settle, jia zhuan will buy when my parents come back fr holiday, need to select 8 songs & 16 photos for video of ad, buy bamboo, plates, dustbin, laundry basket, office chair. dats abt all.

lyn6305

Hi Shirley,

Yalor...i heard tat there is also one shop at my market there tat also sell GDL's stuff hehe...
So i will go there to see this weekend..if the shop is not comprehensive then i will go Chinatown to see.

poopoo

Cake voucher !!! i miss out this liao, Alexia, there u got your cake voucher?

Hi Lyn, just in case u went to the wrong place. The China town shop move to the temp market liao.

426678.jpg

alexia

Bukit timah (beauty world also got a few shops selling jia zhua & gdl stuff)

Shirley, usually during gdl is phsyical cake but we wan it more hazzard free so we use cake voucher if my parents got no time to cover all relatives by delivering by hand we can mail it wif invitation too
but still we will ve 4 boxes of cakes on the gdl day for praying to ancestor. We bought the cake voucher fr begawansolo. prima deli ve it too

lyn6305

Alexia, wow...hehe u are fast keke...btw, why u need to buy buy bamboo, plates, dustbin, laundry basket, office chair?? For your hse not for GDL rite? keke...

nov1

will be ordering the gdl cakes from pine garden coz it's quite near to my hse ;) we are inviting relatives to my hse during the gdl for buffet and at the same time "distribute" out the cakes and invitation cards so save the hassles.

shirley, do u hv the stall no. for gdl @ chinatown? i read from one of the thread and the person provide the stall no...but now cannot find it. shld hv noted it tt time. is it hard to find the stall? coz i heard from a friend tt there's only one stall selling gdl stuffs.

alexia

Lyn, yup the bamboo, plates, dustbin, laundry basket, office chair is for new hse. heehee I do things faster coz i dun like last min.

nov1, i find holding a buffet is more hazzard then delivering the card coz the hse will b dirty & the cleaning up is worse than travelling to me. Mayb we will not deliver by hand juz post see wat my parents wan.

lyn6305

Nov1, i also intend to get my GDL cakes from Pine Gardens. Hehe...which one will u be getting? My mother wants cantonese XI Bing...

BTW, do u know if Pine Gardens provide the GDL basket when we purchase the XI Bing from them?

nov1

Hi lyn...my FH and i like the exquisite set but i haven't asked my mum yet. hope she shares the same opinion as us... ;P i'm not sure if they provide the basket but i saw them placing one or two such baskets on the top of the shelves.

For those who hvn't bought their GDL stuffs, i mananged to find the thread...just to share w u...u can go to :

Chinatown temporary market (near to outram mrt station) look for stall no. 132 OR

Blk 4 Sago Lane #01-127 Tel: 62208442 (one of the brides said its cheaper and more variety)

hi alexia...you are rite that cleaning the hse may be hazzard but as we are ordering from caterer, at most, we only need to mop the floor after the guests left. my mum prefers physcial cakes so inviting relatives to our hse and hold a small party should be quite fun esp may not have the time to talk to my cousins during the actual wedding day

poopoo

lol, i skin my GDL, i told my mother that my husband will give an Ang Pao to her and she just buy what she wants will do.

poopoo

Hi Nov1, i cannot rmb the stall number, but no worries, that stall is just right behind after all the food stalls. And the stall hanging lots of 'XI' wording on it, and it is the one and only stall there

lyn6305

Nov1,

Icic...hehe so when is ur hb's side going to ti qing? Then u all can confirm with ur mother on the cakes.

Hmmm...ok but where is Sago Lane??

nov1

tks shirley...coz i'm not gg with my mum and hope she can find the stall easily.

hi lyn...sago lane is near to the old chinatown market which is currently under renovation. from the streetdirectory website, looks like its near to the square area where many old folks like to mingle around and play chess. could be in the same lane as "Da Zhong Guo" shop or few lanes apart.

nov1

oh...my hb's side has already so called "ti qing"..now is getting the things for GDL, an chuang and waiting for 3/12/06 to come. it's pretty a rush period for me esp i hv an exam next mon and i just started my revision today. ;P

alexia

nov1, coz relatives might not b free to come on gdl day also. if hold the buffet meaning need to get them come twice during gdl & ad. plus my relatives alot working food industry diff to take leave. so think better to juz trouble them once to come on ad dats it

My parents wan things simple too so she find it great using the cake vouchers

lyn6305

Nov1,

Oh...ok..we will go and take a look in Chinatown too hehe...

My GDL and AN CHUAN would be in Jan 07. hehe...still hv some time to prepare. ;p

I also prefer cake vouchers but i think my mother wants traditional xi bing so i dun think those shop would hv vouchers lor.

nov1

lyn...i know there's a HDB shop selling xi bing. it's at beach road, opposite golden mile complex. heard tt it was formerly @ one of the shophouses near raffles hotel and they shifted to beach road abt 1 yr plus. it's very traditional and sells on xi bing. alternatively, i think "Da Zhong Guo" also sells. another place is a traditional bakery shop opposite alexandra market. it's quite easy to locate tt shop coz u will able to see them preparing for xi bing.

hi alexia...ic
have been a practice from my side tt we will treat our closed relatives and most of them will come. it really depends on individuals...giving vouchers is more convenient and u can focus on other things

lyn6305

Nov1, thanks! I know Pine Gardens also sells traditional xi bing hehe...so will email them for pricing. THey sent to me once but i could not find the email ydy. Did u ask them for pricing b4? Can u send me the doc to my email [email protected]?

Thanks again.

alexia

nov1, ya if dats ur side practise then ok. coz i m the 1st to hold customary among my cousin of both side. so i set the standard & practise. hahahaha

nov1

i c...thot the 1st person to get married, ppl will tend to anticipate more from u...u r pretty fortunate on this
simple preparation is good.

alexia

nov1, i am the 1st so at least dun ve to say last time the which cousin married got this got dat u dun ve. i set the standard for the rest of them. if they next time wan to do it is up to them then onli those after will b stress. heehee

lyn6305

Alexia, haha...me and my hb also first to be married in our families in our generation. So alot of things both side parents also dunno keke...so we set our own standards too! :p

monpinkie

Wow!!

You gals really all geared up....

I have not even taken my PS!

Lyn, dun stress me leh.. u are just a week before me...

Enjoy your preparations...
Jia you!!

nov1

hi monpinkie...don't stress. i only have less than two months to prepare for my wedding and hopeful things to go smoothly on AD.
as long as u hv an idea what u want for the wedding and have more or less source the items tt u want to buy and where to buy them, shldn't be a problem.

nov1

just hv a conversation w eric...find tt he's quite tempremental at times. wanted to fix the timing for the final confirmation at 7.30pm as my FH ends work at 6.30pm from tampines. he doesn't sound accommodating and replied tt he also works until 7pm. will let me know again later. hiazz...

monpinkie

nov1, would it be possible to confirm things with him over the phone or email?

I always discuss things with him over email. So far ok... Probably, email discussion allows him to take his time to think thru and reply.

But think there was an earlier post that he's not too accomodating to wait for clients after his official working hours.

nov1

hi monpinkie, hv decided to meet up w him w/o my FH. no matter wat's the reason, he shldn't reply to customers in this way. yeah, so far he's able to reply to my emails but thot of calling him just now coz can get the responds faster. i'm not sure if the finalisation can be done via phone or email esp we need to choose the AD decoration...esp the type of flowers for the banquet.

nov1

next sat we hv GDL so the only available date is during weekday. anyway, hope everything will go smoothly on AD and tt's most impt now.

monpinkie

nov1,

maybe u can go with ur parents, PIL or one of ur siblings... it might be difficult to make decisions alone.

otherwise, see whatever you need, take pictures, tell Eric ur tentative choice and confirm with him via phone or email.

Email will be good. Cos it's "black and white".