Club Chinois

snowbell42

hi gals.. me new to tis thread... juz thot of posting my comments here after attending a wedding din there last nite (17th Dec).. the food wise v normal/slightly below average... but the service sucks!!!

right after the waiter placed the plate on our table & after 10 of us got our share of the food, he came in shortly after tht to ask if he can clear the plate.. omg!!! is he in a rush to go home to sleep???!!! it happens every dish.. there r still so much food left on the plate...

after one of us complaint to one of the waitress, she told us tht the manager is rushing them saying they r v slow.. ended up the entire wedding din finished in a v rushing manner, at least where my table is concerned..

here r some of the comments i gathered fr my FH's frens / myself..
(1)the waiter cut off the garoupa's head & tail (in front of us) & split it open in the middle to remove the bone fr the top (not sure wht tht bone is called :p) then after removing it, push the meat back together again to make it look like a whole one.. & put all the garnishes back on top of the fish... wht a mess!!!

(2) a v big scoop for the first.. then after the last 2nd or 3rd serving.. realised not enuff to give them... cut fr the first serving & put over to the rest... pengz!!!!

tis 2 incidents r the worst tht i have seen tht nite... glad i din choose it.. anyway BTBs who chose tis venue.. pls feedback to ur co-ord esp abt the service..

lyn6305

<font color="119911">Hi Snowbell42,

I was at food tasting at CC ydy. Oh gosh, i must agree with u tat the fish handling part from the waitress is not professional enuf. Our fish becomes messy and my MIL is not happy with it and she din even eat the fish at all. The waitress actually brought the fish back to kitchen to recook it! My MIL commented tat the chef shd know tat fish cannot be recook else the taste and fish meat will taste differently and yet they still did tat.

Sigh...we feedbacked to the banquet mgr abt it. He apologised and had assured us that they will train them more professionally and ensure tat such thing wont happen in our banquet.</font>

princess_angel

Hi Lyn, i have calculated. my MIL taking 11 tables, my dad taking 6 tables. so, if i take the max capacity meaning my hb and i would have 15 tables. the thing is my own friends already 10 tables liao. so, haven count hb side. a bit tight loh. but well, see how it goes cos usu not all invited will be able to make it loh.

it is a relief to hear good comments on CC. I suppose there will be 1 or 2 bad points about a venue but as long as the bad point is not too major and the wedding goes without major hiccups, it is good enough. So far, i have heard good comments on the food, esp the BIG potion of shark fins. heehee

lyn6305

<font color="aa00aa">Princess_angel,

Icic...yup, abit tight for u since ur parent &amp; IL have oredi taken 15 tables. :p

True, not all invited will be able to make it. Like me, last min has ppl telling me they either not in SG or due to some reason could not attd my wedding le.

poopoo

We just had our wedding dinner with CC on 11th Dec 06.

Comments : Two Thumbs Up! Excellent service rendered, not to mention the sumptuous meal

lyn6305

<font color="aa00aa">Shirley,

Congrats to ur wedding! :p
Glad u had enjoyed ur big day...

So is the portion of the food big? Was afraid it will be small in portion and not as big as wat we had for food tasting. ;P</font>

alexia

Hi All, I am back fr my wedding on 21 dec. Everything went smoothly wif no much hiccups. Thumbs up to the operation manager Arthur.

poopoo

Hi Lyn, thank you. No really see the portion of the food, bcoz they distributed for both of the VIP, but the rest of the tables no complaint, so news mean good news :D

Hi, Pricess Agnel, no worries la, all of their staffs are very good and helpful.

Hi Alexia, same here on our Wedding dinner night, we have Arthur to arrange for everything as well :D

lyn6305

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Shirley,

No news mean good news keke... :p
I guess the food shd be good. But i had heard tat some ppl complained abt their services. So hope they could improve.

mitzi

Hey gals,I just had my AD too!!

CC is super good, they provide very excellent services and the comments about their food was superb, except that the time allocated for each dish was very short, they asked to clear each dish before it was half finished.. so maybe can feedback on this
But overall, it went well and the crew were great and helpful especially those in black jackets, my hubby was very grateful and gave them an angbao each..

Another thing is, I think OPH's service is bad. The services rendered by the hotel is worse than 3star, that's what I find. That day it was raining, we asked the bellboy for an umbrella, without hesitating, he said all the umbrellas are out.

I did not believe, and walk in to the rececption to ask again, indeed, the receptionist went in and brought out 1 umbrella for us..

Another case was, their room service / housekeeping NEVER answers their calls.. :p No matter how long u rang..

alexia

hmm... but my encounter with OPH was ok. Onli dat there is missing toothbrush so we called housekeeping for it, they didnt take too long to ans. Still got compliment fruits.

Btw gals the suite I got was with a separate living &amp; bedroom. The only bad pt is my mua commented the lighting is too dim for make up.

poopoo

mitzi, ya the services rendered by CC is really good. Same here we appreciated so much for their help and arrangement and at the end of the banquet, we given then Ang Pao as a token of appreciation.

OPH… no bad la .. u still give 3 stars… I will give them no star :p

lyn6305

<font color="aa00aa">Mitzi and Shirley,

OPH's service is tat bad ah...so wat the forum commented has some truth in it? Hehe...someone had wrote to ST's forum and was published. Sigh...

I guess need to highlight to them tat service is very impt to a hotel and shd not be taken for granted.

kitlovestar

I am interested in Club Chinos restuarant. WOuld like to find out what is the max number of tables they can accomodate..is it 24 or 26?
Oh and i checked with eric he said there won't be extra projector for montage if the ballroom has taken it up. Anyone has this experience before?? If that's the case can we rent or bring our own?
Also would like to find out how's the decor or the restaurant? Is it nice for wedding?

monpinkie

Just wanna check with you, will they provide the background songs to be played thruout the nite?

What kind of songs are they?

Anyone knows?

lyn6305

Monpinkie, i think u hv to compile the songs. I din hear from Eric abt we can select songs from them...

Oh btw, did eric contact u all to choose the color u all want for the tables and wat themes we can choose? My wedding is coming very soon but no word abt these from him. Anyone knows?

alexia

monpinkie, background music u can use theirs. they use some jazz music. i used theirs for background. march in &amp; 1st dish my own.

galsparkle, ya they onli ve 1 projector.

monpinkie

Thanks Alexia,

Initially i wanted to compile my background music, but i realised i need a lot! haha!

lazy to do..

i heard some hotels have their own songs and you can choose from their list for march in as well.

i'll be using mine for march in and 1st dish.

Hey Lyn, u might want to call Eric. I called him wanting to meet up to discuss on some stuff. He actually told me he not working on this sat and next sat. And he keep asking if can talk over the phone. Like not very willing to meet up.

Haiz..

I realised when they got your business, their attitude change.

Alexia, did the hotel or CC give you anything on your AD? Like fruit basket and wedding cake?

I heard from my friends that they will usually give these 2 items.. Wedding cake is cos we are cutting a dummy cake so they'll give a small one. And the wedding cake symbolize everlasting.. cos the icing fruit cake can last very long...

kitlovestar

Anyone used their Antica ballroom?? CAn give comments on how's the decor in the ballroom..any pillars? and the service? Coz i prefer to have my wedding in the ballroom instead of the restaurant.

monpinkie

Alexia,

Some of the gals in this forum gets a room without the separate living and bedroom... Strange..

I just had my food tasting... Some of the dishes served has ingredients different from the menu..
3 of the more senior staff, like Sheryl, David and Patrick came in at different times to ask us how's the food...

I have to repeat myself again and again.. then at times they said they'll go check but they never came back!

wisqix

galsparkle, CC has 2 pillars in the ballroom i tink...

Anyone knows whether for muslim guest, CC can use a bigger table and add one additional seat to the table?

wisqix

Oic... thx.

hmm... my colleagues might total up to 22 pax inclusive of two muslim. So I'm thinking whether I should sit them 11 per table... izzit very bad?

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi!

i'm oso considering CC for my wedding banquet in Dec 07. haven been down to d venue yet but heard fr a fren who juz had her wedding there tat the food &amp; ambience nt bad.

am i too late if i wanna book in dec tis yr? anyone noes if tung lok has any wedding shows coming up?</font>

wisqix

missycandyprincess, if you are talking about the ballroom, i think the max is 32 tables. CC itself... i'm not too sure.

mitzi

Hi gals, am back from honeymoon!

I think 1 thing u gals have to take note is, the speed they clear each dish. Many of my guests commented that they cleared super fast. Guess the host should make a point that they allow ample time for the guests to eat each dish.

mitzi

HK shopping rather expensive leh. As for SZ hor, didn't see much to buy haha.. But I did went to those small shops in HK, quite nice!

goldiepooh

Hi me new to this forum. 07 BTB so have been reading up on all these threads. Just a few cents worth of my thoughts of club chinos as just visited there last week.

CC has actually 2 venues, one is the restaurant itself, the other is the Antica ballroom. You can get the table layout and 07 wedding package from Tung lok website.

CC restaurant
I must say it has the nicest wedding decor I had seen perhaps because the restuarant itself has very nice decor and ambience already.

Unfortunately, it has 3 private rooms. 2 of them can be open up but it will still have wooden planks to block the stage. The biggest private room can accomodate 5 tables and it has only 2 openings and totally blocked from the stage. So guests will need to walk out to see the stage.

That is something you may want to consider.

Antica ballroom
Rectangular shape with 2 pillars. If you have more tables, 2-3 tables may be blocked but overall i feel that it is still ok. The wedding decor is also not bad too. Wanted the ballroom but unfortunately the date i am looking for is already confirmed booking

Those considering Dec may want to take note that they may request for a higher package as is festive seasons and they are looking at minimum earnings.

alexia

ok lar, went in may last yr for 5 days cost me abt $500+ exclude the spending. bought alot of things fr disneyland the stuff r so cute dat i cant resist especially my fav pooh bear. hahahaha then also bought quite some stuff fr the ladies street &amp; temple street. can u all believe me? i actually bought a set of mj back (those crystal type one). The lao po bin is not cheap at all. very ex sia....

lyn6305

Hi Alexia,

haha...u travel by which airline? I remembered i paid ard 700++ for hotel and flight few yrs back. I travelled by Cathay Pacific air.

Hmmm...yup, things at HK is getting more exp. But no choice...prices will sure go up as yrs go by.

alexia

Lyn, I travel by UA. Coz dats the airline which ve the earliest flight at 6+am exlcuding budget airline. yrs back in 1997 b4 the return to china dat was the time when is most ex i went 5 days on quatas which cost $900+