Club Chinois

poopoo

Hi Nov1, ya i contacted Eric and went down to their appointed printer (Focal Ad) to print for 200 insert (S$84.00 incl GST)

Actually i thought we only have to sit and wait for Eric to inform us to go to collect cards and then arrange for printer.

Lucky my colleague reminded me for the cards, or else i am still 'sit n wait' for my card!

nov1, how's your preparation now?

nov1

Hi Shirley...have prepared abt 60% and left those misc items like items for guo da li...an chuang...cater food during actual day lunch...etc. How abt you? Found that urs is only one week after mine...u holding ur wedding @ the restaurant as well? Do you intend to have ang bao boxes? I'm looking for nice and cheap one. Any recommendation?

mehmeh26

Just finish my wedding last sat @ OPH - Club Chinos. Overall feedback is Good...all my guest say the portion is very generous and nice to eat....so no worry on the quality of food... service not bad too....waitress and waiters are good too... ballroom and environment after the reno is pretty good too... so rest assure gals....its a RELIEVE feeling after wedding...haha

lyn6305

Alexia, i saw CC's deluxe suite. Yup, no separation for the living and bedroom.

alexia

Lyn, but if u go website see is deluxe suite dat ve separation for living & bedroom instead of executive suite.

lyn6305

Alexia, Eric showed me when i asked to see their bridal suite. The one he showed me dun hv separation lor...all in one.

nov1

Yes, Alexia...mine is at the restaurant. Planning to have not more than 22 tables else some of the tables will be totally block from the stage. I'm now thinking of how to make my ang bao box. You got take pic of ur ang bao box...can see?

saliva

any perks we can negotiate with the coordinator besides what is listed on their website?

* Free flow of soft beverages, mixers and Chinese tea
* Food Tasting for 6 persons (on weekdays only)
* Pre-dinner reception with soft drinks at the foyer
* A complimentary 30 litre barrel of beer - applicable for Taipan menu
* Free flow of beer or a complimentary bottle of house wine for each table -
* Waiver of corkage for duty paid and sealed hard liquor.

* Light snacks prior to dinner reception for wedding couple
* Individually wrapped mini chocolates in specially designed boxes for all guest
* Confetti cannon
* One night accommodation in a deluxe suite at Orchard Parade Hotel with breakfast for two at Club Chinois

* Scroll for guest signature
* Parking passes for 25 % of the confirmed attendance
* One VIP parking lot in front of the hotel
* Choice of Oriental or Western invitation cards based on the guaranteed attendance (printing of inserts are not included)
* 3 tier dummy cake and champagne fountain set up with a complimentary bottle of champagne
* All dining chairs to be dressed with cushion chair covers

How much we have to pay for deposit?
Tks for sharing.

indoubt

just want some feedback from you.
when you send out invitation, telling frens that your wedding at orchard parade hotel (but using the ballroom), do they give you ang pao based on "hotel market rate e.g: $80- $100" or "restaurant market rate e;g: $60 -$80"?

becoz in some pple opinion, since club chinos is under tung luk group, they might think that it is a restaurant after all.

poopoo

Hi nov1, I am now starting to call friends to confirm attendance.

About “Guo Da Liâ€, I am a Malaysian, in order to save all the trouble; we will give one Ang Bao to my family as “Guo Da Li†will do.

Food Catering – will be arranged with Kate’s Catering, I tried their food once, not bad :D

Now I need to look for :
• String – to tie my cards, (still waiting for my cards)
• Ang Bao Box – I heard some of them told me can get it from IMM 3rd floor, Shop name “Daisoâ€. They said very cheap. (will try to go down this Sat and update u!)
• Sourcing for corsage.
• Waiting for my doggie to arrive, which I had order thru http://www.theweddingthoughts.com/wedding.htm.
• My Animation montage still not ready, their will contact me by this week.
• Compile songs for the wedding dinner, march in, first dish & 2nd march in.
• Still yet to confirm the wedding theme with Eric.
• Hotel confirmation from my family from Malaysia

I am not sure whether I have missed out anything now……….

nov1

Hi Shirley...i'll be collecting the cards tomorrow ;) You may need to follow up with Steven when will the cards be ready coz I find tt they are less proactive in calling up their customers.

Btw, Plaza Singapura also got Daiso but it's much smaller compared to IMM. Yes, I found a few nice boxes there and all selling at $2 only ;)

Have you booked your caterer? Have shortlisted Neo Garden and YLS Catering. Any idea if one week booking in advance is enough?

nov1

Hi Saliva

Deposit is $2,100. I booked mine during the promo period, however, u can try to negotiate for wavier in corkage charge for wines, food tasting for 10 pax. I think as long as the requests are w/in Tung Lok's control, shld be ok. However, if you want extra nite stay would be quite difficult as CC is only renting a place @ OPH.

poopoo

Hi nov1,

i went to IMM 'Daiso', but all the boxes very small, maybe all big one already sold off!!!

So u bought a few small boxes and combined it to be a big one?

For my caterer, i already give them a call to reserve a slot for me just in case :p. I told them food will be confirmed when date nearer.

ya for my case, i even requested to exchange my food tasting (10 pax) to room stays hahaha.... but rejected hehe...

so i will go for my food tasting on this coming Sunday.

Right! i collected my cards on last Sunday, already distributed to my colleagues this morning :D

poopoo

Hi Saliva, what you copied from their web-site is their standard package.

If you sign up with any Credit Card Promotion, for mine was Citibank, they will let u have extra perks such as :

1. wavier in corkage
2. One Complimentary table for 10 persons for every 15 confirmed tables
3. Tung Lok First Membership
4. Complimentary $100 dining voucher from Tung Lok Group of restaurants
5. Food tasting for 10 persons

Maybe two months ago (cannot re-call), UOB Credit Card gives the same promotion.

nov1

Hi Shirley...your card is pretty fast yah... ;) I also went to collect the card last saturday...i reached there ard 11am. Wat time were u there?

I hv not bought the boxes yet...I saw a few big boxes @ PS "Daiso". Perhaps you can try there. Alternatively, you can consider those boxes from Ikea.

I'll be going for the food tasting next sunday. I m taking Taipan menu...how about u?

alexia

looks like i most kiasu one i gotten my cards printed since last mth now waiting to send out. food tasting done in sep

poopoo

nov1, actually according to my hubby Steven fm Focal Ad called him (on Sat) and told him that all cards are ready and handled to Eric. Short moment later, Eric called and confirmed that all cards are with CC. So we collected on Sunday around 3.30pm.

Ya i just arranged with Eric to have my food tasting on this coming sunday, mine is Regal Menu and we changed the menu abit >.< because one of he relative just held their wedding dinner at CC and same menu!!!

So, we have to change the menu lor....

Replaced "Sharkís Fin Broth with Crab Meat and Dried Scallop" to "Fish Maw seafood broth" (but... no additional discount)

Replaced "Quick Fried Butter Prawns with Cereal Oat" to "Poached Prawns with Chinese Herbs".

Replaced "Sauteed Cuttlefish with Asparagus in Homemade Spicy X.O. Sauce" to "scallops with asparagus" (need to pay additional S$20 per table)

Replaced "Steamed Chicken with Chinese Herbs wrapped with Lotus Leaf" to "Crisp Skin Fried Chicken Served with Mango Compote".

Replaced "Mee Sua" to "E-Fu Noodles"

That's all....

Lol, alexia really the most kiasu one. Actually it is good to be kiasu, bcoz you don't have to rush like us!!! Last min, cards just printed ...

Hey, yesterday i went to "A n BC" at Bugis 3rd floor, they do have some nice boxes but compared to Daiso, they are more expensive, but the material is totally diff kind.

lyn6305

Hi Shirley,

Wat else can u replace with for the dish of "Sauteed Cuttlefish with Asparagus in Homemade Spicy X.O. Sauce"?

Did Eric show u a list of the dishes tat u could replace with if u not satisfied with it?

I would also be chosing the Regal package but i dun really like to hv "Quick Fried Butter Prawns with Cereal Oat" cos it sounded very coffeeshop-like leh.. ;P

I am still ok with the rest of the dishes...maybe will change the dessert to the "Chilled Pumpkin with Pomelo". Has anyone tried this dessert b4? Need to top up money if i wanna change tat?

lyn6305

haha...seems like me the least kan cheong bride here cos me hv not gotten my wedding card from Eric yet keke...i hv not told him which design i want yet. Haha...

poopoo

Lyn, for "Cuttlefish" replaced to "scallops" instead.

When we went down to replace the dishes, basically we just change such as Chicken to chicken, prawns to prawns, just diff way of cooking only. (except the Sharkís Fin, bcoz hubby said "Save The Shark")

Reason we chosen Regal menu, bcoz its came with the free flow beer.

Then, change your ""Quick Fried Butter Prawns with Cereal Oat" to "Poached Prawns with Chinese Herbs". è¯æ蒸生虾。

Lyn, your AD is 27 Jan still ok lah. We are like just got our card a month b4 our AD. So if you are fast, tie the cards &amp; Insert (i did it myself), obtained address, write invitation, about 1 week can complete liao. However, the most tedious parts are relatives hard to confirm their head count.

lyn6305

Shirley, will there be addition charges for the change of "Quick Fried Butter Prawns with Cereal Oat" to "Poached Prawns with Chinese Herbs".

I dun wish to add on money lor keke...cos mine is weekend banquet so will be more exp.

Yes, i agree...relatives very hard to confirm their headcounts but i leave it to my parent and ILs to write the invitation card. And they must inform me the name list so tat any addition head counts i know else mite not hv enuf seats for them on AD.

poopoo

for my case no additional charge bcoz just prawns to prawns.

whereas, for "Cuttlefish" replaced to "scallops" need to top up S$20/- per table lor.

Lol, for me i cannot wait for them to confirm the name list, i just prepared an excel table (print out), list down Pa's n Ma's relatives,

Such as (example)
Ma - 1st Aunt family :
1. 1st Aunt
2. 1st Aunt - Husband
3. 1st Aunt - daughter
4. ..
. ..

Ma -2nd Aunt family :

So, tonight i will get them this sheet and requests them to confirm with their relatives and fill in the head count. I am thinking to use this way also able to consolidate head count and them prepare and seat list.

monpinkie

Hi Lyn, Shirley, Alexia,

Can I ask how many tables you ladies having in the ballroom?

I think I might need to put 32 tables...
A bit worried liao.

lyn6305

Monpinkie, i was looking at CC's table layout at the ballroom. 30 tables oredi very cramp. If u gonna hv 32 tables then would be very very cramp liao. U mite want to consult Eric abt it. See if he could accomodate or not. ;)

lyn6305

No prob, Monpinkie.

I just called him this morning abt my wedding cards lor. I asked him if any changes to the wedding cards but he said still the same ones. So we confirmed getting the red card. How abt u? Getting which card design?

monpinkie

I think we'll be getting either the red one or the white one with red strip. Not decided yet.

The inserts and cards are to be collected separately? inserts from Focal Ad and cards from Eric?

My AD is just one week after yours, 5th Feb.

But I've not done much. PS is end of the mth and prob food tasting next mth.

When's ur food tasting?

lyn6305

Eric told me to call Focal-Ad to make appt with Stephen and tell S wat our ILs names to be printed etc. Then tell S tat to send our cards and inserts to CC and we can collect from CC directly any days from Monday to Friday. More convenient for us as CC opens till 9pm daily. :p

My food tasting on 17 dec hehe...

monpinkie

oh.. so u didn't go down to Focal-Ad?

I'm thinking of changing some of the english wordings...

You've made the food tasting appt with Eric?

lyn6305

No, i will go down Focal Ad to tell them wat i want to print on my cards. But collection, we dun need to go down there to collect. We can request Focal Ad to deliver our cards and inserts to CC.

alexia

wa! i didnt know can collect fr cc. anyway every time i go to the printer is on the way going to bs

Shirley, ya i dun like things last min. so more i took the red &amp; white card need to paste instead of tie string. I pasted all liao now waiting to wirte &amp; send out. guess is abt time to start sending out as is abt 1 mth time.

monpinkle i should b taking 27+2.

lyn6305

Monpinkie, yup more convenient as CC is open till 9pm daily keke...

Alexia, so hv u start writing ur invitations? Actually, u shd write then paste on ur card, in case of writing names wrongly.

alexia

Lyn, is ok i got spare insert so if write wrongly juz replace. I paste wif double sided tape can b remove but need to do it tactfully. Not yet start writing yesterdae was bz recalling fren's surname. got most of them liao. mayb will start writing todae
for oue case is ok u can drop by focal-ad while on ur way to wl

lyn6305

Alexia, hehe...u must be extra careful with the doublesided tapes then.

Wow...u can start writing them today le...me still not make appt with Focal Ad yet keke...