Anyone Migrating to Australia?

damsel

Hi Kristen, maybe you can convince your hubby on all the good points of moving out of stressful S'pore. And if you do ever apply for your PR we'll welcome you to our club.

snoozy

Hi Kristen,

Maybe ur hubby got his reason for not migrating. His family, his friends, his career.. all in Singapore. Maybe he think he is not young anymore to restart all over again. Try to have a talk with him and see wat is the reason.

dat

hey ladies,

have anyone only submitted their application in Jan 2007?

OH is in a situation where by he was contacted to ask which skills migration visa he was applying for, and he responded.. meaning they have received his application and documents, how ever, it's been 3 mths and no case officer assigned yet..

Anyone knows or in similar situation?

RE Health Insurance
Not sure about this, but i saw some ads on tv that you can use your Super to buy health coverage, anyone knows? I myself have health coverage till 2009, OH doesn't have any so must let him know it's impt to have!

Hi Kristen,
Think you and hb should have a talk, you can share you pt of view, he also share his, cos maybe both of you not on same wavelength of this. For many here migrating is long term, but for OH and I, we're still 'young', so coming to Melbourne is our short term plan (next 5 - 10 max yrs)In 10 years time OH will be under 40 and I in my early 30s, so that's when our kids would be starting their education and we both feel strongly that they should be educated in singapore, cos personally having studied overseas, the foundation education in singapore has really given us a huge advantage over others, not sure how others may feel on this topic, but this is our own observation. So maybe you guys want to consider reasons for migrating, like giving yourself opportunities to move up in your career or the lifestyle etc..

Sorry for rambling!

syl123

Hi DA.T,

We submitted our application in Dec 06....and was acknowledge in Jan 07. Seems like there is a lot of backlog at immi and the 'queue' is moving very slowly. When I checked in Feb, they were processing June's application and last week when I checked again, they are still processing June's application. Seemed to have moved only 1 week in 1 month. I read on other forums that immi would hire more officers to deal with the loads of applications and hopefully, they would catch up soon. But I think it would take at least 6 months before we would be assigned a case officer.

snoozy

they taking so long to process the application? Btw Sylvia.. what kind of visa u applying.. hw come take so long?

merci

sylvia, dat.... i submitted my application on dec 18 2006 and was assigned a case officer on mar 26 2007.... now the CO asked me to provide medical certs, police clearance, IELTS exam (for my hubby) and employment letter from his ex company... i hope this is the last stage and i can get my PR very soon

dat

Sylvia,
Acknowledged is just the email with a reference number if you have further enquiries right?

Eileen,
Yours is really fast, did you apply under MODL? Apparently it has some priority, but from what some one said earlier (can't remember who), MODL is only 1-2 weeks faster?

OH submitted IELTS exam score + employment letter from his company together with his application. He's gotten his police clearance from Singapore and Aussie (cos he studied there for 2 yrs), only havent done the medical.

Hope you get your PR soon, hope we all get it soon!

syl123

Hi Eileen,

Not heard from you for a while. It's great news that you have been assigned a CO. Hmmm....I wonder then what does the processing date of the immi timeline represent. Since I lodged my applications 10 days after yours, I hope I get my CO soon.

Here's the extract of the timelines that I got
(when sending a blank email to the following address:[email protected] ). Looks like it has picked up a little last week....Hope the pace is kept.

===========================================
OFFSHORE APPLICATIONS

Applications for Classes BN, BQ, BR and UZ (subclasses 134, 136, 137, 138,
139 and 496)

Priority Applications: 10 July 2006
Non-Priority Applications: 26 June 2006

=================================================

Snoozy, I applied for 136 MODL.

DA.T,
Have you received your acknowledgement letter?
How did you OH get the police clearance letter? Thot we need a letter for the CO requesting for police clearance as proof? Would like to do these things ahead as well so that we could shorten the time.

Good Luck everyone!

snoozy

ermmm... 136 MODL is Skilled Visa izzit? Sorry dont reali know other category.. Anyway.. Gd Luck to everyone who is applying for the visa

dat

Hi Sylvia,
Yes OH got the letter via email, cos he marked the wrong cat for immigration, but that's been fixed. In the same letter, he was told he can proceed to get police clearance but was also told that this is not the official notice..

FOr singapore side, he just went to CID HQ to get it, australia side, print off a form and send over with a self-addressed envalope.. he did it so i'm not sure the exact details.. i have my student visa and am in melbourne already.. will change my visa over once he gets his pr :)

damsel

Hi gals, how's everyone in here doing? anyone found out how to or knows how to add in excel spreadsheet in here? So that we can put our details on a table

merci

sylvia... hi hi.....
i doubt the immi weekly email info is accurate... coz if so then i wont be assigned a CO so soon....
btw, do u still hv a copy of the IELTS CD... coz i lose mine and my hubby got to go for his IELTS exam end april...

dat
i applied for skilled independent... and NO my application is not on the MODL list... i'm not sure how come i hv been assigned a CO so soon... well its good for me though.... i hope that this is the final stage of docs i need to submit.

syl123

Hi Eileen,

Hope that I am as luck as you are and can get CO assigned soon! : ) I saved the IELTS recordings in my computer, so can burn into CD for you. How do you want me to pass it to you?

Does it mean that you have enough points and do not need to do the investments already?

Snoozy,
yah....Skilled independent.....

merci

sylvia
tks for yr reply.... it'll be great if u can burn a copy for me... is it ok if i drop by to collect it from u 2moro lunch time... are u still working in the same place? or can u give me a sms... i misplaced yr hp no....

i'm sure u'll be allocate a CO soon coz yrs is on MODL.... all the best

i'm not sure if i need to do the investments coz CO didnt mention at all

carinal

I've got my PR already and thinking of checking Melbourne out.. Anyone here already in Melbourne? Can anyone recommend me which suburbs / areas to live? me and hubby planning to make a recce trip some time in Oct/Nov.

dat

congrats! brunswick is where lots of asians are and it's close to the city!

unless u want to be out in the suburbs then maybe some where else like mt waverly?

think the other gals here will have a better idea!

margiel

Hi Carinal
Congrats! I'll be moving to Melb in July. My suburbs is Glen Waverly. What are the areas you are looking at? Let me know if i can help.

carinal

Hi dat & margiel,
I have absolutely no clue about Melb. I'm more familiar with Perth cos I used to study there. But HB find Perth a bit too quiet and laid-back. So he wants to check Melb out. Actually, just wanna find out an inidication of like some of the more better suburbs to live, so we can look at housing prices etc.

emerjo

S&H,
Care to elaborate more? How does it compare to Melbourne?

I'm moving over to AU next year, still weighing the pro & cons between the two.

Anyone keen to meetup? So many doubts...so lost.

vvbbb

not sure if u still remember me hehee...
long time haven't drop by...

my hubby applied oz PR early dec and now waiting for CNCC. So short only sending Police clearance from oz and sg.
Btw, if we scan the 2 docs (oz n sg police clearance) and send via email, do we need to scan the 'true certified copy'? If not, then can save $$ hehhee.....

Foggy, congrats!
Have fun with the preparation to move there.

Seems like a lot of pp in Melbourne.
My hubby prefers Melbourne too, while i prefer Sydney coz lived there for a year.

So excited when thinking abt moving to OZ... Too bad we only plan to go there in 3-4yrs time. Now, we tighten belt and save as much as we can.

Oh ya.... guys... wanna survey a bit...how much would you consider as sufficient to have as savings before moving to OZ?
My hubby was a bit conservative and wanted to have some savigns enough for 2 yrs of unemployement before we move.
When i first moved to Sydney, i brought with me A$5K hehehe.... now i looked back, it was quite a 'dangerously' low $..

s__h

Hi foggy,

i have a relative just moved to perth few months ago and was shock to see the cost of living shoot up...in terms of rent, food, petrol (almost like singapore prices) etc

packet of tissue or toilet roll cost A$3 to 4 !

The exchange rate is also the highest for now...from long ago the rate of 0.95 something to now 1.27 !!!

What will you be working as?

merci

hi, i recently got my PR... plan to move to MEL nxt yr... anyone wish to share more info, pls PM me... tks.

vvbbb

Guys,

Anybody is thinking of starting small biz in oz?
My husband is thinking of starting one once we settle down there (while i continue working for a more stable income).
But i wonder what he can do over there and will it be difficult to succeed with small biz.

emerjo

viv....wow...so looong since last hear from u. Congrats that ur application is moving and very very near to success. Yes...I wanan start a biz...but only when we r more settled down. So we'll start by getting jobs while surveying the market needs, etc b4 investing in it. How abt u... any idea what we can do?

Eileen....CONGRATS!..u r one real lucky gal...SO SUPER FAST, so when did u exactly get the approval? Which month of next yr u b there? May be we can buddy buddy.

S&H...hmm...that's even more expensive than SG. Wonder how does the cost of living in Perth compare to Melbourne. Any one knows?

margiel

Hi all, nice to see this thread active again.

Eileen, had reply ur email but was bounced back and can't PM you too.

Foggy got your PM. Keep in touch

It's Friday!!! Have a good weekend

vvbbb

thanx, Foggy.
So you plan to migrate to Melb/Perth next year?
Seems like a lot of pp going to Melb.

** Sydney, anybody?..**

Abt biz, our plan is similar. First, go there and find a job. I personally prefer stable income so will stick to working.
My hubby.. like most guys, prefer to eventually hv own biz. A few ideas so far: open food stall (quite a common idea), become gardener (like 'desperate housewife'?) or become car mechanics... It's always nice to dream hehee...
So what's your *dream*, Foggy?
My dream is to be housewife!!!

A few of my close friends in Sydney did 'office cleaning' job... quite profitable, but i think they bought franchise.

vvbbb

** Retirement **
If we stay in Oz (>10yrs) and still a PR, will we be eligible for 'old-age' benefit after retirement age?
I think i read somewhere in Centrelink webpage that we'd get the benefit if we're below certain income?
I hope i'd hv enough income so no need to rely on govt support but it's nice to know that we won't be old and 'hungry' with govt help.

merci

Foggy
I submitted my application in Dec 18 2006 and got my approval ltr in May 18 2007... took exactly 5 mths to get approved
it cld be faster if not for my hubby's IELTS exam...

Margiel/Foggy, you can email me at [email protected]

emerjo

viv....thanks for the info, and well...my dream is to be a 'tai tai'...hehehe. Frankly, food biz seems very appealing, also like sumting that is related to services. U seem to b pinning on Sydney...going there is it?

eileen... wonder is this the new timeline? Many other forumers r still screaming & pulling hair out abt the wait. Anyway, congrats and I've added u to my MSN. Chat with u soon.

dat

Congrats to every one who has got their application approved and are awaiting the big move!

SO's still waiting for his.. hopefully soon (submitted in Jan 2007)..

Anyone knows about the working visa in aus for singaporeans? Singapore doesn't seem to be on the list at DIMIA's website..

merci

i need to check for those of u that got yr visa approved, did u receive a ltr via post? i only got a email confirmation ltr and didnt receive any approval ltr via post. i wondered if its got missing in mails... hope to hear from someone... tks.

dat

hi eileen,

i may be wrong, but australia issues e-visa to singaporeans now.. u don't need a physical piece of visa, it's linked to your passport, at least that's how my student visa is :)

noscon

low

yeah i think the main applicant has to go thru ielts. I just went for mine.... but my hubby also went to accompany me... im scared of the speaking part where u have to sit and talk to an angmo for 10mins or so and he is like looking here and there... can see he is quite bored...

dat

noscon,

i'm doing my undergraduate studies at the University of Melbourne.. :)

I think personally that there's no good U to study at, it depends on what sort of program you're looking at, some universities have good business programs, others focus on research, while others will be good at the arts or design etc..

HTHs

noscon

DA.T

How about for IT courses? I have also shortlisted Mel U as one of the choices. In terms of std of living and job opportunities, how does mel compare to sydney and perth?

btw how long have you been there?

dat

noscon,

IT i'm not sure, but UniMelb does have some IT systems courses, but i don't know anyone doing IT..

It's my 2nd year in Melbourne.. visited sydney and perth for holidays, find sydney too busy (ie singapore) and perth too borning (ie for retirement).. Melb is still alright for me, cos I live in the city..

SOL depends on your own lifestyle, in singapore, my family eats out alot, but when i'm alone in melb and with SO, we buy groceries to cook, so actually i'm not really sure how the grocery prices compare. But eating out in Melbourne is expensive, a normal chinese meal (fried rice) cost at least AUD$7.

SO says for his line (accounts) there's lots of job opportunities, in fact some of his collegues have already migrated to Melbourne.

BTW, above is my person view, so you may want to seek other opinions as well :)

vvbbb

DA.T,
Is it cheaper for PR to study there?

I'm thinking that if it is cheaper in OZ, maybe i'll take a degree or master over there.

Noscon,
I used to live nearby UNSW Sydney but don't know much coz i only worked in Sydney. I think normal meal cost the same $7. I suspect Sydnye is slightly more expensive than Melb...

Foggy,
I'm working in Banking/Finance so most of the jobs are mainly in Sydney. All of my friends who migrated from SG are in Sydney (2 couples + 3 guys) and since i've lived in Sydney for a year, I made new friends there too.

But my hubby likes Melbourne and plan to move there.... I don't mind going to Melb, but i'm sure I won't be able to get similar job in Melb (no relevant experience so pay will be lower in Melb) Well, i could always be a 'tai-tai' over there hehehe....

Hmm... i think we'll try to apply for job from SG first and we'll move to the city that offer the first job.

noscon

thanks viv and Da.T

how was life overseas? was or is it lonely? Do you have problems finding friends etc? Any discrimination at workplace or in general?

is it true that u r paid less cos u r a PR or asian?

DA.T
thanks for your opinion... my dh has a friend doing accounts in melb too. i guess yr cooking has improved huh?

vivi
r u currently in sydney? I have been there once and stayed there for abt 2wks. The sun seems very strong and glaring there. I had to wear sunglasses there even tho i never do in singapore.

vvbbb

noscon,
i used to hold oz PR n lived in Sydney for a year. Didn't survive (homesick) so went back SG. Now married, my hubby wants to migrate oz so we both applying oz PR again hehehe...

Ya, the sun was quite strong. I remember hanging my washed clothes out to dry (in the backyard of the house i was renting) and I got sunburn on my back neck(i tied my hair). After half-year, i realized that the skin on my leg cracked (weather's dry). My face got freckles too, and they are still there on my face even now

I never put on lotion before so not in habit to put on sunblock lotion on face and body lotion on body, but we'll need to make it a habit once there hehehe...
Oh, i stil never get the habit of wearing sunglasses too hehehe... Always forgot to bring with me when going out.

abt discrimination, i'm sure there's a little here and there. Even in SG, i see how Chinese discriminates against Malay, Indian and China(mainland)pp. We just don't want to be the person being discriminated hehehe...
I think it's all in our mind. If we keep thinking or suspecting we're being discriminated, we tend to be sensitive abt how they (oz pp) treat us. So the best solution is, tell ourselves that they are no better than us (be confident), be thick-skinned (not too sensitive) and fight for your right.

Hmm.. abt getting paid less. I think it depends on how you negotiate. They tend to be fair with compensation.. at least compared to SG, where sometimes the employer 'tekan' us if we're at their mercy hehehe...
But my agent told me then that becoz i don't have oz experience, i may not able to command high salary.. i think it's just sales talk lah.. the agent want to seal the deal faster so the lower the better.

Abt making friends, hmm i dunno leh...
When i was there i made friends only with my own small community, which is not good.... But I suffer from low self-confidence so hv a hard time mixing with ang moh (other than colleagues).
Some of my colleagues there like to 'shout' and made sarcastic remarks openly to each other, which i found shocking hehehe... But that's jsut how comfortable they are with expressing their thoughts n emotion hehehe...

i can tell u many2 funny, scary, sad, stupid stories abt my adventure there hehehe...

Well, 2nd try this time, hopefully i fare better with finding Australian friends.

emerjo

I just came back from a trip to Melbourne. It has changed a great deal over the years. The city is very busy, vibrant and the cost of living has gone up. The newspaper even reported that the jobless rate has dropped to their lowest.

We encountered quite a fair bit of traffic jam, even at the suburbs and most housing are so so so nice. Each house has it's own characteristic. Rental is usually per week basis and costs about average of $300. Getting your own house will cost about $450K and above. Actually easily $600K. On the other hand, one of such houses may cost more than a million here.

Cars are cheaper than SG, but the petrol is about 1.29 on average. New cars are about $24K to $35K, and used cars are above $10K.

The weather was as cold as below 10' sometimes and stayed at the average of 15'. It's the strong wind that blew my mind off....so c.o..l.d.. It even rained while we were there.

We used to see Asian from Vitnam, HongKong, Malaysia & Singapore, now we have China & India to the addition. For that reason, we were spoilt of choices for food. The only thumb down is .... EXPENSIVE.

In general, inner suburbs that are closer to outer suburbs are better place to stay and got to do plenty of DIY.

Anyone any idea how much do we need to settle down there? I read that PR has subsidies like the house rental, medical, working mum, etc. Do we need to stay for 2 yrs before we are eligible?