Anyone Migrating to Australia?

noscon

I just got my PR yesterday!!!

viv
i also want to be tai tai but doubt i can lah... maybe i kena have to work in mcdonalds if IT no suitable job...

foggy
so u r thinking of settling down in mel? u have PR liao? when do u plan to go?

emerjo

noscon, big CONGRATS! U must be so happy yet lost at the same time, r u? I'm like that. Anyway, how long was ur waiting time? Yeah....gotten mine feb this yr, & this trip to Mel was for my 1st landing. Ooohh....u r in IT...so m I. M still checking out whether Perth or Mel suits us, and if things go well, planned to be there by end 08. How abt u?

noscon

foggy

oh great! someone in IT like me... can u let me know what aspect u are doing? I'm doing application development.

i did my PR application last yr.. i will be following my hubby who might be working or further his studies... we r also thinking of mel or perth or any place that offers him a position. he intend to go in 2008 too. we need to do our first landing by mar 08

emerjo

viv, I don't think u ve to worry about not getting jobs in Banking or Finance. Mel has grown a great deal, but u may have to work in the city. I believe u may have to do the same if u were to b in Sydney.

Other wise, it's not a bad idea to be the finance controller at home too.

emerjo

noscon, m in IT infrastructure. I hope I can get a job while m in SG, and yeah we r also planning to go wherever offers us a position.

wow....u ve up to a year for the landing....I was only given abt 6mths.

dat

congrats to all.. sorry again if i'm asking this for the millionth time, but to those who've gotten your PR, when did you guys submit your application?

SO's still waiting..

noscon

foggy

I think IT infrastructure shd be no problem in finding job... i thk application w be very low pay one
pls keep each other informed since we both in the same line n w b gg to aust next yr

DA.T
thanks. I submitted my application very long time ago like mid last yr. so it took us about 1 yr. I submitted via an agency. If you like to do it via agency I can recommend you mine as it is very professional n no hidden costs but there others who did it by themselves.

emerjo

DA.T, I waited for a yr before I got mine.

noscon, sure will let u know. As for the job opportunity..it's a matter of 'i see u good, n u see mine better' Basically, i think we both lack confidence. On the other hand...i really wish to be able to do something on my own ultimately. Still trying to figure out what's good there.

escondido

Folks,

Just to check if any of you are based in Melbourne?

How far is Glen Waverley / Mount Waverley away from City via car or by public transport ?

How far away is Glen Waverley and Mount Waverley from Clayton ?

tiara

We are planning to migrate to Oz. Probably Perth since we studied there 10+ yrs ago.

Did any of you engage an agent - here or down under?

Any advice much appreciated.

dat

SO will be making the move in July, I will head back for uni term :)

Anyone in melbourne yet?

jessl - hihi! welcome! er, maybe you wanna post your question and every one here will try their best to help, i'm sure! :)

jessl

I'm going for Skill Migration. At the stage of preparing my CDR report. Anyone out there care to help as i'm at a loss what to do. I need samples. I engage a agent thinking he would help but they just refuse to give additional one. When i call & leave messages, he does not retuen calls.

noscon

jessl

Hi I just got my PR thru a reputable agent. If you need any advice or help, can pm me

DA.T
Oh got to go back to school liao? Hope you will have a smooth term ahead... I'm not in melb yet but most prob next yr... My hubby is more or less set on melb liao...

aureuscu

I am going to submit my application soon. I'm not going through an agent. There are a few things I am not sure. I went to a lawyer to certify my certs and not to a notary public. Wonder whether this may be a problem. I have an IT degree from Singapore and I'm qualified for Occupation in Demand.
Can I check whether I need to go for the IELTS test although my degree is in English? Do I submit my application directly to DIMA in Australia or via the embassy here?
How much did it cost in all?

aureus

honey_pooh

dear all, really appreciate all the threads and advice given by all...

I am going to file for my migration soon too. Hubby is the primary and me as spouse and dependants as my mother-in-law. Most of my docs already certify and and now pending for my sponser to sent us the related docs. we are applying under skilled migration-sponsored category.
Anybody also apply this category? if yes, any advices for me??(TIA!!!)

noscon

aureus

you need to go for IELTS as an applicant from singapore. They made it compulsory for main applicant since last yr.

As for your other queries, i cant answer as i submit application via agent. I just got my pr in june.

honeypooh
sorry cant help you there..

aureuscu

Hi Eileen,

Was your husband the main applicant? Is that why he had to sit for IELTS? Studied in Singapore?

I didn't want to sit for the test but now it looks like I may have to.

aureuscu

Do we get 5 points for fluency in one of Australia's community languages? Or do we have to sit for a test?

jessl

Hi all, Does anyone have information materials/assessments for ielts to share? Is it difficult to get the required 6 pts ?

honey_pooh

is there any main applicant who does not need to go for IELTS test?? How about their spouse??
I am quite worried abt the test too..

noscon

aureus

not that i know of. r u talking abt english? i did not get extra points for that.

jessl
i might have a copy of a book with some practices for ielts.

honey pooh
i was worried too. mainly for the speaking test when u have to speak to an angmo for abt 15mins. the rest like listening, writing and reading tests shd be ok for you....

honey_pooh

Could anyone advice me on the application charges for skilled migration under australia sponsored?
It is stated that the first instalment is A$2060.(which i believe that we need to pay this during our submition of our application) My hubby is the main applicant and we are including my mother-in-law as dependant..

Stated in the form that the 2nd instalment is A$2860(any dependants). So hubby need to pay how much in total then? How much do we need to pay for me as spouse and my mother-in-law as dependants?

Please kindly help. TIA!!!

ejann

Hi there!! I read with interest of all your communication (and find some of them really complicating ha ha). Anyway, I am looking at relocating to Australia-possibly to Sydney and had zero idea where to start?! can anyone give some pointers???!!! You can reply thru this forum or PM me or chat: [email protected]. Thank you in advance!!!!! cheers, eve

dat

Hi Jann,
Welcome to the forum! From SO's experience, he first checked online at the immi.gov.au web then went down to the australian embassy to get the booklet (for application). His collegue kindly helped him with how to fill up the booklet and what documents to attach. Next we went and got his qualifications, NS ORD slip, proof of employment photocopied and certified true copies by a lawyer.

He also applied for his ILETS examination.

After submitting, you'll be assigned a Case officer and will need to proceed to get police clearance as well as do your medical checkup..

Hope that helps!

ejann

Hi dat! Thanks so much for the response!!! I guess DIMIA (went in to browse but info overload :p) and AHC is my first stop then!!! cheers, eve

simplyserene

Hi hi. I was thinking to apply under the Skilled Migration section as well. Can I know how long and how much it takes to get the PR?

Last year I was told by the immigration agent that I can apply next yr. The most irritating thing I feel is that they keep making it more and more difficult each yr...

aureuscu

Will DIMA inform us once they have received our application? Or will we be informed only after a case officer has been assigned? BTW, how long does it take for a case officer to be assigned?

aureus

honey_pooh

ya, i have the same question as aureus_cu.

Just submitted our application, not sure what i am suppose to expect from immi side. Will they informed us when they rx our application. Or they will contact us only when assign Case officer to us. I assume that we will need to wait for 6 - 12 months before they contact us.

vvbbb

aureus cu,

my husband got an acknoledgement letter in Jan for our Dec application, so i think you would prob receive acknowledgement letter in 1-2 mths after lodgement.

And in April (so, abt 3mths after acknowledgement letter), we receive letter requesting our health checks and no-criminal certificate.

Hope this info helps in any way.

vvbbb

Oh ya,

I wanted to ask those who just got their PR granted recently. Did you guys receive a pre-grant letter before the final PR grant letter?

We just got our pre-grant letter a few days ago but i'm not sure what we're expected to do with the pre-grant. Or if we're going to get our PR granted soon.

snoozy

@@ around.. this thread still going strong.. hehehe.. congrat to those who got their PR. ermm.. I still waiting for my chance to apply my visa. But will be going over to melbourne soon..

vvbbb

hehehe.. i'm actually getting excited about moving there.

btw, when i was trying to google for comparison of living std in SG and OZ, i found a blog of somebody (Asian - Indonesian) who moved/lived in Melbourne (http://willwen.blogspot.com/). I found his blog a good read to know about living in Melbourne from an migrant's point of view. He discussed about comparison of Sg and Melb, tax, housing, work-life, etc.

Snoozy,
are you going to apply for the PR soon?
I think they changed the points slightly, so you may need to read through the changes before applying.

snoozy

A new discussion board for Singaporean who are currently overseas. We can chat everything there..

connectz.proboards50.com

noscon

ladies who are in Melbourne

Can i find out from you the job market there? how is it esp for IT sector? cos i got a few aust colleagues who told me that they came to singapore cos they cant find a job in mel for a really long time....

snoozy

I heard from my hb before, the IT sector in australia is flooded with too many IT graduates so it kinda difficult to find a jobs there.. especially melbourne, one of my fren from perth, he told me that too.

snoozy

I need some advices from those who apply the spouse visa. From what I know that we have to do a police check , can anyone tell me where can I do that and how long does the report valid? Hw long does one person have to wait to get the report? Another thing is, we have to get our family to write something to show our r/s .. can anyone teach me how to write that..?

Thanks in advance for the help

noscon

snoozy'

o man... sad to hear that but well, maybe time i change career too :p

can't help you with the spouse visa tho cos i never done that. hope u w get a reply soon...

snoozy

hi noscon,

It okay with the visa stuff. As for the work, maybe you can try to ask those who already move over there or maybe you can try on their job website.

lavender_garden

Hi snoozy

I'm pretty lazy to read all msg from top to bottom...
in short.. are you migrating to Australia? Melbourne if i'm not wrong? So you are marrying a australian as well? Then i can give you a penny of my advice cos i just went thru all the application of spousal visa myself and am currently waiting for their reply. It should be on the way soon.

First..go visit this site.. http://www.australia.org.sg/
inside the web site , under migration, under family visa, there is one for spousal visa and if i still remeber clearly it's call the spousal temporary visa 309... U have to print it all out and fill it all in, and yr partner will also have to print out some forms... errrr.. i forgot what's the form call...

As for the section in the form regrading family or close friend write up, u got to get people from his side to write story abt two of you, such as how long they know u, how they find you , how and what they think abt yr relationship with yr partner and is it a real relationship and not marry for convienence etc etc...and also u got to provide prove of yr relationship like photo which u two take together, phone bills, emails etc etc .. anything that can prove that yr relationship is continuing...

After getting all the forms ready, u will have to subimt to Australia high commission embassy at Napier Road..they will look thru and then tell you what else u need and will then give you some forms. one of the form is for you to go to Police Cantoment complex(Police HQ), 2nd level with money and photos and go apply for police clearance... that is to show u have no criminal backgound. They will also give you forms for medical check up.

Basically it's like that... i may have forgotten certain details, thus feel free to drop me email if you have any quiry

Good Luck
von