Anyone Migrating to Australia?

snoozy

I need some urgent help from those staying in melbourne. Where can I find a Notary Public. I need to sign the HDB transfer form and I realise there aint any embassy in Melbourne. Thanks in advance

dat

Great news! SO's just received his PR grant, just need to go down to the embassy for the verification on Monday! :) First entry must be before March 2008.

So it took him Jan-Nov which is almost 1year to get his PR under skilled-migration.

Snoozy: not sure about notary public, but maybe you can try the law firms?

snoozy

Hi DAT, Congrat. Btw.. as for the notary public, someone from another thread already help me on that. Thanks

kyle

Any advice for Australia PR application process?Skilled migration?What are the required forms required?thanks in advance.

honey_pooh

can anybody advice on the spore police clearance? Do we only get the clearance for my hubby(main applicant) and me plus my mother-in-law or we have to do it for all other family members. Cos it seems that it is stated in the request email that we need to submit all our family members..Please kindly help!!!

margiel

Hmm Honey pooh, not quite sure how many pp u are referring to, but as far as i know whoever stated to go for police clearance has to go down cos when u are there, the officer will need to scan all ur fingers and prob check if u have got any criminal records. They will advise u when to come back to collect ur Police Clearance paper (abt 2 weeks later).

Kyle, do check the Australian High Commission website, they have got all the info needed and is pretty detailed oso.

mummy69

Hi, my husband (2 kids) are thinking of migrating to mel too. Just went down to see an agent last weekend and the chances of us getting the PR is quite high. I would like to check:

1. Is it easier to get an agent to do this but their fee are so high, it's A$6500 for all the stages (excluding any other costs). It is very tedious to do it ourselves (under the skilled, sponsored scheme)?
2. Does anyone knows how much do we really need once we are there - involving getting a roof over our head?

Thank you so much.

zenith

my FH is thinking of migrating to perth or NZ. i'm a little worried abt a no. of things like the life there, getting a job, housing etc. is the application a tough process? i'm totally clueless abt the procedure. can anyone advise? do we hv to get an agent to do all the documents for us?

noscon

zen

For NZ, the last time i enquire about migration for NZ which is abt 2 years, they told me not possible to migrate there unless you study there and then subsequently try to get a job there. I think you can try asking but chances are not great.

For the procedure, its not straightforward but you can apply on your own as there are people in this forum who also applied on their own. For me, I applied thru agent.

zenith

hi noscon,

thanks so much for replyin.
can u recommend me yr agent? u can pm me if not convenient to list here.

my FH is quite serious abt migrating & i'm feelin a bit scared, worried abt the whole thing. i'm getting out of my comfort zone here & go to a new environment. really mixed feelings. excited & worried.

for him is quite straightforward in getting a job. cos he's in the civil svc so he'll just apply for the post in tat country & the ans is just a yes or a no. for me, i'm not a professional. i used to run an educational centre in s'pore & i'm not NIE certified so i dun think i can work there as a teacher unless in a private sch since i've the TESOL cert. so i guess i've to go as spouse & see wat job i can find there.

is the whole application process veri complicated & difficult? roughly how long is the whole procedure?

vvbbb

i'm flying to sydney in april
finally...

A bit scared of going there without a job (neither me nor hubby got a job yet) but lucky we have many friends who migrated earlier so can always ask for help.

Zen,
thw whole application is straight forward so you could do it yourself. But having an agent would definitely help you if your situation is tricky (eg, not enought points for the pass marks). It usually takes about 9m - 1yr.

aureus,
i guess you're pregnant? congratz..
I'm trying for a baby but having problems conceiving. So hopefully going there would help.
If i'm not wrong, you just need to inform oz immigration about the potential change of status (additional member for the application).

Foggy,
when are you going? to melb, right?

zenith

hi viv,

u mean we can apply for PR even when we haven't found a job there? on wat conditions were u & hubby accepted? i always thot must hv found a job there, set up a biz there or some professionals then they'll accept. pls pardon my ignorance & stupid questions. i veri blur abt all these...

merci

hi there
i need to meet my initial entry by 9 apr 08... i'm wondering if any of u are already in Perth and willing to rent out a room for my 1 wk stay as i'll be there alone with my 2 yr old son... my hubby cant make it due to work commitments. tks.

noscon

zen

not sure whether you have rec my mail. I guess u can try applying for yourself first since it will save so much $$

anyway I've just been back from melbourne and things are v expensive there. Also they have a shortage of rental apt there so now many people are bidding for 1 apt, the higher px u offer the higher the chance of getting it.

Many many asians there. Everywhere we go, we see asians. So I guess you wont feel so left out there. Cant provide more details for the other cities though.

Eg of the cost there:
For lunch: 1 teriyaki wrap AUD4.60, 1 soft drink/milk shake AUD 4.50 so altogether its more than SGD10 per meal. Very exp....

eileen
cant help you there...

noscon

zen

You can go online to go one of those free assessment by immigration agents or maybe there is a free assessment provided by a neutral party website. This will give you an idea of how much chance you have or what they are looking for...

You can apply for PR without a job first cos thats what we did. As long as you have enough points, you can apply without a job or investment etc. But I'm not sure whether it will be more beneficial if you have a job there? I think for some cases, it will help if you have a job there...

noscon

oh man.... i also dunno what i wrote ..maybe i will try looking for it again...

yeah im a TGGoh 2005 bride but independent one. not with kai.

emerjo

Hi Zen,
What's a kai or TG Goh bride?

Hi Noscon,
Looong time no see? When r u going over to Mel?

I'll be moving on to Perth by Jan 09. There should be no changes if my hubby is staying put in his current job.

Anyone out there going Perth?

noscon

Foggy

long time no see... how are you?

My hubby prob this year and me next yr... he will try to look for a job first and settle down first...

u gg to mel too?

emerjo

Hahahaa.. Noscon,

Mel no more already. Preference is Mel, but hubby is not changing his job, but will request to change his base to AU. As he needs to travel to S.E.A frequently, we'll relocate to Perth for his convenience.

Ur hubby will go 1st to get a job while u hang on to urs in SG. Is it? Which part of Mel are u settling down?

Yeah... Mel is more expensive these days... but seems to be happening globally. Look at SG today.

noscon

Oh...Foggy = emerjo now i recognize ur email...hahaha sorry did not make the link immediately

yeah great to see u here.... yeah rem that r hubby is holding on to his job....

yeah tentatively that is the plan. hubby goes first... not sure which part of mel cos heard that the rental issue is quite bad in mel due to shortage of housing.... will try to get a job first...

yeah but Mel stuff seems almost twice as exp as singapore even tho salary may be slightly higher only...

when r u gg to perth? i rem u said u r visiting aust again this yr?

emerjo

Noscon... so u heard the bell....

Rental seems to be an issue not just in Mel, but in Perth too. Mayb the whole of AU... (I hope not)

I should be there by beginning next year. And u ve wonderful memory... yeap... will be making a trip there to know the environment better.

Anyone knows of the rules of obtaining the citizenship? I heard those who have gotten their PRs b4 Jul 07, just need to fulfill 2 years stay b4 Jun 2010. Is that true?

merci

Are there anyone of u migrating this year and wanting to sell your car? I will only migrate in the year 2010 and hope to get a second hand car meanwhile. If so, please PM me. Thanks.

kyle

Hi all, can anyone advice if there is a demand for electrical engineers in au? I am tinking of relocating to au, but am not sure abt the prospect and availability for my field. Also can any1 suggest which part of au is better? I m tinking of sydney or brisbane.

mrs_n

Sorry forgot to add go to 'Sg in my area'. It's a forum. You'll find quite a number of singaporeans living and working in OZ on there.

hopeac

If you have a job, it is not really that difficult to get a place in the suburbs around 2 weeks to 3 weeks. We manage to get our in one of mel suburbs within 2 weeks. If you are eyeing, the CBD area. The vacancy is 1 %. It may take above 6 weeks to get a place. And if you do not have a job, you will need to prove that you have financial capability to pay rent. Before, they even let you rent the place, they will call your references. Even, you say you have a job. They will call your employer etc to double check.

Eating out is very exp, that is one reason most people eat in. Eating in, the cost is about the same as singapore.

Kyle,
There is a demand for engineers. And they are one of the highest paid professions in aus.

By the way, Anyone looking for IELTS books. I would like to sell mine. They are still very new condition, with no pencil marks.

xandrea

anyone has recommendation on engaging a migration agent to manage your visa application?

any good or bad experiences to share?

honey_pooh

i have apply for the visa last year July, now pending for approval now. Only submit the CNCC and medical checkup recently...

Anybody also pending for approval now? we can share information...

kyle

Thanks hopeac.
By the way hopeac,through which way did you get a job in australia?which field are you in?Did you apply your migration through a migration agent?Do you have the cost breakdown?Thanks again.

kyle

Hi all,did anyone manage to get a job before moving to australia or sponsorship from a company?Advice is required.

kyle

i intend to.
Honey_pooh,did u engage a migration agent?Can share your application process?
Which area of engineering are u in?I am in process control automation.Have u got a job in australia yet?Which part u of australia u moving too?

honey_pooh

Hi Kyle, we did not go thru agent as it is quite expensive. It is quite easy but just that lots of certification is needed and paperwork. I am in mechanical...
Nope, we have no jobs at the moment. Will only look for once we got the PR. Most probably going to Perth. How abt you? Have you taken your IELTS test?

kyle

I hv not gone thru IELTS test yet.
What is the form that needs to be filled in for skilled migration?Are u able to give me an idea on how to fill up the form?I went thru the form b4 but was unsure on how to fill.Just wan to leave SGP for good.

honey_pooh

hi kyle, dun think thru email can really understand well on filling up the form. hmmm...during my time..my hubby do everything himself..i only sign on the form so not much involvement in the form...sorry abt that. But what i heard from hubby is that there is some checklist that they require you to cross check before submitting..Hope that helps..

honey_pooh

HELP!!
Can anyone explain abt this "intital entry" thing?? Is it after we are grant the visa, all the applicant has to enter australia before this "intital entry" date...how long do we need to stay before coming back to singapore?

Thanks to all...

happyjj

Hi Honey_Pooh,

Are u talking about the initial entry date that was stated in the visa "sticker" in your passport?

If thats the one, you will have to enter australia before that date. From what I know, you can just enter Australia just for a short trip and return to Singapore thereafter. It is just to have a stamp on your passport to show that you enter Australia before the initial entry date (just to validate the visa).

From what i know (unless they have changed the rules again) the visa is valid for 5 years (thereafter hv to renew), you will hv to live in Australia for at least 2 years before you can renew it next time.

Hope this help

honey_pooh

hi JJ, thanks for the info...we just got the email from immi that our visa has been granted!!!

Hi JJ, do you know for the 2 years out of 5 years...must it be permanent for 2yrs and we cannot leave aust at all or it can be accumulative thru out the 5 years period?? TIA!!!

happyjj

Hi Honey_Pooh,

From what we know, the 2 years is the accumulative type but am not really sure about that coz my hubby came straight over when he got his visa and didn't really leave Australia for a long time except going back to SG for a short holiday.

As for me, mine is a spouse visa the other time, I also came over and stayed for a long period except that when I went back to SG for holiday, I stayed a longer like a month to 3 at times.

Which states are you and your hubby going to?

honey_pooh

hi JJ, thanks for the information!! So you are now in aust??

For the application, we stated Perth..cos hubby sisters is over there. We also graduated from Perth uni too..but we can go other states, rite?

How about you? which state are you in now??

happyjj

No worries

Whereabout is ur SIL staying at? Yeah, we are living in Perth too and yup u can go to other states as I suppose your visa is under the skilled migration.