Hotel Fort Canning

Hi Yellow Duck, I find that the bridal shop i signed up with not bad eventhough it's not our first choice. ya, it's a new shop, only 1 yr plus. hehe.. yup have to watch my diet during CNY period. oh.... so your FH is a officer? military march in is nice, looks very grand

icic... mostly importantly is u n ur FH like it.. my guy din like it.. cos he prefer natural.. dun like it to be digitalise...

yup my guy is an officer... then tt time went to the bridal shop the person say i muz wear very grand cannot lose out to him.. haa.. so tink my wedding will luk abit grand bah...

I'm also looking at choosing The Legends for my wedding cos of the marquee. Ballroom weddings are too boring but outdoor weddings run the risk of rainy days.

Have seen the menu and I realised that the food selection is not very impressive given the pricing. I'm not looking at chinese dinner though. Prefer western or buffet. Has anyone tried? Comments?

Hope more and more ex-brides of TLAFC can share their experience with us here. Anyway anyone can share what the package is like for The Legends in the last wedding show?

Kel - I think the pricing is also steep as compare to some of the hotels. But the pricing is due to the special ambience, I believe.

Purple Flowers - When is your AD? Can I know how did you pay per table and total costs after adding the misc? Eg: dry ice effect, liquor etc... need more information...

Oink Oink - totally agreed. The prices are steep given the package. Other 5 stars hotel are charging the same rates with a lot more perks. I guess we are paying for the marquee - which then again, is being placed there, like at all times due to all the weddings. FH likes that place that's why it's in the list. *Pulling hairs*

Hi Kel,
Hee.. which 5 stars hotels are you referring to? Cos the wedding package that I've got all cost $1k with the +++ excluding the liquor and all. Haiz. Well, have thought of HIA and Furama Riverfront (cost $600 - $800), but the location is not ideal and they belong to the 4 star hotels. However, it's just special to hold weddings there. For an outdoor wedding, I would say it has a pleasant ambience. :D

So far, I've come across places like Regent, Merchant Court, etc. with similar prices. Getting married is a VERY expensive affair nowadays...

Kel, maybe I'm referring to the weekend packages. But I compared Regent and Merchant Court for weekend also not cheap lor. Somemore got to meet the minimum tables... yeah, so ex lor... it's around $30k... haiz...

Like to know if anyone whom already had their wedding dinner at The Legends, arranged for any transportation like buses for your guest to the venue before the dinner and to the mrt station after the dinner?

just to provide some feedbacks. Attended a wedding dinner at the palm terrace last weekend. Food wise was ok... infact I feel the food can compete wif some 5 stars hotels...
service is good. Prompt change in dirty plates.
Just a note, do check the sound system they provide before starting the march in...some hiccups happened.
Else it's a great affair! The way they serve the 1st dish is very entertaining! Something different.

Hi lavender_lover

Did you attended the sunday wedding? i was there on sunday to revised my contract. my coordinator invited us for dinner at the legends garden which is oso the restuarant that provide the food for the banquet.. the food was nice.. then heard squeaking sound (tink frm the mic) during dinner...

Hi Lavender Lover,

Were you there for a wedding dinner on 21 Jan? I was there too! Just gonna check out the place and that was the first time I had seen a long march in. I think their chef was given a special award for his cooking skills and great food. I had nv try their cooking. Hee. Must admit their fanfare was really entertaining and I would say it's special in a way. Well, can you share what happened to the sound system? And I will like to know if it's stuffy that nite. I find it breezy when I was standing outside the Marquee, so wondering how you guest feel in the Marquee? By the way, can you really view the projector which is place right at the front near the stage?

When I was standing out there viewing the process and the 2nd March in.. I realised no one is noticing the photo montage or the express highlights which I find it a pity. Well, it may due to the long march in and the guests can't really see the projector.

yelow duck n oink
yup..I attended the sunday dinner bash at the terrace. The squeaing sound is indeed from the sound system... dun know what happen... sigh... can't hear the montage music...
it's a pity... else it'll be real nice! The sound made is so bad... those sitting near the speakers alomost go deaf..

lucky it was rather breezy... so that day was alright. But if during the day is hot n dry...it'll be pretty warm. I attended the dinner there twice..the first time was on a hot n humid day... so it's kinda of stuffy... guess u can ask for more fans to ventilate...it should be ok.

the projector screen is a little far... i can't really see the screen... guess maybe that day becs of the sound hiccups...the interests of the guests are not there...:p

Otherwise I feel it's a nice place to hold a wedding.

Well, ladies.. my first choice was The Legends.. but after seeing the wedding on Sun... really disappoints me.. In my mind, the projector issue had been on my mind. Cos not many ppl will be noticing it when i play the montage. Nv did I know that there were many ppl not noticing it. Brought my family there and they were complaining of the heat... haiz.. looks like I've got to look for other hotels... Sighed...

i did luk thru the marquee and find the projector was so small... tink they have 50 tables tts y... those too far away will have a hard time luking at it.. unless u can bring in another projector to put in on the side or wat.. for my case tink its ok cos i over 20 over tables only.. wont b too far frm the projectors...

for the weather really have to depend on luck bah..

lavender_lover the other time u attended when its hot and humid is it during jan or jun?

yellow duck n oink oink
the sunday's dinner is fine...excpet the minor hiccups.. also like what yellow duck mentioned, it was bat 48 tables that's why...
least the food's good.

that time i attended when it's hot n humid...can't rem exactly which month cos it's sometime back... think it was in march... but frankly speaking, the temp went down abit when it's at nite...the hot time was ard 5plus-6plus... else it was ok. dun have to worry too much.

hi lavender_lover

u were there at 5 to 6 plus? oh.. tts early wat time did the dinner start? was tinking of starting early like 6.30pm for dinner but my coordinator say too early nt much pple will cum at tt time.

any BTB here having their dinner at 9th dec 07? was tinking of sharing the transport frm mrt to legends.. heh...

hi yellow duck
saw u in the other thread..keke... anyway yup..we were early cos my hubby was one of the sword bearers... they'll need to rehearse mah...so went there early... it was a hot time...keke... all of them perspire like mad... partly due to the uniform they wore... not exactly 'breatheable'...

the dinner started ard 1930hrs...
on time.
u also having the military march in?

hi lavender_lover

haaa.. ya i was oso at the sword ceremony thread.. bt seems like no1 there alredi..

oh.. ware is ur hubby frm? air, sea or land? usually hw long do they nid to rehearse? wat time ur hubby reached legends at tt time?

haaa... ya their uniform luk to thick and wif long sleeves all tis ya luk so hot in it...

the dinner was to commerce at 1900 or 1930? can start on time was really great.. cos my dinner was on a sunday dun1 to end too late..

ya i b having military march in.. hmmn heard the sword bearer will sabo the couple 1 huh?... sound fun haaa... oh ya like to ask u.. do they state tt there will be a military wedding on the wedding cards?

hi yellow duck
my huuby's from the air. yours? how long they need..it'll depends on how many pairs of sword bearers u have and how long it takes before all of them reach the place to rehearse. My hubby reached there ard 1730hrs. He was asked to reached there ard that time. Anyway, the dinner time is dictated by both of u. Usually people print onthe cards dinner start at 1930hrs. Some earlier to minimise latecomers. Kia su abit.

The sword bearers will or will not sabo the couple..it'll depends on your sword bearers liao... keke... guess it all boils down to the value of hongbao they'll get and if both of u requested not to be sabo.. so u'll get a smooth walk down the arches of the sword...

no need to state on the cards if there's a military wedding.
Dun think I've seen anyone done that.. :p

hi lavender_lover
oh.. my guy is oso frm the air. tt time hw many pairs of sword bearers for tt wedding? hmmmn gt sabo anot im ok lah.. heh.. gt sabo like more memorable..

hi yellow
coincidence!
your guy is in which vocation? I was form the air force too! ;p

for me, i'll prefer a smooth walk cos I find the whole thing quite disruptve wif the sabos... music also kena cut... dun look that grand. Think it's individual preferences. :p Anyway all the military wedding I attended got sabos.. keke... so I opted not to have one with sabos. :p

hi lavender

my guy frm transport.. hmmn.. u frm air force too or ur hubby?

oh.. ya sound quite distruptive.. the music hav to b longer etc.. hmmn if tts the case tink a smooth 1 will b betta... so where u intenting hav ur banquet?

yellow duck
keke..both of us used to be in air force..now left only hubby still in the force. Hey, my hubby's also from transport. Maybe they know each other...;p

my AD long over liao lah... in march 05. We had it at The Oriental Hotel.

hi lavender

oh u frm air force too... wah.. female pilot..
hmmmn.. ya maybe they do noe each other.. my guy frm paya lebar... same?

yellow duck
me not pilot lah...WAH!!! I believe we have seen each other too.... keke...:p PM me...cos not very good to reveal too much on the net...;p

yup...me got a march in too... requested a smooth one... :p so pack more in the hong bao lor... keke...
but kena sabo whne we go round tables....haha...

Hi Oink oink..

Havn't been logging in for some time...My AD is tis year june.Havn't caculated how much is the total cost yet...don't think i will have dry ice etc..thinking to have bubbbles instead. As for liquor, we will go for the free red wine thingy, so no beer at all. Reckon approx. prob 700 plus to 800 per table lor.

So you confirm not taking LEgends for your dinner venue liao??Ehh.. the sound system stuff will make BTB at legends stress lei...the ambience really depends alot on the sound system as well...hope they can improve on it or not pple may not consider Legends becos of tat.

O sorry Oink Oink..

Btw, have yo got your BS yet?? You checked out GHA already? Cos now i think their package is even more flexible, with lotsa perks added in....So far their service has been great!

Hi Purple Flowers,

Ya long time din hear from you le. Wow June, that's fast. Hee... Maybe not consider The Legends already.. cos the cranky sound system and the small projector for montage.. scary... hehe.. Y dont you have a talk with your coordinator? How's your wedding preps coming along? Have you taken you wedding photos? Care to share? My email: [email protected]. So happy for you... :D All the best!

I've been to GHA.. well, I must say they have a comprehensive package and service is excellent too. But I did not sign up for it. Instead I signed up with SBroadway.. Hee, they offer the similar packages but with more perks. Due to the budget constraint, I find that they are sincere, so signed up with them. Well all the best in our wedding plans.. Thanks for sharing your info with me...

Hi Oink..

Think sbroadway shld be good too, its a family business of one of my colleague's wife. Fotos shld be good.

Fotoshoot somewhere in march or end feb, will be confirming next week. Ya will speak to my coordinator when i see her re the sound system and stuff. We are taking min tables so montage shldn't be so bad. Hopefully can be improved and more couples will definitely sign up with them as they have a nice ambience.

Hi Purple Flowers,

hee thanks. Saw their works and many of my friends took their photos there too. I thought of giving it a try.

Well, pls share your wedding photos when it's ready.. ya I think smaller no. of tables is still not that bad. Just got to keep reminding the coordinator. Hee. I should be having my wedding one yr later after yours. Did GHA do a montage for u too? or someone else to do for u?

HI Oink..

We have yet to confirm our AD photographer..still searching ard for the best price, nowadays getting ex..so hopefully it will include the montage, if not we are thinking of doing ourselves, or rather my BF will do it..hehe..

Hi Purple Flowers,

Nice to hear from you again... oh ya.. everything is so ex now lor.. Got to consider with care if not will exceed budget. I'm also having problems saving up money... didn't know so much money is needed for wedding...

Does any Legends brides have the chinese name and address for Legends?
my coordinator never get back to me after checking with her for so long.. need to print my invites soon.
thanks all..

My hubby went to this place for a wedding banquet and he felt it's nice.. Therefore we are thinking of holding at this place too.. Other than outdoor, they have ballroom too right?? Anyone knows how's their service right now?

Also I've read thru their wedding package, they mentioned about their membership, I don't quite understand that. Can we don't apply for their membership?

HIhi,
CHecked out their package too.. somemore no free flow beer! Hahaha.. after readin it, the small screen and the cranky sound system does put me off a little..

R&J: the membership is free but for 6mths only... so dunhav to worry if u nid to pay anyting for the membership... unless u wan to continue the membership after 6mths...

Noelene: haa.. ya the screen is quite small am tinking of alternatives of getting a bigger screen in...

hi Yellow_Duck: thanks.. but now the 2008 package didn't indicate that the membership is free for 6 mths leh.. it mentioned "Exclusive membership scheme worth $6888". So don't really understand that..

hi R&J

oh.. izzit.. nw she use value 1 ah.. hmmn.. cos my package taken last year mention its a 6mth membership.. tink its betta to call for details if u really interested...

so u r tinking of getting the indoor or outdoor? when is ur AD?

hi yellow_ duck: ya, i rem last yr's package includes 6mths free membership n the newest package stated something else, thus quite confused about it..

i will call them to ask once I've confirm my AD date.. still waiting for my MIL to give us the AD date.. she's waiting for the feng shui master to calculate for us.

we are thinking of holding it indoor.. how abt urs??

hi R&J

we took the outdoor.. we wanted an outdoor wedding can say Legends is the most convenience cos others might nt b cheap cos hav to rent tentage location then might nt b too convenience say no bridal rm, etc...

then actly went to survey the place when they had an outdoor wedding... we love it.. its wat we wanted...

so u b holding tis yr or nxt year?