Hotel Fort Canning

josey

Hi Rosemary,

Thanks for the pics. I'm playing with the thoughts of holding a outdoor dinner, my parent like the idea too since its something different from the usual wedding dinners we have attended.
I have a company dinner (indoor) there in end Nov, will checkout the area then.

nickolee11

Hi Joey,

I am also interested in Legends. Could you kindly share your package w me. Think there was a wedding show earlier. Did anyone of you went?
I think I must have miss it.sigh...can anyone share w with me their photos and package.

Thanks. My email: [email protected]

joey_2007

Hi Rosemary,

I just signed w them...
Can i have the pix too? becos i havenot decide outdoor or ballroom also. worry outdoor will be too hot

My FH thinking to have the solemnization outdoor... not finalise yet...

yellow_duck

just found out i had my username same as yellowduck..

have just signed up for the outdoor wedding and the solemnization at legends with jenny..

they have given perks tt is prior to the wedding show.. heard from her that the offer is until 10th nov...

nickolee11

Hi Yellow Duck,

Did you went to the wedding show on the 29 Oct?
If you have taken pictures, acn share the pic with me as I miss the wedding show.
Oh also need some advice, is it better to have the wedding in the ballroom or outdoor/
What if it rains, will it be too stuffy?
My email: [email protected]

yellow_duck

Hi nicko lee

i did not attend their wedding show on 29 oct i went down b4 the wedding show..

i took up outdoor becos my guy n i wanted outdoor right in the beginning search many places n legends is the best i can say.. everyting all there dunhav to worry abt tentage, food, florist, wedding favours, etc...

its quite windy actually with all the fans.. furthermore im having minimum tables so it will not b too crowd thus nt too worried abt being too stuffy... as for the rain they have those plastic sheets by the side... so no worries for the rain.. bt definately hope it wont rain tt day... heh...

sorry did not take any pics.. we went dwn on 28 oct ware there is a wedding goin on.. my guy n i love the set up and everyting thus we made up on legends..

jessi

hi, has anyone liase with Taddie before? talked to him during the wedding show, and had decided to sign up for the banquet package but he had not get back to me after calling and emailing him.

any recommendation of anyone else better that i can liase with regarding signing up of the package?

nickolee11

Hi Yellow duck,

Thanks for sharing. Do you mind sharing more details on the wedding package. Like perks and what to ask and what to take note. If P&C, you can email me at [email protected]

yellow_duck

hey i have send to spring already..

nicko lee i cant send it thru there is an error to your email...

jessi i liase with jenny... very friendly lady...

yellow_duck

hmmn i dunno if its ok to put it up here... anyway i have saved up the draft so who ever wans it i can juz forward it.. heh... no probs...

yellow_duck

Oh ya.. anyone here noes any gd JPs to look for... heard that Mr Chan is very good, was tinking of getting a few more options juz in case he is taken up...

purple_flowers

Hey guys...
me going down Legends tomoro for wedding site inspection...Hope that it's nice and the package is comprehensive!! will update again

yellow_duck

Hi cecilia446,

what time is ur ROM at legends at that time? evening or aftnn? dunno wat is the right time to do it...

by the way who is ur JP at tt time?

nickolee11

Hi Yellow Duck,

Thanks for sharing. Trying to get more info on what I should ask for when discussing with them and your email really helps man...

Joey Lee: Do you mind sharing more details on the wedding package. Like perks and what to ask and what to take note. If P&C, you can email me at [email protected]
Thanks in advance. I be going to the Legends to discuss the package next week.

purple_flowers

Hey guys...

My coordinator was Sophia..friendly but not very flexible with the perks.Anyway, they wan us to decide tomorrow (which is today), kinda rush. COs the promo ends today. But i e mailed Seles(director of catering)whether can give us more time cos they actually denied me of an appt last weekend (long story). So awaiting her reply this morning lol.

Other than that..the outdoor is nice, quite cooling (maybe after evening shower. Romantic i must say. Location not the most convenient but guess can be worked out. ANd the conrad stay is only normal room wor..not suite lei. Hmph...

Didnt get to see the actual wedding decor. Any one cares to share pics? But saw designs Sophia showed us. Hopefully looks the same.

K update again tired..

yellow_duck

Nicko lee: hey not a prob... anyway if u gt request for other stuff let me know oso can.. heh so i can ask for more.. haa...

purple flowers: ya jenny told me the promo ends today so at tt time oso kind of rush for us to decide but we juz took it cos we really like the place.. i agree wif u the place is quite cooling nt an issue only the location.. was tinking of getting shuttle bus service so till then then decide... actly if u wan can ask ur coordinator when there is an outdoor wedding n see the actual ting.. cos when i look at the pic i was not really tt impress till i saw the actual ting it was much more nicer than on the pic.. can really feel the romantic atmosphere...

purple_flowers

Hey yellow duck..

Really really nice the place when done up?? Ya guess the atmosphere is important...anyplace that is nice or grand, no atmosphere and that's it!! really thinking very hard, with my heart...fiance says we shld take it cos hotel will cost more and hotel dinner is not wat i wanted. Moreover, we may run the risk of not getting our date cos it's not very far away liao.

caread

Hi my dear purple flowers - R u my SIL (sis-in-law)? wahahaha...

Frankly speaking, jz my 2cents tout, noted tt all along u hd wanted sumthing diff from Ballrm/Htl style weddin. So I tink Legends outdoor is quite a gd choice. I personality prefer their outdr compare to their ballrm. As for accessibility wise, I believe it can be work out. As for price wise, definately cant compare wz hotel as hotel sure more exp. After all, most importantly both U n FH must be Happy & Comfy wz e venue u chose as we cant possible make each n every guests to b hapi yeah. Its a BIG for both of u... Muz Njoy Yeah !!!

Cheerio (^_^)

yellow_duck

hmmmn both my guy n i feel the place very nice lor... but maybe different pple gt different preference so muz go dwn c the actual ting to "feel" it.. heh... hmmmn actly sum hotels are cheaper leh... places like novotel n roxy... the atmosphere oso very gd but juz wan to break away lor...

but wat my guy n i main concern is cos outdoor mah then scare pple will tink its much cheaper then ang bao money very little... cos 768+++ is about 900 per table leh... so kinda scare at the end have to fork out alot...

jessi

yellow duck, i also have the same concern as you about the ang baos, especially for relatives cos i think my friends won't usually give that little. :p

anyway, i had also decided to hold my wedding dinner there. going to pay the partial deposit tomorrow afternoon.

yellow_duck

jessi, yalor thats why we actly hesitated for quite a while for getting outdoor summore at that time their minimum table is 25 n we only need 22 then after some neg. we manage to get 23 then deposit on it.. otherwise incurred more loss.. then the ang bao tink we hav to forking out the difference.. so u decided on the indoor or outdoor? when is ur AD?

jessi

i think they are able to give a lesser min no. of tables leh, cos during the wedding show we said that we only need 20 tables and was told that can give that to us but must be 20 confirmed tables not including reserve tables. but anyway, now we need ard 25-30 tables cos my mum wants to invite more people. :p

i'm going for the outdoor, i like the atmosphere there too.
my AD will be on 1st June. how about u?

yellow_duck

ic.. initially oso ask for 20 tables but they oso say can let us hav it in the weekdays.. then aft sum neg. then manage to get 23 tables in the weekend.. trying to get more friends in.. then hoping they will gib more ang bao oso.. haaa...

oh urs is quite soon alredi then mine is on the 27 oct.. still a long way.. u ROM alredi? will b doin ur solemization there?

mind if i ask which is ur BS? was still searching but cant make up my mind on which 1...

jessi

oic.. ya maybe we are looking at a weekday so they allow that.

nope, i not yet ROM. planning to do solemization before the dinner. don't know if they allow solemization in a different part of Legends or have to do it under the same marquee.

ya quite soon already, still got half a year plus. i haven't decide on my BS too. dunno if it'll be kinda rush or not if i decide on end dec or jan cos my FH overseas till next mth. hehe..

yellow_duck

oic.. then which JP u getting? chop alredi?.. for us the solemnization is at the open space nxt to the marquee will only go into the marquee unless it rains... different area hmmn gotta ask ur coordinator alredi.. so is ur coordinator still taddie?

unless u r taking MTM gown otherwise shld be enuff time... aye very concidence leh my guy oso in overseas n also b bac in nxt mth leh... hmmmmmnn...... ur FH wrkin in government sector?

jessi

not yet chop a JP leh.. dunno whom to choose, but my friend was suggesting to me Mr Chan Kai Yau.

nope, taddie didn't get back to me so i called up and sophia attended to me. maybe i can check with her tomorrow when i meet up with her.

hehe.. ya my FH also working in government sector! :p

yellow_duck

oh.. was wanting to chop Mr Chan also.. he like quite popular leh.. tink u gt to chop him fast.. tink aft my guy cum bac we goin to chop him.. scare he taken alredi.. haa.. bo bian muz KS ah..

hmmmn ya better to check with her...

haa... really in government sector ah.. one 1 more guess ur FH went to australia?.. if really is there oso.. wonder if ur FH n my guy is collegues anot... haaa...

jessi

i also read that Mr Chan is popular, but i think also have to get a few other choices just in case if Mr Chan is not free on that day. ya must be KS abit to get more popular one. hehe..

ya got some stuffs need to check with sophia, better write it down before i forget. btw, have u sign the contract for the banquet with them?

hey! maybe they really might be colleagues. hehehe!! my FH also in aussie now. hehe!!

yellow_duck

ya i also read up alot of thread on JP and alot of them mention that Mr Chan is very good funny and professional... heard there r oso a few gd 1s.. but tink Mr Chan will b my 1st choice..

hmmmn... yup sign the banquet with them alredi tink abt 1-2 wks ago wif my guy.. wan to settle it b4 he go aussie.. haaa.. cos scare lata he cum bac ask me y i nber ask tis nber ask tt... so go together discuss n pay the deposit...

oOohh... hmmmn.. really curious who u r... maybe we might have met b4..

Dear would be Brides and Grooms,

I am writing this very painful sharing to warn you when planning your wedding as mine was truly a disaster. The first and most important step when planning your wedding is to choose your wedding venue wisely. I was unfortunately foolish enough to select “The Legends Fort Canning†and I advise you again… DO NOT TRUST YOUR VENUE COORDINATOR AND BANQUET STAFF TO FOLLOW YOUR INSTRUCTIONS.

Let me paint you a scenario of my “nightmare weddingâ€.

4pm – arrive at The Legends and things “appear†to be running smoothly. I was tipped off that things were not going smoothly when my own sister tells me that The Legends coordinator popped in and left. Apparently making a new sale is more improtant than after sale service as the Event Coordinator is busy with a meeting that appears to have lasted several hours. I attempt to call this missing wedding coordinator but she does NOT answer phone calls.

5.30pm - I passed my sister my seating list and she goes to ensure that the tables are in order. At which one of the banquet manager manages to mess up the arrangement of the tables.

6pm – my best friends arrive and I find out from them that the wedding favours are not even there.

7.15pm – my walk down the aisle to the solemnisation table to my wedding march only for the power to trip- music stops and lights go out.

7.50pm – second power trip. The only sound technician also serves as the electrician and dissapears. The sound is out, lights are out. Simply put the list goes on. In the meantime, the annoying banquet manager is attempting to settle things and as he does the pathetic service staff that speak little or no English stands around and do not serve, clear tables, and some even purposely ignore my guests who are frantically trying to get a drink, up to even an hour. Even the VIP tables are not getting proper service. My husband ends up as the impromptu sound man, my father a waiter and the atmosphere is so bad that immediately after eating, most of my guests leave at 9pm.

After the event, they come in a group to apologise but mainly present me with the FULL BILL. As if they deserve it for that pathetic wedding. They call what they did a ‘hiccup’.

I find out from my guests the following happened:
1. the late wedding favours was throw on the guests tables by the service staff carrying large clear bags. My guests thought they were mushroom.

2. two tables were placed right at the back.

3. the sound system was set up at 6pm onwards and a check includes blasting music through the lousy speakers.

4. Wine was served to guest who have allergic reaction even though they asked for orange juice. Those that wanted anything to drink had to ask and ask and ask and ask.. rule of thumb was to keep on asking until they remembered.

5. they did not apologize for technical difficulty.

If you want to have your wedding there…. These are just some things to look out for. There were many more things that went wrong. But I’m just too exhausted. I simply don’t understand. I pay a proper sum of 88 per head and still I get substandard service.

jessi

yup i booked on last saturday. sophia is a very nice lady.
got the same perks as what you emailed me, those they gave during the wedding show. but i'm not taking their invitation cards and favors so i changed it to another nite of hotel stay.

yellow_duck

oh i see.. hmmmn wonder if i can change oso.. cos i got lobang for the invitation cards and favours... summore my tables so little.. will be more worth it if can change for another nite... heeee... furthermore my contract oso haven sign.. tink will ask my guy see what he say 1st...

hmmmn dun tink my guy noes ur FH leh.. cos he say his squadron no 1 marrying nxt yr jun.. furthermore other squadron there oso.. so dunno if he noes ur FH anot..

jessi

yup maybe u can go check it out. i'm getting the minimum 35 tables package, so they can change it for me. but no harm asking lor if u wanna change.. hehe..

ya i also asked my FH, he said that so many ppl there, he also won't know is who. hehehe!! :p

purple_flowers

Hi amanda...

Seems like you really had a bad experience at The Legends.

May i noe if your wedding was held indoors or outdoors?Who was the coordinator that left you?
You should negotiate for a discount on the bill or else demand for an acceptable explanation why things went wrong..When was your wedding held? Recently?.....