Hotel Fort Canning

sweet_precious

Hi Amanda,
That realli sounds bad... No bride would want to go through that experience....May be you could drop them an email or letter to ask for compensation..

the weddding was held at the marquee..as for the compensation 25% of the bill was waived... but i wonder how anyone could accept money for such bad service...this place is marketed as a premier wedding venue.... I should have never trusted them to execute simple plans. whose your wedding coordinator?

as for the 2 black out's the reason was a light blub in the gantry area near the carpark got wet. the service staff was foriegn student from philliplines, china and so on and could not speak a word of english...

and it was held this november. the coordinator was at a meeting with new guests/clients.

purple_flowers

Hi amamda!

My coordinator is Sophia. Will be meeting her this weekend to sign the wedding contract and pay up the remaining deposit. I would highlight this issue to her and see what she has to say. Really hope this would not happen again. But feel bad for you man....gosh!...

Its true money cant replace the damage that has been done but at least they sought to give you some kind of compensation. If they didn't waive anything at all, you would be madder rite??

purple_flowers

Hey guys...

everyone read bout the complain bout Legends by Amanda? SOunds terrible..poor girl though...guess for the rest of us that is taking Legends, better discuss with our coordinator if such things happen what are they going to do or what compensation could they give...

Of course hope it wouldn't happen at all, but who can assure that all things would be smooth....hor...

jessi

oops.. i gave the wrong info abt the invites and favors to another nite of hotel stay. there are actually still other terms and conditions to it... :p pls ignore what i had prev posted.. heh..

yellow_duck

my coordinator is jenny leh.. jialat... i rem the last few times i met her her schedule was like all pack up.. hmmmn... but there was oso good comment abt her leh... ahhh... dunno wat to do.. like damn scary leh...

jessi

i think all the co-ordinators should be quite good. just that sometimes abit suay then got unpredictable things happen. hope that we won't encounter such things during our wedding ya.

dreamweaver

poor amanda! her description of her wedding reception at Legends does sound like a disaster... i attended my friend's wedding at Legends last month and it went pretty well. i was in the reception committee and the manager was very friendly and on top of things. the food was good and the ambience in the marquee was very romantic, different from the usual hotel ballroom. it's true the serving staff were mainly students, but those at the tables around me could understand simple english, so we had no problems there. i was impressed enough to ask for some wedding package materials as i'm getting married next year, but have not met anyone from legends yet.

becky

I will be having my wedding at the legends next year but I have yet to receive the contract from them.

yukikodawasan

Oh poor Amanda,

I can understand your situation... being a bride happily that day and something just went wrong. I hope there aren't anymore case going on ba. I am considering The Legends, but now I'm having second tots. I think having an outdoor event, such things can be avoided with proper organising and planning. As for your coordinator, she is really irresponsible. No amount of waiver can substitute your happiness that day...

Purple Flowers - Did you highlight Amanda's case to your coordinator? Any comments from her?

yellow_duck

hmmmn... had contacted jenny about this... well i can only say... its betta not to listen to just one side of the story cos we are not there to proof it...

if jenny is really that bad then how cum there r pple in the forum who commented she is good and profession... well i am staying neutral to this...

purple_flowers

HI Oink..

Their bridal suites are actually like cosy changing rooms. Has like a 2 or 3 seater sofa,dressing table with mirror and toilet with see thru doors.BUt sad to say only like 4-5 can go in or not space would be limited liao....O there is a save there too...to keep Ang Baos..heh..

Thats why i am thinking of making up and everything in the hotel first den proceed to Legends for dinner. COs in the hotel at least frns and relatives can have more space.

There are only 2 suites. 1 for each venue-outdoor and indoor.

Cheers...

yukikodawasan

Hi Purple flowers,

I met up with Sophia yest..she's a nice lady... but i love the outdoor Marquee...highlighted Amanda's case to her and she said there's already preventive measures taken to avoid situations like that. Hmm, din manage to see their room as there were used up by the both indoor and outdoor events. So are you considering the indoor and outdoor. I'm finding that one projector screen at the Marquee is insufficient. At the same time, I will be viewing other hotels too. Could you pls share your comments about The Legends?

purple_flowers

HI Oink...

We are taking the Marquee! Actually when me fiance and I went down for the site inspection, the ballroom is of course much cooler then the outdoor area. BUt then again, we chose The Legends becos of the outdoor Marquee in the first place. The ballroom is similar to any other hotel ballrooms. In fact, in my opinion, if you wan to settle for a ballroom, you might as well go for a hotel ballroom. Cos it may be better.

I love the Marquee too! Its very romantic and different from the rest of wedding dinners. DId you manage to see both the different setup..as in the flower theme and the tea candle theme? We managed to see both and my fiance actually prefers the candle theme..me finds that both also looks nice....

We are settling for the min of 25 tables, so think one projector is enuf..you can actually play with the layout of the tables you noe? If you need one more projector guess can loan from them lol....

The only drawback about Legends outdoor is that the weather may be an issue. Hopefully and prayerfully it WON"t rain. And it will be a plus point if they provide those mist fans, cos don noe if may be stuffy inside the marquee. ANyway, go take a look around and see which location you like best..as long as you are at peace with it..!

happy Hunting!!

yukikodawasan

Hi purple flowers,

My FH and I also love the Marquee. Hmm, The Legends was having a D&D event at the Marquee last Sat. I can see that it's really spacious. As the weather was quite cool and it seemed like going to rain, the Marquee is still cool. I didn't really see the real setup for the wedding yet. Hmm, think will go back this coming Sun to take a look again. I saw the ballroom, the width is abit cramped. I'm expecting around 30 tables but think the no. of tables will increase again.So one projector may not be enough. Well, will keep my options open.

Thanks for sharing

soh_mui

hi,everyone there
i'm new here. Planning to hold the wedding dinner at The Legends in 2007
Anyone have hold their wedding there... please share some experience especially the food..
read about amanda's case, really feel sorry for her..

purple_flowers

Hi ang hwee tin..

Holding your wedding in 2007?... better hurry as you need to book the venue already..especially if your AD falls on an auspicious day. Go down Legends and take a look at the place and surroundings, see if you really like it.

purple_flowers

HIHI...

How come no legends brides sharing their experiences here liao? Ex legends brides are welcome to share your experience, whether good or bad, so that future legends brides can learn something constructive out of it.

Anybody has had a band before at The Marquee? If so, wat does Legends help to provide?

ANd btw, wee signed the contract this year but our wedding coordinator says that if the gov increases gst next year, we are subjected to that as well. Is that correct? I heard from others that if we sign this year, the terms and conditions are tied as this year's. ANyone has the same issue?? COs 2% more per table makes a difference lei....

thanks heap

yukikodawasan

Hi purple flowers,

Im not the legends BTB but im still considering. Hmm, went to an outdoor wedding last Sun. It was nice environment and it was that kind of going to rain weather. Was abit stuffy... But with the fans in the marquee, I suppose it feels better. (Cos I was outside the Marquee), But it's a pity that I do not get to see the whole process and the March in as my hubby needs to get back to work that nite. Hmm, I found out that there were no center piece on each of the guest tables. But I checked with Sophia that nite but she said there was. But there wasn't any. Hmm, maybe she was busy with 2 weddings that nite. How was your experience with her? I find her a friendly person, she's frank and nice too.

As what my coordinator told me, she also told me that if you signed up with them this year, your package will be set at this year's pricing... and I think that's more reasonable compared to other hotels. Due to the GST hike, many hotels are increasing the prices of their packages, I bet the packages in 2007 would be much expensive.

Ya purple flowers is right. Will the legends brides pls share their experience with us and hope we can gain more experience from you all....

ice_cosy

Went to see The Legends @ Fort Canning recently. Love the place! So romantic and cosy! I like both the marquee as well as their ballroom (the reception area at the basement is lovely).
But just worry that its difficult for guests not driving to reach there.
The package did not include any shuttle bus, does it?
I was told the hotel stay in the package is actually at JB?! tot i heard it wrongly. So weird!
However, I was told that we could change to Conrad for additional $100. Still considering the place cos its pretty nice and cooling.

It was raining heavily when we were there. Notice the rain could not get into the dinner area but the entrance of the marquee is all wet and damp.

Did anyone ask for abouth the hotel stay too? Or could we change to something else?

yukikodawasan

Hi Icy cosy,

Oh you been to the legends too. Hmm, my coordinator did mention that the hotel stay would be in JB as well, think it's their golf club in Malaysia. Hmm, I think that's good, at least the Marquee is well sheltered.. As for the shuttle bus, it's not included in the package. But topping up $100 for conrad is bad, I think the hotel stay should be included in the package. Hmm, not sure if we can change to something else. But did you know that the dry ice effect for the wedding is not included in the package too and we need to pay $60 for it. I think that should be included too. I intend to have around 30 tables, not sure if it would be stuffy, but my coordinator ensure that it will be fine with the fans in the Marquee.

Ladies, good that we are communicating and sharing more information about the legends. Let's share more.... cheers

ice_cosy

Oh btw, purple flowers, you need to take note if your contract state inclusive of "prevailing GST".. cos it mean they will follow watever GST the government set.

purple_flowers

O gosh ice cosy..

Yes in my contract it does say " subjected to previaling gov taxes"...Too bad..hopefully the gst will only increase afer my wedding.

ICe cosy and oink oink...

Guess you both missed their wedding promotions. Perhaps you should wait as there will difinitely be another one coming up, not sure when though.

FYI..those who signed up during their promotion will get a free nite stay at the conrad,presently the hotel that they are tied to. However, mt co-ord told us that probably they will change to oriental hotel (yipee!). Therefore, guess that for their next promotion, they would be tied to Oriental hotel.

But its only a classic room that they are providing. Not the suite or something (abit disappointing). ACtually, i find that if they do have a promotion, it's not really worth it as its quite costly for wat they are giving. Therefore, my fiance and I signed up with The Legends becos of their promotion. They should really consider upgrading from a free nite stay in the JB club to a 5 star hotel stay permanantly. Think its more comprehensive.

Hey! I don't think its difficult to get to the Legends. I tried walking from Douby Ghaut mrt, pass Park mall 4th storey, thru the car pak and cross the road. Viola! There's legends standing ahead of you! Took me less than 10 min.For those who are driving,they can enter from the ROM side or from YWCA (behind park mall)and the car park is just there.

As for the dry ice thingy..prob only hotel ballroom would provide as i guess outdoor weddings seldom have it. HOwever, if you fancy it, most prob they will ask you to get it yourself.

SOrry lor soh...one last point is that The LEgends is not very flexible with their perks. Even when asked to throw in small free perks, also not granted.Guess they have instructions too.

Have you gals got your bridal salon yet?

yukikodawasan

Hi purple flowers,

Thanks for sharing. I think The Legends can be flexible on certain perks. From the way I speak to my coordinator, I think she's quite flexible. I hope to wait for the wedding fair but I'm afraid my date for 2008 at the Marquee may be taken up. Haha, very KS hor? Anyway, I thought I will need to pay for the dry ice effect in the ballroom as well. I'm disappointed if they don't have the bridal suite and the package is almost the same as the hotels. As you know, hotels provide the dry ice effect and air conditioned too. Another question, do you know they provide real cakes for the couple after the wedding? I have not tried walking from DG to The Legends before. But heard from my coordinator that it was not far from the MRT station.

I have not scout for my BS yet. How about you? Which did you choose?

purple_flowers

HI Oink Oink...

2008 still far away!! PErhaps you should tell her thst you would love to sign up with Legends but waiting for better perks. Or ask her if its possible to reserve the date til the fair. Don think the wedding cake is real, cos quite ex. I know of couples who get the confectionary tro bake a real cake and its a few hundred bucks!

You shold try walkiing from DG, not far, really....

My BS is GHA (tamp). Already went down to design my gown.

yukikodawasan

Hi Purple flowers,

Ya, it's really far. Will check with her when the next wedding fair will be. Some hotels do not use the whole real cake, but in some packages, they do provide like 1kg real cake to the couple after the wedding.

GHA? From Tamp,meaning Tampines? Where? Is it in Tampines Mall or Century Sq? How is their service and gown choices?

purple_flowers

Hi Oink..

Its golden horse awards, i noe it sounds cheena. But its quite good as they have been in the industry a long time, like 2 decades. My good fren signed with them this year and had good comments. At first i was apprehensive but was convinced after i went down to the shop and wedding fair. They were around during the last fair at takashimaya held by style weddings.

Its located in tamp ave 4, good for me as i stay in the east. Wedding gowns wide variety OTR, but i chose MTM, cos i have in mind what gown i want for my big day! If you do stay in the east, can consider lah...Take a look at their web site and in this forum.

yukikodawasan

Hi Purple flowers,

Oh Golden Horse Awards... my friend also took up their package. Hmm, looks like I got to check out on their package. How do you find their gowns? Is it modern?

How much is your package?

purple_flowers

hi oINK....

Wedding gown OTR are quite nice. They do have regular fashion shows so their gowns are updated every few mths. My package is mentioned earlier in this thread, take a look.

yukikodawasan

Hi Purple Flowers,

Oh ok. I will go through the threads then. How's their service? Ok, will check out GHA soon. Thanks my dear.

Pls continue to share more information here.

soh_mui

i have tried walking from DB MRT to Legend...less than 10 mins.. so it still ok..

Purple flower, i have seen the ballroom.. it's foyer is cool & nice.. good ambience..

Everything look good... but i'm worry about the foods and co-ordinator...

Can any ex legend bride or anyone that have attended the wedding dinner.. share your tot..

I should be signing with them by end of this month.. hope to hear the comments soonest...

stargate2

Anyone had their wedding lunch at the legend? is it indoor or outdoor? Does it have a poolside? Appreciate if someone can share their photos.

purple_flowers

Hi Vincee...

LEgends do have a pool which you can hold your wedding or ROM. Saw the rom decor and stuff, its quite nice. They also have a lunch by the pool package you can look at. pErhaps you would like to contact Legends coordinators so they can advise.

yellow_duck

hi cel i tink the wedding package nw is different frm wat i had.. tink its betta for you to go dwn n check with the coordinator...

hey jessi got your bridal shop alredi?

jessi

hi yellow duck, yup i got my bridal shop package already. just went to select my gowns last week.
how about u? have u decided on your bridal shop?

yellow_duck

hey jessi

yup gt my bridal shop too... which bridal shop u went to? my 1st fitting on feb.. still gt a mth.. heh... so will u b having a military march in?

jessi

yellow duck, i got Signoria as my bridal shop. you leh? during feb i will go for my 2nd fitting, dunno if will be before or after CNY, scared i put on weight. :p hehe.. nope i will not have military march in. are u gonna have one?

yellow_duck

i did considered tt bridal shop too but din take it.. how is tt bridal shop?.. tink its a new shop cos cant find any thread in the forum for this shop.. mine is bridal concept..

oOhh.. then hav to watch wat u eat during CNY le.. heh... hmmn.. if during tt period there is no overseas trip again then there will b a military march in... hee..