Grand Park City Hall

Hi Weixiang & Blur btb,

Thanks for sharing ur experience! :p will take note and consider carefully when choosing. Btw, do you have any clause in the agreement to indicate the ability to swop dishes from different menus? Wonder if its needed as i was told we can swop from any menus as long as its the same type or category e.g. roast chicken with ginseng chicken?

for this, if the item is of similar value.. not an issue.. just raise it out during ur food testing...

however, if you want to exchange roast chicken for roast GOOSE or rost TURKEY, of coz it can't be done.

nope.. there is no such clause, likewise for other hotels, it is not included also. but william will tell you that if its of similar value, there is no issue.. its the same for other hotels...

but you can't exchange roast chicken for abalone.. haha... obvious right...

heehee.. any bride who is going to have their wedding dinner in GPCH on 24thDec next year? :D i am weixiang.. you can ask your HTB.. such a small world!

Weixiang: Glad that you have found the VG and PG that suit your style, budget and have chemistry with. I guess expectations are different for everybody for different things.

I dont have much requirements from my videoman compared to my banquet guy etc... so the treshold is higher.

Also dependent on the proportion that i m paying for each and the time I have to decide on each as well. The VGs that I have spoken to are either out of budget or do not have the slot that I need anymore. So i pick the best choice out of my available pool of alternatives.

Nevertheless, its a wedding, so be happy is most impt!

pudding: I am glad that you have gotten what you need... dun get too upset lah.. since it is settled le, be happy is very important, esp when during the wedidng planning already v stressful le, so must relax now.

But i beg to differ about the payment portion though. I paid my BS on the first meeting cos i signed up with them immediately. I gave them the full sum and up till this pt in time, when i m gg to collect album le, I still give thumbs up for service.

So i think it is the individual person and company's culture. Singapore's service levels overall need improvement i guess.

Antz C: Yes, I have indicated to William that I want to change sharksfins for something else as well as either the rice or the dessert. He says its okie. I koe of restaurants who will charge accordingly to the food value you want to change to and add it on.

I would think its best not to choose chicken with gravy like ginseng etc cos they will uually fall to piece once the first piece is taken (fr all the stewing) and it becomes a big heap of unappetising chicken.. dont look very good... I will likely go with the crispy chicken.

Understand from William that the new master chef hails from Lei Garden, so the overall standard is likely to be high. Just that in banquet, very hard to control quality.

What is hot to start by the time get to the banquet hall and served to each guest, already cool down liao. Probably flag it out if its a concern.

Blur btb,

Oh, its just verbal agreement or its written down black and white? im thinking of changing the dessert to mango pomelo (any feedback if it is good?) and maybe the noodles to ee-fu noodles. Btw, i will be having a wedding lunch. ;p

Antz,

For your information, previously someone commented the dessert which you intended to change. Pls see below:

9. Chilled Cream of Mango with Sago and Pomelo

- We were disappointed with this dish as mango pieces served have all darken (not fresh). Pomelo sacs were bitter and somehow dried. Perhaps it's just not the season esp. for Pomelo. We requested them to look into it and they changed a fresh bowl for us, now with fresh cut mango pieces. Still I find that they could do better for the pomelo sacs once the fruit is in season perhaps during chinese new year.

You might need to consider it again. Hope, this information helps you.

Antz C: It is a verbal agreement but according to William, we can interchange the same items between menu. I dont think the cost of the same dish vary much from menu to menu esp dessert and the staple rice or noodle. I dont think we need to worry too much about it.

yoz liquidsnake.. heehee, i was trying my luck to see whether i could locate your WTB... in the end, you are also active here like me... A GTB =)
thanks alot for your help! you know what i am referring.. haha..

heehee... for change of coordinator, i think its not possible... just like when you go to AD for test driving a car, your name is locked to a sales agent... imagine everyone asking for change of coordinator, then the coordinator who have been following you will be out of job le... =x
imagine an insurance agent who had been handling your case as you bought your insurance from him.. after a few years, you request for a change in agent taking you, i doubt anyone would like it... as in the one who had been serving you as well as the one whom you have appointed... similar logic here...

pudding's case was that her previous coordinator left the hotel, and it was handled by J.. perhaps that explains the service rendered by J. My thinking is J did not get any monetary rewards from taking over a previous case..

the same goes for buying insurance policies.. I had bought some policies, one of which the agent handling one of my portfolio left.. the new agent assigned to me can't be bothered with me, as he did not "earn" anything from me...

so far, how do you find J services? can post here to discuss discuss..

Based on my knowledge in this forum, I did came across couples that needs to transfer their wedding package to others. (due to several reasons or factors)

To those who had confirm with GPCH. Did anyone asked the coordinator, if in the event that you are unable to hold the wedding dinner on that night. Can you transfer the wedding package to someone else who is keen to take over the package?

Cos i just read the draft contract, if cancel, it stated that the initial deposit paid by us will be forfeited. We also need to pay between 50% to 90% of the total charges for the dinner calculated based on the confirmed number of guests.

Can anyone enlighten me this issue? Cos my concern, if due to some unexpected issues (touchwood). If cancel, we will suffered a big loss.....

hehee... actually one thing i noticed about forest production, their express highlights are very similar.. not unique at all. the I know what you are looking for, 4D number and etc.. maybe its me, after looking at it for few times, i want to zzz le...

for me, i am really into classy one, especially dof and those cinematic videos.. hence i picked my VG.. his charges are 2++k... not really cheap but i am amazed by his quality... ^^ did i mention that for both of my PG & VG, there will be assistants helping them..

in total, i am expecting no less than 4 people in total from PG & VG covering the entire event.. Forest Productions is a 2 man show? Jon & Don, i supposed...

if the reasons are valid, definitely something can be done about it.. GPCH are very reasonable one.. but if the reasons are like, oh i found a better deal elsewhere.. i guess its not fair to GPCH...

no worries about that..

Weixiang,

But the contract stated like tat, i dun really feel comfortable with it.

Did you read your contract carefully? Isit the same as what I mentioned?

it is the same... i did ask william about it.. its a standard contract.. as i mentioned if the reasons are valid, they can do something about it...

but then if you decide to change ur mind like i found a better deal.. then u better think carefully...

seriously, i think i have found a great deal here..

Oic...

So far, i been looking for a suitable ballroom for my big day. I went to so many hotel ballrooms..

But, based on the price, perks and ambience..GPCH is one of the best...

Looking at the forum, I do hope that my coordinator is william...cos i can see so many good feedbacks given to him...

Thank you...so far u r most active here...n so informative n convincing...haha...merry xmas to u

err.. basically, i am the one doing the homework here... dun worrie about GPCH, they value their reputation and rapport built over the years, unlike Hotel Royal @ Queens.. i guessed most of you would have known what had happened.. =x

merry x'mas to you and all as well :D

From what I have gathered in this thread, I think it is best that we do not get too personal.

We can assume that J is less "on" about pudding's case as she has taken over from a coordinator who has left. But i also think we shouldnt think that she is not passionate or not serious about her job just because she did not handle this case well.

To be fair, I am sure there are past couples who have been served by J and are happy on their AD. If not, how could she have sustained so long in her customer service job. If there were a lot of complaints, then GPCH might have let her go already.

For the vendors who are in the industry, they all know the existence of this and several other bridal forums. Even my BS in JB knows and follows their own thread through. So, they are also rather careful in handling situations so that their reputation is maintained.

Thus for the people who have some hiccups in their AD, look on the bright side that everything still turn out well with minor issues that can be resolved. If we look at it the other way, we may not be the perfect worker as well in whatever we are doing. When we make mistakes or mishandle issues, we also hope that others will forgive and forget, am I not right?

As for Weixiang, I personally think that VG and PG and all other vendors in a wedding are picked based on chemistry, merit and very importantly the budget.

Thus we should share information and experience here rather than put them down. In the instance of Forest Productions, there are also happy couples who are their customers. We have picked them because HB prefers the humour in their express highlights and thus their style suits us. Your sis-in-law is likely to be a happy customer also rite?

In addition, I can much empathise with their "must put deposit before can secure date'. I personally do not really think that is very overboard since they are a small business. When compared to big names like Lee Hwa and GPCH, it is not apple to apple comparison already. Lee Hwa and GPCH wun collapse if they sell one less diamond or hold one banquet less but if a customer backs out in such a small scale setup, it might be serious impact.

Thus once again, I would think, to each his own bah...

blur btb, i agree must put deposit before can secure date thingee.. but then they won't even allow me to hold for a couple of days when i was already flying off tomorrow morning. that was what put me off...

regarding about not being able to hold dates, i tried asking other similar home based PG & VG business.. they are able to do so... do not understand FP's rationale for not doing so.. mine is like >1yr ahead.. so their reason of not being able to hold the date for me, is it valid? i doubt so, and the fact i am willing to pay the $300 surcharge, despite just 3+ months difference from my perspective sister-in-law wedding.. i was like huh? dun you offer the same price package as stated on the website? i was like ???? but then i was willing to take them on nonetheless. in fact i was pretty much ready to sign on the dotted line if they were willing to meet me after my overseas trip. but the way annie replied to me kind of turned me off..

not that i want to put them down, but then i just dun like the pre-services rendered. i do not deny that i am quite particular about servies rendered..

about budgeting wise, if i were to have taken Don's VG (he is the master, jonathon is the apprentice so called to speak, it would only cost me $2000 after a surcharge of $300.. My current VG package cost me way excess of $2000.

not that i want to put them down, but i like to point this out to perspective BTB & GTB who are considering them... did you know that for my PG & VG, i did not have to go to their home office for viewing.. they were able to accommodate to my request of viewing near my place?

actually there are many small businesses similar to the scale of forest productions that are able to hold dates, further more mine is 1 yr away... my sister in law's similar package is $1700.

serious impact? i doubt so.. nonetheless, i might be critical but i am such a person that if a person / company is good, i will be their die hard supporter... vice versa...

just that i do not like the inflexibility demonstrated by FP. there is like no room for negotiation.. remember that customer is always right, and i think i am not being unreasonable for asking them to hold the date for a couple of day as i am alreadie flying off the next day morning.. they were seeing a perspective client on that evening itself.

just want to rant it off..

but in all, i guess GPCH BTBs and GTBs do not have to worry that much about services rendered by GPCH.. they are a big establishment, unlike some small scale establishments. our weddings are in good hands. ^^

somehow i find them using this unable to hold dates as a selling point so that couples are pressured to booked on the spot... faintz...

blur btb, my apologies that i can be quite obstinate on such matters.. in fact the car workshop which i visited frequently is a nice one, where i know the boss personally and highly recommends his services to others and in major car forums... he is very flexible and accommodating.. did i mention that his workshop expanded from just one shop to like the entire floor in a auto centre in amk?

the reason for his business to flourish? he is flexible, understanding, accommodating, offering excellent services with top notch skilled workers...

that's the difference between a normal shop and a great one. similarly it can be applied to PG & VG services as well..

to each his own, i agree on this.. i value services rendered not forgetting the quality itself.

if BTBs & GTBs are okay with securing the date without even seeing them, making the payment via internet banking to secure the date (for the fear that others might just do so).. do go ahead =)

that was what had been conveyed to me... really turned me off...

if i had secured FP for my AD PG & VG, i would have saved close to several hundreds... talking about no budget for them, it does not apply to me... just do not like what was conveyed to me..

blur btb, jia you in your wedding preparations... heehee.. u so into the planning itself, just like me.. unlike my fiance who is entrusting the whole thing to me... haha ^^

let's just put this incident aside.. for if GTBs & BTBs were to ask me for my advice, it's already conveyed clearly.. =)

merry x'mas and enjoy your festive season.

one maddening thing i discovered at Forest Productions thread, they removed my post about the negative feedback.

so meaning at the thread, we can only put positive comments.. yucks.. i am thankful i shunned them...

Blur btb - Actually, I second your thoughts.

weixiang - I have engaged FP for my AD, & I honestly don't feel anything seriously wrong for them to have the 'first pay, first serve' policy. I am also one of the customers who don't mind travelling down to their home office, as I viewed that as an opportunity to see their workplace. If there's anything wrong, I know they can't run away
. I have viewed your comments under the FP thread & I guess I can also understand how you feel. Since you have found a preferred VG & PG, just forgive & forget lah. Merry Christmas!

chocolatepraline, well i do note that i am quite obstinate at times.. in the end, my VG & PG, i also know their workplace, where its printed on their receipt and form. they are registered home business too.

just to let everyone know that not every PG & VG are first pay, first serve policy.

if you read the terms and conditions printed on the forms of Forest Productions, u will be amazed how they got themselves covered... why do i know, my sister in law is with them...

about the no negative word from them being conveyed.. come on, its a forum, if they dare to comment any negative stuff, all the more they will lose more business...

i dun like the fact they use first pay, first served policy.. macchiam like using that as a selling point to pressure u into signing on the spot...

have i mentioned to you that they are going to revise their prices come chinese new year and twice in total in 2010.. that was what had been conveyed to me... saying that's the rationale for $300 surcharge on the current package.

if you read the fine print, mercenary is the word i can associate with them..

i am a simple man, for me its very simple. If I feel that people deserves compliments and praise for what they had done, I will go all the way to ensure they are recognised...

I dun hold back my praises for my PG, VG, William, Master Tong, Bridal Concept, Riverview Auto, an insurance agent who really went the extra mile and etc... I will be the die hard supporter unless proven otherwise..

Look at how i pour praise for Shu Yen, a freelance photographer... i did shortlist him but in the end i decided to go for my current PG as my fiance and I are more comfortable with his shooting style and etc..

Weixiang> I'm liqidsnake WTB, u looking for me?

Personally i feel J is quite friendly and responsive to our queries before we paid the deposit. After that we are not sure since our wedding is one year later, so have't heard from her yet after we paid the deposit.

Hope that all will went well after my wedding. I also think that pudding's case was that her previous coordinator left the hotel, and it was handled by J.. perhaps that explains the service rendered by J.

weixiang: haha... of course contracts are meant to cover both parties' backsides bah... otherwise, why on earth are we reading GPCH's contract so clearly and carefully? Becos in the same way, this is a business dealing and either party do want to be disadvantaged.

If we choose to go with the terms, that means we are a willing party also bah.

Same as chocolatepraline, I have engaged FP for my AD and I have checked with my PG (who has worked with them before) as well before i signed off. Even if now FP tells me that I need to pay abit more for their services next year, I wont mind also since I koe my PG and VG can work well together and not get into each other's way (i dont want either of them to keep appearing in the other's works).

In fact, for my contract with FP, they told me that I can transfer the bank deposit only when i receive the contract, sign and send it back and in the event that their contract has been sent and still in process of snail mail and smeone comes with the same date, then they would need me to transfer the money before the signed contract gets back to them.

In fact, I was the one who keep chasing them to send out the contract and I made the transfer and when I got it. They did sounds as $$$ oriented as I tot they will be. VGs are artists in their own ways too and since its a small biz, may not expect them to be perfect biz peeps with hig leve of management skills and customer service in place.

Annie also give very clear explanation about everything thus far. And the contract that I signed is way shorter than all other vendors.

Thus for us, vendor picking is very intuitive and has served us well. Even though our vendors koe that we have made little comparsion with their competitors, they did not take the chance to disadvantage us yet(after I sign up then compare with others on the respective forum threads). We are proud to say that we are happy with ALL the vendors we have engaged so far.

Its either we are damn lucky or otherwise, it may also be an action-reaction thing. We are easy going customers and treat every single of our vendor as friends starting from David Tong, William, the 2 Jonathans from The Moving Frame and FP as well as Printemps our JB studio. We believe in the professionalism.

It may be different for poor pudding as we stil have all the coordinators that we sign up with. I put the trust in every single one of them in their professionalism.

Merry Xmas and hope everyone will have a fruitful and exciting 2010 ahead.

Great health is of cos the most important, so keep yourselves healthy!

Looking forward to attend the next wedding show by GPCH as well. Have missed it this year.

haha... however your wonderful experience with them did not translate to mine.. I caught them at a wrong time? All Annie mentioned was no holding of dates, even if its in the transit of pending payment... zzzz... I guessed they could have done better in that aspect.

Nonetheless, its the same for David Tong, William for me as well. For envisage photography, I expect Branden's market value to somewhere near Moving Frame. He is currently now in Wedding Photographer Guild... A professional network of wedding photographers where its only opened up by invitation. For Han of idoproductions, as mentioned I am mesmerized by his shooting style.. I prefer those classy style and cinematic videography.. He is really a veteran after viewing his more in depth portfolio.

Did I mention that they will be bringing their assistants to cover the event as well? I put my trust in them to do a great job... Haha... I know I can be a little extreme and get carried away at times. However, I do give due credit to deserving companies and individuals.. That's why initially you thought i was with shu yen.. A pity that my wife and I prefers Branden's style, abeit its more expensive.

For couples who have limited budget with no intention of engaging VG, look for Shu Yen at

What he has to offer will really amaze you, its really one of a kind.. Seriously for the amount of work he has put in, the unlimited PG for AD will really put a smile to any couples =)

As the year closes, I would like to wish everyone a happy merry xmas and meaningful new year ahead. For the next wedding show, I will be attending as well. Maybe all of us could catch up them Heehee...

Hui Shan, haha.. sort of. I wasn't expecting your hubby to be active here.. Will like to thank him =) Seems like its the case as well, where GTBs are more active.. His number of posts are much more than yours.. Enjoy your preparations. ^^ Looking forward to seeing your hubby next march.. =)

okie, need to go fetch my fiance le... she is coming over..

Merry Xmas everyone!!!

blur btb, the payment part i'm referring to is banquets. i also paid my BS in full and their svc has always been very good. Coincidentally for my BS my coordinator also left and a new coordinator took over, but still i received good service from this new coordinator which is very assuring for us. Imagine wedding day is our biggest event and to have someone who is not prompt or keen in servicing you, and we are so kanchiong with our preparations, its really not a good feeling. I won't say this is for all establishments, essentially it boils down to the sales person personality and svc level.

i do tik that there are couples who got good svc from J maybe like what you all mentioned, she did not earn our commission hence probably will not be so enthu when servicing us. i'm just sharing my feedback hopefully future couples will have a more fuss-free experience when dealing with them.

Antz, yes u can change the food even after your food tasting. We did change 1-2 dishes following comments.

We initially had baked prawns but changed to lived drunken prawns as baked prawns they will only serve 10 pcs of prawns per table, in cases where u have 11 guests in a table den 1 of them will not get to taste the prawn. Anyway my guests commented that the lived prawns were very fresh and they liked it.

pudding > so little prawns for baked prawns? i supposed the baked prawns are then of KING SIZE? .... my fiance was actually considering to take this... mmz.. then what about drunken prawns and deep fried prawns in wasabi sauce, poached prawns in chinese wine and ginseng?

for me, when i go to wedding dinner, i will usually eat 2-3 prawns.. yes there are usually enough for a person to eat 2 prawns.. din know its just enough to go around for 1 piece per person (for baked prawns)

its so nice for everyone to share their experience so we can get to learn from one another.. =)

think it would be easier for you to change your date or venue instead.. quite hard... that's why GTBs and BTBs all chop the dates in advance..

you asking at wrong thread le..

weixiang, yes they only serve 10 prawns for the baked prawn dish coz the size of prawn is i think like king size. No problem for the rest of the dishes like drunken, ginseng or wasabi prawns they will serve enough to go around the table. I tried the wasabi prawns at the buffet think its quite nice but i wonder if everyone knows how to appreciate wasabi taste esp for old folks (btw i dun eat wasabi but i think the prawns is nice). Unfortunately we didn't get to try the drunken prawns on my wedding coz too busy, but should be quite safe. U can check with William on the baked prawns, if u really want this dish, gotta top up already, which is really not worth.

glad my feedback is useful for u

i see.. thank you.. your feedback is very much appreciated.. =)

wondering can one actually request GPCH to packet the portion meant for the Bride & Groom into bento boxes, where it can be served much later after the whole event is over?

apparently, my fiance's brother who had his in HIPV could make such an arrangement... i dun mind eating cold food.. haha.. if i am simply too rushed running around the entire place...

Baked prawns in butter sauce... King size prawn.. mmz.. i went for a wedding dinner in oct at Marina Mandrian.. apparently one of the prawn dish was also king size prawn.. however, i felt it was not big enough... =( likewise, everyone had 1 prawn each.. just nice only...

my fiance was like telling me, dun you worry drunken prawn.. haha...

surprised you are still awake at this hour.. good night.. =) all the best for your married life and the decades of happiness ahead ^^

zao shen gui zi!

that's reassuring to know ^^
heehee.. thanks alot, hui shan!

for me, on my AD i will drink tea instead of liquor.. from far, it looks like liquor.. i dun want to get drunk... heehee..

Pudding,
Thanks. Hmm..in that case, i think i shall stick to drunken prawns too. Which dessert did you had? Any recommendations?

Huishan,
So good to pack up the food ah? do we have to request now, or maybe nearer to the date then we can ask them to pack the food?

I have asked William when I signed contract and they say that we wont have chance to eat food after sharksfins dish and thus they will pack all the food from there on and send it up later after the dinner to let us have it.

Probably wun ve to let them koe so early. Just "remind" them during food tasting bah

blur btb, thanks alot.. Haha, I did not want to bother william with the nitty ditty stuff so early before the event.. Thanks for helping to clarify all the stuff.. It's really very helpful and heart warming to see GPCH BTBs being so united and helpful...

I am the odd one out. I am the GTB.. haha..

pudding: halo, thanks much for the advice. I will try to pay off as much of the banquet as I can before July next year but by the look of things and a few more pieces of furniture to buy at home, I can forget about paying more than what I have already done.

At the same time, to alleviate the worries of paying too much for the banquet before the AD, I think what I will do is (maybe Antz and Weixiang can also consider)to also apply for the Manhattan Card (so that we have 2 in total) and then pay for 6000 each after the banquet so tat we can each get a total maximum rebate of S$300 (total of S$600).

If possible, will get the sis in law to apply for the card as well and she can sign off for a portion of it. Then can max out the rebates and savings lor... prior to that, i dont think have money to pay liao. :p

I think changing the coordinator is not your fault bah.. and possibly its also the size of the place that counts. I was previously a Tang Court BTB and the service level from Harry the banquet manager is impeccable! Very personalised as well. Perhaps is the scale of the place and the number of weddings that can go on at any point in time. Thus more personalised. He remembers our names, read the forum thread and can even strike up a conversation with me about my job.

So, if not for unforeseen circumstances, I would not have forefeit the deposit and change.

For the future BTBs and GTB: Just enjoy the day no matter what happens. Dun get affected if there are some hiccups along the way. Its the most important day of our lives and we should be happy!

Hi ppl,

MIA for awhile as i went for honeymoon... the thread has moved so fast!! Cannot catch up.. Several ppl have requested for my AD photos but I have not gotten it yet.

They will pack the 4th dish onwards, in aluminium foil, for the couple to eat after the dinner.

Personally I like the wasabi prawns and i received a lot of positive comments on this dish. After the food-tasting, we changed the ginseng chicken to their signature dish- garlic fried chicken (not too sure about the actual name).. I read that one of the bride commented that it doesn't taste good. I am not too sure how it tasted on my actual day cos i tried it only after the dinner so cannot really judge. Overall I received positive comments from my guests on the food.

We commented during the food-tasting that the shark fins too diluted. Our guests told us that the shark fins wasnt diluted on the actual day. I think when comparing food-tasting and actual banquet standard, there will sure be a dip as there are many more shares to cook.

We had special dietary requests and they were handled perfectly. One of the muslim guest couldn't make it last minute and surprisingly, our cordinator allowed us to cancel the request, thus allowing us to save on extra cost for one person.