Grand Park City Hall

Welcome back nana,

Where u you go for ur honeymoon?
Thanks for sharing the feedback on food. Which dessert did you have?

Nana: Wah, thats lucky of you leh... at least can save on the extra person...

I hope US is fun!!!

Hows the dessert? I wonder if we can customised the dessert...

Hi Blur btb,

We had a great time in US... nice weather, good shopping...

I think the honeydew sago is just normal, not awful but not impressive either... you know it's quite subjective when it comes to food... haha...we can't please everyone.

Some ppl told me honeydew sago is something different cos usually it's the yam paste or something else. I am not sure what else they have for dessert so maybe you can check with your coordinator on that.

Nana,
Great!
Maybe during the food tasting can try different choices of dessert, then decide again.

Blur btb,
Actually i also thought of that too.;p had already asked my HTB to apply for the card. But do you think they are ok for us to split the bill into more than 1?

Antz C: I am sure the bill can be split. Which card will give over 20K of credit limit.

I have asked as well and William is pretty flexible about it. He understands that we are either looking at rebates or points de also.

My AD is 10 July 2010. I am in the As for the first 5%, it will be credited at the end of the qtr. So its the same as my Citibank Dividend Card.

It is still okie for me as I can use that rebate for honeymoon later or somethig... book air tix etc... :D

I'm a 2011 btb and have short listed GPCH as one of my banquet venues..

nice to meet all of you

Halo clint... nice to meet you... make an appointment to meet up with the team at GPCH. I think you wont be disappointed! I just signed up a month ago as well. Put on my blog and I have comments from people that it is a great place with nice food!

blur btb: do you mind sharing your blog add? I'm planning to have max 30 tables.. but I heard some comments that with 28 tables its already quite squeezy.. any recommendation for coordinator?

clint, do take note that the prices for 2011 will be increased by some $40 or so... imho, its very reasonable compared to some other hotels that increased by $100... zzz....

one very reknowned example...

HIPV in 2008 $788 nett weekends
HIPV in 2011 $1038 nett weekends

3 years difference $350 difference!!! wow....

so for GPCH, $988 + 40 = $1028 for saturday Lobster menu...

$968 + 40 = $1008 for suckling pig combination menu.

i just met william from GPCH... he said their next wedding show will be in April... and there'll be up to 10% discount if you book during the show... also, he told us that they'll be changing their pricing to "plus plus" format for 2nd Q 2011 onwards..no longer nett pricing.. and he said increase in price for each table is roughly $60.. hope it helps. GPCH is definitely a venue tt i'm seriously considering.. everything is good... except I'm worried that people wouldn't have heard of it...

icic.. thanks.. CharRay... if you have people who wouldn't have heard of the hotel.. just tell them it used to be known as Grand Plaza Park Hotel.. most would know...

if really mountain tortise, tell them there is a Grand Park Orchard next to Hereen! they will then know that Grand Park City Hall is no cheapsake hotel... lol.. ^^

Grand Park Orchard is the flagship of Grand Park Singapore.. but obviously i expect their prices to be much steeper compared to Grand Park City Hall..

CharRay, i had the same worry as you, but went ahead with booking GPCH cuz i think the pros outweigh the cons.
I just did a video "How to Go to Grand Park City Hall" using google street view to help directing the guests. lol~ maybe you can consider something like this too to help them have an idea where it is.
http://wenjie-pei.ning.com/video/how-to-go-to-grand-park-city
(for the offline folks, no choice, gotta do the manual way.) :D

i wonder if they will increase their price right after the qing ming renovation too..?

Jiening, yup.. CharRay met William who told her that there will be a price increase of ~ $60 per table.. heehee.. its good news for all of us who had booked earlier.. ^^

Thanks for the advice! Yeah.. William mentioned their current pricing is valid till 31/03/2011 after which prices will be increased and also changed to "plus plus" form..So if your wedding is before that then no worries..haha.. The renovation to the ballroom sure sounds good from what he told me..haha. i just hope they really do it this year if not it might affect my AD in early May 2011 if i really book with them...

Jiening, he told me that they will change the carpet, refurbish the walls, change the lightings..the stage backdrop curtain will probably be changed to ivory colour...he said its a minor renovation.. and he also said he proposed to add 2 LCD screens on the outside of the ballroom to show the couple's wedding photos before the event starts..

clint: sorry for the late response. I have been to see the wedding setup at the max 30 tables. Its acceptable for me still as the pple got space to still shift around...

But the only problem is that the march in aisle will be quite small, so if the bride has a huge ball gown, it might look a lil awkard.

I think there is a way around it... i m also maxing out the ballroom at 30 tables....

My blog is http://lemmijessicawedding.multiply.com

blur btb,

had checked with william and he said its ok to split the bill! Had signed the contract, I'm an official GPCH bride now!
hehe....;p

They are really going to do a minor renovation? That's good!! I hope they remove the calligraphy leh..I think it spoils the ballroom.

Jiening- the map video is so useful! U did it yourself? Can i kop from you? hehe!

Joanie: Ah... i love the calligraphy leh.... haha...

Clint: Oops, I dint write the blog in an informational way though... :p hope you enjoy reading it though...

Food at GPCH is good! I think we dun ve to worry about that portion!

Blur btb- i think the calligraphy makes the ballroom very oriental, so very difficult to have other themes. =)

Thanks Jiening! I hope the main entrance doesn't turn people off. I showed my friend the video and she ask my why the entrance is at the back alley. Then she say a lot of Thai people at that area on weekend.

Pros and Cons. Can't please everyone.
Still, me and fiance still happy with this venue.
^.^

weixiang, sorry for the late reply. seldom login to Sgbrides nowadays. Yes, they will actually pack the food for you. We didn't request but at the end of the banquet, the manager pass all the packed food to us. But it's cold lah.. haha

Antz C, my dessert is fungus with papaya i think (forgot the exact name). I think it's nice, but some of my colleagues felt that its too sweet. To us we think is ok, sweet is good mah especially for last dish, symbolises tian tian mi mi.. hehe

blur btb, we used Manhattan card as well! managed to get the rebates so can save a bit from there.. hehe

Oh btw u may find that the march in aisle is quite cramp if you have 30 tables. I had around 27 tables and it's really cramp when i march in, maybe coz of my can can and long train. Overall will be ok coz the banquet team will help you pull your train and the guests are all standing when you march in and will pull in their chairs to give you more space to walk.

nana, i'm thinking of going to USA for my honeymoon too! Which part did u go to?

joanie, yah actually i dont like the entrance.. and yes, the workers around peninsular plaza is.... zzzzzz.. heard the carpark is not that great either (not very sure, never been there)..

but apart from that, once they step inside, everything is fine. hahaha.. ya, like what you've said, cant please everyone. it's beyond what we can do to change these also.

but if given a choice, i'll choose how the guests are able to enjoy during the dinner over the external stuff.

e.g. i went novotel recently, it's got better entrance and carpark (i guess?), but i got poured hot tea on my back by the waitress and then she just walked away. @_@ hahaha..

havent heard such thing happening in gpch *touch wood*, they better not let me down! :D

i second jiening's mentality of not liking the entrance....

the carpark is not bad.. very brightly lit and bright yelllow colour, clean and nice.. but just that might not have enough lots...

joanie: dont worry bah, as long as you like the place can already... even if hold at Shang will have pple comment that it is not accessible de... cannot please everyone.

The entrance is a lot grander than the restaurants I have visited and placed deposit for before.. so i m very thankful for the place... :D

Jiening: The carpark at Novotel will kill as there are pple from Clarke Quay, Novotel and Liang Court all using it. Guests wont be able to get out of the place easily after the dinner also.

The GPCH carpark is quite small... but quite alright... I am putting into my invite and wedding site alternate places and rates for parking (ie. Funan side and the multi storey carpark).

I personally placed my car at the multi storey place on level one for a gd 4 hours on wkends. there were many thai workers having picnic and gatherings there but i do believe that it is safe and they are just having some social life on their weekends off. Just tt maybe not as lucky as us to have spare cash to dine or watch movies. Not out to make trouble or steal anything...

Hi everyone. I went down to see the ballroom. Quite satisfied. Plan to email William someday to discuss abt the package. Thk im nt able to escape frm the increase in price cos im looking at July2011. Hope to get more perks den.

I remembered smone mentioned abt having solemnisation at the waterfall near the lobby area. Anyone can provide more details on it? Any extra charges and will they help on the deco portion? Im planning to hav my soleminsation before my wedding dinnner.

Luvyvel, if your solemnisation is before your wedding dinner held all together on the same day... GPCH should be able to come up with a small function room at 2nd level to cater to your needs.

for waterfalll near lobby area, its chargable.. =) hope it helps, as for how much it is... read at the very 1st thread for Grand Plaza Park.. think its in the region of $500... but it was several years back.. things would definitely have changed... =) anyway, try to work things out with william... better than asking here...

one thing i like to highlight potential BTBs and GTBs considering GPCH.. if you intend to hold your WD here, do note that they have a smaller Park Palace Restaurant, which is only accessible by stairs.. hence it might be quite a contest for parking lots on popular dates.. do take note of this in your consideration.

but if you are wondering about the portion and taste, i would say its pretty much on the safe side. =)

dear brides to be... do any brides have photos which they can share with me?

i am currently shortlisting my choices for my wedding dinner.. =)

anyone held a wedding luncheon at grand park before? how is it like? the pricing for wedding luncheon seems to be very reasonable.. i am looking tying the knot this oct - dec...

three options that i am currently looking into... wedding dinner either at Fu Lin Mien or Qianxi, alternative a wedding luncheon in grand park...

will the food for luncheon be nice? thanks!!

thanks quite so much, jiening!!

but wondering as i am considering a luncheon due to budget issues.... would the food be nice and big?

any brides can share their experiences for a luncheon at Grand park?

Just FYI for people considering GPCH..Just got the latest package pricing for Grand Park..for weddings AFTER 31st March 2010...Ruby Package is $868++ while Emerald Package is $888++.. that's about a $150 price hike per table...woah.. and its no longer free flow beer, but 2 barrels of 30 litres...the rest of the stuff remains about the same... I was very interested in this hotel.. but my wedding will only be in May 2011.. the price hike is a little steep to me..

To LuvyveL (luvyvel) - I held my ROM solemnization at the Indulge last Dec (2009), it's free. Even if you were to choose to set it up at the fountain, it's also complimentary but you will have to take their buffet package which is the usual pricing for public and I understand that if you have your ROM at Park Palace, you also get to use the Fountain.. Most important thing is to book early!! But the fountain area can only cater 20 pax... They will provide their std setup for free.. =)))