Grand Park City Hall

geniewiz

Blur btb: I picked gold linens. Burgundy is nice, but my EG is same colour, so decide not to choose burgundy linen.

Jean: There is only one wedding cake. No other options. But looks quite nice and presentable.

vilopup

I have signed the contract yesterday with William. Officially a GPCH BTB!

Looking forward to sharing more thoughts and discussions with the rest here.

vilopup

Phy and memorablechocolate: I went to take a look yesterday again at the guest table centrepiece and from the side view, it didnt look too bad...

HB actually say that its a nice sculpture!

weixiang_06

vilopup, mind sharing your package with me?

vilopup

The thread is so quiet recently.... hows everyone doing?

weixiang: you have email address for me to send it through?

Joanne: Sorry, din have my ROM there... Checked with another friend, but she had hers at Park Palace (Chinese restaurant with GPCH).

mrs_kan

Hi all GPCH BTB,

I had my wedding dinner last friday at GPCH. Everything went well and i received positive comments on the food and the whole setting of the banquet. Everything has been well taken care of by the hotel staff. My husband and I were glad that we have chosen GPCH for our wedding.

kevely

Hi Nana,

Mind sharing the photos that you have taken during your wedding? Wanna have a look at the setup. Considering to hold our wedding in Grand Park City Hall. Thanks!

weixiang_06

Nana, mind sharing the photos taken during your wedding. =) would love to look at the setup during the actual day.

You can email me at

Many thanks! I was still hesitating when a close friend of mine feedback to me that during her recent dinner at GPCH, the food was only so-so despite being a saturday night dinner, featuring lobster salad and etc.

weixiang_06

dear fellow GPCH brides / grooms to be...

I have finally signed my contract with William yesterday. He is a very nice and patient man whom you can deal with confidence. From his accent, I think he is from Hong Kong, should be very good in cantonese. So for brides / grooms who are cantonese, it will definitely be a added personal touch. ^^

weixiang_06

many thanks to blur btb.. haha.. seems like most of you are brides here.. i am the exception, the groom who is very involved in the planning and preparation phase.. ^^

weixiang_06

one thing to clarify, that close friend of mine was an invited guest.. came as quite a shock to me, coz i been to GPCH twice(a couple of years ago) and remembered the food being nice and in big portions.

vilopup

Nana (mrs Kan): Congrats on the successful banquet you have... I am sure you are relieved that it is over but yet a bit lost (after so much time planning for it)

weixiang: Ooh, you have signed!! Good for you... i think for the food concern, it is never what you can fully control... even the chefs may not...

I have been to a very "wedding banquet" hotel at Havelock Road several times recently and despite the same menu, each time the outcome is different... the weekday and weekend is not the same.. and it seems to vary by the no. of tables as well. And the review of the food in the place is supposed to be very good and quite famous.

I can imagine in the kitchen, the chef cannot be doing the cooking for all 40 tables himself.. so if there are a few weddings or a huge number of guests, the standard may drop a bit.

But the good thing about GPCH is that there is only 1 couple per nite and the max no. of tables is 30... so i think cannot go very wrong... dun worry too much about it!

mrs_kan

kevely> I signed up the package in 2008 so I think it's not really relevant now =)
We chose this hotel because of the pillarless ballroom, location, reasonable and affordable price which I am sure most of the couples who have signed up would also agree.

weixiang> i am quite surprised that your friend said the food was only so so... cos i have been following this thread ever since i signed up with GPCH, i always see positive feedback about the food. When is your big day? I am sure you will not regret your choice.

Blur btb> you are quite right to say that i feel a bit lost now... i feel so free now... the last few months was so packed for me as i was still studying part-time. I am glad that everything went well.

I think when it comes to food...it can be quite subjective cos different people have different expectations.

luckystar78sg

Hi all GPCH couples,

I am considering holding my AD on a Friday night (Sapphire package) at GPCH. However, I find that the menu is not that impressive as compare to a 9-course dinner for Ruby package.

Anyone know how much is needed to top up for per table if i change the menu from Sapphire to Ruby package?

Appreciate inadvance for any advise or comments.

weixiang_06

hi luckystar78sg, I have thought about this thing as well.

for the top up from sapphire to ruby package, you need to pay the exact price difference between the 2 packages. The prices will be the same even though if you are holding on a Fri/Sun night.

After much consideration, I have decided against the top up as it will be very rush for Fri/Sun night dinners. I have attended a number of Fri night dinners. Most of them started only at 830pm, one started as late as 9pm.. The whole thing was a mad rush... The above experience are not applicable for GPCH, as i have yet to been to WD @ GPCH where such packages were taken up..

you might want to take my advice into consideration. =) cheers.. Look for William, he can advise you accordingly.

luckystar78sg

Hi Weixiang,

Thanks for your advice. I had viewed the GPCH ballroom twice. The ballroom is actually quite impressive. Currently, im just abit worried of the food provided by them. As, I did not managed to visit the wedding fair and taste their food.

So when is ur AD? Most of the weekends dates had been taken. You taking which package and mind sharing with me the perks that they offered?

Can email me at [email protected].

luckystar78sg

Hi Nana (mrs_kan),

Get to know that you had held ur AD at GPCH recently. Mind sharing the photos with me?

Or any advise from you to choose whch theme or any important issues that we need to take note of. Realy need some advise.

Can email me at [email protected]

weixiang_06

Luckystar78sg, need not worry about the food. I have been there for wedding banquets before.. The portions are big and nice.. In fact, there will be a wedding show sometime in March next year, according to william.

My AD is in Jan 2011.. Haha.. I know I am ks but then need to secure and lock in the date.

My package and perks can be found here
http://singaporebrides.com/hotels/grand-park-city-hall/index.htm

One thing you might need to take note, the package is only valid for bookings confirmed by 31st Dec 2009... You will need to act fast!

luckystar78sg

Weixiang,

haha...u realy act fast...no wonder i cant get the dates that i wan...i plan to have my AD in Dec 2010.

Actually, im still yet to decide Orchard Parade Hotel or GPCH.

Anyone in the forum, did send you some photos for their wedding dinner? Cos i din managed to see the actual ballroom decorations.

If you have it, do share with me k. Anyway, realy thanks for ur information. Appreciate it.

luckystar78sg

Hi Weixiang,

Thanks for sharing.

Check with you, how much deposit is needed to pay for the package? Any credit cards got further discount?

When will be the date for tasting of food? Any idea?

weixiang_06

$3k is required for deposit. No further credit cards discount.

food tasting is done within 3 months prior to AD...

you need to act fast :D

happygo

I am also interest in GPCH. Can send me some info on your experience with GPCH. Like services, last minute request etc etc. thanks.

vilopup

luckystar78sg: Further to what weixiang has shared, i would like to add on about the credit card discount.

No other cards will give you further discount direct from GPCH but you can apply for the Standard Chartered Manhattan Card which gives cash rebate.

The maximum is 3k which will give you 5% rebate (in 1 quarter), so if you pay your deposit with that, can already get 5% off.

If can afford, then can continue paying 3k each qtr until your wedding (if you can lah.. otherwise the interest incurred will be more than the rebate then bo hua liao).

Hope this helps! I did that for mine... husband signed with his SC Manhattan Card.

luckystar78sg

Hi Blur btb,

Thanks for sharing. But, still abit blur..my husband had some savings..so guess wont be a problem paying the credit card bills. so long can get back some cash rebate. It will be useful to apply the credit card.

So means after paying $3K using Standard Chartered Manhattan Card...then can get back 5% rebate cash. After that how? Can elaborate more on how and when to continue paying $3k each qtr?

By the way when is ur AD? Congrats in advance.

luvyvel

Hi GPCH BTB,

I am interested in GPCH for my wedding. However heard that there is a flight of stairs to the ballroom and there is no elevator. Is it true? Cos I have a couple of elderlys, stairs are really inconvenient to them.

luvyvel

weixiang and memorableChocolate, thanx! Relief!

hmm will find smtime to go take a look at the ballroom. It's 1st on my list. hehe kinda kiasu to look for venue nw since my wedding will be in mid 2011. Do you guys noe when will be the next showcase? Looking forward to the perks =)

weixiang_06

next showcase is March 2010... but then william has mentioned among all the showcase, the current package is the most worth it... by Jan 2010, the prices will all be revised upwards accordingly, some $40-$50 per table. Other hotels have in fact increased theirs already for 2011.

the perks will also be reduced... Luvyel, my advice is to go for it now if your wedding is anytime from now till end March 2010.

luckystar78sg

Weixiang,

Thanks for the link which you provided. Most likely, I will use the credit card to get some cash rebate.

Will you be able to email me the contract with GPCH? Or maybe, just the perks or things they include in the package? If you are not comfortable with it. It okie.

my email : [email protected]

weixiang_06

huh.. luckstar78sg.. the perks i have already posted.. just click on the link...

the promotion ends on 31st Dec 2009, its secured once deposit is signed and confirmed by 31st Dec 2009...

look at my posted Dated Posted on

Monday, December 14, 2009 - 8:47 pm:

luvyvel

But mine most prob is after June 20011, waiting for geomancer to calculate the date. Will keep a lookout for March showcase den.

weixiang_06

then no choice, what i do know is that the current promotion is the best so far from GPCH.. the past promotions perks were not as good... and once the promotion dateline is over, the perks will lasped...

be prepared for some $50 increase in price.. quite reasonable.. compared to HIPV, which charges astonishing high...

luvyvel

thou nt the best, hope the perks at the next showcase will b good. Dun really like HIPV, after their reno, the 3 blocks are still there. I prefer pillarless.

Saw the virtual ballroom of GPCH at the homepage. The march-in to the stage is only 3 tables. Do you know how is the march-in like?Dunno whether the tables can be arrange to make it longer?

weixiang_06

the cons for GPCH is the short march in.. if you want a longer march in, note that it can only be done if you hold fewer tables..

you want then take a detour, as in a L shape.. which my wife strongly protests against.. reason being, L shape indicates difficulties in the marriage. you may choose to disagree..

straight march in is the most ideal.. =)

jigglez

Some couples walk in from the 2 doors separately and then meet in the center before walking to the stage. You might want to try that..