Grand Park City Hall

blurdreamy28

Hi Kristle,

thks alot for sharing the fotos...
anyone has more fotos?
anyway they should be having another wedding show in July / Aug....maybe then they will have another set of flower themes also...

kristle

i signed up on the show too and won a night stay
but my partner was aiming at the presidential suite though. henry told me there will be more themes coming up this year. at this moment, only these 2 are available.

shrekkybin

hi kristle,thanks for sharing the photos. am glad that there's another choice other than the crystal chandelier-looking one.

btw,what do u mean by only 4 flower stands will be given? is that on the stage? or along the march-in aisle?

kristle

the 4 flower stands will be along the aisle. note that for my pic of the crystal chandelier, out of those 9 stands, 4 will be along the aisle and 5 will be on stage.

hi elyn82, yup i signed up on the spot to hope for the presidential suite. but well, i didn't get it. so pai seh to go up stage to receive the prize. hehehe..

blurdreamy28

tink he should have indicated how much did he pay for the wedding show at those Meritus, Carlton etc... so far, i tink GPPH wedding show charges are one of the cheapest. Alot of them are charging like $38, or some even $48. For a couple @ $20 (which means $10 per pax), free food tasting + door gifts...what more to expect?

Good service = More Free Perks + Free carpark coupon? What a "shallow" defination. *signz* Anyway dun let his thread bother us too much... as long as we know what standard of service we are getting is good enough.

shrekkybin

hi Anne, haha... im not at all bothered by his post. rather unreasonable if u ask me.

but gd point to note, maybe we can remind our guests they may prefer to take MRT etc cos gpph car park is really quite tight. but then again, when i did my research,we realised most hotels along orchard road all have very terrible parking

kristle

henry told me that they will give a voucher for us to redeem the tea set elsewhere. i only paid for the deposit without signing anything. :X

aaronjas

yeah.. saw the post too. Hiaz... i guess some ple just ask for too much. I thought the food was pretty good and it really was quite a lot! Plus, after i signed up at the fair, i e mailed henry about some queries. He answered by actaully calling me within 5 minutes of me sending the mail! Now if that is not good service, i dunno what is..
Yeah, was wondering how we're going to get the tea set too...maybe they'll give us a voucher nearer our AD?

shrekkybin

really giam siap guy. frankly, if we had a few guests like his behaviour at our banquet, we'll be damn stressed lor. bo liao la.

poorthing

Aiyo!! there another complain by another person in the 1st link that shrekkybin posted. And this lady uses mercenary and DISGUSTING to describe the hotel!

blurdreamy28

could those 2 negative post be coming from the same couple??

anyway just let them be...I believe that even 5 or 6 stars hotel like Ritz Carlton or Fullerton cannot promise tat ALL their customers will be satisfied with their service. Every customer has their own defination of "Good Customer Service". I can say that more perks mean "Good Customer Service", while another can say "free carpark coupon" means Good Customer Service.

In every line, there are bound to be difficult customers to handle, or pple with weird weird request. And really lor, hogging on to the wedding coordinator and quarelling over the perks etc does not seems to be fair to other BTB who are waiting. Anyway, wish them all the best in their search for the BEST-EST customer service =)

aaronjas

heh heh.. you're right anne. Customer service is like food. Very subjective. Let's just be the happy, satisfied BTBs of GPPH yeah!!!

moonpooh

Firstly, I would like to affirm that the 2 negative posts are not from the same couple especially when I do not agree with the first post myself.

It is true that all hotels/restaurants would have received some bad comments here and there and so, it is only important that the couple finds a coordinator who they are most comfortable with.

Good customer service is of course defined in a different manner by everyone. However, please do note that I have stated very clearly in my post that I wasn't after any perks or discounts at all. I was so interested in the venue that I opened up the option of renting just a ballroom and engaging the services and dinner of the hotel, which would undoubtedly be much more expensive than any package itself.

My hubby and I spent less than 5mins talking to that particular staff. So, I'm definitely not guilty of hogging and depriving others of their chances. Well, I do wonder if those of you who had signed up dare to say that you had not even once asked if you could get something extra or tried to negotiate for a better deal? Are you not guilty of hogging then??

I work in the service industry myself and that is exactly why I know my expectations are only fair and reasonable. Take for example, when you purchase something at a sale and despite it being indicated in the shop, on the receipt and told to you by staff, that sales items are not exchangeable, you make a fuss and create a scene that you just want to change the size/colour and you don't know what's the big deal about allowing you to make the exchange. Can you imagine that there are also people out there who would return a blouse that they have wore for 3 years and complained that the blouse had expanded and that the colour had faded?

Sigh... I guess all humans are the same. When it's to your own benefit, you claim that the staff/organisation should give in to all your whines simply because that's what GOOD customer service is about. Hahaha....but turn the situation around and you would be cursing and saying that the customer is making an unreasonable request.

To those who have signed up, Good Luck to you and may all goes smoothly for you. For those who are considering, make sure you find someone you're comfortable with and do get the details stated clearly in black and white.

blurdreamy28

anyway ladies, let's move on to other topics bah...no point harping on this issue also anyway cox everyone has different expectations and views on the same thing. Just like food, some pple like it salty while some pple like it bland.

anyway talking abt food...i like their wasabi prawns when they served last year during the wedding show...it's yummy lor...but may got to change it because scared that many of my guests may not like wasabi...anyone tasted before?

poorthing

hi, anne, i tasted it during the show too. i found it not bad, but my bf say that it dun look nice. anyway my package dun have this. but i found it quite special meal. hardly any banquet serve this dish.
hmm basically i think some elderly may not like it ba..

aaronjas

hi anne, yeah we loved the wasabi prawns too! Plus, my fiance does not eat a single drop of chilli or spicy but he likes it a lot! But like wat elyn said, the older folks might not be able to appreciate it..

blurdreamy28

ya lor...i personally like it too =) something special lor..just tat the presentation is those green-green so may scared some pple off...haha...perhapd GPPH can improve on the presentation of the dish to make it look more appealing.

I like their shark's fins also..yum yum..initially my bf & I share 1 serving but he couldn't resist so took another bowl...haha...

As for their red wine..personally I din really like it cox very "seep" feel..i did feedback to Henry & he mentioned that sometimes for red wine depends on individual cox for those who dun drink red wine often then they would prefer their wine to be "sweeter"...anyway when nearer the date we see how we can arrange. I guess really the plus point about my coordinator is that he will make it a point to ensure tat we won't fuss over these things...a more secured feeling esp on that AD, we won't have time to bother with all these stuff.

poorthing

ya.. me too, initially we shared one bowl. then also cannot resist, i ask him to take another one :p
what else u all think is nice? btw anyone of u change any dish of ur package?

kristle

ehhh.. though i sign up, i find the sharkfin soup taste the worse :p too starchy in my opinion. reflect to henry already.
i like the roast chicken. taste so yummy but too wasted the skin was not crispy till to the long hours sitting outside there. the wasabi prawns nice too except the dirty green color. oh the crab balls nice too!

berie

for those who sign up during the wedding show, have your received the contract yet?

I find the sharkfin soup kinda of starchy as well. But i guess cos they are catering for such a large group, they need to cut costs.

I like the wasabi prawns and the deep-fried fish with salted egg best. Considering to change the steam fish to deep-fried fish.

samkcy79

Yeah liked the salted egg fried fish too... but if we change the dishes, the old folks will not like it... cos salted eggs stuffs are actually only eaten during 'poorer' times.

berie

ah... but i thot it would be unqiue.. Steam fish is so normal .. and if they are not hot when serve, there will be a very fishy taste.

will see if there are other type of fishes available.

so anyone received any contracts from Henry?

blurdreamy28

hi girls, the contract won't be so fast...takes abt 3 weeks to 1 month. They have quite a number to prepare....they will sent to you with return envelope and you got to sign & send back to them

missd

Does anyone has comments on the decoration of the ballroom? It looks a bit plain from the pictures as only the VIP tables and chairs have sash around them. The other tables just have the white seat covers. Has anyone requested for more decorations? Any pics to share? Thanks!

inlk

thks anne.

btw hows the service, food and the ballroom setup? The exterior of the hotel looks quite old though.

blurdreamy28

if you gals wan, i've collated a few of the ballroom photos from previous threads. just for reference bah....ultimately, you can work with their florist on how you wan the ballroom to be decorated.

rara11

I had my wedding on the 15 march 2008. Good feed back on the food. The coordination work on that night was superb. BTB if the capacity of your guest suit the ballroom do consider GPPH. I had a total of 30+b tables on that nite. The set up was very nice. I have a memorable nite.
Any doubt please feel free to ask. Hope that I can help. I do have pictures of the ballroom setting. I wouldn’t mind to share.

maple_leaves

Congrats and good to hear the postive feedback!!

U had 30+ tables... can email me the pics to see see..hehe.. my email is : [email protected]

By the way, just to check, I will be hvaing my AD on Nov 08, do I need to call up GPPH to arrange to choose the theme, wedding cards? Or all these can be discussed during the food tasting?
And how many months b4 my AD shld my food tasting be?

Thanks for your help....

rara11

Hi maple,

All these are done a month or two before the AD. Wedding card will be three months before hand. My coordinator is Vera. She will drop me email to inform me about the meet up etc.

The food tasting I have mine about two months before the AD. Now till Nov I think is quite relax. Things start to tense up a month before AD. The picture of the ballroom I will send to you shortly.

maple_leaves

Thanks for the pics...!! It is reali a veri nice setup...!!! The special lighting effect looks nice too..
I especially like the table cloth for the master table.. it look so oriental ....!! Ur photographer is veri gd.. he managed to capture the whole layout so nicly... Wow....

Didnt regret my choice on GPPH. :p

By the way, i realise tat u have only 1 master table.. But some or rather most banquet that I went is with 2 master table... Does it realli matter? Or what is the difference?

Is it veri squeezy for you for photgraphy session fm table to table?