Grand Park City Hall

lu_meihua

hi, attending wedding there this sunday. any idea is there any mani/pedicure services nearby the hotel that I can engage?

or any house call services??

clareliu

Would like to ask, my wedding banquet is on Oct. hw many mths before the banquet, should i go for the food-tasting?

cheekrene

No problem, clare..
enjoy your wedding preparation.
do give me some comments on the food-tasting.. mine still have to wait till end of the year as my wedding is in next year march.

clareliu

thks cheekrene. I have not started planning for my wedding lunch banquet schedule or even wat theme i wan.. hehe. Been busy with other issues.

sure will give my comments on the food tasting. Btw, do i need to call the co-ordinator to book the time slot??

cheekrene

Hi clare,

you should book the time slot with your coordinator so that he/she can make the special arrangement for you.

will it be a little rush if you are having wedding lunch? are you going to have tea ceremony at hotel before lunch? my colleague also experience this kind of situation.

shrekkybin

hi, anyone using the function room on the same floor as the ballroom for solemnization?

what is the name of the fxn room? i wonder what set-up can be done, or is it too rushed. my intention is to do it before the banquet dinner.. early evening/ late afternoon ...

clareliu

thks.
My chinese customary and solemnisation is on 14Sept. So no prob for my wedding lunch. just reach there in the morning check-in and meet my MUA in the bridal suite followed by tea ceremony in the suite.

cheekrene

hi skrekkybin,

i dont remember the name of the function room.

my coordinator invite me and my fiance to see the process of a couple doing their solemnisation in function room at 6.30pm. After the whole process around 15mins, they will wait till their wedding march-in at 7.30pm.

i am also planning to do it in my wedding next year. it was not rush at all.

shrekkybin

hi cheekrene, that's good. thanks. how abt the set-up in the function room?? do we have to top up (eg. any decor done)?

kristle

i am also interested to know about the deco. coz my coordinator told me that simple rectangle table with the red table cloth will be use only. maybe i can go to the ballroom and took the flower arrangements and chairs for vip table first? hehehe. so cheeky of me.

cheekrene

hi skrekkybin,

their set-up in the function room is quite simple but at least the decor on the table is acceptable. it depend on what you want to put on the table. as solemnisation take about 15mins, no point worry about the decor.

you dont need to top up if you intend to use the function room for solemnisation. do note that the function will subject to availability. this is what my coordinator told me.

cheekrene

hi kristle,

you can ask your coordinator if you can go down to see the ballroom of those couples who are getting married.

that time my coordinator told us that there had couples holding their solemnisation in function room and wedding in the ballroom and asked us to go down to see the layout and decor.

shrekkybin

hi cheekrene, thanks for the pointers. maybe we can go down and take a look.
Yes, he did mention that the function room is subject to availability, but as my AD is on a sat, most prob it'll be available (mentioned that room usually is used for business meetings).

i was thinking if can do some simple decor (of cos need jie mei's help), or re-use the decor from the reception table?? =)

cheekrene

hi shrekkybin,

yes, it can be done if u ask your jie meis to help u to decorate the reception table.

if i got the time on my actual day, i also would like to oversee the decor.. hehe!

cheekrene

hi sun tan,

the food are cooked by the cantonese restaurant itself (named park palace) in the hotel.

the food are yummy. i tried it during the wedding show. i also see lots of good comments in forum too. maybe u can check it out with the rest of the brides.

kristle

oh and anyone know what is the spa session that we are entitled for the bridal show? forgotten to ask about that too. :x

anglicious

Hi Ling(rara11), congrats to u! could u share ur pics with me.I'm holding my wedding at GPPH in sept
(will look forwrd to ur photos)! Tks in advance!

shilo

i went to see GPPR, but wanted to have 2 nights stay in the suite. Have anyone ever negotiate for that? now everything is perfect except these two nights, cos HTB prefers two nights as he is not a local. To pay cost abt $700++

pls advse

mrs_kan

Would like to see your photos, do you mind sending it to me at [email protected]? Does your photographer has any website so that I can view his/ her work? Thanks in advance!

Btw, anyone has any problem with the song selection for the short march-in? My worry is that it will be quite hard to find songs with shorter music at the start. It might be quite awkward if the singing starts only when I am about to reach the stage.

shilo

anyone manage to get minimum 18 tables for fri or Sat wedding and with one night extra stay ( means total two nights) from GPPH?

fish88

My dinner just last thurs, I had no problem with my march in...don worry.

i would suggest you put yr frens near the edge where you will walk past...so when u march u you actually start fr the a distance to the door....den walk straight in...so during that time your guests can start to see u already. at the same time u feel more relieve walking with familiar faces. Anyway you are wearing gown will walk slowly n can see yr frens clapping.

BUT remember to tell yr hubby to walk as slowly as possible....or follow the speed of the spot light shining on him....
As for the song, dun worry...it continues till cake cutting so not so awkward stop halfway...hope this helps u

mrs_kan

Vivien, thanks for your advice! Do you mean to say that I should stand somewhere along the corridor then walk to the door and into the ballroom?

How was your wedding last thurs? You happy with the service, food and everything?

sun_tan

Vivien, would you mind sharing with me the photos of your dinner taken at the hotel? Was considering GPPH as one of the potential dinner venue. I have yet to make arrange to go see the actual ballroom. Whats your feed back for the ballroom..me planning to have ard 25~30 tables. Dun think will be cramp right?

anglicious

Hi Vivien, thanks for ur valuable advice! do u haf any photos taken during ur dinner? do u mind to share ur pics?

Hi Sun tan,i'm oso considering having that number of tables bt dunno wil it b too cramp...

fish88

Dear all, sorry for the late reply. i was away for a week honeymoon. Overall, so far so good. wedding favours all grab up...ppl collecting it haha...no complaints so far, not back to office yet nor have time to check with frens. Overall very good, be it from tea serving to one or 2 tables. they indeed take note n get ready the hot tea. great...i always feel a pity to their short march in...but on my wedding day...due to my table planning i think was great....

they will brief you before each march in where you will stand so dun worry ... hope the below gv a clearer picture

Eg.....

<door>
'
'
'
'
'
'Your postiion'

(you are stand a distance fr the door so your march in starts fr here.so guest near door sees u already

then when it opens....your guest sitting near the door sees u way before u step in the ballroom.(so i feel it's good even though u place yr guest near door...where normally ppl feels not so honour...but now they see u clearly more than others)

den when u finally walk thru the door, u have to walk towards the centre to meet your hubby. but do remind him to walk very very slow... guys walk too fast as they do not wear gown like us so bulky...

best hotel advise is 32 max. mine was 30. never ever put 1 reserve table to save space...i did a mistake 28+1 reserve...my parents side 1 confirmed table din turn up. so i still have to pay for it as not reserve but it's a confirmed table... (btw left hand side of ballroom a bit cramp, right hand side no...left hand side is the bridal table)

service not too worry, but do highlight if u not happy with anything..so they can do somethin abt it. they will help u in timekeeping too...n inform u when to change etc...

my photos i haven go n collect...update u guys when ready...

fish88

initially i also worry a lot...overall ok with me the ballroom...my husband relative side left hand side of ballroom a bit cramp, but u wont be spending much time there...so dun worry too much, just take a photo n go... my right hand side was no problem, my frens, his frens, my parents side...i think depend on yr evening gown is it very bulky too ...i can still move here n there by myself on right side ballrm to chat with frens

fish88

Hi Anson &amp; all, no problem at all..glad to be of help

i have 2 wedding favours - hp holder &amp; coaster. both very nice... very hard to choose so hotel says i can get both...place alternately for guest(great rite?)..there's new items everytime...mine are the latest arrival currently...esp the hp holders packaging special so ppl guessing wat is it. check with them how's e packaging for your chosen wedding favour. there's a wedding favour - saucer plate tt doesn't come with any box, or little bag now...so not very nice to keep i feel

anglicious

Hi Vivien,tks for the feedback! I've yet to make appt for my wedding finalisation..btw,who's ur coordinator?
Btw,at which dish did u in to change ur EG?

jna

Hi Vivien,

Thanks for yr feedback, my AD in Sept, will go for food testing in July, what the themes u choose for the ballroom?

fish88

Hi Anson, my coordinator is Vera...she's very good &amp; go all the extra miles for us...so a lot of things she help me to settle...just like e wedding favour &amp; good advise to a lot of things...

ok my dinner start late abt 8.30++ but note i have 3 outfits...so e hotel control e time very well for me...so impressed...1 wedding gown...mine was to change straight after 1st dish..(based on time u start) ..den 2nd march in Evening gown for toasting ceremony &amp; photo session for half hall..den i change to cheongsum for the other half ballrm...still have quite a lot of time to mingle with my frens...so i think they did a good job...u will have to let them know on tt day...what program u have, when u wan to show montage...den they will advise u..

Hi Jna, i use the latest crystal version..not e old one..was told was shown on latest wedding show..do gv clear feedback for food..u will be ask to write down...they really take note...my lobster salad 1st dish (food tasting was not so fresh e meat) highlighted...my actual day very good &amp; crunchy. guests gv good comment of my food, fish &amp; shrimp(fresh). One coll claim 1 of the best she ever tried so far out of the many she attend...no complaints.. there's praise for the canapes, mocktail, n dishes but NO complain of serving not enough hee..

cheys28

Hi Vivien,

thanks for sharing your valuable comments =)

Was in fact pondering whether to add in extra dish cox mine was 8 dishes. Kinda scared that my guest do not have enough to eat or they might feel that "how cum 8 dishes only ah"...esp since most of my guest could be mainly guys (uniformed group). Also wonder if the stage can "tahan" many pple cox it looks kinda small &amp; cramped though

anglicious

Hi Vivien, wow ur AD was a successful one! Hope mine will b as gd as urs..my coordinator is Zack bt seems like he yet to get to me with regrds to our wedding finalisation..do u tink i can change my coordinator?

Hi jna,i'm oso holding my AD in sept..what's ur date? mine is on the 7th

cheekrene

hi anson,

my coordinator is zack too.

so far u are the only one who share the same coordinator with me.

when we signed our contract, we amended some of the details. so far did not receive the final contract from him for 5 months. i was wondering how he work.