Grand Park City Hall

poorthing

oh yes.. Jasmine, i did book a date with them... so will see u there :p
Groombride, what theme did u take when u sign with them?

shrekkybin

hi elyn82,
i don think there is a theme for GPPH. i do hope they improve their flower/display tho. E ones show-cased in last year sept roadshow were not v nice.

oh, i think the deposit is usually ard $3k

twinkyangel

Yah, i paid $3K for the deposit as well.

That time when my co-ordinator showed me the pictures of the setups, they're actually quite nice.. no themes to choose from, but u can get to choose ur own flowers from their florist.. they also have quite a number of setups to choose from.

I know for the aisle set-ups, there's one with dangling crystal stands with a big candle on top and the candle is surrounded by flowers of ur choice. Very nice!!

No pics for the setup thou, but i have downloaded the pictures of the ballroom in my home's PC (from the other thread under Grand Plaza Park Royal), will upload them here tonight.

twinkyangel

635268.jpg

635270.jpg

These are 2 different banquets, thus explains the different setups.
For more pics of the ballroom, u guys may wana check out
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=6&page=462967

Anyone having only 1 VIP table? Is it ok to have only 1 VIP table and how will the arrangement be?

I m actually quite confuse, as my family n my husband family is small, so we intend to combine both family together.

Will the arrangement be ok?

twinkyangel

Hi Rachel, or you can add your uncles/aunties to your own VIP table? I also have this problem.. I only have 5 family members so I shd be adding my uncles and aunties (the more senior ones) to my VIP table.

I think it is ok to combine, as long as ur family and PIL are ok. Most importantly must check with your parents... make sure they are comfortable with the arrangements.

shrekkybin

hi twinkyangel, thanks for uploadng the photos. i forgot the colour of their carpet...

btw, anybody doing solemnization and AD on the same day at GPPH? im thinking of how to "negotiate" for a function room before the AD dinner.

aaronjas

Hey sherkkybin me thinking of doing that too! Must we pay for it? Thought it's supposed to come along with the package for most hotels? But i heard that for GPPH, you will need to pay to use their courtyard.

poorthing

i intending to have my solemnization on AD too.. but maybe i will do on stage so that majority of my guests can witness. i haven tell veralyn abt this, i think no need to pay extra right?

blurdreamy28

I'm having it on same day too...I did told my coordinator that i wanted to use either their courtyard or waterfall area for solemnisation & he says ok, provided no one has booked or use the place. He also offered a small function room if i want. He din not mentioned abt extra charges also.

But i did not consider the stage cox it's kinda small and cramped...afterall it's a "temporary" stage and scared not so stable...with all the wine glasses on it also...

anyway elyn82, tink may be too late for you to discuss with them now cox they should be busy with the wedding show preparation...most likely they will say they will discuss with you on that day. For mine, i went much earlier and hence managed to negotitate some terms with him much earlier. So during the wedding show, i just go down and make my payment.

btw girls, for those of you who have yet to decide on the bridal package, think they have got "Sattine" there to show their bridal gowns. For those who are keen in their bridal package, REMEMBER...MUST MUST REMEMBER to negotiate more of the number of pages & poses with them. Last year when i placed my deposit, i made such a hasty decision bcox a promotion was on for those who booked GPPH (min 26 tables), and if you sign with Sattine on the same day, you can get a free table off!!! Was so attracted by the "free table" (At least $850 off) that i FORGOT to negotitate for more pages & poses.... then i start to compare later and realised that Sattine really short-change me so many pages & poses =(

So ladies, esp for those who have yet to sign bridal package...REMEMBER to ask for more pages & pages...if they refused, just walk away...usually they will give in...so, dun be too "soft" to give into their hard-sell tactics.

note: btw, Sattine gowns are not bad but personally i feel that their prices are on the above average side. They will surely tempt you that after that day, no more of such "good offer". But trust me, they are always on those wedding shows and there will be better offers, esp when they are side-by-side with other bridal shops...whereby at such hotel events, they are the ONLY one...So, pls be careful before making such hasty decisions...For me, i regretted lor...i saved a table $ but i know i will need to pay much more for the additonal pages & pose in the wedding album....just my personal sharing with you...

blurdreamy28

My Final Advice to all who have yet to source for bridal shop:

Always go for those bridal show whereby there are many bridal shops who are lined up side-by-side. You will get better offer because they know you can walk away and check with other bridal shops, who are just beside them. Don't consider the bridal shop @ such hotel wedding show because they are the ONLY one and their perks are usually not attractive.

So, bear this in mind when you go for wedding shows, unless beforehand you have already "shortlisted" the bridal shop.

aaronjas

Hi Anne, thanks for the advice. Actaully, i'vd signed with sattine already.. at the BOWS 2008. Wah... you got a table off for signing with them? Hmm.. wonder if they'll offer it to their existing custormer.Ha ha!! Hoping to have my solem at the waterfall area too. I saw a couple having it there and it was really nice.

Hi twink,

Thank you for your advise. actually i intend to combine both family into 1 table. but the VIP table will be place in the centre. i was actually quite concern whether is will pose any difficult for us when we march in.

Hi Shrekkybin,

I will be having my solemnization and AD on the same day at GPPH, and vera offer me a function room on the same level as my ballroom. mayb should consider having it at the fountain, nicer.

shrekkybin

wah so many updates for 1 day passed only! haha..
i think their courtyard or waterfall area for solemnisation is subject to availability lor (i think i had e quotation for a reserved spot, and it was not cheap).

hi Rachel, Which function room did vera offer u? the small one on the same level right ? hmm good point, i might consider raising that up to Henry as a suggestion. prob after the wedding show this weekend.

Anne,thanks for ur advice on the bridal shop. i agree that the foc 1 table was very tempting, but those guys that were supposedly from Sattine (this guy with v loud dressing and ah beng specs) are actually free-lance sales ppl. I know this cos my fiance & i saw him at many different shows featuring different bridal shops and he was selling all these shops with the SAME sales pitch. in the end the so-called foc 1 table that he offered was not valid when we double-checked with Henry on the spot, and that also nearly spoilt our working r/s with Henry - which is the last thing we wanted to do with our co-ordinator. in any case, hope u can work out something good from ur Sattine deal.

blurdreamy28

Hi Shrekkybin,

ya, saw that ah beng guy also..apparently he is the marketing manager..din like his face also..hehe

in fact, the FOC table was highlighted by Sattine & I checked with Henry who then confirmed that there is such promotion. According to Sattine, the extra table is offered by GPPH, not Sattine...so the salesperson kept asking me to sign since i can get 1 table off. Seriously speaking, given a chance now, i would not have signed up with them. No doubt that their thread comments are quite good but they are not very ethical. Some of the brides commented that they will read the "Sattine thread" and counter all the questions whenever some of them wanted to double-check with Sattine. Esp on their number of pages & poses...they are quite "double-standard".

Just a quick sharing with some of you (in case you want to sign up with them)
- They do not provide flowers for your photoshoot
- Must check with them on the accessories
- You need to pay extra for eyelash & ampoule for your make-up
- Ask them how much you need to pay in order to get back ALL photos in CD. (If you want)... Spell all the hidden cost up-front
- Nowadays, many bridal shops offer made-to-measure pants for the groom. But not for Sattine.

Oh ya, MUST make sure that whatever was negotiated, ask them to write on a paper. Be it a small item or so...anyway just wasn't a happy experience with them cox after the wedding show, i wanted to go back to negotiate for the photos but they gave me those dirty looks. Cox i told him that how can they short-change me so many pages & poses. I dun mind if it's 1 or 2 pages less but it's more than that.

And the thing about the "free-lance" salesperson. They claimed that they WILL contact me & will be around when i go for my 1st fitting . But when i called them recently, they said just go to Sattine and the staff will serve you...What service is this?!

Hope you gals dun mind me grumbling but i didn't want you all to be "con" by them... Or rather you must be well-prepared to negotiate with these pple.

poorthing

i'll be meeting veralyn tmr as she mentioned it will be better to discuss the package with her first before this sat show. what did u all manage to neg with her? im intending to take the sat package with 25tables.

Anne,
thanks for your advise. we will take note of those points that u mention abt the package of Sattine. have to read more comments on that bridal shop in these few days if i wan to take the package from them.

blurdreamy28

Hi elyn82,

i dun have the latest package so can't really give much comments.

But i guess mainly should be:
- Free waiver of cockages (for hard liquor & red wine if you are bringing your own)
- Additional night stay or anniversary night stay with breakfast
- Increase the number of free parking slots
- Free flow beer
- Free use of the 2 projectors
- Complimentary food tasting for 10? Or if they give complimentary food tasting, possible to use this to waive off 1 table in case that you dun wan to have food tasting
- Complimentary Cocktail Canapes

Do double check with GPPH whether is there any promo/perks if you sign up with the bridal shop on that day. If dun have, you may seriously consider if you want to sign up on tat day.

As what i said earlier, usually such hotel-link bridal fair will not have good perks because they are the only one around. Go shop ard more bridal shop & compare the packages. *signz*...dun be like me lor..

aaronjas

Hi Anne, did you get these perks from their bridal show? Is it possible to ask for all these on top of the perks they give at the bridal show?

blurdreamy28

My perks are based on last year. Actually i also forgot to add in Free Mock Cocktail during reception....Btw, what are the perks offered for this year? Cos i can't compare when i dun have the perks for this year

poorthing

2009 package is same as 2008 package with additional $30nett per table.
additional perks when sign on show are rebate $2008 for min 28tables and $1488 for min 25tables. on top of that, they give 5 trays of cocktail canapes and welcome mocktail. free flow beer from 8pm to 11pm. not sure if i can request more thing from them like free usage of the 2 projectors.

aaronjas

Yeap, thinking of asking for the projectors also. Oh and on top of that, UOB card members get their basic printing of the invites free and a buffet dinner for 8 at their hotel's restaurant.

blurdreamy28

how abt any anniversary night stay using UOB credit card? initially i asked for extra night stay but my coordinator says i can use this anniversary stay to off-set the 2nd night, but will got to downgrade to their Superior Room
(some other hotels will give 2 nights stay).
And usually they will give in for projectors.

Basic prints? you mean the inserts for the wedding card? Or the wedding invitation card itself. Just for your info, their appointed printer is T-dragon & i read from other threads that they are very exp. So alot of couples went to JB City Square to print instead. Can save alot of $.

So if yours is a buffet dinner, means there is no food tasting, right? Cox buffet dinner food are not your actual day food. Can check with them whether got any food tasting for your wedding banquet food...it's impt unless you are confident of their food. Alternatively, see whether can request for Food Tasting (maybe can cut down no of pax), instead of having buffet dinner...cox buffet dinner seems more for "gathering" purpose only...just my suggestions.

aaronjas

Hey Anne, this buffet thing is above the food tasting. Food tasting is included in the package so we have food tasting for 10 ple. I think free printing will be for the inserts of the wedding cards. Not sure about that. Got to check that out.

UOB card's not offering any extra night stay. I'm thinking of asking for the projectors, extra cards and extra parking from them

Btw, how are they with giving more perks? I managed to get Henry through e mail so i do hope to get him as my coordinator cos i heard quite a lot of good comments about him *fingers crossed*

poorthing

hmm... i think my coordinator is veralyn.. Hope she will not be so stingy. i intend to ask for free projectors and a day room use. cos i intend to change the one night superior room for helper to my anniversary stay.
i think the free printing is print on the card, no inserts. cos it nv mentions that inserts will be given. anyway i will ask her tonight.

for the free flow beer, dunno can ask for 7 or 730 instead of 8pm. i think most hotels give 4hours free flow. but mine only 25tables. so dunno she willing to give.

btw, i still have to request for one vegetarian table. not sure if that add any extra charge.

shrekkybin

Hi anne,
thanks alot for your advice on Sattine. i think these are so-called trade "dirty tricks" regardless of which shop, so have to be extra careful and ask for B&W when signing with them. Make sure everything clearly written on the sign invoice. i know easy to say la, but have to make sure.

as for perks, i can't remember more alr. main items i think Anne have alr
listed them out =)
the "extra" that GPPH is offering at their show is the $x off for either 25 or 28 tables. I got mine when i confirmed 25 tables for sat in last yr's wedding show.
the $x would of cos change according to 2008/ 2009 year's rates.

we also got the anniversary night stay using UOB credit card last year, i suppose they changed that to the buffet dinner for 8 this year - which u could potentially use as meal for ROM or family get-together.

Try to negotiate for free helpers' room for ur jie-meis/ brothers, and if they alr have, to be able to use the free helpers' room to ur 2nd night stay instead. i tried to ask for 2nd nite suite also but didn't manage to.

oh not to forget, free 1 house wine per table if you need. corkage is waived for most places i think.

if im not wrong, the free printing doesn't include the inserts. (i think this is std practice for hotels also)

shrekkybin

i'd say they are generous,compared to the hotels in marina area, and their location is also very central and accessible (city hall). e food's from their chinese restaurant,compared with banquet kitchens elsewhere.

hmm maybe can double check or clarify with henry/ veralyn on:
1)the printing of inserts part. i don't have my contract with me now but i think it was something like 70% of something....
2) using of T-dragon. if they're really so expensive, then it's a good idea to get to do the printing elsewhere. more flexibility on choices/ costs

shrekkybin

btw ladies who are going for the upcoming show, can help to take some photos of the set-up and themes (if any) and post ?

blurdreamy28

The printing of inserts cost is to beared by us. Usually hotels provided the wedding card (abt 70%). Reason for 70% because not all will receive 1 invitation card each. For eg, those couple will receive only 1 card. So they will give abt 70% of your total number of guests.

Dun think so that there will be extra charge for vegetarians bah...but for those who are inviting only 1 or 2 vegetarias, one way to save $ is to allocate 11 seats for those table with 1 extra vegetarian. Meaning, 10+1 so that you will not waste 1 pax $. Afterall the food is prepared for 10 guest. And the extra vegetarian guest will oni pay the extra per pax $.

kristle

henry had tentatively booked my preferred date and hopefully everything will be smooth on this sat. cross my fingers.

just to check, do we have to pay the deposit using our uob credit card?

I have my inserts printed in JB. for normal printing compare to T-Dragon, u will get at least 50% discount. But must have enough time to go JB to do inserts.

I have also request Veralyn to give me a day use room, but she cant provide me. She can only let me use the canning room if my sisters need to change. but mayb can neg with her again.

I have my inserts printed in JB. for normal printing compare to T-Dragon, u will get at least 50% discount. But must have enough time to go JB to do inserts.

I have also request Veralyn to give me a day use room, but she cant provide me. She can only let me use the canning room if my sisters need to change. but mayb can neg with her again.

poorthing

hi jus met veralyn,
she mentioned for the invitation cards, basic inserts and printing at T-Dragon will be provided for those who pay deposit using uob card on the bridal show. As for the projectors, she mentioned that usually in bridal show,she will try to give us free. And during show, they will give a tea set as gift to their show. I have seen their photos, they have a few set up. some are quite nice, but veralyn says that next yr may have new decor. saw one pic which they use black table cloth. thought this may be quite unique.
And they have may new wedding favors too.

Rachel,
i have try to neg for a day room for my helpers, but she cant give. What's canning room? i didnt hear veralyn talk abt this.

Kristle,
Deposit has to use uob card to have those additional perks.

kristle

got to increase my credit limit already. i love to have the tea set as gift! great for the tea ceremony.

elyn82, what date are u looking at?
i am going for mar 28, sat.

aaronjas

Hey elyn thanks for the info! Great to know that the cards will be taken care of. Wah.... got tea set samore.. keke.. i just cleared my credit card bills so that i would pay for the deposit. It'll be around 3k rite?

apple_cherries

hey dear's!

i read about all the comments on GPPH. im in a very dilemma situation now. i wana ask comparing to M hotel and GPPH which hotel is better?im more concern over the food that they offer. im ok with both the hotels. however i have to make e decision by tmr, 29th march 08 because of the bridal show that they are having. so please please help me!!! can email me at [email protected] too. by 2night 12am!!!! i heard M hotel e food not so nice????

hi elyn82,

Canning room (if i remember the name correctly)is one of their function room on the same level as the ballroom.

Wa, tea set. tats great. but we wasnt being offer when sign up during the fair last year. wonder whether we k still request for it. Seems like this year they are giving out more things den last year.