Grand Park City Hall

ruachgall

Hey all

Sorry for the late reply... have been busy with work lately. i m looking at 29 Dec 08 which is a weekday... as of the last time which i checked with Henry, the date is still available..

Anyway, the perks that the hotel will be offering during the wedding show are all reflected in the UOB brochure which i received recently... so i guess i would try to get the perks from Henry when i meet up with him..

Thanks for all your advice though! Appreciate it!

Anyone confirmed going down for the wedding show?

cheys28

just out of curiorisity, may i know how much is per table on Fridays? My table was $848 (8 dishes) for last year's rates.

twinkyangel

hi shrekkybin and Groombride, you've got mail!

Agree with all, 30 tables just nice (28+2).. if really no choice, then 32 tables will be max for me. The ballroom is really quite narrow.. dun forget to take into consideration for the table-shoot.. bride needs to move around with the hugh gown! hehe.

shrekkybin

hmm, if i didn't remember wrongly, the minimum needed for weekends is 25 tables. i thot 26 +2 was alright leh, still packed ah? i've seen a 30 table setup, and i thot that was quite packed as in not much space in between tables to walk ard ..

shrekkybin

hi winnie, depends on your budget/ time and day required. for a weekend date, most hotels would need a minimum of 30 tables (eg. furuma city centre) or even more for the bigger hotels.

ruachgall

Hi shrekkynin

GPPH needs a minimum of 22 tables during weekday.. n i m planning my AD to be on a weekday.. my concern now is if i have 32 tables, will GPPH be able to accomodate.

Do you have any idea on the maximum number of tables GPPH can house?

kristle

anyone going for the wedding show this mar? the promos look super attractive. i will be going down for the show.

twinkly1004

hi kristle,

i wil be going dw also.. anyone noes if can negotiate for the free projector as fr my understanding it wil be charged.

ruachgall

I went down to meet henry today from GPPH.. nice chap... feel very comfy talking to him.. his advice to me is that i shld have 31 tables at max for the guests to be comfy.. so a penny of thots to all ya..

Valerie, henry mentioned to me that he can offer the projector to me FOC... so no worries ya...

shrekkybin

hi Winnie,
i think 31/32 is pushing abit too much. i saw a 30-table setup, and i thot that was quite packed as in not much space in between tables to walk ard ..
I think u've also spoken to Henry abt ur concerns, hope it works out for u !

As for projectors, i think most places do offer 1 projector FOC. Note tho, GPPH ballroom has space for 2 projector screens.

ruachgall

hi shrekkybin

i agree with you that it is likely to be very packed.. n this is indeed a big concern for me...

Henry offered me the 02 projectors FOC..

I m kinda concerned abt the short march-in as well. any comments?

shrekkybin

hi winnie, i haven't thot that far yet abt e short march-in. Maybe other "qian bei" on this thread has any comments/ advise?

To me, the budget and capacity fitted my requirements for a weekend date, hence GPPH.

kristle

ya i went for viewing last few weeks and yes, even 26+2 tables is already quite packed. if don't mind, can push the first 2 tables to the more front. but disavantage will be they can't view the projector well.

ruachgall

hi shrekkybin

i actually did highlight to Henry abt my concern that the march in will be very short. He hence proposed that our march in be in the form of a L-shaped.. meaning we enter by the door on the right instead of the centre.. this will thus allow for longer march in

btw, how many tables are u likely to have?

aaronjas

Hi hi. I'm a May 09 BTB. Thinking of Grand Plaza for my banquet. Signed up for the show on March 29. May I have some comments about the place, service, price etc etc..? Thanks girls.

shrekkybin

hi winnie,yes, he did mention to us the L-shaped march-in. i think The L-shaped march-in is only applicable if you have less tables (i think <25 ?). what details did henry mention to you?

im most prob having 26+2. oh, i think for the normal march-in, you don't enter by e centre door. it's e 2 big doors that u can use 1 each.

ruachgall

hi shrekkybin

if i didnt recall wrongly, henry said for normal march in, i can use the centre door... alternatively, he also proposed that both the groom n bride can enter in thr different doors...that may b something different

shrekkybin

oh i always thot the centre door's usually not opened. yes, he also proposed bride n groom enter via different doors, so-called unique march-in. haha =) good luck!

aaronjas

Hi Winnie, thanks for the info! I went to take a peek at the hotel (cos i've never been there before) the ballroom is indeed an interesting shape.I saw it in it's original form so dunt know what it'll look like for a wedding. Anyone can give a description?

shuki_50

i went to my friend wedding last year...tot the layout of the ballroom is quite squarish, pillarless...and my friend use the method of one person march in from each side of the door...

aaronjas

Hi hi shrekkybin, we're going for the roadshow.. It's on the 29 March Sat from 12-4pm. If you're a UOB member, it's cheaper. Forgot how much though.

twinkly1004

Hi Winnie, thanks for your info.. Will go for the bridal workshop and ask for more details.

Shrekkybin, FYI for UOB memeber will be $20 per couple, as for non member will be $28 per couple.

cheys28

my advice is that you MUST have your actual date before you can book &amp; secure the wedding banquet deal. Bcox wat if the date you wanted is taken..and not forgetting that for GPPH, they can only have 1 wedding on that day since they only have 1 ballroom. So your date is very important. Unless you dun mind any dates...

poorthing

i actually requested for 2009 package from the coordinator of GPPH but no one reply me.. anybody has it, can send to me. wanted to see before signing it. I inteding to have it on dec sat. Haven thought of a date yet, guess got to plan which date now.

shrekkybin

hello ladies, my advice, if u know roughly which dates u r looking at alr, tentatively reserve the date with the co-ordinator, then go down to the show to book on the actual day. Sounds damn kiasu mentality but hey there're pple who actually do that. Just fyi if u're v particular abt dates. hope this helps =)

poorthing

oh, so u mean is to check for the availability of dates first. might do that, thanks... otherwise if the date that i chose is not available then i got to choose another one on the spot.

shrekkybin

yap, have a list of dates that u want. then check with their co-ord b4 going down to e show. Going to the show is prepared to bargain and sign alr =)

aaronjas

okie thanks shrekkybin.made a booking with henry. He's very efficient. Replied my e mail within minutes of me sending it. If i wanna take alcohol off the menu, what can i exchange it for?

poorthing

for my friend, also 2009 package, she also dun wan all alcohol, her coordinator give her $20 off each table. Hope this help

ruachgall

Hi april baby

GGPH is having their wedding show on 29 March 2009. But you need to register. Think there is a fee incurred as well

bridesept08

Hi Elyn82,

I signed up their package last year. Yup, they showed us 2 suites &amp; its nice, esp the Presidential Suite with in-house jacuzzi...^-^ They also have a buffet spread... very yummy... go for it... you wont have regrets... enjoy!