Club Chinois

gerchea, when u mentioned try to negotiate is during pt of sign up of contract or? i tried asking but he said its up to hotel to decide. and hotel doesnt let u know until the actual day itself! did u pay for any upgrade?

actually all the rooms given to us is suite room but there's junior, president and a one in between if not wrong. mine is the in between.

someone mentioned abt the wedding cards. call up eric and ask him to email u the pics

hey ivy

my little one beri naughty leh .... still having those MS..so giddy and tired. How's ur preps coming along ?

hi crabtree
The room given is alway delxue rite ? Can try to ask for executive room. i not sure wat type of room is mine.. but receptionist told me is a wedding suite room ...

hey gerchea

wow... when's EDD? seems like 'everyone' is preggie... kekekeke

do take care. you in 2nd tri?

my preps arh? ok lar, now finally moving on to printer. :P hopefully will end up with a good, affordable and responsible printer.

did you use tunglok's printer?

hey ivy

My Edd is ard CNY...yah lor everyone seems to be preggie .. sooner is ur turn hehehe. Yah i am in my 2nd tri liao. No i did not use tunglok's printer cos i went over to JB and get everything done, its so much cheaper ... cost me less than s$50 for 300 invites.

hey Alexia
if tt's the case, then u wait till the point of checking in and see wat's the hotel can offer u to upgrade to a bigger room lor ...i think i have send u my wedding day link .. u can take a look at the suite room lor ...

Hi Alexia,

Did you bargain for the executive suite?
Cos I think the package says deluxe suite. Which is better, executive or deluxe?

When I asked Eric abt it, he also told me extra $150 to upload to executive suite.

Getting confused. Wanna get things rite.

hey gerchea

just saw your msg... I used Focal Ad for printing of my banquet invites and AXXA for my church invites. Think it was a blessing from God lar, cos both were about the range of our budget.

monpinkie, I didnt bargin but i thot the executive suite is standard? ur contract put dulex suite? i go hm confirm by looking at my contract then i tell u again. whens ur ad?

All, btw the march in uses bubbles so no dry ice?

Hi alexia,

I just signed mine last weekend. Same as firefire, Eric mentioned that the upgrade is $150 top up. Moreover, mine is a weekday but Eric say there's no difference.

I've not received my contract yet. So I want to confirm if it should be executive suite or deluxe suite. So in any case, I can call up Eric.

Oh, the march in is bubbles. no dry ice.

monpinkie, then i think they change it recently coz i book mine last yr. if i m not wrong is executive suite then. y u never wait for wedding show then book? they giving 1 table free for every 15 tables lei if u sign using UOB.... i dun ve those deal dat time

alexia,

ya.. i regretted a little. but cos my AD is early next year. It is already very late lo.

If i dun confirm my banquet then i can't do the other stuff. Very gan chiong...

So just signed lo.

I initially wanted later part of next year, but the date has been taken up.

monpinkie, i m with white link. Nope. but i went for last yr wedding show at end yr cant remember when but i didnt sign on the spot so no special perks for me too. i book 1 yr advance. so u taken ur ps? when is ur ad? mine in dec

Hi gerchea and crabtree,
Mind sharing wif me ur pic?I am thinking of booking my banquet wif them.They having a fair in oct for UOB cardholders.Thinking of going there & see got extra perks.By e way Orchard Parade Hotel is consider how many stars huh?I tik their banquet is affordable..$700+.Can't choose others more than $800 (overbudget)

I am just getting started.For those who held your banquet there,hows e service & food like?I read some of ur post,they dun have any theme?Or can we request for it?How abt their march in aisle,is it cramped?Anything I'd take note or ask during my meet up wif them??thks in advance for all ur kind advises

Hi All BTB,

I will be meeting eric tomo to discuss abt my banquet. Is there anything i shld bargain for? Cos the bridal show is still abt one month away. May sign up b4 the show but scared no perks.

monpinkie & alexia : The package eric send me is one nite stay is in the bridal suite. Did u gals manage to bargain for one more nite stay?

Can anyone send me pics for the antica ballroom?

alexia,

i still sourcing for ps etc. My AD is early Feb...

So need to settle the things fast. One thing at a time.

Hi gals, anyone faces the situation tat the groom side is lesser than the bride's side? Any tricky problems like this? Anyone has solutions to offer? My PIL a little upset cos their family is very small (< 2 tables) and my extended family is very big (easily 10 tables). Headache liao....

Hi Chase,

The package online states deluxe suite. From Orchard Parade's website, there's no so call bridal suite.

The package should be exactly as per Tung Lok's website.

Didn't manage to bargain anything for the suite cos Eric said they have no control. Tung lok is paying the hotel for all these, like room and ballroom, carpark etc.

did urs state bridal suite? haha.. then i must go back and tell Eric.. :p

Hi Monpinkie,

When i booked my wedding package with Eric last yr, he also told us he has no control over the ballroom, hotel suites etc etc. So when i bargain for 2 days stay at hotel suite, he could not give me. But we din force him cos could understand his situation. :p

Hi Chase,

I tried to get one more room for my Jie Meis but he could not give us. Also asked for 2 nites stay at hotel suite, but again cant...all these cos they also pay for the hotel rooms. He told me they are not part of the hotel, they only renting their place.

But u could negotiate for more parking, more wedding cards..i think is 70% only but we negotiate for 100%, then maybe u check if got waiver of cockage for both wines and hard liquor. If not, then ask for the waiver. :p

I only remembers asking for all these during the wedding show in Oct last yr. Hope it helps.

monpinkie, i went to check on orchard parade hotel website. deluxe suite is bigger than executive suite lei. but executive suite looks nicer.

Hi Lyn n monpinkie,

Thanks for the info. Below is the package:

Privileges are base on the minimum tables requirement

• A choice of Traditional Chinese banquet or Modern Chinese menu
• Free flow of soft beverages, mixers and Chinese tea till end of event
• Complimentary usage of LCD projector for wedding held at the Antica Ballroom only
• Complimentary food tasting for 6 persons at Club Chinois on weekdays &amp; Sunday
• Pre dinner reception with a soft drink at the foyer
• Taipan package - A complimentary 30 litres barrel beer
• Regal and Royal package - Free flow beer OR A complimentary bottle of wine for every confirmed tables.
• Wavier of corkage charge for duty paid hard liquors.
• Wine corkage at $15.00++ per bottle
• Preferred beer price in barrel- 20 litres (65 glasses) - $450.00++
30 litres (95 glasses) - $580.00++
• Light snack prior to dinner reception for wedding couple
• Wedding Favors - Choice of Individually wrapped mini chocolates in specially design boxes or personalise stamps with your favorite photo all guests
• Confetti cannon
• One night accommodation in a Bridal Suite at Orchard Parade Hotel with Breakfast for the couple at Club Chinois the next morning
• Exquisite western decorations with Fresh Floral and floral centerpiece for VIP tables
• Scroll for guest signature
• Parking passes for 25% of the confirmed attendance (First come first serve basis)
• One VIP car parking lot at hotel’s entrance for Bridal car on the wedding day
• Choice of Oriental or Western invitation cards based on the guaranteed attendance
(printing of inserts not included)
• An elegant display of Five tier dummy cake
• Champagne fountain set up with a complimentary bottle of champagne
• All dining chairs to be dressed up with Ivory cushion chairs covers
• Wedding March with Bubble effect
++ denote subject to CESS and GST

Keep my fingers cross. Looks like no more perks neg.

alexia,

yea... i was confused too..

but think nvm la.. we'll be too tired to really enjoy the room.

Think the package is quite comprehensive already. At least value for $$.

I just given up my initial AD of 24 March 農曆02月(å°)06æ—¥ 星期六 booked with Antican ballroom.

It is actually a good date .
The reason I give up is due to recent demise of future father in law so have to postphone. Else that is a good date and will not give up.

i think orchard parade only 4 stars. its not 5stars IMO.

who asked for my pics? i only have pics to the suite rooms etc but i dont have my wedding pics AD. didnt take the hotel room on that day!!!

tt time i signed up better deal although no free table. i tihnk the free table sounds good. we have free flow of beer for the cheapest range. forgot the name. taipan? so i think we opened 3 barrels.sign up during the wedding fair is good idea. go check out the place first before u attend the wedding fair. so on wedding fair u can decide if u want to book after the food tasting etc.

monpinkie
i think u should take the restaurant then. else ballroom might not meet minimum no. of table. as for such cases, PIL shld know that they have such few relatives. must 'see open' wat. nothing u can do. just that if they give u a lot of tables, there is no way they can 'recoup losses'

Ariel Ong (otak)

their banquet is affordable but do not expect very good services from the staff. ie i requested for mee instead of sandwich and its served cold. however the waiter was helpful to help us bring it down to 'warm it up'. i feel that they should just cook it before they bring it up, instead of serving us cold mee.

they dont have any theme. they just let u choose the table clothes and flowers. still ok to me. theme isnt that important and i dont think much hotels have theme too. also let u choose yr flowers and tableclothes etc. the march in is very short. cramped, depending on yr no. of tables.

i think u can check with them on the food if u want to do any change to the menu. otherwise there isnt much to bargain with them. very standard.and most important is to ask for Waiver of WINE and hard liquor corkage charges. and because they dont have additional service charges, we pay 10% less than other places. so save a sum too on this.

monpinkie, i called the hotel to check. they tell me the onli diff between executive suite &amp; deluxe suite is diff floor. executive suite as higher floor 14+th &amp; above &amp; is concer room. The rates varies as per diff day. i check theprice diff on my ad is $10+++ diff. I called eric yesterday &amp; told him that the price diff is not as much as $150+++ as advice by hotel staff then he told me to note down the person name who quoted me the price &amp; let him know then he will settle for me.

gerchea, any idea u upgraded fr wat room to wat room dat time?

Monpinkie, but i m thinking deluxe suite is better coz is bigger &amp; it ve a separate living &amp; bedroom as per wat the hotel people tell me.

hi alexia,

i think they gave us deluxe room so that we can go and change faster.. haha... Eric told me it's less than 5 mins..

Anyway.. I think i'll see how things goes when i check in.

Hey.. the new privi state "bridal suite" but it is actually deluxe suite, i think... :p

Crabtree, what do they serve as pre-dinner snacks for the couple?

gals, check with u all huh, when u go for food tasting, do they actually set up the table (according to exactly what u'll be having on ur AD), like they have the seats cover on, etc etc?

Cos according to my friend, some hotel does that during food tasting, so that the couple get to see the actual layout

oh

I personally think that there shld be setup done hor? At least we know how our tables gonna be for the AD mah.. haiz..

mitzi

i was also expecting set-up to be done.

Probably would ask Eric about it. btw, if you want changes to be done to the menu etc, pls inform Eric early before your food-tasting. And if you want it in the VIP room (in the restaurant), must inform him too, or he would give other people.

we had our food-tasting in the restuarant (main eating area) and not the VIP rooms.

OH...

Maybe shld tell Eric earlier that we want it done in VIP room and also setup to be done so that we can get a rough idea on the AD.

Hi, will Eric show photos of how their VIP tables settings would be like? From wat i know, we hv 2 settings to choose from.

i signed up during the fair and didnt mention anything abt VIP room. just given the VIP room when i did the food tasting of 10pax.

Ariel...*waves*...surprised to see you here ^.^

Crabtree, can share with me the pics of the hotel suite? Is it the bridal suite that CC offers? Is it bigger or smaller than your suite? Is it at the lower floor of hotel? Heard that the noise from Devil's Bar can be heard even on 6th floor. Tks!

Ivy, may I know if the portion of food during food tasting is sufficient? Do you have any hiccup with CC's printer? Shd be Focal AD, am I right? How much do the 1st &amp; the subsequent printings cost? Tks! ^,^

hmn i didnt take pics of the AD suite but i've the ones taken earlier. anyone who wants pls gimme yr email add. if i've missed yr post earlier, kindly repost it and remind me abt it. thanks

mine is on the lower level. i think its level 5? cant really remember even thought its less than few mths back hehehee. anyway, its facing the carpark, right at the last corner. no noise at all. not even from the carpark.

food portion during food tasting is fine. i think in most cases can bargain for 10pax even if you are signing up on normal days. i think it can be done.

Hi connie

the food was more than sufficient during the food-tasting, because we could not finish about 2-3 courses.

Focal-Ad is very prompt. So no hiccups there. You just let Stephen know which restuarant you having your banquet at. He will then show you the hardcopy cards.

Think different cards are charged slightly differently. I chose the square one and included the envelopes. But there is no mention of 1st and subsequent printing charges.

ivy, u choose the sq one wif the front got a strip of red &amp; the back is fully red? did u pay extra for envelope? eric tell me no envelope for dat! when u did ur printing? the envelope is sq or rectangle one?

Has anyone try their fish with Teochew-Thai styled sauce before? Hong kong styled sauce and Teochew-Thai styled sauce, which one will you choose?

Crabtree, my email add is [email protected] . Thanks!

Ivy, oh? Meaning that you have your cards sent just for the 1st printing? May I know how much do they charge you for the printing?

402113.jpg

Alexia, Eric also told me that this card does not need an envelope. Hopefully CC will get more and better designs for the cards.

Hi Connie,

The card u attached above is one of the cards tat Club Chinois are having for us to select?

From the design of it, dun need to hv envelop lor. Just tat if u wanna post to ur guests, then would hv problem writting the addressees, addresses and stamps.

BTW, how many card designs do Club Chinois have currently?

connie, ya dats wat eric told me too. but i need the envelope as i need to mail it out. But Ivy manage to get the envelope. so I wanna to see how to get it too.

Hi Gerchea

Cld u pls share ur wedding photos as well? Nw FH &amp; I headache over venues to choose..thanks in advance!