Club Chinois

ayura

yea skye I also didnt get yr email on yr pics. Possible to email me too? [email protected]

btw I didnt send in my confirmation form. I just faxed to Eric. Do I need to double check with the Tunglok management?

beautyseek

Thanks ultramouse for sharing, your tips sure come in useful and everyone else for replying. Skye Skye - Got your fotos... the bridal room sure looks big to have so many pple inside!

I have sent Eric an email for 10-pax food tasting, wonder if he is ok. May be he thinks I so kan chiong to request for this so early. I am looking at 28 Sept 06 (thurs).

Alexia - actually this is also a meet parents session.. ha ha but just wanna also plan for logistics at same time cos I cannot drive!

jeraldine

HI all,
Just signed up with Club Chinois for dinner on 23 Sept. I've actually bargained for 10 pax food tasting..Did the package include the projector n all? Wondering how the ballroom n suite room looks like?

Skye Skye: Care to share the pix w me? [email protected]

Thankies...

brink_79

Hi Alexia,

I am interested in the wedding package at CC. Could you kindly share w me the wedding package that you have just signed?

When are you getting married?

My email: [email protected]

beautyseek

ultramouse - how's your wedding? didn't hear from you? Was it fabulous? Remember to share your experiences huh... U going honeymoon?

Eric agreed to my request for 10pax food-tasting.. so happy!

ultramouse

Hi Beauty Seet,
Yes, we just came back from our Honeymoon from Turkey. Going to Taipei for 2nd round of honeymoon tomorrow.

The wedding dinner in Club Chinois was fabulous. All our guests commented the food was very nice. The service from the staff is also excellent. The Banquet Manager's Assistant had provided very good service and I would like to compliment him in this website. His name is Ex. He has provided very good service during the whole of the dinner. The march-in with the bubbles is unique and fun too....

ayura

wa ultramouse yr comment is like so 'wow' to TungLok Club Chinos. hehehee. Then people like me wont regret signing up with them.

btw, did they renovate the interior of the ballroom? I didnt know they have bubbles for march in. Thanks!

beautyseek

Ultramouse, happy that you have had a great time.. with the bubbles and all!Didn't know they have bubbles for march in.. so cute! ;-P and ... wow, 2 rounds of honeymoon... so envious of you! Turkey is an exotic destination ;-P

If you are sharing your pix, remember to include me on your mailing list-> [email protected]

Guess you must be busy packing for your taipei trip now. Have lotsa fun and ENJOY!

ultramouse

we have not collected our photos from the photographer yet. Hope it will be nice.

Yes, the bubbles march in has just started a couple months ago. it is very fun and unique. not like other banquet only dry ice...those who will be having the wedding banquet in Club Chinois will love it. I am not sure if they did renovate their ballroom, but they have changed their table settings a bit. For the VIP table, we took the red cloth with glittering beads cos we think it is elegant. For the guest table, we selected the gold colour table cloth setting.

For my personal opinion, I really did not expect Club Chinois to be so good. The banquet Manager and his assistant really did a very good job. The banquet manager is Arthur and his assistant is Ex. The banquet sales manager Eric also did a good job in the coordination before our big day. The sound system is good too. All the waiters and waiteresses are young ones, I think they are part-timer having their school holidays. While we are having our rehersal, we see that the banquet manager checking thier hair cut, finger nails, uniforms dressing , etc...very professional. These are just my opinions and views, maybe some of you may have higher standard of taste then me....

Both my wife and I did have a great time in Club Chinois.

Just for sharing...

PS: yes, we are packing our luggage again for 2nd honeymoon. Hope this will be a good trip too. The Turkey trip is exotic and very different but very cold.

beautyseek

Ultramouse, didn't expect u to reply so fast! Ha Ha... thot u must be so excited over everything that u will forget to log in here for a while ... ;-P

I am happy to hear all your good reviews! Hope you have a GREAT time honeymooning... We are planning to have our banquet at the restaurant (instead of ballroom)...cos we like their rest ambience better. I hope they maintain the same stds.

Thanks again to you for sharing with us your experience! It sure helps all of us here still eagerly waiting for our turn. ;-P

ultramouse

The wedding package is already available on the Tunglok website as mentioned by Beauty Seet above: http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

I believe the package covers almost everything. We chose the Regal package and it came with the "free flow beer". This is one of the important criteria that all of you must consider as the additional of 1 barrel of beer costs quite a lot.

Hi Beauty Seet,
We have started work liao after the 2nd trip to Taipei. Nice trip with a lot of food and shopping for my wife. Ha Ha.... You chose restaurant. Yes, I like to ambience in the restaurant too...it is very elegant and classy when they dim the lights. However, there are a few tables that will be hidden inside the room. Guests inside the room would normally entertain themselves rather than knowing what is happening outside. This is why we choose the ballroom instead of the restaurant.

I believe all of you will enjoy your AD in Club Chinois. Just like we did.....

taztaz

we tried club chinois food & it was FABULOUS.
any idea if on AD in ballroom, the food standard still the same?

also, is the invitation card from 'orchard parade hotel' or 'club chinois' if we booked the hotel ballroom?

wedding coordinator wendy very nice & accommodating.

ultramouse

Hi Joey,
Our guests like to food and they commented that it is something different. The food standard is somehow the same. But, we cannot compare the standard for the food tasting and during the AD because they have to prepare for so many people. Overall, the feedback we received is very positive.

The invitation card will be from Club Chinois. Eric will inform you who is the printer and will ask you to go to them for printing. The printer is at Ubi.

Yes, I like the service from the banquet manager Aurther and his assistant Ex. Very professional and accomodating. Both my wife and I enjoy the night very much.

jj2

I also keen to sign the wedding package with Club Chinois but the Sales Manager, Lunna attitude is very bad and unfriendly. Have anyone use her before? Is Eric from the Sales Team also?

gerchea

hi JJ

Me too, have signed with CC. My coordinator is Eric leh, not sure who is Lunna but Eric is on the sales side. On the AD, there will be another events manager to help u out thruout the whole events.

beautyseek

For those wondering... pls note that the wedding show details have been released.... check it out on their website - under Noble House. Alternatively, check out Citibank website...they have tie-ups.

apple79

I have registered for the wedding show and it seems there is a pretty good deal using Citibank cards!
Can we actually request for coordinator? If we have the min number of tables, is it good to hold in ballroom>?

beautyseek

We are abt to sign the contract. Need to check the following:

1. Do you normally state every detail? Or just take it that the contract is standard and CC will do the necessary as they have done for the rest? For e.g. do I have to spell out that the reception table shld have table cloth and floral pieces too (not an ugly table only)?

2. Do you state terms which are not in the std contract? E.g. In the event that CC has to renovate or cannot provide services on the agreed date, they shld compensate us and notify us 3mths in advance?

I am wondering... Don't want to piss off Eric...But feel a little insecure since the contract looks really very simple.

My mum is asking for 10 tables (i.e. she keeps the ang pows) and parents also demand wkend dinner (initially hoping to book wkday since cheaper). My FH prefers whole suckling pig so we taking Regal... Another worry is whether we can break even? Will any past CC couples kindly enlighten?

Does anyone know whether the suckling pig in the Regal menu is really a WHOLE crispy suckling pig!?!

beautyseek

JJ - Lunna is from Noble House. Eric is from CC. They cover each other when on leave, I think..

Wendy - There is only Eric from CC, I think. So no need to request. Some couples prefer ballrooms since it is more hotel-like (ambience etc). Indv taste and likings. Maybe you shld check out the places and compare.

ayura

Its a very standard procedure to setting up a banquet function. tables will defintely be set up with table cloth, skirting and even flowers. every hotel does this, not only Club Chinos. No one will put a bare table with rusty legs/and a ugly table top to show guests...... so this defintely dont have to confirm with eric. my bf also asked him qn on receiption & whether tables provided..... and i was like 'gosh, why did he even ask such qn'.

Wendy, what is the promo with citibank? i search online but cant find anything on this promo with Tung Lok Club Chinos

beautyseek

Oops, fullhouse, sorries if I ask the stupid questions...So I take the basic expectations as granted then. Guess most pple sign the std contract, I shld be in safe hands. Thanks for replying me promptly. I am a bit kan chiong.

Citibank promo- I saw it on Citibank website previously but now cannot locate the link for your anymore, I suspect they have removed it (maybe amending terms?).

ayura

No no, its not a stupid qn. Its just basic requirements that hotel will do. so dont worry over this minor issues. u shld look at bigger pic, getting perks etc, trying out the system (video player on AD if u booked with them), foods menu, beer packages etc with Eric rather than these standard things that hotel must provide.

As for ballroom VS Club Chinos, Ballroom is more of a function room whereas the restaurant is more of many private function rooms in an enclosed environment. Not that suitable for a wedding as there's partition here n there.

skye_skye

hihi beautyseet,
i don't really remember the contract now..hehe. but like what crabtree mentioned, check out the perks. clarify as much doubts you have with Eric (ie. if you want to do food tasting on weekend, can ask Eric how it can be arranged or whether there's extra cost involved).

if CC decides to renovate, i should think that they'll inform their customers beforehand that that particular date is not available. we did come across a restaurant who did so and told us to come back 2 mths later to check on their availability.

gd to check things like carparking, food tasting details, video & projector arrangements, (if you're interested) how the suite looks like, what the walk in would be like, even on the issue of the suckling pig. i took the Taipan menu so not sure abt the Regal menu.
i choose the color theme about 2 weeks to my AD, coz when i signed he mentioned that they were changing their colour theme or something. i did see their then current set up and was ok with it. so didn't bother more..haa..i guess i trust they'll do a gd enough job.

as for whether you'll break even really really depends on your guests. we had ppl giving a lot and some giving not much. i think i didn't break even for the dinner tho but i had surplus from my church wedding to cover it. tho i had a friend who had enough frm the wedding to cover even the honeymoon. so it really depends.

hope this helps

apple79

HI crabtree,

This is wendy here. Just change my nick. I read the promo from the Citibank catalogue. The promo is like this :-

For deposits made with Citibank credit cards, the couplewill enjoy:-
-one complimentary table of 10 persons for every 15 confirmed tables
-For banquets held between 25 Jul and 21 September 2006 couples can enjoy either $50 rebate per table or a complimentary table for every 15 confirmed table
-waiver of wine corkage
-Complimentary Tung Lok First membership card for casual dining
-A complimentary $100 dining voucher from Tung Lok Grp of restaurants
-Complimentary food tasting for a table of 10 persons with a min booking of 15 tables.
-Can also enjoy 6 to 12 mths interest free installment payment for wedding packages at selected Tung Lok grp of Restaurants

The above is in conjunction with the wedding show.

I am not sure if need to sign on the spot during the wedding show then can enjoy the above or anytime after the show also can. I will be going for the wedding show. Those interested i can check it out?

ayura

oic. Thanks apple79. as for signing up on the spot... what really happened to me @ that time = Eric said they are very strict, only valid for THAT day to get the perks. BUT on the day of signing, i overheard him telling the woman abt getting back to him and having the same perks. ...i asked him & he said the other party still havent decide mah, somemore only 1 person ard (instead of a couple) and that, at that day also have lucky draw. so its good...... *speechless* but Eric is still very good and professional lah.

i think the promo now is quite good. 1 complimentary table for every15tables confirmed. but is there free flow beer or any beer promo?

apple79

Hi crabtree,

you mean you have already checked out that the Citibank promo is such that I can only get the perks if i signed on the spot that day? Oh no,
my AD is in June 07 and I have not seen other locations yet. Dun think can decide immediately if wanna sign with CC. But the perks are tempting

ayura

no apple79, u misunderstood. i signed up in nov05. and thats what happened. i was told MUST sign on spot. but on actual day, someone was told that she can look for Eric again (following wk etc) to get the same deal. So i really doubt it now when they said its only for THAT DAY to get the perks.

as for beer promo, i think u better check with him. June is ok right? 2007 has 2 8th lunar mth. i think still early to decide now? but if u really want club chinos then go ahead. the perks are just okay. many hotels also have those perks. some also have free flow beer/wine (depending on package) free 1 table for X no. of tables...... extended hotel stay etc during wedding promo. For Club Chinos, they are stingy abt hotel stay because they are not tied up with the hotel. They merely buy the day for the couple. So they wont throw in 2 days of hotel stay unlike other hotels.

apple79

oic. Thanks for clarifying Crabtree! Then I think i just go for the wedding show for reference. Will check out more on other hotels for comparision before I make any decision.

Assirac, you can go to Tunglok website to find out more. Its under noble house.

assirac

hi apple,

the noble house bridal show is for all restaurant under tunglok group ar? hmmm ... then i better book my date with CC quickly, sekalli all dates are booked after the bridal show. :p

beautyseek

Thanks, skye skye for clearing my doubts.

Signed with CC already and my FH said we shld trust they will do their job, so we didn't change contract much. I saw the restaurant for a wedding on 4 Dec 2005 and was really impressed with the theme... Beautiful! So wanted the same theme, and Eric told me it was Red Roses theme. I didn't chk out what other themes they have. Maybe ask again when go food tasting. I think Eric is quite a nice guy.

The wedding promo does look good. I agree with Crabtree. I don't think it is really a ONE DAY only deal. The last time we went to Traders Hotel wedding show, they gave us 1 week time frame to think abt it.

Does anyone know whether CC will prepare a directional board, the board that has the couple's name on it giving directions to guests?

Assirac - Yes. All restaurants under Tung Lok will be open for booking at wedding show.

beautyseek

I think for hard liquor, we must bring in duty paid ones huh?

I am now collecting empty duty-paid bottles...(for transfer) will anyone (maybe those who have just had their weddings) with empty liquor bottles kindly donate your bottles to me? My email: [email protected]. I will go pick up from you.

THANKS, pals!

mitzi

Is the service and food good at CC for weddings?

Am rather interested to hold my dinner there as well.

Anyone can advice?

cluelessj

Can Skye skye or someone kindly share their photos with CC pls? seems like food is good but wondering if ambience is good as well..

Hi Wendy (apple 79)..for the Citibank deal.. we need to be a credit card holder is it? or is it for readycredit or to open an account with them? When is the wedding show that they are referring to? thanks!!

my email address is femme_****@hotmail.com
please replace **** with 1907 ...tks!

skye_skye

hi Jo,
sent u the pics

mitzl & jo,
the food is really good...i heard tho that it's better than other tung lok restaurants (coz i had a friend who went for another wedding dinner at another tung lok restaurant weeks later). and it's kinda different. service i would rate as fantastic..i'm not sure if i've written the previous posts but the banquet manager was very professional, he briefed us and guided us through the next steps for the dinner and things went really smoothly.

as for ambience...one issue could be the low ceiling...which ppl say a high ceiling makes the place look more grand. it didn't really bother me and the place felt really cozy. there's quite good space to linger around outside the ballroom to chat with friends and take photos.

beautyseet,
i think at the lobby level, there's a board that will state what event is being held in the ballroom. that will help your guests to know where to go. tho the problem that may happen is that many ppl usually mistake Orch Parade Hotel for Orch Hotel which is just across the road!