Anyone Migrating to Australia?

migrationagent

Yes you could enter Australia 1 day before your visa expires. You can stay in Australia, and then apply for a RRV once you have accumulated 2 years residence within 5 years (counting back from the day you apply for the RRV).

Your husbands PR will have a different expiry. (Remember though he will be on a temporary visa for the first 2 years before he gets PR).

James

---

viv (vvbbb)

Posted on Wednesday, September 21, 2005 - 10:45 James Allan Hall,

Thanks for your info. I thought that i'd lost all hope abt going back to oz. My visa expired Apr07 and i only stayed in oz for 1 year, so to fulfil the 2 yrs req, i hv to leave for oz by Apr06. But my wedding is next year and we don't plan to migrate right away. So according to your info, i could still enter oz (and live there) 1 day before my visa expired, right? Could i leave oz for holiday after entering?

I planned to sponsor my hubby after my wedding next year, will his PR also expired same time as me?

Sigh, even migrate still hv to think abt HDB loan.

migrationagent

Hi Tweetie,

Using your example of the 1.8 years in Australia during the 5 year period.

Upon 5 years, your visa expires. If you are inside Australia at this time you are ok. If you are outside Australia then there are issues and you may loose your PR.

Assuming you are in Australia, once you've reached 5 years, you should not travel outside Australia. After another 0.2 years, you will have accumulated 2 years stay. You can then apply for the RRV.

Hope this is clear.

James

---

Tweetie (tweetie)

Posted on Wednesday, September 21, 2005 - 5:47 pm: Hi James Alan Hall,

I hv a query to this PR thingy which you explained earlier.

If let's say out of 5 yrs, we have to fulfil 2yrs and you enter Australia during the 3rd yr and travel intermittently back and forth out of Australia for hols and visits. Cumulatively, strictly speaking, you managed to fulfil 1.8yrs stay in Australia. The rest of 0.2yrs which you did not make up was due to hols and home visits, will this affect the rnwl status of yr PR since the requirement is 2 yrs.

I m v puzzled and confused with the answer you gave. If after the 5th yr when yr Visa expires, what happens? Do they grant u an auto PR or option to citizenship?

Would like to apply for the PR but wanna get the facts clear.

I reckon this is what everyone is trying to ask too.

Tweetie

kitkioko

Hi James,

At the moment, I am PR in Aus. I wonder what is the procedure if I wanna to apply Singapore PR? Btw FH is Singaporean.
kit***

snoozy

Hi James...

i need some advises from you, hope you can help me out. Last time my parents transfer the flat to under me and my elder bro name and it consider as mortgage. Will this affect me from applying for spouse visa .. cause my FH is australia citizen? Hope to hear from you soon.

pinkblusher

hi James

If my husband got posted to Australia on a job posting, can I tag along on a spouse working visa doing odd jobs and working up to 20 hours a week?

Please advise. Thanks

tine177

Can you share with me the following: -
- working conditions in Melbourne? Working hour?
- Cost of living e.g. rental etc...

Thinking of working in Melbourne.

mngo

viv
oh u thinking of coming back? how come?

tine177
i got my pr recently. we are also thinking of working in melbourne. working hour is office hour. sat and sun is non working. cost of living is like singapore but certain stuffs there are more costly. but of cos the pay is also good.
u wont get anything lesser than 15aud per hour regardless of what you do.

parisse_geis

Hi James
i've completed a 2yrs full-time[Australia] Uni program[A/c] in mid 2004 N had missed the 6mth period to apply the Pr.

like to know when can i submit my Pr application? i understand is 4 yr fm the lapsed of the 6 mths, is it true?

septembre

Hi James

My husband PR expires in March 2006. However due to unforseen circumstances, we are not able to migrate over so soon. Is there a way to extend his PR? THanks for reading.

vvbbb

mngo,
i'm back in SG since 1.5yrs ago. Didn't miss Sydney at all, though i miss friends i made there.
generally i find that single life is better in SG coz can lead active life, go here ad there, shop, dine with friends. Over there pp tend to b family oriented, go home after work for dinner (coz eating out is expensive , and family time is important).

Having said that, i think to raise a family in OZ is not bad. Good thing is that your children will speak good English but bad thing is that they may lose their Asian values.

redsky

hi, is adelaide a nice place to stay and work in?
which cities are good in terms of quality of life and employment opportunities?

do you all go to Australia 1st and then look for a job?
or look for a job 1st, then go there?
how is the job market in Australia?

i have to start with temporary visa 1st and will only get my PR after 2 yrs. from application to temporary visa, how long will it take?

gracious

just asking on behalf of my sis. the whole family is moving to melb this coming sunday. any ideas of any mover companies tht she can engage to help ship her stuff frm their home direct to their melbourne home?
tks.

vvbbb

redsky,
i didn't get job from SG, just flew to Sydney and tried my luck with job.... took me 2 mths (and almost broke) before finding one. But maybe it helps that i'm in banking line and a high-demand area in sydney.

Most of my friends (I have 8 friends migrated in last 2yrs) went there and looked for job after arrival, and one or 2 got an offer from here. 1 of them still waiting to get a job there before he'll move there and he's still here after 1yr of getting PR. The job market will depend on your field. Just send your resume to the headhunter and ask them about the prospect.

pinkblusher

Hi viv

Can you go there and look for a job? I thought you must get the right working visa (i.e. secure a job) before flying over. How did your prospective employers grant you the interview?

redsky

hi viv, were you already a PR when u went to sydney? is it tougher to get PR status now? most applicants i supposed have studied/stayed there before? i am from the finance line too, any headhunters you can recommend? thanks!

noscon

Hello everyone

I like to ask how we can go about requesting for an exemption from IELTS. I wonder whether this is still a valid practice now.

vvbbb

hi redsky,

yep, got my PR and went straight away to Sydney. I heard it's tougher to get PR status now... mine's going to expire next year and planning to re-apply with my FH in 5yrs time, not sure if can get or not in the future.

But the agent or e'yer would usually try to bring u down by saying that you dont have 'australian exprience', but better try not to bring the market down. I found ang moh likes to try to under-pay asians there and the asians just took the pay cut for the 'australian' experience.

headhunters are plentiful there and many of them are small offices. The big ones are the usual suspects: robertwalters, michaelpage. And the only way to get a job is usually through headhunters, not like our 'saturday recruit' section.

noscon,
if your tertiary education is done in English, i think you don't have to do IELTS.

noscon

viv

Thanks for replying. When did you apply? I'm not sure whether the rules have changed....

How did you know you were exempted? Thanks for answering

vvbbb

noscon,

i applied in mar01, got PR in mar02, went there in mar03. Heard that there's a bit of changes in terms of points, but not sure abt IELTS. Why not read more in their 'dima' website.

cake

Hi noscom

I got my PR last year. They did not require IELTs from me. generally, Singaporeans are exempted although it all depends on ur case officer, if unlucky, then they will request..or else.I think dun bother about it until they ask.Where u plan to settle?

cake

noscon

hey viv n sunnygirl

i applied through a local agency n the lady who did my PR processing told me that she needs it so I tot I had to do it. But when i read the forum here, I read that it's like not compulsory if i got degree or something so I asked again to make sure. If it is not compulsory then I won't want to waste $$ to go for it. Thanks to both for your advice...

Viv, what's dima? Where are you staying now?

sunnygirl, I plan to go MEL. where are you gg or staying?

s_lavender

My hubby already has his Australian PRship and i'll be applying for a spouse visa. Has anyone applied on their own, i.e. without going thru an agent? Apart from the paperwork etc, I'm wondering if it'll be tougher. coz i check out 2 agents recently and was quoted between $2,500 - $4,000.. thot' it's quite expensive..

snoozy

hi girls..

i know i shldnt post here..but i reali cant think of any other place to post..my fiance need to sell the car asap..cos he coming over to singapore on may.. Btw he is in melb atm..

He got a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer ES - REd color for sale..

vvbbb

Lavender,

I did my PR application on my own..4 yrs ago. it's quite straight forward so i think you could do it yourself. I guess I was excited then so everything seemed to be easy hehehe.. But I remember the hard part was to find a lawyer to make a certified true copy on the day I wanted to lodge the application. The OZ embassy has a list of authorized lawyer so I just picked randomly and asked for quotes on the charges.

Noscon,
I meant DIMA is Dept of Immi n Multicultrl Affairs hehee... or www.immi.gov.au
Btw, I checked the website(http://www.immi.gov.au/migration/skilled/rqmnts_doc/br_english_1.htm), some changes happened in Nov 2005, I think you may have to take IELTS test.

Btw, I'm back in Spore and just got married. My PR will expire Apr2007. The sad thing is... even though my hubby and I plan to migrate to oz in the future, it'll be after my visa expired.. so I think we may have to reapply as a couple .. prob 3-5 yrs later (subject to changes hehehehe)

noscon

hi viv

think you are right, times have changed, i may have to go thru IELTS. right now im in the middle of the application process....

welcome back to singapore!! Congrats on your wedding too.... How did you find oz? which part were you at?

7ll

Hi, my HB & i had apply for the PR in last Dec'05, now waiting for the result, may i know how long did they take to approve if everything OK?

noscon

lawlee

did you apply through an agency or by yourself? I did it through an agency so they told me it will take 9-12mths...

7ll

We apply ourself, total cost us about AUD1850 for the application fees, & about SGD250 for those paper certification(what i can remember). The whole process is quite easy - cos my HB do everything
, some of the part is repeated.

may i know which part of OZ did u guy intend to go?

s_lavender

hi viv,

congrats! and thanks for your info.. i've decided to apply by myself too and hv printed out the necc forms from DIMA website. now preparing the statements as evidence of our relationship (i'm applying for spouse visa). btw, how much did you pay to have your docs certify true copy??

7ll

hi noscon, we did stated inside the application form is Perth, but may be melbourne too, wonder must we stick to the city that we stated?

lavender, last time our lawyer charge us about SGD5 per copy, but another one just do it FOC, & another one quote us SGD20 per copy. think its depend...

vvbbb

Lawlee,

Ya, you could change the city you want to migrate to.
Hey, could I get your laywer's contact or address? I want to make certified copy for my hubby's documents.

Noscon,
I went to Sydney. It's a beautiful city but at that time, I still preferred SG to Sydney.

Now, my hubby, who likes Australia life, wanted to migrate to OZ to raise our kids. I still have fear that I could not adjust to Australian life, but i'll do it coz i want my future kids to have better education path than me.

BTw, anybody knows how to get 'certified true copy' that is cheap? or even FREE?

vvbbb

lawlee,
on your application, just stick to the city you want to migrate (perth). Eventually when you get the PR, it doesn't really matter which city you go to. I don't think they check on it.

Lavender,
i forgot how much i paid for the certified copies. I'm asking around now again...

noscon,
It took about a year to get your PR.

7ll

Hi viv, sorry ah, now thn i see your post, the contact is with my hubby, will let you know once i got it.

beside, did your husband is yours principal applicant?

vvbbb

lawlee,

The last time i applied n got the PR, i was a single gal hehehe...

This time, I think i'll get my husband to apply and i'll be his dependant. It's quite tricky coz my PR still last until next year, so I can't re-apply. It has to be my husband and probably I'll highlight to the Officer that i'll be his dependant.. something like that. I asked the OZ office here and that's what they suggest.

s_lavender

hi, to apply for a spouse visa, i read from the partner migration booklet that one of the item to be submitted is a copy of the registry extract showing details of marriage. the decorative marriage cert is not considered an acceptable evidence.. so i believe this "decorative marriage cert" is the cert we keep after ROM, right??

has anyone of u applied for the registry extract from ROM? i went to the ROM website but there's only an application for duplicate marriage cert. is this the one???

nnchander

would like to check if anyone knows whether we can take a Singapore bank loan to finance a house in Aus?

Thanx

oct

Hi lavendar,

As far as i know, dimia look at the marriage cert only even though they stated they only want "extract from ROM". So the decorative marriage cert should be ok.

barbapapa

Me also applying for PR. We had to took our IELTS test and that was in June 06. Now still waiting for reply from the immigration. I do agree now the immigration laws are getting tougher. Imagine having to pay SGD280 for the stupid IELTs test!!! All the writing, speaking and listening.....argh....

icehody

hi blue,

whats a IELTS? i am on a spouse visa so i did not have to sit the test.

by the way which state will u be migrating? i am in sydney.