Anyone Migrating to Australia?

septembre

Snoozy did you apply yours through an agent? It might be easier and can give you better advise.

Andrea, we push ours right to the back. ;D
So we are stuck in Oz for two years. But unless you can find a job that requires you to travel, should be ok to travel out right.

snoozy

nope gingerale, we didnt go through agent, cos the visa we going to apply dont reali necessary to go through a agent. Basically apply for that visa which was prospective marriage visa is quite easy but the main problem is we need to find a celebrant to sign a letter on a letter head to proof when and where we going to get married.. HOw m i going to find this??? i read through the rom webby, it show that the notice will expired after 3 months, we cant file that early. So now i was wondering can we book a jp about half year in advance? cos we intend to rom end of the year. Well, thing will be more easy if my fiance able to work in singapore, but the problem is his industry of work is not in high demand in singapore. Or else thing will sure be more easy, work here for few mths.. get married and then apply for spouse visa.

Btw can i ask .. what do you all mean by 2 out of 5 years?

septembre

Snoozy I think if you wanna book online it's 3 months. But I think it is better you can go down personally to book so you don't have to be restricted by the 3 months period. But you are in Oz now ya?

Some posts on looking for job in Oz when you are outside of Oz.
http://www.brainbox.com.au/brainbox/Forum.nsf/0/0683D69692C204AD49256EF3001F021C?opendocument

Australia Migration Agency
http://www.aumigrate.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=13

Go Matilda-Your gateway to Australia
http://www.gomatilda.com/

mspiggy

hi gingerale,
i guess to secure a job, we have to be there which means we have to give up our current job back here in singapore. unless you can take unpaid leave for 3-4 mths.

hi andrea,
my PR expiry ard the same time as yours. just wanna check not sure if you know. say if we really push to the limit, and only move over ard Jun 2007. does that means we can't leave OZ till we clock our 24 mths? or must we clock our 24 mths before Oct 2007?

nnchander

Hi Mspiggy...
that's what I'm not sure about... I asked my agent, and she just said that they are very strict abt that... will check with her again...

But as I understand it, it should not make a difference if we've found a job... they can't possibly restrict our entry if we've got a job to go to...

BTW, just checked... my pr expiry is 9 Oct 2007

mspiggy

Hi Andrea,
Thks for your reply. If your agent gets back to you, pls inform me. Thanks in advance

My expiry is actually in Sept 2007, now still headache over shd we take a risk and just move over without a job.

septembre

mspiggy you dont need to clock your 24 mths Before oct 2007. You can also move over ard the expiry date in jun 2007 itself. The diff is if you move Before 2007, then you will have more freedom to come in and out of australia ti chalk up the 2 years. If you move over ard the expiry date, then you will have to stay in Oz permenantly for 24 mths to chalk up.

My hubby got his in 2001. So we are really pushing to the max when we go there early next year.

septembre

Resident Return Visas (155 and 157)

The holder of a permanent residency visa is the holder of a permit allowing him or her to depart and re-enter Australia for 5 years from the date the visa is granted. It may be that such a person applies to become an Australian citizen (so long as all the criteria are met). However, if the person has not become a citizen after the 5-year period has expired, there will clearly be a problem if he or she leaves Australia and then seeks to re-enter.

The solution is the Resident Return visa. This may be a 5-year (155) visa, or a 3-month (157) visa, depending mainly on the period of time the individual has spent in Australia during the previous 5 years. In essence, if a person has lived in Australia lawfully and permanently for at least 2 years out of the previous 5 years he or she will be able to apply for the 155 visa; if for at least 1 day but less than 2 years the application is for the 157 visa. Note that both visas allow the person returning to do so at any time before the visa expires for indefinite stay in Australia.

From mid-August 2001 it is possible for applications for a 155 or 157 visa to be lodged via the internet. Persons granted a visa will have to attend a DIMA office though to obtain the visa label.

septembre

So for those who go over within the 5 years, after you chalk up the 2yrs, you will have to apply for RRV when your PRvisas expires. It will enable you to travel in and out of Oz every 5 years. For people like me who push to the last minute near expiry date then go over. we'll have to live in Oz for 2 years in order to apply for the RRV.

snoozy

hi gingerale.. yeah.. i m in oz now.. but going back to singapore next week. btw.. wat is all the link about?

septembre

Links on looking for jobs, migration agency in singapore and also some info of Perth.

Good then, you can down down to ROM personally to book.

snoozy

yeah..i guess it better for me to go down to ROM and ask personally.. as least is more clearer... as abt the link... i think most of it is IT job.. my fiance is pharmacist.. anyway...we already have some plan, we will proceed with the booking for rom and he will come back to aust to work for few mths and me stay in sg. Anyway.. thax gingerale and fern for the info.

mspiggy

hey gingerale,
thanks for all the info!!!

SQ tickets to Perth is so cheap now, very tempted to go for a short trip

yunme

Hi tulipblue,

Yeah, I got my PR about 2 yrs ago. It seems like there is more demand for IT jobs in Sydney. I got a few phone interviews but none fall through... i m wondering if I should just make a move there with my hubby..... btw, r u already in Aus?

Gingerale, Thanks for ur links

tulipblue

hi y u n me..

nope not in Australia yet...coz only just gotten PR a week ago...will kick start the PR period in MArch when we are going there for a short holiday
245669.gif
so u stay in Sydney now? hows life there?

yunme

tulipblue,

Nope, I am still in SG. I am hoping to get a job then move over to Aus. However, I might just move over there if I cant get a job here from sg. Many recruitment agencies tell me its diffcult to get a job from outside Aus.

Congrats on ur getting PR.
I heard that its getting more n more diffcult getting a Aus PR. Many I know are still trying.

You going Aus to fulfill the intial entry requirements? U have any plans to move to Aus yet?

babu

me at perth looking at the land now, so need some advice on this.. which suburbs u gals staying now? i am looking at WA area like waterford and maybe canning valve.. understand that e properties has gone up pretty high now in perth.. wat is the price that i will be looking for e two area that i mentioned??

babu

gingerale,
no i don ve an agent now, but mi BIL a PR here and he bot us around to look at e land, really like the one at waterford and mt pleasant both are river view, but don know how much will that cost for e land only?? we just wanna to buy a land and built e house later, cos will only be perth later part..
anyway, will be grateful if u can let me have e contact, it might be useful to me..

septembre

babu said pm you his contact. Waterford is very near Curtin right? Remember to look for a place with lesser break-ins. I know areas like Vic park and bentley are definately not very good.

babu

gingerale,
thanks mate!! ya, WF only 5-10min to curtin uni.. like the surrounding for WF, very please to the eyes, but heard they ask for sky high price, so still thinking.. where u stay btw? anywhere near canning vale or WF or u not in WA??

septembre

babu no problemo .;D I'm not there yet. I'll be staying at my relatives place at willeton first when I go over. I'll be looking for places at Winthrop or Scarborough.

babu

gingerale,
I just went to Scarborough this after to look at e houses as well, like the indian ocean view, but don think there's any vacant land at all, but it really nice man!! Okie, next time when u move here already we can go for a cup of tea..

snoozy

hey all... i didnt reali login this thread for sometimes... so think of updates abit here. Hi fern and gingerale, me and my fiance decide not to apply for any visa now. Our plan is he will be going back to australia this few days and i will be working in singapore for 4 months and then went over to aust to get our wedding photographs and grown ( i prefer to buy in aust cos more easily due to me towards the bigger size ) and we will be getting married in singapore end of the year and he will try to look for job in singapore and apply for spouse visa at the same times.

septembre

babu are you still considering Waterford. You know Bently area is notorious for break-ins. And Waterford is really near curtin and it's a place for lots of students live, where the theifs normally appear. I would say think twice abt that area. Have you asked about about Waterford area? Did you check out the property prices at Scarborough? It's kinda my dream place. ;D You made me drool just by describing the view.

Snoozy, thanks for the update. Seems like you have things sorted out. So you will be temping for 4 mths huh. Best wishes to you!

bejeweled

Hey snoozy,
You went MIA for a while at the other aussie thread, and fern too.

How's the procedure of applying for spouse visa if he is in Oz and you are here? I am thinking of applying for Spouse visa after my and my FH ROM here, will it take long?

fern

Hi Snap,
sorry, I'm not sure about the procedures if you are in SGP and your hubby in OZ. But in my opinion, it shouldn't matter too much as i applied the visa more or less by myself.

My visa just took 6weeks to be approved.

babu

gingerale,
ya, i know about the stink history about bently, but it actually not so bad now, and e land oso not cheap.. and i still like waterford.. really up mi alley.. kekeke..but it pretty costly now, so have to do the sum rite..

Scarborough very expensive as well, price range can be half a million for just the land, cos some it overlook the ocean! wa lau.. i oso drool when i went there to look at it, but cannot affort la.. the currency are really strong rite now..

crayonshinchan

hello ladies.. this might be a little too early to ask cos my hubby hasnt really started applying for PR yet.. but i just wanna check if anyone knows abt teaching in OZland??
planning to teach there but dono if i am qualified to do so.. i am currently teaching pri level...

wgc

Hi there..

I just got my PR to ozland.. so excited. can't wait..
Considering to return back to perth or go on to sydney.
any advice?

yunme

I am planning my shift to Australia in either june or sept. I am thinking of going to sydney where there are more jobs for me. I am wondering which suburbs of Sydney is recommended for accomdation?? Any ideas?

yunme

wgc,

I am considering the same things...whether to go perth or sydney... but I decide I should go where there are jobs available for me. Perth is a really nice place, very relaxing env...but it doesnt seems to offer as much opporunities as Sydney...

I think, unless we are really rich, i think jobs are the most impt ...otherwise, we cannot get to stay there for long mah...just my humble opinion..

btw, Which line are you in??

siewmai

hi everyone.
just like to ask everyone how to apply for PR in oz?e procedures/documentations or any referrals that we can seek advice on?
Coz my bf just finish his degree from aus, bk in sing now n is thinking of trying to apply for PR there but dun noe how to go abt starting it.
Anyone can advice?

Fern: thanks for your concern from other post. I n fine wif him already. Everything needs to give n take

lulu1975

I am new to this forum and just happen to find this post. I got my OZ PR last year Apr and thinking of moving OZ by this year or later next year in order to fulfill the 2yr stay in OZ. I am lost if I should move to OZ or not. I have a 16mth kid and my hubby is earing quite a decent pay in Singapore. If we move to OZ, I am concern of getting a job in OZ. I am planning to settle in Perth since it is nearest in SP but it doesn't have much job opp as compare to Sydney.
We apply the PR ourself without going through any agent. We are thinking of should we just let go of the PR or move to OZ. and if we give up the PR status now it will be quite a pitty.
Our plan right now is to have me and my kid move to OZ first and settle down with the 2 yr requirement for PR. My hubby will continue stay in SP to work and support us. If I can find a job in OZ, it will be good. Very tough decision need to make and very confuse. Any suggestion???

babu

lulu,
i will ask u to go for it!!! i know it tough, but it not easy to get PR in OZ anymore, if u give up it will be very very silly!! sorry, cos don wanna u to give up.. me and hb going to apply e PR soon, and going to stay in Perth as well, cos hb family are there.
i think ya, u can ask ur hb to work in SG first, and u stay at perth and raise ur kid at the same time, try to look for a job there, that'll be ideal..

lulu1975

babu,

Thank you for your advise. I also have the same thinking as you. The problem is i have no friend or relative in OZ and I will be living alone with my kid.............

babu

lulu,
i know.. it really tough to stay in country which no friends and relative.. did u discuss with hb? see if he can try to send as many resume to Perth and try to find a job there?? sigh.. if only i can go early, then maybe i be will ur 1st friend in perth liao...

can i know why out of sudden u apply PR in OZ where u got no relative there? cos normally is only when u got relatives or friends there then u start to consider staying OZ..

cake

Hi lulu

There is a shortage of skilled workers in Aus right now, perhaps your hb can try to apply for jobs. What line is he in? Perhaps he can take leave and go there to actively source for jobs. Hopefully he can get something there so that you can move over as a family

lulu1975

We decided to apply for OZ PR due to the fact that SIN is getting to stress out to live in.Cost of living is also rising every yr. We intend to experience difference lifestyle (Of course that time we dun hv kid yet). We had one of our holiday in OZ and began to fall in love with the place. My hb is in Sales line and he got no degree and I think will be though for him to get the same line of job. He is willing to work on other line as long as the pay can cover the living.

babu, how nice it will be to have you as my 1st friend perth. I hope to visit your waterfront house sooner.Maybe I can rent from you.

babu

lulu,
ya me and hb got e same tot as well.. SG sucks!! kekeke.. anyway, my hb flying most of the time, so i might be like u, got to stay there alone first, but lucky i got my SIL and BIL there, so still not so bad..
ya manz, if we will there, we can keep each other company liao..

babu

onzz,
li sibei kaypo lay!! everywhere oso can see ur post...
ur aunty stay where huh??? kekeke..

onzz

All i know is she stay in Perth. I dun like to talk to her, b'coz she will ask me to go to church! She is a Christian missionary worker... never married until 55... married a widower who is a grandfather oredi... migrated there abt 8 years back... last year my cousin went there stay 4 a few days, n she brought them around... to one place only... CHURCH !

alamak, y i telling grandfather story... goodnitezzzz

fern

Hi Lulu,
I would encourage you to come and not give up the PR. You can see from these posts that there are so many ppl trying to apply for PR and you want to give yours up?

There are indeed many job opportunities in Australia. There was a news report yesterday saying there are too many jobs and not enough workers. Apparantly, the shortage is not only for "skilled"(as in manual labour?) workers anymore. Your hubby can try to apply for as many jobs as possible while still in Singapore. His advantage is that he has a visa that allows him to work and stay in OZ. Yesterday, I also heard my HR dept complaining that there are so many applications from Malaysia and Singapore although these ppl dun have the visa to work in OZ. My guess is that these ppl want to try and get a job before applying for visa. So you and hubby def got a good advantage!

About the worries that you will be all alone here, that is a very valid concern. But migration is a huge move, and you are moving to a new culture new country. It will be tough even if your hubby is with you. But I have found that there are a lot of Aussies who are friendly and supportive when you make friends with them. I think there is a big asian community in Perth also, and you can join like a asian club or something. But i think with the abundant job opportunities here, it shouldn't be too long before your hubby can get a job here and join you.

Hope this helps, and good luck!

fern

Hey people,
i want to complain! I always read the Straits Times and New Paper online to keep up with Singapore news, but now they are charging for online subscription leh...$72 for 6mths! That's really expensive! How else can i keep up with singapore news w/o paying the exorbitant price?!
My other SGP frends in OZ also complaining.....

onzz

Hello Fern,

I'm new to this thread... would http://www.channelnewsasia.com/ be good enough for your singapore news & happening?

I have browsed thru' this thread from the beginning, but i have not found the answers to some questions i have in mind, hope u or anyone else reading can offer some insights.

Me and wife are looking at semi-retirement within the next 5 years. Basically we wanna try living in a different environment for a few years. Our backup plan is to live off our property rental income from Singapore, plus some other investment incomes. But b'coz it is not a lot, we hope to work a little if possible.

B'coz we juz wanna TRY, we do not plan to give up our citizenship. Questions:

1)Would PR application be the appropriate thing to do?
2)If we do get OZ PR, would that affect any other PR we are holding?
3)What are our chances of getting PR? We are both qualified accountants but our qualification is SG n UK type - do they accept?
4)Can u hold on to your PR forever w/o applying for citizenship?

Anyone reading pls offer some insights, to help give me a headstart b4 i plough into further research... thanks

Fern

do try to go to www.todayonline.com

this is bascially a Free newspaper given out in Singapore, while i always missed a copy when i hit the train station so I usually do read them online, u can even apply for them to email the daily scope to u.. its FREE!

enjoy!

fern

Hi Onzz,
I can't really answer your questions....I applied for a spouse visa because my husband is Australian. I found it quite easy to get mine...But i have heard that it is getting harder and harder for others interested to apply for the a visa because they have "raised the points required"?

Go to: http://www.singapore.embassy.gov.au/immigration.html#How%20can%20I%20migrate%20to%20Australia?
and read "How can I migrate to Australia".

Also visit www.immi.gov.au for more detailed info.

OZ offers dual citizenships, but I don't know if it will affect your other PR...
I will get my PR next year, and OZ citizhenship will be offered 3 years after that. I am reluctant to give up my SGP citizenship also, but don't know if we can just hold on to PR forever...

I am so sorry that I'm not able to answer your questions about your accountanting qualifications and others...

There are so many unique kinds of situations if you have noticed from this thread...

But I encourage you and wifey to go for it, because I have found my experience to be very enriching and I am begining to love it here.