Anyone Migrating to Australia?

barbapapa

hi Llina,

IELTS is called International English Language Test something...can;t remember....it is a test of english profiency so that the immigration are satisfied that the applicant is proficient in english. Apparently 'O' levels english is not enough to prove proficiency. I read from the news,that in the future, the aus immigration are moving towards compulsory english testing for all immigrants to Australia .

bellelow

Hi there, does anyone in the process of moving into the country currently? Care to share info on Melbourne -like schools, housing etc. How do you plan or begin the journey to migrate?

huisakuraflower

Can someone give more details about the IELTS? I'm going to take that test some time at the ed of the year but I have no idea at all what this test is about.

ditz

IELTS is an english test...to test ur lvl of english...to get a PR there. I think u r allow only 2 chances of passing it..Its mainly oral and written...

barbapapa

Hi huisakuraflower,

Mock exams of IELTS are available on the internet including speaking, listening and writing. Goggle search IELTS and they got tons of advice on how to tackle the test. It looks damn easy but it is a little bit tricky. But generally speaking singaporeans should be able to pass quite well. Just be prepared for the test no matter how easy it is. trust me. I thought it was chicken feet but ......

apple77

hi huisakuraflower,
you can get mock samples of IELTS papers from popular or bigger bookshops like kinokuniya, mph, times etc. It's really useful but costsly.. around $35 per book. It definitely makes me more prepared, plus... the question that came out was just rephrased in one of the sample paper.

Maybe you;ll like to go get the book.

apple77

Btw, is anyone going over to melbourne in early 07? Am planning on going over there around that period of time. Will be good if I can know someone from here :p

dat

Hi Apple,
I'm currenly in Melbourne, and will be in 2007 as well, when are you coming over?

My SO is thinking of applying for PR as well, to work here, just wondering if anyone knows if he'll still need to take the ILETS if he's graduated from an Aussie Uni in NSW?

And for the certified true copy of documents, must it be done at the lawyers? Aussie High Comm cannot?

7ll

we just received our second batch of forms from DIMA last week, my husband need to sit for the IELTS test eventhough he had OZ qualification. according to them, as long your native langauge not in english, you must sit for the test.

native English speaking country are refer to UK, USA, Canada, Australia & New Zealand.

Beside, any tips or advise for IELTS to share? Thank you

barbapapa

Hello everybody,

No need to buy the books from kino, in my opinion. As i mentioned earlier, i sourced my tips from the internet. i just did my IELTS in June i can tell you the topics i have for speaking and writing sections.

Speaking topic:
Introduction of yourself
If you have a chance to be an entrprenuer, what business will you like to see yourself in?
What are the advantages of reading the newspaper? Do you think it is effective in relaying the news? How so?

Writing Topic:
In this topic, there are 2 sessions:
First is writing a letter.
You are to write a letterto your friend as she will be arriving in your country for a holiday. Describe how you intend to bring he/she around your country.
Second Topic:
Having a lot of money can be good or bad? Discuss. This section you need to write on the advantages and disadvantages and then give your final opinion at the end of the passage.

barbapapa

hi DA.T

Your certified true copies needs to be done by a lawyer who is a notary public. I got it done quite cheaply at the lawyers office down at republic plaza.

Now i am into the second phase of the application. That is health check and character check. Hopefully everything can be done smoothly.

7ll

Hi blue, tks for your info, i had download some of the tips from the google, it is very useful. i try to borrow the book from NLB last sunday, but all loaned by others, its very popular....
by the way, when is your death line to submit all the documents? ours is 1-Nov, this coming saturday go for medical check-up at SATA jurong. i hope everythg smooth too

barbapapa

Hi Lawlee,

My deadline is also Nov 10. Going to SATA chaichee to do the check up too.

There is another place where you can take a look at the IELTS test papers. Go to British Council at Napier Road. The library just behind the info counter do have stocks of the test papers for different yrs. I went there to photostat copies and practice.

Hey just saw ur prev entries. you are applying for perth huh? me too. But i applied in last yr oct but mine took longer time bcos they requested for extra documents.

7ll

Hi blue,
Ya, my hub had purchase a set in british council yesterday, his test date is on 23-Sept. oral test is 27-Sept. may i know how long does the oral test need? 1 full day? cos need to apply leave, if only 1 or 2 hr, thn just take time-off will do.

You choose perth too? haha... my hub study there before, he like that place very much & make it our 1st choice, but we also consider Melbourne, anyway, will see how lor, to me, its depend on the job offer. how abt you?

merci

Hey, i juz got my skills approved by the assessing authority.. can i confirmed if its needed for us to go for the IELTS in order to get 15 points?? Tks.

barbapapa

Hi Lawlee,

Oral test is quick. takes about ten minutes the most. Written test takes 3 hours. Infact for both days of test, can take half days.

We choose perth also bcos we studied there b4 and my husbnad got some relatives there. As for type of jobs available, we'll have to cross our finger that we can find one. ;)

barbapapa

Eileen,

I think it is up to your case officer to decide if you should take the IELTs. But it seems everyone here has taken theirs....so....you decide....

7ll

Hi Eileen,

like what blue had said, it is up to the official to decide whether u need to take the IELTS test, we had asked the high Comm before we submit our application form last year, they said no need, so we just proceed, but this time round DIMA request...O ya, only the principal applicate need to test, spouse no need. you can try to buy the booklet in British council or download it from website

barbapapa

lawlee,

For your case, spouse no need to take IELTS? for my case both need to take the test. So weird.

Eileen,
read your documents throughly to see if IELTS is a requirement for you and if in doubt, ask your case officer.

merci

hi, anyone of u migrating under skilled independent scheme? did u gals applied yourself or gone thru a lawyer? tks.

just_a_ger

Eileen,

I got mine 3 years ago. The process is relatively simple. In my opinion, there is no need to go through a lawyer.

I waited 11 months for the PR, which costs me SGD2,000 in total.

The procedure is as follow:

(1)Check on line to ensure that u have met the minimum points required. The points given are based on your age, qualifications, experience, industry, language etc.

(2) Buy the application booklet from the Australian embassy. (Should be less than SGD20).

(3) Certified true copy your academic transcipt by the officer at the embassy. Send the academic transcript to the address stated in the application booklet for certification. You may have to wait 3-4 weeks to get the certification done and return to you. (cost <SGD300, depending on your faculty of study).

(4) Get your passport certified by the officer at the Australia embassy (Cost<SGD50)

(5) Submit the application form, cheque, certified academic transcript and certified passport.

(6) expect to receive a letter from them about 10 months after the application. The letter will instruct you to get clearance from Singapore Police. (Cost <SGD20)

(7) Submit the police clearance report.

(8) They will send you a letter a month later to bring your passport to the embassy to get your PR endorsed.

Hope that I have not missed out anything. Nevertheless, that was 3 years ago.

just_a_ger

As long as English is our 1st language, we need not take any language proficient test. But again, that was what I understood 3 years ago, not updated with recent changes.

barbapapa

Just a ger,

There a lot of updates since 3 yrs ago. Think you got the good bargain prepareing it early. ;)

Even police clearance is not <SGD20. It is SGD46. Health requirements are about SGD 130. Things are more expensive than before.

Besides i believe even though english is our first language, it is up to the discretion of the cas officer to determine if the applicant needs to take the english test and from the looks of the forum here, it seems those who applied since last yr are subj to english test.

in the future all are required to take the english test.

We done tried to apply PR via an agent but even they themselves are not updated with the developments. In the end we applied ourselves and it is pretty straightforward actually.

noscon

How difficult is the oral exam for the IELTS? I am quite nervous about this part of the test as I do not know what to expect. How long are you expected to speak? To who?

barbapapa

hi noscon,

Not really difficult for the oral exam. The main point is to use simple sentence construction and using connective words such as...bcos, due to, blah blah.....to connect ideas together.

If u have noticed, i have written down the conversation topic i took in june 2006 in earlier posts.

The oral test will be over in 10 min but it will seem like eternity. Hints on the internet explains to the applicant to smile and relax during the oral test and the examiner will not be all out to 'tekan' you but in reality, my examiner never smiled the entire time making me a little edgy.

Btw the examiner is a native speaker, meaning, either a British or Australian.

barbapapa

noscon,

Of course we do not know the topics before hand otherwise it will be considered cheating! Ha ha....

Topics will be about everything and anything. Main thing they need to know is your proficiency of eng language and your ability to string ideas together. Cohesion of ideas, rather. Just take a deep breath and talk. No singlish loh....

emerjo

Hi, I've too applied for the migration early this year, and just received requests to perform the medical test, &amp; the CNCC. Hopefully things will go well.

I've done my IELTS in May 06, and this time they have also requested my hubby to take the IELTS even though he was graduated there with an Australia degree, plus an UK MBA.

For those who want IELTS exam material, you may wish to try these two forums:
http://www.aippg.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=6
http://www.rxpgonline.com/ielts.html

merci

BTW, how many points did u guys get for the IELTS test? I am planning to get a band 6 score for all categories...

syl123

Hi Eileen,

Unfortunately, my IELTS test is on 4th Nov...a week later.

Anyone interested the purchase the IELTS specimen book (comes with a CD) from me (purchased it at British Council).

I have done the practices in the Specimen book and I think it is quite okay. Hope I'm able to get a good score.

emerjo

I scored 7 for all the cats. AU migration does not take average point but min 6 (main applicant) or 5 (sub applicant) for each of the 4 cats.

Before your exam, you need to practise and practise; esp. your reading and writing speed. The exam is not difficult, but the challenge is against time.

Do not drink too much water prior to the exam. Better to clear your system before entering the exam hall. You may bring water bottle into the classroom BUT it must be made of transparent plastic.

Listening - You'll be sitting in a classroom that can accomodate about 80 candidates, and listening to a player that is placed in front. Basically, you need to listen very carefully and follow the instructions. If you were to miss any question, dont' panic else it'll affect your performance on other questions. 40 questions all together.

Without any break, you will do the Reading (Comprehension). It's made up of about 3 main parts - starting from the easiest to the most difficult. No long ans required. usually not more than 3 or 4 words. Take care of your spelling. Follow instructions. 40 questions.

After collecting all the ans sheet back, you will be doing the Writing (Composition) paper. 2 main parts - usually letter writing and long essay. Take care of your spelling, grammer, &amp; sentence structure. Be neat in your hand-writing. You may use pen or pencil, but read from somewhere that it's better to use pen -it reflects your confidence.

After which, you'll be given a small pathetic slip of paper on your next exam date&amp;time for the Speaking (Oral). Bring along water into the room (if you can). I regret not doing so. My mouth was so dry after a while and had difficulty talking. Mayb I was nervous. Be calm and be yourself. The examiner is a native-english speaker, but he/she is just another human being. &amp; don't forget to SMILE....

Eileen, my hubby will be taking the IELTS exam on 28 Oct too.

barbapapa

yeah....try not to drink too much water before the test. I was sick when i took the test, drank too much water and went to toilet countless times. really affected my performance that day. Even for writing portion, i did not really complete my paper.but luckily pass the min requirements.

I wonder if anyone has fail and retake the paper b4?

syl123

Hi Blue,

Read from your previous postings that you are already in the second stage of the application.

I am in the preparation stage only, doing my skills assessment and IELTS on 4th Nov. Hopefull can lodge application by end of the year.

Now, filling up the form (while waiting for Skills assessment letter and IELTS results) and
preparing to get the certs to be certified.
Can I know how much you paid for the have the cerfication by notary public? Can share the contact pls? Thanks!

barbapapa

Hi Sylvia,

I got my done at republic plaza, his name is Edward D'Souza. He does the certification at bout $5 a piece ( I think.) I dun have his contact number but maybe you can look up the yellow pages.

BTW my PR just got approved yesterday.

syl123

WOW!!! Congratulations!!!!

Thanks for the name...should be able to reloate him via the law society website.

When and where will you be moving?

vvbbb

my hubby just got his qualification assessment and I guess, next will be his IELTS.

I wonder if I need to sit for the exams since i still hold the OZ pr. I think i'm more kanchiong than my hubby hehehe....

Blue, thanks for the the lawyer's name.

So guys, when do you plan to go OZ?

escondido

Hi Foggy &amp; All,

I am new in this thread.

You mentioned that your hubby is an Australian graduate. However dimia also requested him to submit IELTS results. Is he the main applicant?

Did any of you folks who was an australian grad and also a dependent need not take the IELTS ?

emerjo

CONGRATS Blue!!! How long did you wait after your medical &amp; CNCC submission? I'll be collecting my CNCC this Mon, after which got to wait for my hubby's IELTS result. When are you planning to go over?

Escondido, welcome...actually I just joined this thread not long too. Yeah...my hubby is an Australian graduate, and yet he has to prove his Eng proficiency with the IELTS too. Nope, he's not the main applicant. Why is this a concern, wanna share?

Anyone knows is it possible to look or even secure a job there while we are still in SG?

Anyone here is planning the migration as a family unit?

nnchander

i will be moving soon -- by next May, with my kids. Hubby is already there... Excited, but also a little apprehensive now

My sis is currently in Sydney.... she was lucky to hv found a job fr Singapore b4 moving over. As for my hubby, he was lucky to hv found something within 3 months. i hope i'll be just as fortunate...

7ll

Blue,congrats!!! btw, how come so fast? we will collect our CNCC report on monday too, my hub had received his IELTS result last week,&amp; we still sort of police report from australia, hope can sent out everything before 25-Oct.

Hi Foggy, we apply in Dec-2005, friend of mine who apply before this date all exampted for this test, neither main applicant nor spouse, the rule keep changing time to time. we receive our second stage application in end of aug-2006, the case office replied that the main applicant must take the test to prove the eng proficiency. since thet didn't request me to do so, than better don't kaypoh &amp; ask, right?...haha..

barbapapa

hi Foggy,viv,lawlee, slyvia...
Thanks! we will be moving to perth eventually. My husband going there next year but i need to clock in my first visit by sep 07 and then i will have to accumulate travel 2 yrs out of 5 yrs.
me going to work for 2 yrs in spore first b4 going there. Need a lot of money to survive there!

Anyway if your application is appoved next yr, the laws will be changed in such that you need to stay 4 out of 5 years in aus. but we'll see if that is the case.

barbapapa

hi foggy,

My medical checkup is done on that day and that SATA will courier the reports to aus on our behalf.you need to pay abt $20 for that courier service.

CNCC takes abt 2weeks i think, but you need to let the lawyer certify copies of the CNCC letters. for us we lived in aus b4 so we have the aus police clearance certificates. that took them 1 month or longer to approve. in the end we have 2 police clearance cert fm both countries.

Did you know that we can scan the certified copies to DIMA? anyway that saves time and money. We were told by the case officer to send the scanned copies to them so everything was settled pretty fast.

in fact after sending the scanned copies, we know of the results 2 weeks later.....so good luck!

vvbbb

Blue,

your tips on sending scanned certified copies sounds good. In what circumstances do you do that? I think the first time we send the applicaiton form, we'll send the certified documents together with the form, right? So i guess it's only if we missed out any documents that we can send the missing copies via email.

Btw, any of you planned to start business when you're there? or most probably start work first? My hubby is from engineering so he's not sure if he could find a job there so thinking of starting small business (dunno what yet
). Not sure if it's difficult to start one.

Blue, why do you choose Perth? Is it becoz it's nearer to SG?

BTw, do you know that if your VISA expires tomorrow, you could still fly to OZ today and can live there then on? But of coz u can't exit and enter again coz the visa alows you 'entry' to OZ within the 5 years.