Anyone Migrating to Australia?

fern

Skylar and Onzz,
thanks so much for the links! They are really useful! Will tell my other friends now...

jewelmelody

Hi Fern, which part of Australia will you be residing ? So your husband sponsor you based on family nuclues? Infact, my fiance (we had ROM on 2003 but not yet customary) is now awaiting for his result of his application of PR .He just apply Mid-March. He is short of 5 points. He said pass point is 115 but next year will be more difficult as the govt will consider Masters degree only(not sure how true). However to makeup the short fall of 5 points,he mentioned the govt will require him to pay a sum of A$3500 as a guarantee bond which can be refundable. He applied his PR under the sponsorship of his australian aunty. In addition, his 3 years of study in Melbourne and previous working experience in Singapore also factored in the application. Anyway, I had mixed feelings of his application. In the event if his application is successful, he would like to stay on to look for a job in australia that means another 1 or 2 years of long distance relationship for us again.
He want me to give him moral support but I actually hope he come back to Singapore to get a job. Australia - can go back anytime.

Onzz : I think Australia is short of accounting professional. They do recognise UK degree as UK is very much affiliated with Australia. Of course, Australia govt always start off to give PR status for applicants but heard that to apply for Australia citizenship, must stay in Australia for 2 years. Of course being a PR means you cannot enjoy the subsidy medical benefits as the Australians lor. You may like to find out from Australia High Commission from Napier Road.
My fiance apply based on onshore. For your case is offshore application.

lulu1975

Hi babu,sunnygirl,fern,

Thank you for your advise. I think I will stick to stick to my plan of moving to perth by next year for the time being.
Fern, may I check with you how do you aplly job when u r in OZ?? b'cos all my resume will be all base in SIN so do you need to rewrite the resume or just leave it as the Sin style. Also, what is the best way or to apply for the jobs??Write in ? Through job agency or through newspaper.
Sorry for so lorso. Thank you for your kind assistance.

fern

Poor Jewel, what a sticky situation! So he is studying there at the moment? I am in Brisbane, Queensland. My husband is Australian. I really don't know about PR sponsoring another PR to come to Australia. Have you ever thought of coming to join him? I also keep hearing that they are increasing the criteria points, but don't know how they are doing it...But my personal opinion is that it is easier to apply while you are still here, straight after studies, and chances of getting a job also easier. But then again, if you have a wife waiting for you in Singapore then is a different story already....

Hi Lulu,
When i first got here, it was tough because I had no formal working experience in Australia too. I applied through several employment agencies, but didn't even get a single job thru them. I would look thru websites such as www.seek.com.au and others to find suitable work. The newspaper also a big help. I have a biz degree and am in the mfg/IT line. What line are you in? You should be prepared to do temp or part time job, just to get some sort of experience. Also be prepared to start lower than you'd expected...

And no worries, hope I can help as much as possible! Cheers!

jewelmelody

HI Fern he graduated in 2004 Dec. He like to get a job there as he mentioned there are more job chance and Oz companies tie up with uni to recruit the fresh graduates to pay less tax. Once he got his PR then he will sponsor me.anyway step by step first. actually my concern is not he sponsor me.. i want him to return to singapore first...

lulu1975

Hi Fern,

I am actually from accounting field. I did tryy going through some agent in the web and the reply I get were all the same.'Only when I arrive in OZ'. I do not mind having to work as temp or lower title or lower pay so long it can substain the living. I am not sure about the resume writing, should I present all the working experience i had in SIN when applying the jobs? i m not sure if the OZ will be interested to C all my exp in SIN?
Once again Thank you for sharing with me.

fern

Yep Lulu,
you should prepare some sort of "start-up capital" to pay for basic things such as a few months rent, bond for rent, utilities and other living expenses when u come as you really can't tell when u will find a job. You might also need to pay for baby sitting when you have to go out?

And you should be honest when applying for jobs cos most Aussie companies are very diligent with reference checks. The 2 jobs I were in, the employers wrote to my Singaporean ex-employer to do reference check on me. Just list all the experience you've got and if you land an interview, highlight your strengths according to the companies' needs. You know what i mean?

jewelmelody

Hi fern, i just received information from my fiance that his PR is pending cause the imigartion require 2 documents from me. Just received 2 documents via courier Form 26 _ medical examination for an Australian visa, Form 160 Chest X-ray. Fomr 80 - Personal particulars for character assessment. He say I need to go Cantonment to apply no-conviction letter and SaTA for medical checkup.Is that the documents you submit as well? The documents are going to submit to Sydney but stamped by adelaine? Is that the same for your application>

septembre

Hi girls!

Haven't been here for sometime!
Does anyone knows where to apply for my spouse visa in spore? Kinda lost touch on all my research.

nutella

Hi Fern,

Can I ask you something. My hubby is also an Australian, he was actually born in HK but family has migrated to Australia when he was very young. He is now an Australian citizen.

We are planning to apply for my Aussie PR this year. We have been married for 2 years already, and we are both working in Singapore.

I am not sure if I still need to fulfill the 2 years compulsory stay in Australia once my PR is approved. Did you need to fulfill that too?

septembre

Poor Fern. Sorry to bother you with so many questions on PR. ;P

Is there anyone who has friends went over to Oz to give birth?

nnchander

Hi ladies...
it's a long break from me again
Still in Singapore *sigh* and dunno when moving over *double sigh*...

Anyone moving over soon?

@ndrea

skybebe

Hi, I migrated to country Victoria (city: Melbourne) in February due to my impending marriage to an Australian.
I'm happy to help answer any queries as much as I can. I applied for my visa through an agent - Forefront Migration and like their services.
I'm also thankful to God too that I got a job in May as a journalist in a country newspaper.

babybluez

Me and hubby toying with idea of moving over to Melbourne. We love the lifestyle of Australia. Neither of us were really keen workaholics with great ambition. But of course worrying thing is employment. I am a lawyer here. Not sure what the prospects of me continuing to be one over there is and whether it is lucrative. My pay and career path in Singapore is very comfortable as lawyers are in shortage. My hubby is in sales and actually earns less than me. He only has a diploma. I also worry about the high income tax over there. plus we are not really cash rich. our flat, you know, paid thro CPF but we can't use it to buy house in Aussie. Any tips?

skybebe

Nicole, I think for lawyers, its not a problem finding a job but sometimes timing and location matters. As for your husband, I think finding a sales job will be quite easy cos whenever I flip through the papers, I find that the ads for sales jobs are always the most compared to all others. Depending on the company, Corporate Australia does not look at the qualifications as much as Singapore does. To them, experience is a factor too. And for sales jobs, at the end of the day, I feel that if you bring in the sales, the company will value you no matter what qualification you have.
As for housing, perhaps renting first is an option just to test the waters and know what you and your husband wants in a house?

babybluez

Thanx skybebe. I still considering it lah. Cos after all family and friends are still here and so used to singapore life. He may find it easier to adjust than me cos he's used to migrating. anyway, we have to get thro our wedding then consider. some more, cannot sell our HDB flat for another 3 years. if move over, got no more CPF to pay for it already. so many things to consider.

skybebe

Its definitely a big decision, Nicole, so glad you're taking it slow.
All the best, whatever your decision is! Take care and have fun preparing your wedding and on your wedding day!

cactuer

Hi skybebe, which part of Victoria are you staying in now? I used to stay in Frankston when I am studying there.
I had just submitted my application one month ago. Hopefully can get the Visa by this year, and will move over within the next 2 years.
Still wondering which part of Melbourne should I move to if my Visa is approved.
Any suggestions?

skybebe

Hi Jimmy

I live in the countryside, near Mt Buller, with my husband.
We prefer countryside life, ideal to raise kids.

As to where to live, it really depends on what kind of life you prefer and sometimes it depends on where your job would lead you to settle down, unless you don't need to work....

onzz

Hi people,

Sori to ask tis qn which probably haf been answered many times... it will really save me a lot of time if u can briefly answer me:

Q1)My sister got her OZ PR recently n migrating b4 end of the year... she suggests once she settles down end of tis year, i can apply as she can be my "sponsor" & "assurer", etc... Is this feasible? Can she juz act as an assurer next year since she would haf hardly stayed a year only?

Q2) I was told, once your PR is approved, the time starts counting, and u would need to stay in OZ 2 years at least within a period of 5 years... however i only intend to spend half my time in OZ about 5 years from now... in the sense, semi-retired... does dat mean i should only apply 5 years later? Is there anyway of securing the PR 1st, then use it only much later? Reason is that it is easier for me to get now in view of younger age.

Thanks in advance any enlightenment.

cactuer

Hi Skybebe,
thanks for sharing your experience. So you are living quite a distance away from the city, but I think you must be leading a really relax and stressless life there.
Think most probably my job will be near to the city and that is why I am looking at living somewhere within 1 hour drive from the city.
Looking forward to hearing from the migration department soon.

carndablues

onzz, in reply to your question, your sister can sponsor you but the points gained for family-sponsored migration is now quite minimal so you will require other qualifications to back you up
and yes, once you obtain your pr, the clock starts ticking, if you meet the 2 year out of 5 rule, then no probs, you'll get an extension to your visa, if you don't, you will need to prove to aussie immigration why you deserve an extension to your pr
you can get the visa now and only move to oz 2 years and 364 days later!

carndablues

jimmy, if you're more comfortable with living around "familiar" faces ie. other singaporeans, malaysians, honkies you should look to get a place around glen waverley or wantirna south...the prices have risen considerably over the last five or so years, but then again, so has the rest of melbourne!!!
and to skybebe, cos you live in the ski-resort region, you can get cheap season passes to the ski resorts...the best way to raise kids is to get them involved in outdoor activities, and skiing is up there with playing cricket and rowing!

cactuer

Hi Carnablues, thanks for sharing. But i'm just wondering whether staying in towns which is highly populated with Asians will be safer. But will keep my options open and find out more before deciding.
Please do share more info with me if there are any. Thanks!

carndablues

well, don't go to the king street nightclubs! no asians there, but definitely not safe for asians!!!
i grew up in australia, and as a chinese-aussie i have seen the racism grow progressively worse...outsiders say it's the older generation of aussies who are racist, but i can categorically say that is not the case, i experienced it once in my first 15 years in australia and for the last 10, i've seen a hell of a lot more! but the facts are, if you choose to live in a foreign country, be prepared to accept the fact that you're gonna be treated as such...you can't run away from it, wherever you live...
altho' the new areas around the kensington/flemington area (which used to be a slum btw, but is now selling at bukit timah prices) are more yuppiefied and the people there have slightly higher tolerance towards asians...hope this helps! oh yeh, if you wanna buy a honda or bmw, try to resist the temptation to "asianfy" it with the mugen stickers etc...kinda asking for scratches to appear...

cake

Hi Jojok

I applied for the skilled independent, so far have already rec request for medicals . They did not require me to go for IELTs. I think for Singaporeans, they don't need.

hope this helps

cactuer

Hi sunnygirl,

How long did it took the immigration dept to request for medicals from you?

I had submitted my application for more than 2 months but have yet to receive the letter informing me the CO for my application.

But I had already received the email confirmation of my application within 10 days of my application.

Appreciate if you can share you exp. Thanks.

cactuer

Hi Sunnygirl,

Thanks for sharing. I'm planning to go to Victoria. Exactly where in Victoria is not confirmed yet. I had previously lived somewhere abt 1 hour drive away from Melbourne city and is along the bay.
Hope to go back there again. Wht abt u? Where do you intend to live next time?

My hubby and I are thinking to work in Aussie, then after that, maybe apply for PR. I read thru the previous posts and have some qtns. Hopefully, someone could help...

i) I studied in an Aussie Uni via distance learning. Is it considered as studying in Australia to get the extra pts?

ii) Some of you gals were mentioning something on clocking in 2 of 5 yrs. Can i know what's that?

iii) To work and stay in Aussie, we're to apply for the General Skilled Migrant Visa (as per an international consultant told me). Assuming we have a job offer, we get to go over and stay there, how is the getting PR like? As in, we have to work for some years (if i didnt recall wrongly, it was 4) then applying for PR. Is the sequence correct?

iv) Do ppl apply for the work visa by themselves? Or do we have to go thru an agency and have some documents certified true copy? Or is it for a direct PR application only?

Sorry for the no. of qtns...

cake

hi skywolf

In response to ur qn
1) no, I believe this is not counted, u need to be in Aus physically.
2)2 out of 5 years is minimum stay in order to renew PR for another 5 years.
3)U can apply for PR here , then go there look for job. This is assuming u have enough points.Check out immi.gov.au
4)there are few types of work visa , some need employer to sponsor, others no need...best for u to read through the website and decide which is best for ur needs.

hope this helps

Hi Sunnygirl,

Thanks for the clarifications.

We had not decided to get a PR or not. So, we may be applying for the work visa first, get a job offer here, then move over to Brisbane.

I had emailed Aussie's immi dept, and got from them an interim reply only... 2 wks had gone, and they had not replied to me.

I wonder... anyone of you here had applied for the work visa yourself?

septembre

Hi Andrea!

You are still in Singapore? I thought you must have gone back Perth already. Know what, my hubby and I are not moving back anymore....Abit sad, but have to accept it.

apple77

I've just lodge my application for migration to Victoria.. most likely will stay in Melbourne. Just wanna check with those of you in Australia currently...
- Roughly how much will you need to sustain one year for a couple?
- Which area should I stay in that's nearer to town and yet not too $$? Or which is a good area to stay in?
- Should I buy a house before i migrate over or rent first? How much loan will I be able to get?
- How long did you gals took to get ur PR?
- Did you bring any furnitures or electronic appliances over? ROughly how much does it cost to bring everything over?

THanks, will be grateful for any replies

vvbbb

NSL,

I got my PR 3yrs ago, went there 2 yrs ago and came back SG a year ago. But i went to Sydney so can't help much.

I brought with me only ~AUD5K, and it could last for 3-4mths, for couples I think it shd be less. So prob about A$15K would be comfortable. But need to incurr relocation cost (airtickets, deposit for rental)

Suggest that you go for rental first until u know the area n decide which area u prefer (maybe nearer to office)

It took me 1yr2mths to get my PR.

Hmm, if your luggage allows, bring some electronic stuff cos basically, everthing's there more expensive (GST is higher too). Especially clothes, it's cheaper in SG, esp if u r smaller sizes.

Well, that's just my experience. I didn't send anything over so prob the rest could contribute more info

licoaz

My FH is an Australian, and I am supposed to apply for a Spouse Visa after the solemnisation (which, is together with the customary).

May I ask how do I go about doing it? and What is the lead time needed for them to grant my application? And also, is it a sure grant thing since my FH is aussie? Many thanks in advance!

rms78

Hi hi.. i got a question...
I am an IT professional and according to the www.acs.org.au, i need my certifications to be certified. Who can i get it certified by ??? Does Australia High Comm do this ??

A seperate qn all together.. My wife is going to study in melbourne and i was hoping to tag along her student visa and work first like being a waiter or wash plates.. .. I am not sure but i checked the website and according to this http://www.immi.gov.au/study/working/you_should_know.htm, i shd be able to work 20hrs per week ?? Does anyone knows if this is possible ?

Thanks !

migrationagent

Roy,

Documents can be certified by a lawyer or notary public in Singapore. The high comm does it but its quite expensive (around $20). A lawyer should do for around $3-5. Some will try and rip you off for $10-15.

For ACS, you normally will need a BA in IT plus 4 years experience. (There are other paths).

Yes you can apply for work rights as a spouse of a student visa holder.

James Alan Hall
Registered Migration Agent 0428740

migrationagent

Evidence of english is required for Singaporeans, however if you have a diploma or degree that was studied FULL TIME for at least 2 YEARS then you can request an exemption from the IELTS.

Otherwise if you just have GCE, you will need to do the IELTS test.

James Alan Hall

----

Hi Jojok

I applied for the skilled independent, so far have already rec request for medicals . They did not require me to go for IELTs. I think for Singaporeans, they don't need.

hope this helps

migrationagent

Onzz,

For Skilled Australian Sponsored, she can be your sponsor immediately when she gets the PR.

For Designated Area SPonsored, she needs to have been resident in that area in Australia for at least 12 months.

To be your assurer she would need to have at least 2 years of tax returns in Australia, so that will not be possible at this stage.

James Alan Hall
www.aumigrate.com
----
Hi people,

Sori to ask tis qn which probably haf been answered many times... it will really save me a lot of time if u can briefly answer me:

Q1)My sister got her OZ PR recently n migrating b4 end of the year... she suggests once she settles down end of tis year, i can apply as she can be my "sponsor" & "assurer", etc... Is this feasible? Can she juz act as an assurer next year since she would haf hardly stayed a year only?

Q2) I was told, once your PR is approved, the time starts counting, and u would need to stay in OZ 2 years at least within a period of 5 years... however i only intend to spend half my time in OZ about 5 years from now... in the sense, semi-retired... does dat mean i should only apply 5 years later? Is there anyway of securing the PR 1st, then use it only much later? Reason is that it is easier for me to get now in view of younger age.

migrationagent

The 2 out of 5 years is not quite fully understood by most people.

At the end of 5 years you no longer have a visa to travel into Australia as a PR (think of it as a re-entry permit).

That means if you move to Australia after 4 years and 364 days, you are ok. You can continue to stay on in Australia after the 5 year mark, but if you leave Australia without holding a valid return visa (called Resident Return Visa) you will have difficult in retaining your PR.

If you do this, after you have then lived for 2 years in Australia you can apply for the visa, even though its after 5 years.

Also important to note, ANY one in your family unit can meet the 2 year requirement. So if your child is in school in Australia, or your spouse is living in Australia, and they have the 2 years, then you are covered.

James Alan Hall
www.aumigrate.com
----
Hi people,

jewelmelody

Hi James Alan Hall,
Which state you are based in ?

My fiance applied and all imigration process are processed and reviewed in Adelaine.

jewelmelody

HI James Alan Hall.

I have a question to seek your expertise. My fiance got his PR & valid for 5 years. What about after 5 years? He has to return to Australia for good?

Another issue while his application was being processed, the immigration require my medical report and personal character assessment and all was approved and kept by the immigration at Adelaine.
Next time, if my fiance decide to stay there , does he need to apply a "dependent visa" for me?
The PR is granted to him only and not me but when do I need to go thru the medical checkup and yet no PR was issued to me ?

Thanks for your time.

tweetie

Hi James Alan Hall,

I hv a query to this PR thingy which you explained earlier.

If let's say out of 5 yrs, we have to fulfil 2yrs and you enter Australia during the 3rd yr and travel intermittently back and forth out of Australia for hols and visits. Cumulatively, strictly speaking, you managed to fulfil 1.8yrs stay in Australia. The rest of 0.2yrs which you did not make up was due to hols and home visits, will this affect the rnwl status of yr PR since the requirement is 2 yrs.

I m v puzzled and confused with the answer you gave. If after the 5th yr when yr Visa expires, what happens? Do they grant u an auto PR or option to citizenship?

Would like to apply for the PR but wanna get the facts clear.

I reckon this is what everyone is trying to ask too.

Tweetie

vvbbb

James Allan Hall,

Thanks for your info. I thought that i'd lost all hope abt going back to oz. My visa expired Apr07 and i only stayed in oz for 1 year, so to fulfil the 2 yrs req, i hv to leave for oz by Apr06. But my wedding is next year and we don't plan to migrate right away. So according to your info, i could still enter oz (and live there) 1 day before my visa expired, right? Could i leave oz for holiday after entering?

I planned to sponsor my hubby after my wedding next year, will his PR also expired same time as me?

Sigh, even migrate still hv to think abt HDB loan.

migrationagent

I'm based in Singapore, not Australia (I am Australian though)

James

----

Jewelmelody (jewelmelody)

Posted on Wednesday, September 21, 2005 - 1:56 pm: Edit Post Print Post
Hi James Alan Hall,
Which state you are based in ?

My fiance applied and all imigration process are processed and reviewed in Adelaine.