"An Chuang (安床)"

sushibella

hi bliss,

i m same situation as u..my hubby will temp stay with me after our AD...till we find our own flat thru ballot (nov) or resale lor

i cant really an chuang cos i just downgraded to 3-rm flat..the bdrm not as spacious as my prev flat..current is super single bed..if change queen bed where my pc table & book shelf goin to go?

Really at a dilemma.....change to queen or change just the super twin mattress or just change bedsheet..

headache!!

aiko

from what I understand, the couple themselves or the couple's parents can an(1)chuang(2). The mattress need not be new one. The couple can sleep on it before the an(1) chunag(2) auspicious date. However, i think it will not be good if you let others sleep on the bed lah. (my personal opinion)
On the day to an(1) chuang(2), change the bedsheets and do not sleep on it anymore till AD. Hope this helps.

unyxly

hi, does anybody know whether the boy who is suppose to jump/roll on the bed is to do it on AD or on the an-chuang day?

worrying that if the boy "performs" on the actual day, my new bed sheet will be unbearable! Anybody know what to go? Pls advise? Thx!

jam75

anyone an chuang 1 day b4 AD??? izzit a muz to do it??? cos IL choose a dat 1 day b4 AD @1am so thinking v troublesome wanna her to change date but say dis is a auspicious date & time...faint..

dolphin48

gals, was also just told that bride not supposed to be in the room when doing the an chuang so that means the couple cannot an themselves then?

bluebells

Unyx,

If you want a boy to jump / roll on your bed, it's suppose to be on the AD, after the newly-wed couple has at least taken a seat on the bed hor.

Jam75,

I thought the bride and groom cannot see each other on the day prior to the AD?

Daphne,

Not very true lah. My husband and I did it ourselves. However, some people believe that if you get your grandparents who have been married for a long time to An Chuang for you, then your marriage will also be long lasting like theirs.

jam75

bluebells,
according to my sis an chuang bride no nid to b there...tink my PIL will an chuang for us....heard ppl said cannot c each other 1 day prior to AD but tink now modern liow...tink can...

bluebells

Aiya, truthfully, it's really what you are comfortable with. My PIL do not enjoy a warm relationship and I am very particular about my bedroom, so my reasoning to anyone who suggested getting someone else to help us An Chuang is that, if the couple helping us to AC is leading a good life and have warm relationship with each other, fine. But if the couple , and is constantly in disagreement, would my marriage life take after them if they AC for me? So we did it ourselves. To be fair mah. If PIL do it, then my parents asked why can't they do it for us instead, or vice versa, I will be in trouble. So, it's really up to you. We were comfortable doing it ourselves. Besides, that means I don't have to give them a set of my house keys loh.

jasermine

for my case is after calculating the auspicious date etc. the shifu said my and my HTB did not "chong" on tt day. so both bride and groom can be ard during the an chuang. is not necessary though since PIL are there to do the an chuang. if not jus do it urself. really depends on wat u believe or u are "pandang" or not

newbbi79

hi Jasermine,
for my case hor, i cannot be ard when my in laws an chuan for us lor...if not will have 3rd party lor... i also duno true anot cos my FS master said so lor... well, since we asked him to select a date for us, so better to follow lor =)

unyxly

seems like everybody has different ways of doing AC. really hard to judge which is the correct way to do it. very headache arh...

blissfulme

hmm.. i guess im the simplest here. we will juz change brandnew sheets one day before AD. For me, this is just a symbolic gesture of a gd life together.

no boy to jump on my nicely made bed! no way.

dear ladies, all these are just customs and tradition. of coz, u can follow strictly, but pls do not get stressed over such stuff... there's lots of stuff to sweat over.

and also, whether we lead a gd life, have how kids, maily depends on the newly-weds' hardwork.

this is YOUR wedding, so u must be the Happiest Person out of the whole event (of coz including your FH lah).. otherwise, why go thru so much fuss and leaving yourself miserable.

astrogirl

may i noe wat do we nid to do for An Chuang? When should we An Chuang? Me & hubby intending to move into our new hse officially (on good date) after our AD. But mayb before AD will occasionally (say once a week) go there and stay.

kittyhello

An Chuang
I need advices on "An Chuang"

Wat is the procedure ?

My parents will be helping us to "An Chuang", so on tat day can i be around or just my parents and my hubby ?

btw my "An Chuang" Date and "GDL" date the same ... think will be very tired liao

madeinjapan

Maybe u can go to Balestier road "Guan Yin " temple, ask those old lady there? my hse "Dong TU" (start renov) and ROM date i get it from there. They will help you find a good date to carry out these things. after tat jus give them an angbao for heng heng..

astrogirl

can anyone pls advise me?

may i noe wat do we nid to do for An Chuang? When should we An Chuang? Me & hubby intending to move into our new hse officially (on good date) after our AD. But mayb before AD will occasionally (say once a week) go there and stay.

ahmei

hi astrogirl, usually the an chuang date will need to be an auspicious date too..u may need to check with the sifu...

pastillies

any brides out there care to clarify on the procedure for "An Chuang"??

I was told by a fengshui master that on the day on the "AN CHUANG", that night itself have to have someone sleep on the bed. This is so to have "Ren Qi". He says that it's the same idea behind getting kids to jump on the bed.

However I also know that some other sayings are that no one is to sleep on the bed (even the couple) until after the actual wedding day. Moreover it's also believe that the couple shd be the 1st persons to be sleepin on their new bed. Yet if no one is to be on the bed until after the actual wedding, then why we can allow children to be jumping on the bed during the wedding day??

there's some contridiciton here....so any idea??

confuse....

mao2006

Hi, I'm new to this thread, have read all the previous post in this thread, but one question: after we have "an chuang", can the bride and groom still sleep in the room (sleep on another mattress on the floor) before AD?

jhoo

me also dun intend to buy a new mattress as now i have a queen size bed and wonder where i should keep it if i buy a new one for An chuan. I will buy a divan, new set of bedsheet and during an chuan, just put everything will do

sweety_girl

hi yip waimun,

An chuang means the actual positioning of ur bed. Auspicious date and time must be taken into consideration. Otherwise, it may cause some distruption to your work or fortune.

I engaged Hui Master to calculate the auspicious date of wedding. He provide few alternatives based on my request. In addition, he oso give some precious tips FOC to us.... My hubby and me are thankful to him.

Thumb up for his prefoessional and sincere serivce. Cheers!!

beet

Anyone pls help......Any idea what is "Yan Ji" (to place each at 4 corners of bed under mattress) during "An Chuang"????

wsj

Hi beet

I happened to see an article on "an chuang" & "guo da li" in this week's 'You Weekly', which mentioned about the "Yan Ji".

If i didn't remember wrongly from what i read, is to put some small red packets labelled "da" or "xiao" at 4 corners of the bed.

Which is something i didn't do, instead i was instructed to put these small red packets at all the corners i can find in woredrode, cabinets, drawers, etc in the bedroom to bless the bride (or the couple) for good connections ("yuan").

man_tou_bear

Can someone tell me the EXACT procedure of an chuang? I know have to put the yan ji and such. what else must i do? can touch the bed aft that? must offer fruits? and wat does it mean by positioning the bed?

getting confused here... so many ways of doing it!!

beet

Hi Jane,

Tks for your explanation.

Frankly, I still do not understand what is "Yan Ji".

Btw, u have mentioned to put some small red packets labelled "da" or "xiao" at 4 corners of the bed, do u mean just write those chinese wording "da" & "xiao" onto the red packet??? Not buy those kind of dry aupicious food and pack inside the red packet ahh?????

wsj

hi beet
When i bought the red packets, they are already labelled "da" or "xiao", alternaltively, you may write those wordings yourself. Inside the packet are coins, probably 2 ten cents by sense of touch, so far after so long, i have not opened them and take a look inside.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=3&post=1072012#POST1072012

Hi Bear
as i mentioned in my previous, details are published in this week's U magazine. or you may look into the archives of this thread.

anyway, different dialects practice slightly differently, so, which dialect is the groom's side so can advise from there?

wsj

hi Bear
The truth is, the excel file was posted by a fellow bride.

Anyway, to answer your question: it means, if the couple is the ones who 'an chuan' instead of getting some 'sen seh' to do (i mean anyone else to 'an chuan'), don't need to give ang bao to the person(s).

Well, as for my case, i do remember giving my mother-in-law an angbao because she's the one who does all these things.

That's a good website you found! Good work!

kenjoc

Sorry ar..

I know An Chuan need to see date, but must see time also ar?

Sidetrack a bit, for the AD customary ceremony rite, normally we will need to see the time rite?

That time, is for the couple to reach the groom house or for the groom to reach the bride house?

From my own knowledge, it's for the couple to reach the groom house, but my future MIL said it's the time for the groom to reach my house.

Can anyone advised?

matsu

Juz got mine, we were told to an chuan timing is 9am to 11am.

AD customary timing is for couple to enter groom's hse.

puppy26

My PIL are loving till this age, but both are poor and slog their lives for a living, so are they considered blissful???

matsu

Think good blissful in tradition means ppl who have son & grand son & good life (quite well to do).

Think traditionally, loving couple not really consider blissing.

If no 1 suitable then couple can also 'an chuan' themselves.

wsj

hi puppy, how about fixing an chuang date on a weekend or a non-teaching (i mean non-working) day?

ojaneo

i am staying in my hubby house wif PIL, we haven get our bed yet, now goin 2 pre for AD cuming on Sept. all of new furniture cannot use till AD meh? hw abt wardrobe ler? then all of my clothes where can i keep? after AC we cannot sleep on floor also meh?
really confuse abt AC, who can help me & give me advise?

yuki31

jane,me too staying with my PIL.
my AC is 1 week before my AD in jan so after AC we are not suppose to sleep on the bed only ...the waredrobe n sleeping on the floor is ok for us...

sotonggal

Understand tat in normal cases, an chuang normally is done by the couple.

What happen is hubby on tat day is busy & cannot take off?

mrsyap

My AC is few days before AD. We have not bought the bed yet. We wanted to buy the bed now but i think FIL says better not. So we will be buying the bed nearer to our AD. Then confirm heard that after AC, CANNOT sleep CANNOT touch the bed at all, not even the couple. And i think only the couple can go into the room to take their things. But not touch the bed/sit on the bed... poor hubby, has to sleep either on the sofa or on the floor for few days... initially wanted to get a very blessed lady to AC for us, but I think we will do it ourselves since we can do it. I think it's better. Actually the procedure is what?? and how to?? Anyone can guide me??

ngfifi

Hi Mrs Yap

Uve got the most info on AC correctly.

Yes, it is true that only couple can enter the room after ur PIL had AC for you and ur FH will hve to slp on the sofa juz for that few days

As for procedure, its actually rather simple. Chk a hour which is gd for both the couple, then get ur PIL to put the "yanji" on 4 corner of the need and change the bedsheet for u

Thats all