"An Chuang (安床)"

Hi keruri, can I get one to sleep first then when the customary date get nearer, i just change to another mattress?

Hi folks,

My house will be ready only end of next year and we will be leaving with in laws after AD. So we have no intention of buying new bed for now.
Is this ok? How to proceed with ah chuang?

Hi Caroline,

I need the list too pls. Thanks.

Dear Caroline:

If it's ok with you, and you're still reading the thread, can you please email me your list too?

107549.gif

Dear brides to be:

FYI, i just clicked on Caroline's profile and the last she logged in here was March 04, so she may not be reading all these requests already...

Is there anyone else who have gotten the list and wldnt mind emailing to the rest of us here?

Thanks!!!

Hi adeline

i am in the same situation as you....new house will be ready in 5 years time so will be living with in-laws after AD but i still have to buy a new bed....got this saying that something bad or maybe will have no children if dun change to new bed.

Can anyone help... can we put our mattress on the bed or should we leave it standing until an chuang then put on the bed?

Hi Dear & Coven

Thank you very much for your advises and confirmation... okie, now i feel better... i oso leave it standing. Congrats to both of you!

Dear ALL, can someone help me. my MIL is that kind, ultra ultra superstitious. so we are having the chinese candles (dragon & phoenix). the prob is she insist on keeping watch on the candles the WHOLE NITE before the wedding.... how can i tell her that i really need my beauty sleep instead of this??????

one more thing, she claims that on the day of WEDDING, cannot go out to take photos after returning to the male's place.....must stay at home else it'll be unauspicious.....

i am getting married next yr, and can forsee a lot of prob coming my way.

for example, choosing the wedding date alone is a headache. my grandmother chose the date for us, and my MIL is unhappy initially cuz the date falls on my birthday month, and she claims it will be unlucky.
my mil likes to insist things to be done her way, but it'll be my wedding ya???? i dun wish to put my hubby in a difficult position....just wish that the whole thing will be a fun event for everyone.
anyone out there facing the same prob?

Hi Geri

Very telok for you for having this type of MIL , fortunately mine is still ok and sometimes when she made certain request , I'll just show my temper. Well, I'm very excited abt this but hope everything will goes off soon.

hi adeline,

so r u goin 2 an chuang??

the date to an chuang is one day before my AD and I do not intend to meet my HB on that day... according to my frends, they told me that an chuang should be done by a couple.. who can we approach to do it.. initially we thought of his sister n hb coz their life quite good... but my mum say cannot.. how how?? can we get frends to help??

bluey,

no need cos my new hse will be ready 1 year after AD. so we din buy any new bed and hence no an chuang.

1, choose a good day and time (in chinese date suit for an chuang)

2, choose a good life person

3, prepare lotus seeds, chopsticks, red packet, red dates etc keep in the seperate red packets then put under the mattress.

4, let a boy jumpping on the mattress a while (will give birth a boy)

5, that all

dear all
not sure if this thread is still reviving. my hubby (already rom but havent customary) will be moving in to our home soon. reno is abt to complete. customary will be probably 1-2 years later. do we still need to go thr an chuang since customary will not be so soon and we are aleady intending to move in?

need advices..thanks..

hi tulip
From my understanding (I grown up in a "feng shui" family), an chuang is more for like to ensure that everything run smoothly after your wedding... coz I know that if the bed is placed wrongly, it will affect the couples' relationship etc...
But if you are not superstitious, then don't bother...

hi tulip,

Me and my husband rom 2 years later then customary. But we do an chuang before rom with choosen date by some feng shui master.

My MIL (mum-in-law) very superstitious, she said it's affect relationship and "chuan zhong jie dai" (baby la)..

However, it like what butter mention, if you are not superstitious & Parents doesn't make noice.. don't bother..

my mum is rather particular abt the an chuang things that it must be done like weeks before our customary and that I cannot sleep on it kind of thing.

but my hubby is having some back problems and our house is long ready, so we wanted to buy a mattress and just change the bedsheet nearer to our customary. is it ok? right now, we're sleeping on those 2" mattress and its really uncomfortable.

what is exactly the rationale for doing all these...other than have a happy life and gave birth. we will select an auspicious date and time for the "an chuang" though...won't that suffice?

please help....

Hi... just like to find out whether can the mattress still be 'an' when it is already placed in its position when the mattress was delivered. Both mi n HB dunno abt such customs. So when I told my mum the bed has been delivered.... she jumped her head off. Can we now find a good date from a master n just jia jia push the mattress?

hi gal,
so long as e bed is new & plastic cover not removed its okie, juz get a blissful person to do e an chuang for u. But muz remb his or her horoscope dun clashes with u & ur FH will do

Hi loolala.... I'm afraid the plastic sheet has been removed n I hv oredi placed a new bedsheet over the mattress. Hw?

Hi Winnie,

Well it all depends on each belief lor... for my case & the usual that i heard, so long as the bed is new (meaning no one had slept on it before) the removal of the plastic sheet is fine...

& the new bedsheet for your bed must not be washed before.. (meaning even when its brand new, some like to wash it first before using.. that is a no no....)

then get an elderly to an chuang for u can liao.. if no one then u & ur hb can an chuang yourself... just go to the chinatown store, buy the pre-packed an chuang stuff & do the necessary lor... its ok one...

most importantly is that after you an chuang, MAKE SURE no one enter ur masterbedroom except for u & ur hb & NO ONE touches ur bed...

just my 2 cents worth

Hi skylar

Thks so much. I din know all these customs. If I have already placed a washed before bedsheet on the mattress, is it still okie for me to buy another new bedsheet n use it for the an chuang nearer my wedding date?

Winnie,

Yes, u can just buy a brand new sheet for your bed, dun wash it & then use it for ur an chuang lor.. no probs!

a note of reminder... remember to use bedsheets as red as possible for an chuang... like 90% red to other colors... Aussino do have a few range on that... noticed that their latest arrival do have the "Xi" word on the bedsheets too! Cool...

the color red is to avoid those "dirty" stuff to ur bedroom.... another myth to belive rather than not ya!

Winnie,
not to worry, do you hv a bed frame? If yes den remove e mattress, place it on one side standing, get some 'shi liu' + water to clean e entire bedframe. Den choose an auspicious date, REM!DONT SELECT THE FOLLOWING DAYS 4 UR AN CHUANG :3rd,7th,13,18,22 & 27 ON CHINESE CALANDER!!! Get e Blissful elderly to place the matress back for you. Since den no one is allowed to touch ur bed except boys under 12 years old. A young boy muz sleep with ur FH on e eve b4 ur actual day.

Well,
must say that loolala here is more into belief than not ya!

as for the young boy touching your bed or sleeping with ur FH, there is always a good & bad side to all myths...

guess the good side of that is that you will have a son soon enough...but the down side is that its better not to have any kids touch ur bed at all as the behaviour of ur future kids might take onto the kid who touch it thus meaning that you might have more of a little trouble taking care of ur BB lor....

again.. its up to individual truely

hi sweetipie,
not necessary to b old ppl so long as that person is blissful enuff with 3 generation intact can liao...most imp is his or her horoscope is urs or ur FH 'san he' or 'liu he' can liao....

hi sweetipie / loolala,

actually i really do think that you all might have the mis-concept of an chuang...

u dun really need old blissful pple to do for u all.. so long as some one who knows can do for u all liao... some couples even do it themselves.. its perfectly fine...

the old pple with 3 generation thingy is more for "Shu Toh" meaning the combing of ur hair on the eve of ur wedding nite lah....

HI

Have some qn cos completely don't understand An Chuang. If i am going to stay with MIL and the room that my HB is currently sleeping will be our room, then after we place the new mattress, can he sleep on it or he has to sleep somewhere and don't touch the bed? Thanks!

Daphne,

Basically if you're staying with ur MIL, then by rite, after he place the new mattress onto the bed, he is not supposed to sleep on it first... till an chuang & then ur wedding.....

perhaps u can get him to sleep on the flr in the meantime

I face the same situation with Daphne. Could you advise when to an chuang? I mean how many days before our AD? I understand that only my hubby and myself can enter the room after an chuang. You mean my MIL cannot even enter our room during the eve of our AD?

HI skylar

not sure if my hubby will like the idea of sleeping on the flr in the meantime...

Luckily our an chuang date is just 4 days apart from the AD. But can MIL enter the room at all?
Also, I heard from my mum that an chuang besides placing of bed, also got wardrobe and dressing table???

CSP, I got the date for an chuang when i went to check on the date for AD.

CSP,
basically by right, no one is supposed to enter ur room lor after an chuang except for the couple.. but if u dun mind ur MIL to enter, then its fine too... the reason due to because pple worried that "whoever" who enter the room might "chong" the wedding couple lor.....

That is why they dun allow anyone to enter the room at all…
If ur staying with ur MIL, in order to avoid anyone to enter ur room after an chuang, perhaps u can an chuang much closer to ur AD lor, like maybe 3 days before ur AD (just check on the calendar for any good dates will do lor)

Daphne,
Guess ur hb will just have to make do with it lor, anyways, urs is just 4 days apart, so it should not be too big of a problem…

Like wat ur mom mentioned, basically when u an chuang, u will place a Xi word round tray with all the red dates, oranges, ang baos on it & place it in the middle of ur bed when you all had change ur new bedsheets ya!

Besides that, you will also need to place 2 lamps at the side of ur bed (if u do have a small table) with the usual stuff, (eg: needles, threads… clogs.. all these can be bought at those wedding shops at Chinatown)

As for ur wardrobe, I would think your mom is talking about placing some “gou kok” packets of lucky coins… (also can be bought in those shops) in all corners of ur wardrobes….

Hope tis helps

Daphne
to add on what was mentioned.

If tradition is insisted not to sleep on the bed after an chuan, he have no choice but to sleep on the floor at the moment, that's what my hubby did for a week (because is one week apart, and we already lived together in the new house)

As for wardrobe and dressing table, my mum called it 'yuan' or 'yan', it is coins wrapped in red packets (i guess by the sound of the word is to symbolise to have good acquitances with whoever to come in contact after the wedding).

These small rectangular packets is to put at all corners in drawers and compartments of wardrobe and dressing table.

Anyway bascially, for the older generation, furnitures in the room cannot be shifted after an chuan, so, probably that's why, they have the idea of "an <everything>" in the room.

Sorry to intrude, but if we ald staying together at the hse, do we need to get a new bed?

An Chuang is for moving in together or for customary ah??? I very confused!

Jane gave a very clear account of what is to be done after the an chuang or wat is to be moved or not to... like she mentioned, this is basically the older tradition belief but to me, its better to believe in it than not lor.. hahaha...

Suelynn,

An chuang is basically for all new couples who will be sleeping together on a bed lor.. hahaha... but more for the customary lah...

if u all are already staying in the hse, so meaning your bed is old rite? so for an chuang purpose, others will keep the bed lor... but the mattress must be new... so just go get a new mattress &amp; dun sleep on it until u an chuang lor

suelynn

like what skylar said, is just for customary..

Me and hubby had stayed and slept in the house for more than a year... and we actually 'an chuan' twice because of my traditional MIL!

First time before we can actually slept on it when we first bought the bed (not for customary wedding purposes, more for 'let fire in', in cantonese 'lok fo'), which basically only sprinkle some 'holy water' and putting in the mattress.

Second time is for the customary wedding :-/, which we merely change the matress cover to the red coloured traditional one, and put the wedding stuff on/near the bed.

Hi gals out there. My An Chuang is going to be done by my in-laws and hubby. The date I got from 1 shifu at Ang Mo Kio. My mum every year go to him for 'Cha Gay men' (Hokkien) meaning check whole family's well being n luck, etc. He is v accurate wan. And we just give him hongbao as thanks. Amt up to us.

Anyway back to An Chuang issue. After the procedure is done, we have to close the door to our room. No one is to open including me n hubby. It can be opened only on our Actual wedding day n it's gonna be open by me n him only. Then on our wedding day itself, no one is allowed to touch and lie on our bed except us. Tats all.
Hope I can help u gals out there.

huh cannot open the door of the room till AD?
My An Chung date is like 12 days b4 my AD .. then my room will be dusty loh.. hummz

Ya El szie. I was told of that lor. not to open e door til our AD. Even my fren oso follows tat. Think mayb u can arrange another date tat is closer to ur AD lor.

me really blur abt this "an chuan" thing.
Pls advise...

I will be temporary staying with my inlaws after my wedding, while own hse is under renovation.
so meaning, i need to an chuan @ my in laws place?
then after i got my new hse, do i need to an chuan again if i decide to buy a new bed.