"An Chuang (安床)"

autumnair

Can someone pls tell me the exact procedures for An Chuang?? I got the shock of my life when my MIL said we must get someone (of course a guy lah) to sleep with my hubby on our bed for one nite. Is it true?? I dun like the idea of someone sleeping on our bed when i hv not even slept on it... Did any of u skip this step?

I thot An Chuang means my FIL n MIL will lay the bedsheets for us n put ang pows n some oranges / dried food on the bed?? also not necessary to hv a boy to jump on the bed, rite??

doremon

Hi autumnair,

what i understand is that we have to pick a good date to shift our new bed to the position we want and then get a lot of children to roll on the bed.

Never heard of getting a guy to sleep on the new bed. :p

BTw, anyone can advice is there any other quicker method to "An Chuang"?

december

Hi autumnair/ doremon,

I'm having a "an chuang" thingy... went with my husband and mum to see a geomancer to select a auspicious date and time (so as long it does not clash with ours and our parents' birth years. We'll have our bed and mattress delivered and set up but not moved to the actual position... geomancer said can be just once inch apart. On that auspicious day and time, either the couple or couple with either parents move the bed to the right position, spread the bedsheet... can already! no children needed....

hope this helps!

autumnair

Hi December,

We dun intend to see a geomancer. We hv selected the auspicious date by looking at those calendars tt indicates those good things to do n bad things to avoid for everyday. The date we pick says it is suitable for 'an chuang' n the animal horoscope for tt day dun clash wif ours n our parents.

As for the bed n mattress, mine was delivered 2 mths ago n moved to the bedrm already except no bedsheets on it.... the mattress's plastic cover is still intact. Your geomancer said even move one inch also count as 'an chuang', is it?

last nite, my mil told me forget abt 'an chuang' if we r not getting anyone to sleep on the bed... i think she must hv heard this nonsense fr those san1 gu1 liu4 po2!! i dun think any of u hv heard of this procedure, rite?? i dun think my mum heard of it...i dun dare to tell her tt my mil ask me to forget the whole thing...i think she will be very angry if she learns abt it....

wat abt other brides?? how do u all 'an chuang'??

ycll76

hi, i oni noe tat d bed must be brand new.. its ok for hubby to sleep first (nvr heard of getting a diff person esp a guy to sleep on) but definitely not brides..

instead on d AD, they will get a few cute boys to jump onto ur bed.. tis signifies a cute, chubby baby boy to arrive

december

Hi autumnair,

guess this is a problem with mothers and mils. my mom insisted that we see the geomancer but my mil laughed abt it! luckily, my mil don't really care if we do it or not, so i only need to pacify my mom.

well, one thing u can do is to find a geomancer and get him to doublecheck on the date that u have selected and ask him what is the procedures for an chuang. then can do back and tell both mom and mil that you have an expert's opinion... must follow the expert! if u want to, can even bring them along, then they won't listen to those san gu liu po!

just a thot...

babyvon

Hi Autumnair,

I oni hrd tt the bed must be new & u must get a mre senior couple than both u & ur hubby, whose marriage's blissful to do it for u. Just hv to plc the mattress in plc, say good words for the couple, bless'g them!

I did hr abt gett'g a guy to slp on the bed a nite b4 too but dunno wat's tt for?

As for me & my hubby, we hv oreadi stayed in our new plc for a yr since we ROMed last yr... My mom did insist tt we get a new mattress...but i told her it's a waste...mreovr we've oreadi slept peacefully in it, y bother to chg? Perhaps just new sets of pillows, bolster, bedcheets will do.

These days, we reali dun bother lah. It's up to one's beliefs...It's just smthg which had been created by man & distorted by man himself so dun b too bothered. Wat's most impt's both u & ur hubby must be hapi & b blessed by God! Cheers!

kerenelu

Hi Babyvon,

For an chuang, we can also do it ourselves. No ned to get elders to do it. If get elders to do it, must give them red packets :p We do ourselves, no need "lugi" kekekekee...

I heard can just flip the mattress over, then consider an chuang liao

kerenelu

Hi babyvon,

hahaa, that's what i heard.. kekeee... think younger generation dun care such thing nowadays lah... also depends on how bantang we are lor.. kekekee...

andreal

Hi ppl,
I will nid to do 'an chuang' but since my new hse haven come yet, can we still do it at my hubby's hse?

The prob oso is he is sharing the same room with his bro...tos double deck bed. MIL insist dat we nid to get a new 'queen bed' to an chuang...issit true? Cos if like dat, my hubby's bedroom consider quite cramp since there's no way his bro can move out to slp elsewhere.

Can we an chuang at my hse instead? cos i got a room to myself, in dat case if put the double bed not a prob.

Let to her advice fr u all

kerenelu

Hi Andreal,

yah, i do agree with orosalind. Think need to an the bed at the place where u two will be staying.

Hmm, are u staying with in laws for the time being? If yes, u need to get a new bed to an chuang then shift the bed over to new place once the house is ready.

happybride

Hi Andreal
An Chuan at the place tt u r staying, it's must ur new bed tt u n hubby will be sleeping after AD.
If u r staying with in-laws, then the bed must be An at in-laws' place. then shift the bed to new house when ready.
To An Chuan is to bless with marriage life and to bless u with children, so of course u must sleep on the bed, to get the blessing

delight

Hi Autumnair,

Apparently in my husband's family it has been a tradition that either your future husband suppose to sleep with his brother or his best friend the night before the wedding date... Its supposedly to symbolize that your first child will be a son... I got my mother in law to do the "An chuang" something like she got 8 chinese ancient coins... distribute them into 4 red packets... and etc... If you want the steps of it let me know... she pass me a copy but its in mandarin... Just post your e-mail address and I will send you... I let her do what ever she wants cause if like I don't bore her a son... at least she cannot blame that I never did this and that.... But its all up to you gals... I was laughing non-stop when I heard this... Cause it feels like its encouraging homosexual activity... Sorry :)

andreal

hey gerls!!
i just bk fr leave so now then check on this thread :p
Really appreciate ur replies, so 1 thing for sure is i gota 'an' the bed at my ILs place if im staying there b4 i move to my new hse...

chialat just dun know where is hubby's bro gona slp liao, hv a feeling dat my customary will be delayed till hse come hmmm.

Anyway thks for the advices!

hoshi5

Yes, agree with Caroline...
Just leave it everything to ur in-laws.. at least they won't complain if anything happen... hahah..
My in-laws did everything while I was in the office! I didn't even know anything until they called me asking me where is my quilt cover!!!
I was so shocked!!....

Anyway, after the 'an chuang' u r not supposed to move or touch the bed for 3 days...

big_apple

I can't help laughing while reading this thread. It was certainly very amusing reading all these customs, traditions and beliefs. Just like to share my experience:

i. Despite some raised eyebrowns, I bought a storage bed for practical reasons and also to prevent the possibility that one of my relatives decides to put a rooster n hen underneath the bed and see which comes out first to try n predict our first born. (She did that to my cousin and the rooster shit in the room... the bride cried that day... hai...)

ii. I did not get any geomancer to determine position and timing. Just did what i think was right given the limited space in e bedroom. I did sleep on the bed prior to the AD (ALONE!). However, I did change to a brand new bedsheet before AD.

iii. I got my niece n nephew to jump on the bed on the AD and gave them angpow.

That is about all I did and I have a son a yr after. When I moved to my new house, I left the storage bed there and had totally brand new furnitures

Customs and traditions are certainly interesting to know and follow but my position is that it should make some sense and not cause unnecessary "anxiety" to the people.

I hope you people have fun

shigeru

I am crazy about feng shui. So basically you have to choose an auspicious date to "An Chuan" then you have to place the bed according to your feng shui direction. Everyone has 4 different directions. If you & your Hubby have a different direction. Always follow your Hubby's feng Shui direction bcos he is the bread-winner of the family so very important person. OK! Always point your head to one of the 4 feng shui directions when you sleep on the bed. Just get a small chubby boy to jump or roll over your new bed can liao. How to know your 4 good feng shui direction go to this website: http://www.wofs.com and you can find your personal KUA number & your 4 lucky & good directions. It will do. Don't have to be so complicated.

yuanyuan

Hey shigeru75,
U sound so pro leh. Think u can set a "Feng Shui" thread here, sure got supporters 1.
Anyway, e site u gave is quite useful. Thank alot.

shigeru

Hi Caroline,

Your "Recipe" is "selling" like hot cakes!!! Hahahahah....... you must be very busy emailing so many people. Kekekekeke......... since you are willing to share your "recipe", I think you must well cut & paste your "recipe" here & they can print it out themselves here & you do not have to be so busy liao. right? Just a suggestion.

jo23

My house is in the process of renovating now and I will be having my ROM in may. As for AD, it yet to be confirm. My mum keeping telling me that I cannot buy my bed now cos to her ROM is not consider marriage yet but my bedframe will be custom make together with the rest of the carpentry work in the house. In this way, can I just change the mattress when i go thru AD or shall i not do my bed frame first? please advise.

keruri

Hi Jo,
My suggestion is to do your bedframe first lor since it's been custom made and it's done along with all other carpentry in the house. Just take note that your bed frame can take in the kind of mattress that you want, or at least it can accomodate any generic mattress.
Many shops like Robinsons can let you hold the delivery of your mattress. I believe u can change your mattress too as long as it has not been delivered. To play safe, do check with the promoter/shop. Also, go to one that's not likely to close in half a year. You don't want the shop to close before your mattress arrives.
Just some thots.