"An Chuang (安床)"

airsupply

The tea ceremony to my hubby's family will be at my new house on my AD, meaning that Hubby's family will be there before us. What if some of them dunno and enter to see our room? cos they never been to my new house b4....Dun thk my MIL, his aunts or SILs understand an chuang and nobody shd enter our bedroom after an chuang. How ar...?

wsj

starlet
i don't think need to an chuan @ your in laws place... else you will be performing the ritual twice.

airsupply
hmm... how about just lock the room will do and says the room is out of limits :D

wsj

hi starlet
Hmmm, better check with the older folks about this... they have one ritual for 'fixing the bed' whenever they move house, another for wedding, 'an chuan' in this case is more for wedding.

joy2

I'm confuse of this an chuan. As i'll be staying with my PIL after wedding and the room he is now using will be our room,can we still use the bed frame and just buy a new matress?any advise?

Hi Cheryl Poh,u mention that no one is allow to enter including the couple after an chuan, so even want to get something in the room like clothes,doc, etc... also cannot enter?

dolphin48

wah.... 3rd day then can enter? i think we will still go into the room cos quite troublesome esp if staying with ILs for the time being.... but as long as it's just the couple, i think should be okay. But hor, my aunt told me it's just rituals only and most of my cousins didn't an the bed and she say, as long as it's a new bed can already lor..... simplicity is the best.

bugbear

Can i check with you gals, pls..

If i don have any boy boy to jump on the new bed, is it alright not to have? Or can get little girls to do it?

adelinekhoo

Hi Bugbear,

If i'm nt wrong, the reason for getting a boy to jump on ur bed is to bless u with a baby boy. U know la, in chinese beliefs boy is to carry the family line. So i guess no pt to get a girl girl to jump unless u want ur first baby to be a girl.

aurorin

hi just a question...

If i am shuttling between ILs and my own place for the next two years(we have our own rooms at both places), do we need to have An chuang for both rooms?

aurorin

yo bugbear! heh heh.. nice to see you too! Also have to do an chuang already? Just got approached from MIL to do.. and suddenly FH ask if need to do over at my place also or not.. sigh..

el005

can day of AC be ther day of GDL?
or they have to be different day?
if so, AC will before or after GDL?

so ah so many questions

newbbi79

el,

AC have to be a wk or 2 wks before your AD lor...But can be same day as your GDL lor...I will be doing it together on the same day =)

aurorin,

An chunag is to be done at your new hse or on your new bed lor...

Bugbear,
you need a new mattress, a new set of bedsheet, dried longans,red dates, angpow and oranges lor..

aurorin

newbbi: HmMm okie.. but my new bed is in my ILs place and we are not going to sleep there very much.. since we are staying at my parents house on my old bed for the time being.. ahh.. guess we will just do the ceremony with the new bed for symbolic gesture at ILs house. Thanks!

adelinekhoo

hey all,

i did nt AC fo my AD then i'm doing my reno now and be shifting over to my new hse soon. is it too late to do AC now..??

paulinelau

Hm.... Sorry, I started the request before I read the previous Archive. I think Caroline has stopped surfing this forum, so please dun send in the request anymore. However, I think you can retrieve a list on An Chuang in the previous Archive. Please refer to that. Thks.

luvvy05

Pls advise if it is really neccessary to An Chuang? Me and Hubby staying in our new house for about a year liao and thus the bed is only a year old and we seldom go back and sleep. We are aware that we can change the mattress only but that cost easily a few hundred bucks!! Even if we are to keep the mattress, we dun have extra space for that cos all rooms already have bed and mattress... any of you never An Chuang?? Is it ok? Pls advise

huggiez

i tink for my an chuang i will only change the bed sheet, push the bed out of its usual position and then push it back (to symbolise the change in position ba). me not changing the bed leh.

luvvy05

Will it do? does it considered? i m hoping this works too cos we really can bear to spend when the mattress is still so new...

huggiez

luvvy me not really pantan. juz do it for the sake of the elders at home. tink saw from some thread there are some ppl doing the same. so i will juz follow suit. don wanna waste money on buying new bed n mattress

leehz

does anyone heard that if gettting a boy to jump on the bed, he must be a relative of the bride? Or just any boy (eg. friend's son) will do?

huggiez

i heard from someone tat ac has to get a "hao ming" person, meaning has children (preferably boy), both parents and in laws still alive. as for the boy jumping i tink anyone so long as boy can liao.

chanelion

My scenario is like this:
BF & I lived together, we haven't hv ROM as yet. We intend to get married on 1 Jan. An Chuang should falls on 22Dec.We already purchased a Queen bed and already slept on it. We do not intend to buy a new one. Will there be bad things will happen to us? Pls advise.

wsj

mushloom
yap, heard about boy jumping on the bed from mil when we did our an-chuan. she even suggest the boy to pee on the bed!!! but, anyway, what happened in the end is that the boy invited 'fly kite', didn't turn up (phew, fortunately!), and so, we don't have to sleep on the urine soaked matress

Chanel
well, all these are just rituals & procedures passed down thru generations and mostly guidelines.
Feel that if you are not superstitious, then, don't worry about all these things.

My bed too had been slept on already too when they do the an-chuan for the wedding. we only merely change the sheets to those red wedding ones.

blissfulme

Hi Aurorin,

hope u are still looking at this thread. FInally I found someone in same situation as me.

For my case, both FH and myself have our own flats purchased with our parents' names (before we even met each other lah).. so now after marriage, I hope to stay in my own flat and my FH also agreed (becoz my future SILs are having the Master Bedroom in his house, and there is alot of culture shock.. I tried staying with them on & off for past 2 years, still cannot make it).

Wonder can anyone advise me? An Chuang at my place will do? or PIL's side must also have? Coz we will only buy our new bed at my place.

2ndly, anyone has problem with hubby staying at wife's house after marriage? Becoz they said this sounds like the man is marrying into the wife's household. BUt for my FH, he doesnt mind..coz we are in the new generation already. Just worried abt his family and relatives.. sighzzz

airex

I guess it's whether his parents mind.. cos normally it's the older generation who mind abt such traditions. Anyway personally I think it's ok for ur FH to stay in ur hse, as long as both of u r happy

wsj

bliss
i feel that as long both of u happy, then it doesn't matter about this;
What for make yourself unhappy staying with them when you know after so long still cannot make it.

Can I check cos we are already living in our new flat...and tok abt an chuang, how to an when we already sleeps there? And if our bedframe is made-to-measure wan..then how?? :p

huggiez

hi gin i tink u can still an ur chuang, but after an chuang u will have to sleep in other bedrooms. the room is not meant to be slept until ur wedding day.

oic...ok...Meaning i juz need to change to red red mattress cover la? :p 3 days b4 enuff? Heehee...they say need to get a guy to sleep on it the night b4 wedding, is it true?

chanelion

Hi Gin,
My understanding is, once you have your An Chuang NO one can enter & touch the bed (except the groom & bride). And the groom & bride cannot sleep on their bed until the AD.

Chanel

chanelion

Since I already slept on my bed, how the an chuang going to be? Will I need to do extra things? Someone told me I need to buy Pamelo leaves (I think is Pamelo leaves)to spread it over the bed (in a way to clean the bed) Is this true? If yes, what is the next steps? Or do you have any other way you can share with me?

Chanel

desertrosie

After an chuang, the bedroom shld be block out from other pple except bride and groom. Nobody to sleep or touch the bed till the AD when the little boy start jumping on the bed. boy jumping on bed is to bring in boy into the family. After tea cerenomy at my huddy hse we proceed to new hse to do the new couple goes to their new room cerenomy. that's my huddy carries me to our new bed.
After wedding, the thing shld left it next to the bed till mould start develop on the Hwaguay den consider good luck. Then throw everything away. Till now the stuff is still on my bedside table.

blissfulme

hi jane and cait,
thanks for the encouragement..

hmm i think an-chuang like wat desertrosie said, no nid chg brand new mattress.. juz brand new bed sheets will do